Old 10th July 2023, 21:58   #16

re: Curious case of Delhi-NCR used cars | Fly in on a one-way ticket & buy cars for cheap

A lot of people did get very good deals from Delhi NCR cars specially on luxury cars.
My friend sold his immaculately maintained 2012 Innova in 2021 to a trader in hyderabad. The car had only done 50k km and buyer got it for Rs. 5.5 lacs. Now thats a good deal for the buyer i think.
TB16 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th July 2023, 22:51   #17

re: Curious case of Delhi-NCR used cars | Fly in on a one-way ticket & buy cars for cheap

Originally Posted by Old_Salt View Post
What I fail to understand that agencies have not been able to prove that a diesel car in the 10th year is safe to drive, but after the 10th year it suddenly smokes like a chimney?
Moreover, the process of manufacturing a new car from scratch actually adds more greenhouse gases up and makes a greater negative impact on environment. For e.g. 1960 liters of water is needed for making just one average (US-market) car tyre. 518 gallons.
sandeepmdas is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 03:56   #18

Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
For e.g. 1960 liters of water is needed for making just one average (US-market) car tyre. 518 gallons.
I don't think this figure is correct. Could you please share the source for this?

Below is from Michelin.
A little over 70 liters of water is needed for manufacturing a single for a light vehicle tire

reference
da3mn is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 10:26   #19

Originally Posted by da3mn View Post
I don't think this figure is correct. Could you please share the source for this?
Sure, here it is:
https://www.the71percent.org/industrial-water-usage/

Corroborated by:
https://stacker.com/environment/how-...0-common-items

Michelin's water usage reduction is very well-known. I don't recall very well, but it basically cools down the steam to water again, without allowing to escape. I can elaborate a bit but I know many TBHPians are far more qualified than me to do so.

Not every company can be Michelin. For e.g. JKT is only planning to start:
https://auto.economictimes.indiatime...-2025/91166900

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 11th July 2023 at 10:45.
sandeepmdas is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 18:31   #20

How do all Innovas and Fortuners from Delhi have odo values around 1.25L? Is there some shop/repair guy who can dial the numbers back or does everyone disconnect the odo after these values

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 11th July 2023 at 19:30. Reason: Grammar
raj4466 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 20:04   #21

How did you get a 2013 Fortuner AT for that price? All the cars that I saw with dealers in Delhi are 10-12L for 2013 MY, while similar vintage cars in Mumbai have an asking price of 14-15L.
StrangeWizard is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 15:26   #22

I recently sold my 530D due to this stupid law. The car had no issues and it was heart breaking to let it go.

My recommendation to anyone looking for a deal on Delhi NCR cars is to source from individuals and not dealers. I have had a few first-hand experiences with dealers, and almost all of them will reverse mileage and put band-aid on major issues with a car.
exhaustpipe is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 16:18   #23

I would strongly urge all the Delhi BHPians who are planning to sell their 9/10 year old cars to please list their cars if you deem they are worthy not he new thread that is https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...s-details.html (BHPian-owned cars for Sale | Pics & details)

This way it can be a win win situation for everyone. You will get a better price for your car while the buyer will get a nice car at a better price.

What say?
samyakmodi is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 16:29   #24

Originally Posted by raj4466 View Post
How do all Innovas and Fortuners from Delhi have odo values around 1.25L? Is there some shop/repair guy who can dial the numbers back or does everyone disconnect the odo after these values
Haha! Good one. Although, if you keep in mind the Indian average of 12000 km / year, it does add up for a 10-year old car.

Originally Posted by exhaustpipe View Post
I recently sold my 530D due to this stupid law. The car had no issues and it was heart breaking to let it go.
I hear you, man. My girl's family had to sell a pristine Audi Q5 2.0 TDI with 50,000 km and not a single reliability issue for ~13 lakhs. Leaving aside the fact that it could have fetched higher resale if it were a Mumbai car, this Q5 was running beautifully. Doing road-trips and all with ZERO issues. Has been replaced with an XUV700 Petrol AT.
Curious case of Delhi-NCR used cars | Fly in on a one-way ticket & buy cars for cheap-q5.jpg
GTO is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 17:14   #25

Re: Curious case of Delhi-NCR used cars | Fly in on a one-way ticket & buy cars for cheap

Haha! Good one. Although, if you keep in mind the Indian average of 12000 km / year, it does add up for a 10-year old car.

I hear you, man. My girl's family had to sell a pristine Audi Q5 2.0 TDI with 50,000 km and not a single reliability issue for ~13 lakhs. Leaving aside the fact that it could have fetched higher resale if it were a Mumbai car, this Q5 was running beautifully. Doing road-trips and all with ZERO issues. Has been replaced with an XUV700 Petrol AT.
Attachment 2475235
I would say it still fetched higher due to HR number plate. I had to part ways with my A6 having DL number plate without any issues for 8.6l.
Clown Prince is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 22:09   #26

Re: Curious case of Delhi-NCR used cars | Fly in on a one-way ticket & buy cars for cheap

Just did a quick search on a Used Car portal for a 2013-2014 Fortuner located in Bangalore, the lowest is 15LK! Considering these prices in Karnataka in general, getting a car from up North makes a lot of sense.
Old 13th July 2023, 10:00   #27

Originally Posted by raj4466 View Post
It's no secret that most of the cars with dealers are meter tampered. That's why if you are serious about getting a DL car, better to go there yourself and check the car. With a BOF Toyota if mechanical's are strong, ODO is just a number. For this car he got complete service history form Toyota from 2013 to 2023. It's a genuine kilometer clean car.

Originally Posted by StrangeWizard View Post
How did you get a 2013 Fortuner AT for that price? All the cars that I saw with dealers in Delhi are 10-12L for 2013 MY, while similar vintage cars in Mumbai have an asking price of 14-15L.
Nothing surprising about the price, a DL car reaching 10th year is not gonna fetch you anything more than this. But if you are going through a dealer and not sure about how things work, then you will be in some trouble. We got help from a known auto consultant and we got dealer price from direct buyer.

Just do a quick search down south for used NCR Fortuner around this time frame and you can see prices between 10-12 lakh, so if the dealer picked a car say, for 8 lakh and after all the expense and stuff do you think he is gonna sell if for 10lakh? It's not charity, he needs to make money too right? So I'd say it's a fair game.

Last edited by jonesanto : 13th July 2023 at 10:18.
jonesanto is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th July 2023, 22:22   #28

I have come across a 2015 Fortuner 4x4 MT for sale in Delhi, the car is available at a reasonable price, however, upon checking on mparivahan, it states that the DL is impounded and RC is seized. Although the RC status is active, dealer says since it’s 8 year old and done 2 Lakh kms, the RC has been seized and cannot be used in NCR (as the law has Kms capping also)

Can anyone throw light on this?

This along with a few more cars from Delhi NCR has been sourced by a local dealer here and I can inspect the fortuner in couple of days at Ahmedabad.
Old 16th July 2023, 01:26   #29

Originally Posted by abhikb View Post
as the law has Kms capping also

Can anyone throw light on this?

No such limitation on kilometres. Something is very fishy here. Avoid the car, I'd say.
mayankk is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th July 2023, 07:43   #30

We got lucky with our purchase in Delhi.

My uncle had shortlisted few used car dealers, flew to Delhi and spent 2-3 days checking out the cars. He was tempted when he drove the Cayenne, X5 and Range Rovers but some had high mileage and few dealers did admit the the meter was tampered. Some dealers were very shady and tried to mask many issues with the car. We were very cautious on this and were very determined not to fall seeing the exciting offers on luxury cars.

Then while we were at a coffee shop, randomly stumbled upon a senior citizen with whom we started a casual conversation. Learned that he had a 2019 X1 for sale with less than 15k kms. Immediately showed our interest, went to his house and saw the car. The tires had to be replaced since it sort of developed cracks as the car was mostly parked for extended time (He goes to Canada for 6 months each year). Got it checked at BMW, struck a deal with him, did all the paper work, replaced the tires and drove it back to Kochi. We reregistered the car here to Kerala registration.
naveen.raju is offline   (19) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com