Old 26th April 2024, 11:54   #256

re: Mahindra XUV 3XO launched at Rs. 7.49 lakh

Originally Posted by TDIRaghav View Post
I believe the hype is because this timing is Nexon EV territory which has all the torque available from a standstill. Other popular compact SUVs with ICEs take approximately 2 seconds more to reach 60 kmph.
That's not the case. The sonet diesel AT reaches 60 in about 4.6 sec as per Autocar's tests. I bet the manual would even be faster.
Old 26th April 2024, 11:57   #257

Originally Posted by rahul412 View Post
Same here I am also in the market for a sub 4 mtr suv (budget around 17L). Currently shortlisted Sonet GTX (all black interior and cramped space at rear is a bit disappointing though). Waiting for XUV3XO, will consider it only if boot space is increased (~350 ltrs atleast).
17 lakh is a solid budget, allowing you to explore above segments like the Creata, Seltos, and Vitara, which offer more space and comfort. Additionally, you could consider the MX variant of the XUV700 (5 seater). Take a thorough look based on your needs.

Last edited by RaviGowda : 26th April 2024 at 11:58.
RaviGowda is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 12:17   #258

Originally Posted by puneetakhouri View Post
No amount of sunroof or diesel automatic is going to help this car unless it brings in a big boot. Two of my cousins bought the nexon and didn't even consider this vehicle for all its features and space saying there is no boot space.
When non car enthusiast people know this, then it's a big problem for this.
Yes, this is the biggest con of XUV300, else this would likely have been in our garage by now!
Originally Posted by ashvek3141 View Post
This is getting interesting.

Curious to know , how does one distinguish between an AMT and TC gear knob / console? I think AMT's too get the 'P' mode. Not sure why the gearbox console shown here points towards a TC unit?
The AMT unit Mahindra uses is of a different type than one shown in the image and leaks. Hence this speculation.
Same here I am also in the market for a sub 4 mtr suv (budget around 17L). Currently shortlisted Sonet GTX (all black interior and cramped space at rear is a bit disappointing though). Waiting for XUV3XO, will consider it only if boot space is increased (~350 ltrs atleast).
Why not XUV700 MX variant, there was a news it'll come in AT avatar. Only downside being the petrol mileage. Other options is Hyryder Hybrid S, it'll save significant cost in long run, even though expensive to buy inititally.
Originally Posted by TorqueSteer View Post
Front end looks ugly.
This is just a rendering, the new design will definitely be radical, if not ugly. Even 2nd Gen Creta's was considered polarizing at launch and later folks started liking it. Anyhow unveil is just a few days away.
sapien is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 12:25   #259

Originally Posted by sapien View Post

Why not XUV700 MX variant, there was a news it'll come in AT avatar. Only downside being the petrol mileage. Other options is Hyryder Hybrid S, it'll save significant cost in long run, even though expensive to buy inititally.
I need a small car only mostly for city and occasionally for highways (but with all features) currently only Sonet fits my requirements.
rahul412 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 12:43   #260

I need a small car only mostly for city and occasionally for highways (but with all features) currently only Sonet fits my requirements.
Sonet is a solid choice, but for your usage pattern, something like an Astor or Elevate makes more sense because the Sonet diesel won't be fully utilized in the city and the turbo petrol will deliver low fuel efficiency. For such usage patterns as yours, a natural-aspirated or a hybrid makes the most sense.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 13:38   #261

Originally Posted by Amrit@wheels View Post
Sonet is a solid choice, but for your usage pattern, something like an Astor or Elevate makes more sense because the Sonet diesel won't be fully utilized in the city and the turbo petrol will deliver low fuel efficiency. For such usage patterns as yours, a natural-aspirated or a hybrid makes the most sense.
Astor is a flop product rejected by market (selling less than ~1000 units PM) and Elevate doesnt have all the features like 360 camera/ventilated seats etc and looks a bit dated already. Both of them are 4.3mtr long which will be a bit too much for my daily commute. Considering the ever growing traffic and shrinking parking space, I would prefer a <4mtr car only. I know Sonet is a compromise too with 1 ltr puny engine (even with turbo), all black interior and cramped rear space and its expensive for what it offers.
rahul412 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 14:00   #262

Rachit Hirani claims boot space of around 330-340 Ltrs.

if this is true, and features like level 2 ADAS , all four disk brakes, panaromic sunroof and 7 speaker Harman Kardon system etc., if they could launch the top of the line 1.2 TGDi with 6AT at around 15 lacs ex showroom, this will hit the Nexon and Sonet badly.

Last edited by DCEite : 26th April 2024 at 14:01.
DCEite is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 14:11   #263

Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
Rachit Hirani claims boot space of around 330-340 Ltrs.
I wouldn't take a word from this guy. He is generally all over the place and more for the 'paid partnership'.

LOL , these guys have even claimed a nonsensical price cut of 6-7 L something on the Hycross after the supposed GST cut.

Last edited by ashvek3141 : 26th April 2024 at 14:13.
ashvek3141 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 15:28   #264

Astor is a flop product rejected by market (selling less than ~1000 units PM) and Elevate doesnt have all the features like 360 camera/ventilated seats etc and looks a bit dated already. Both of them are 4.3mtr long which will be a bit too much for my daily commute. Considering the ever growing traffic and shrinking parking space, I would prefer a <4mtr car only. I know Sonet is a compromise too with 1 ltr puny engine (even with turbo), all black interior and cramped rear space and its expensive for what it offers.
Astor is a top notch city vehicle inside out. Just because it is not selling in high numbers doesn't mean it's a bad product. For example, the Brezza sells much more than the Astor, doesn't make it a better product. You really need to go for a test drive just for the sake of it. IIRC, Honda provides an official accessory for seat ventilation and it works well. It is also very easy to ride in the city, give it a go as well. Lastly, Sonet 1.0 may not win the displacement argument but it is very punchy.

Last edited by Amrit@wheels : 26th April 2024 at 15:29.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 16:46   #265

Astor is a top notch city vehicle inside out. Just because it is not selling in high numbers doesn't mean it's a bad product. For example, the Brezza sells much more than the Astor, doesn't make it a better product. You really need to go for a test drive just for the sake of it. IIRC, Honda provides an official accessory for seat ventilation and it works well. It is also very easy to ride in the city, give it a go as well. Lastly, Sonet 1.0 may not win the displacement argument but it is very punchy.
Agree Astor is a capable vehicle (specially the 1.3 Turbo, 1.5NA on the other hand is good for nothing lackluster engine) but it suffers from low mileage (relatively) & poor resale & its highly likely it will be discontinued in near future (going by the sales volumes). So it does not make a sense to invest 20L in Astor now. My basic requirement is that I dont want a >4 mtr car, just want one car in my garage hence Sonet (Jack of all & master of none).
Old 26th April 2024, 17:21   #266

Agree Astor is a capable vehicle (specially the 1.3 Turbo, 1.5NA on the other hand is good for nothing lackluster engine) but it suffers from low mileage (relatively) & poor resale & its highly likely it will be discontinued in near future (going by the sales volumes). So it does not make a sense to invest 20L in Astor now. My basic requirement is that I dont want a >4 mtr car, just want one car in my garage hence Sonet (Jack of all & master of none).
Again, some of your statements are not resonating with the expert opinions. Take a look here for example-
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5651479 (MG Astor Review)
You can read many other Bhpians saying something similar. Like this one-
https://www.team-bhp.com/news/mg-ast...ing-impression
It is perfectly fine if you are not interested in buying it but lets not alter the facts. Another car that I'd like to suggest you is the Brezza ZXI+. It is well-equipped with a good 360 Camera but lacks ventilated seats. The 6-speet AT box is competent and it is a breeze to drive in the city. It is safer than the Sonet and will be cheaper to run as well. Just my two cents.
Amrit@wheels is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 17:43   #267

Again, some of your statements are not resonating with the expert opinions. Take a look here for example-
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5651479 (MG Astor Review)
You can read many other Bhpians saying something similar. Like this one-
https://www.team-bhp.com/news/mg-ast...ing-impression
It is perfectly fine if you are not interested in buying it but lets not alter the facts. Another car that I'd like to suggest you is the Brezza ZXI+. It is well-equipped with a good 360 Camera but lacks ventilated seats. The 6-speet AT box is competent and it is a breeze to drive in the city. It is safer than the Sonet and will be cheaper to run as well. Just my two cents.
I was merely expressing my opinion, like I said its a good vehicle overall and its interiors are best in class, no doubt. But somehow market seems to have rejected it and generally when that happens there is a solid reason behind it. As far as positive and negative experiences are concerned you can find both online. But will definitely go through the above threads you shared and give it one more thought (thanks for sharing).

I agree with Brezza as well, infact i liked everything about it except interiors. its quality of plastic and combination of brown+black is frankly depressing and makes a 15L Rs car feel like a 6-8L Rs car. That plush feeling you get after buying a new car is totally missing from Brezza. Even Swift and XL6 have better interiors, dont know why Maruti chose such a horrible combination (must be to keep the cost in check). A brand new Brezza in showroom feels like a 5 year old car from inside. Again merely my opinion.
rahul412 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th April 2024, 19:24   #268

I agree with Brezza as well, infact i liked everything about it except interiors. its quality of plastic and combination of brown+black is frankly depressing and makes a 15L Rs car feel like a 6-8L Rs car. That plush feeling you get after buying a new car is totally missing from Brezza. Even Swift and XL6 have better interiors, dont know why Maruti chose such a horrible combination (must be to keep the cost in check). A brand new Brezza in showroom feels like a 5 year old car from inside. Again merely my opinion.
I agree, Brezza's interiors are really low quality for a 15L car. It is built well, but the quality is really low. On the bright side, it has 4 star crash test rating and a host of safety features with unmatched fuel efficiency.
Old 26th April 2024, 20:34   #269

You should try out FL Nexon DCA or even the EV along with the options you have already listed.

Last edited by Bhokal : 26th April 2024 at 20:35.
Old 26th April 2024, 21:44   #270

Originally Posted by puneetakhouri View Post
No amount of sunroof or diesel automatic is going to help this car unless it brings in a big boot. Two of my cousins bought the nexon and didn't even consider this vehicle for all its features and space saying there is no boot space.
When non car enthusiast people know this, then it's a big problem for this.
After experiencing Nexon DCA, I don't think every car in the segment has to be like Nexon.

Only while parking I realised its different from an AMT because of the park button

Mahindra seems to be targeting a subset of those buyers, those who want a nice driving car as well.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com