Old 17th August 2023, 13:48   #1

The car you bought last month is now cheaper by 2 lakhs - What would you do?

So I bought a new Audi Q3 last month and I called up 3-4 dealers and negotiated hard to get the best deal possible and after about 2 weeks of nagging I got a deal from one of the dealer which no other dealer could match, so I thought this is the best I can get and I went ahead and purchased the car.

Now today after 1 month, I get a whatsapp from another dealer and just for curiosity I tried to negotiate the price with him and turns out he is ready to give the car for a whopping 2 lakh cheaper than what I got for last month.

I want to ask fellow members if there is anything I can do now? 2 lakhs is a big big amount for me and it's been just a month since I purchased the car. Everything is done but can I still put this issue up to Audi? Why is there so much price difference between dealers and why doesn't Audi as a brand do something about it?

I remember back in the day when apple first launched the iphone, they reduced the price by $200 and they offered free credits to everyone who purchased the phone for a higher price.

Has this happened with others as well? What did you guys do?
techspark is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:02   #2

Re: The car you bought last month is now cheaper by 2 lakhs - What would you do?

While your disappointment is understandable, I don't believe much can be done in this situation. Just hard luck, than anything else. On the contrary, there have been numerous instances, where people have bought cars at a price and the very next day / week the prices have shot up considerably. I honestly don't think either Audi or the dealer would be able to address your complaint / request. Just try your best to look past it and enjoy your machine to the fullest.

Last edited by Emvi : 17th August 2023 at 14:07.
Emvi is offline   (64) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:13   #3

Re: The car you bought last month is now cheaper by 2 lakhs - What would you do?

Originally Posted by techspark View Post
So I bought a new Audi Q3 last month and I called up 3-4 dealers and negotiated hard to get the best deal possible and after about 2 weeks of nagging I got a deal from one of the dealer which no other dealer could match, so I thought this is the best I can get and I went ahead and purchased the car.

Now today after 1 month, I get a whatsapp from another dealer and just for curiosity I tried to negotiate the price with him and turns out he is ready to give the car for a whopping 2 lakh cheaper than what I got for last month.
That's just how bargaining is. Price fluctuates due to supply and demand and you got the best offer available at that time. If the price had increased by 2 lakhs, would you call and offer to pay them the remaining amount because you feel bad?

Last edited by libranof1987 : 17th August 2023 at 20:11. Reason: Trimming quoted post.
Cresterk is offline   (101) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:13   #4

I remember back in the day when apple first launched the iphone, they reduced the price by $200 and they offered free credits to everyone who purchased the phone for a higher price.
That would be for the official prices. Can empathise with you if the company had cut prices just one month after your bought the car. But in this case, it is the dealer discounts that you received. Your curiosity caused this heart burn. Should have forgotten about the pricing once you had already bought the car, instead of negotiating with another salesman after you have bought the car.

if it is any solace, there are many people who would have happily paid the quoted full prices, instead of negotiating like you did.
DicKy is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:19   #5

If you buy a car today:

- There could be a price hike after a month. Will you pay the additional money?

- There could be feature deletions. Will you return the features?

This can go either way. The price could go down, or there could be feature additions. It's all part & parcel of the market-place.

Relax & enjoy the drive. You bought the car you liked at the price you accepted. Don't overthink it.

Last edited by GTO : 17th August 2023 at 16:44.
GTO is offline   (153) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:27   #6

Why is there so much price difference between dealers and why doesn't Audi as a brand do something about it?
This line above made me think you are against such variable discounting and want to stop as it hurts the brand.

Whereas,

Has this happened with others as well? What did you guys do?
This statement makes me think you just want the same discount, which is an emotional response and not a rational one.

Well, Merc has already solved this issue with no room for dealer discounts. Audi cannot afford to do it as the brand has taken quite a beating in the last few years. As someone said, you should not have continued the conversation and should have told him upfront that you are already a customer. For your mental peace, write to Audi and leave it at that. I genuinely hope you drop this monkey off your back and enjoy your car ASAP.

Last edited by manson : 22nd August 2023 at 23:32. Reason: Minor typo
RaghuVis is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 14:40   #7

Don't turn this into a buyer's remorse.

What if:
- The car you bought for 2 lakh discount was a test drive vehicle(unofficially)
- Had few niggling issues not expected from a new car
- Had some accident and dealer wanted to pass it on after repair
- Had some features deleted
- and finally, Turned out to be a lemon

You liked the car, you liked the price, you bought the car and you're enjoying the car.

Peace of Mind is worth more than 2 lakhs. Enjoy your car
akhil_007 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 15:16   #8

One of the reasons to go with brands that never offer Discounts. That affects resales too. Some brands like Porsche and Mercedes have a better value in the aftermarket as they never discount. With brands like Audi (& BMW before), you can never be sure what your neighbour paid. And why do you think 2 lac is the difference? Another city, another dealer, and this can be even more

Don't worry; we have very high inflation, so it will nullify after a couple of months. Besides, cars are a depreciating asset (if at all that's the right word).

So enjoy the new car for what it is and not how much it costs.
Turbanator is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 15:39   #9

I want to ask fellow members if there is anything I can do now? 2 lakhs is a big big amount for me and it's been just a month since I purchased the car. Everything is done but can I still put this issue up to Audi? Why is there so much price difference between dealers and why doesn't Audi as a brand do something about it?
As others have already mentioned, there is nothing you can do about this. Discounts are very variable depending on the stock on hand, dealer targets, old stocks required to be sold, etc.

Just like you would not pay the dealer 2 lakhs if the car price went up in a month, you cannot expect them to pay you if it went down.

Stop worrying about the pricing, and enjoy the car.
graaja is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 15:48   #10

...whopping 2 lakh cheaper than what I got for last month
There is always a better tomorrow. Look forward to it and enjoy today. You never know under what circumstances the car is offered at a discount. Can even be a repainted door, or a cancelled booking. It is not meant to be yours.

Ps - On a lighter note, never send or receive a 'Hello' to/from your Ex after marriage. Will only end up in buyers remorse at least in car parlance.
svsantosh is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 15:56   #11

Everytime you think about this Rs 2 lacs discount, take your thought to the owners who bought Toyota Hilux without the Rs 6-8 lacs discount. The % discount (6-8 lacs of 35 lacs) is much higher in case of Hilux compared to yours (2 lacs of Rs50 lacs). So this happens.

Dealer discounts and manufacturer discounts vary throughout the year. Some models in January will have substantially higher discounts. At one point, some Audi models had upto Rs 10 lacs off. There must be some owners who narrowly missed duch large deals.

The Apple example you cited was a price correction where companies need to pacify existing customers also. Back in 2004, Hero Honda Karizma launched at Rs79990 but there were less takers so they reduced the price to 69990. The existing customers were offered a free central locking/ anti theft kit with remote locking worth Rs3000.
PaddleShifter is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 16:13   #12

While sympathising with you for the 2 L Googly from yet another dealer, you can only console yourself by reading soothing posts here from members like us.

Just think of those letdown folks who bought one or more Adani Group company shares investing huge amounts, just prior to the Hindenberg Report coming out. And investors in LIC where its share price is down from around Rs 900 to about Rs 650 today, post this Hindenberg Report. The share market being compared here to car buying and discounts offered is improper though.

But similarity lies in the fact that in both the above cases, that the money was lost due to unforeseen reasons beyond our control. We had done a good and maybe painstaking market research to make us conclude about buying something from somewhere, that has suddenly become undervalued today as we find to our chagrin.

Hence, one must only look at the rear view mirror only when, as the old adage says :-

" Don't look back unless it's a good view."

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 17th August 2023 at 16:15.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 16:28   #13

Sheer hard luck Sir.
But why are you still inquisitive about offers?

I want to ask fellow members if there is anything I can do now?
Chill and enjoy the ride Sir. And thank the stars that the price didn't go up in a month's time and that you didn't delay your purchase by a month.

Has this happened with others as well?
You are lucky. Worse has happened. People have bought Endeavours and within a month Ford has quit India. Imagine how lucky you are.

It's your car now Sir. Stop overthinking and enjoy it.
aviator1101 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 17:13   #14

Just enjoy the car. Like many have said before, would you be willing to pay the dealer the extra amount if the price had increased after you bought it. Just to cite an example, in our Polo GTI group, many bought their cars for 33.XX on road in Bangalore when it was launched late 2016. Then towards the end of 2017, many of us bought it for 19.XX on road in Bangalore when it was heavily discounted.
These price fluctuations happen quite a lot and there is no point wasting time regretting a purchase.
robimahanta is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 17th August 2023, 17:25   #15

If they had found other customers who pay them ₹2Lakh more for the same model, would you fork out the extra money ? Or would you say that the transaction (& transfer) is done and block them ?

Asking for a friend.
GrammarNazi is offline   (5) Thanks