Re: Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023

Originally Posted by balmagbrezjim View Post
convoy of cute Jimnies.... in Ladakh

https://twitter.com/six3by4/status/1...241043456?s=20

can't wait any longer for test drive...
Tempting , drooling.

We know where Media drives are happening, where TVC is being shot. Assuming May first week launch, June delivery at max.

Now it all depends on positioning of pricing. If priced correct it can lead to good Maruti market share, in numbers as well as cult. Maybe Maruti should keep profitering on Jimny on back burner and price it in true MSIL style.

If prices incorrectly, Jimny is no Thar in terms of dimensions, or seats we all know that and anything in Thar territory will damage Jimny not Thar. Jimny has its own bracket and it should stick to it. Same as Major vs Gypsy both retained their charm in their own categories.
Old 13th April 2023, 11:23   #1158

Originally Posted by SUVolens View Post
I would imagine that a small capacity turbo petrol would be detrimental to the hard as nails 4x4 capability of the Jimny. I’m no off-roader, but the sudden power surges of a turbo could make it difficult to rock crawl in a light vehicle. Similarly, the 4 speed auto is more suited to harness the limited torque available in a NA petrol and internationally, the Jimny has humbled much larger off-road vehicles with this proven setup, so they’re not messing around, especially when there’s a huge export market waiting for the LWB Jimny to break cover. Just my guess..
Agree, and also it wouldn't have made much sense for Maruti to spend money on R&D for a new Engine & AT gearbox. They already have a proven engine and AT combo globally and hence very reason to not to offer any other engine.
Also, the booster jet engines from Maruti is not as fuel efficient as their NA engines. There are latest videos from automobile vloggers testing the fuel economy of the new Fronx 1.0 booster jet (BS 6 Phase II engine)which gave a fuel economy of around ~15 KMPL, so I guess a 1.4 litre Booster Jet engine would provide a fuel economy to the tune of ~11-12 KMPL. This would be an another reason for not introducing the 1.4 litre engine in our Indian market.
VivekWalia1986 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th April 2023, 13:05   #1159

Regarding price speculations.

When Alto 800 was 2.5L, Gypsy was 6L+, so now that Alto is hovering around 4L, Jimny should not be less than 10L in its lowest trim. If you add the extras that Jimny has compared to Gypsy the price will be a lac or two more .
Aroy is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th April 2023, 13:20   #1160

Originally Posted by SUVolens View Post
The powertrain is vintage and the car gets the sub 4.2 mt sops.
What are sub 4.2 mt sops? I'm only aware of sub 4 meter concessions and if that is what you were referring to, then Jimny isn't eligible as the engine is petrol and the capacity exceeds 1200CC.
Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-gst-rates-cars.png  

Old 13th April 2023, 13:41   #1161

Originally Posted by directinjection View Post
What are sub 4.2 mt sops? I'm only aware of sub 4 meter concessions and if that is what you were referring to, then Jimny isn't eligible as the engine is petrol and the capacity exceeds 1200CC.
You’re right. I shot that off without checking. Although just shy of 4m in length, the engine exceeds the 1200cc mark to qualify it for a small car. My bad.
Old 13th April 2023, 14:51   #1162

Originally Posted by directinjection View Post
Yes. You’re right. Then why even limit to 4m in this case? They could’ve gone little longer and given little more leg room. Probably they didn’t want to mess with the break over angle or something. Also longer = more cost.
Old 13th April 2023, 17:14   #1163

Originally Posted by AjayV View Post
Yes. You’re right. Then why even limit to 4m in this case? They could’ve gone little longer and given little more leg room. Probably they didn’t want to mess with the break over angle or something. Also longer = more cost.

Compactness is Jimny strength. I think Maruti has done an excellent job in 5 door transformation. With the narrow body, any longer it would have looked like Force Toofan.
shashant is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 13th April 2023, 21:28   #1164

Precursor to Jimny's upcoming media drive in Ladakh?

Maruti Jimny 4-door @ Auto Expo 2023-screenshot-20230413-212432.png

volkman10 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 13th April 2023, 22:15   #1165

The 3 door Jimny retails at 14 lakh INR equivalent in Dubai as starting price if I remember correctly. It is anyone's guess what the 5 door version will be sold at.

I expect a high sticker price. MS has already hiked prices of revised models like the Brezza drastically.
Mafia is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th April 2023, 02:56   #1166

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Jimny internationally seems to be a green field for performance enhancing modifications.

These videos are interesting.

shankar.balan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th April 2023, 09:33   #1167

Pricing will matter massively. It will be quite easy to slide sideways to the Thar 3dr and M&M will be laughing all the way to the bank with a cute pricing on their 5dr variant that will blow Maruti out of the water.

I'll be quite happy to jump ship if the pricing is irrational. No emotional attachment whatsoever.
gsferrari is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 14th April 2023, 10:53   #1168

Likewise. Thar 5 door with its Scorpio N suspension and Diesel AT - what a wonderful proposition.
IB290 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th April 2023, 18:14   #1169

Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
The 3 door Jimny retails at 14 lakh INR equivalent in Dubai as starting price if I remember correctly. It is anyone's guess what the 5 door version will be sold at.

I expect a high sticker price. MS has already hiked prices of revised models like the Brezza drastically.
In Australia it is retailing at close to 40K AUD, which is almost INR 20L.
Even Baleno retails for 26K AUD here. One simply cannot compare overseas prices to India prices due to difference in taxes etc.
akshay4587 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th April 2023, 18:59   #1170

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
One simply cannot compare overseas prices to India prices due to difference in taxes etc.
I quoted the Middle East as they have the least amount of taxes on almost all things.

The price in India will be definitely higher due to our taxation.
Mafia is offline   (3) Thanks