Old 11th December 2022, 18:59   #16

Re: 2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh

LCI looks good. Almost as aggressive as a proper M car with that front body kit. IMO the spoiler looks kinda out of place, would've preferred a subtle one.
meetbhav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th December 2022, 21:03   #17

This is a mixed bag as an update in my opinion.

The new front and rear bumpers are questionable at best, personally I think they look a bit tacky and much prefer the Pre-LCI. We loose out on the BMW signature angel eyes, this car looks more and more like the Koreans now. Laser lights are also a miss…

On the interiors the new full screen display is nice to look at for sure, but ergonomically it’s a big step backwards, loosing out on the physical knobs and buttons and critically the shortcut buttons that are massively useful. I have these setup on my car to go to Apple CarPlay, TPMS, Vehicle Status, Sport Displays and so on… then we also loose the physical gear lever which was great for quickly throwing the gearbox into sport mode, now you have to twiddle your thumb.

Mechanically it’a the same with a small power drop since we have moved to the OPF model with mild hybrid that makes less power in the higher rev ranges compared to the pre-LCI.

So overall, this one seems more of a cosmetic refresh for the sake of it, with nothing meaningful added.
Reesnat is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 11th December 2022, 21:23   #18

BMW M3s M5s (the fathers of the M340i, the M sport 5 version etc) have always been about subtle differences in looks that only the discerning enthusiast can figure out, w.r.t regular 3 or regular 5. Essentially wolf in sheep clothing.
But sadly, in this case the sheep clothing is outrageous, the word 'subtle' cannot sit in the same pin code as this car.
It's saddening that people who want this brute performance, have to 'live with' a garish looking thing that shouts 'look at me'. Defeats the fundamental purpose of a superfast 4 door saloon - discreetness. A niche that BMW nailed to perfection, in the past. But not anymore.
venkyhere is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th December 2022, 21:30   #19

Walk-around video of the M340i LCI from the JoyTown Festival.

Old 12th December 2022, 00:18   #20

Originally Posted by meetbhav View Post
LCI looks good. Almost as aggressive as a proper M car with that front body kit. IMO the spoiler looks kinda out of place, would've preferred a subtle one.
The rear spoiler is an add-on accessory they have fitted on the display car at the event, called the Carbon Fibre rear flow through spoiler.

The original M rear spoiler the standard car comes with is much more subtle, as in the second picture below.
2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-4a5ce7823b4e4a719b464a1c64419d74.jpeg  

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-61ad3ae373c64c7eb01bf555c6a3a7cb.jpeg  

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 12th December 2022 at 00:20.
84.monsoon is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 08:54   #21

Closer look at the 2022 BMW M340i LCI - Link

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084535_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084630_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084638_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084544_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084436_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084611_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084553_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084602_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084523_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084459_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084451_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084511_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084648_instagram.jpg

2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-smartselect_20221212084621_instagram.jpg
Venkatesh is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 08:59   #22

Front looks super low, any changes to the ground clearance?
Old 12th December 2022, 09:15   #23

Appreciate BMW continuing the iDrive controller even after switching to such lovely huge screens in iDrive 8. My GT has iDrive 6 and I love having the flexibility of either using the touch screen or the controller according to my preferences. I have found that the controller is much more convenient while driving. Thumbs down to Mercedes and Audi to moving to purely touch operated systems. That said , Would have preferred the lovely metal climate control toggles on the present 3 series over the iDrive implementation.
That apart, what a glorious looking car. Definitely the most car an enthusiast can get on the right side of a Crore.
Maverick_4662 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 10:37   #24

Originally Posted by venkyhere View Post
It's saddening that people who want this brute performance, have to 'live with' a garish looking thing that shouts 'look at me'. Defeats the fundamental purpose of a superfast 4 door saloon - discreetness. A niche that BMW nailed to perfection, in the past. But not anymore.
If you have seen the new 2023 BMW 3 series LCI update, even that car in turn is a bit aggressive to the outgoing g20 released in 2018, so this is the intended direction BMW prefers to take. Seeing how they have given a super badass aka aggressive look to its new flagship SUV XM, I dont think BMW is gonna dial back on it anytime sooner.

Actually even with this sharp design, the car still feels like a wolf in sheep's clothing except when it's shod with those tail wing that clearly shouts look at me.

I love the headlights on this over the previous design, that car felt more 5 series than 3 series earlier. But then I love bold snarky designs in cars ( i love the design of the Skoda Kushaq Monte Carlo so much, I went ahead and bought it ).

Not a fan of those muted grey interiors though, they literally evoked a nauseous feeling when I was seeing the first look videos on youtube.

Moreover, I have never seen BMWs feel understated ever, every non-car guy knew these screamed performances from a mile away.

Mercedes cars stood out for their luxurious interiors hence the highest sales in the luxury car segment, and ostentatious or sometimes classic exteriors.

Last edited by Turbanator : 12th December 2022 at 11:49. Reason: i= I, bmw =BMW, please proofread before posting.
sandeepmukunda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 11:43   #25

There's definitely a lot to like with this facelift, such as the drivetrain, which remains excellent for sure. OEM carbon fiber interiors are very nice to have, as is comfort access and iDrive 8 with that huge display.

But I can't help but feel that the pre-LCI was a better deal, with the laser lights and a better derrière, in my opinion. I think all would have been forgiven if they gave adaptive suspension on this, but that was always a case of wishful thinking.

This still remains a great buy for the discerning driver, but there's no doubt that the loss of the gear shifter, auto start stop button, dedicated shortcut buttons, and physical climate controls are negatives. I remember reading that the shortcut buttons now exist within some kind of sub-menu, but that sort of defeats the purpose of it being a "shortcut" button. And the small sensory pleasure of switching the gear lever over to the left and the car responding with a growl as if it's at the ready is now a thing of the past, although I think that the gear shifter and central console can be retrofitted. Not 100% sure about that, so don't quote me on that. Yet.
iliketurtles is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 15:19   #26

Originally Posted by vattyboy View Post
New BMW M340i is launched at 69.20 lakh.

0 to 100- 4.4 sec
Power- 374 hp

Hey there!
Do you have a picture of M340i LCI's interior?
Old 12th December 2022, 17:32   #27

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post

The original M rear spoiler the standard car comes with is much more subtle, as in the second picture below.
The spoiler in the second pic is not a standard one, at least it was not in preLCI. There was a small lip spoiler (I think that is visible in the pics shared below by Venkatesh below under the Carbon Fibre rear flow through spoiler)

Happy that keyless entry is added, sad the gear lever is gone. I am sure iDrive8 will be super cool, some videos of apple CarPlay integration looked really great.

BTW there are talks about Black colour coming with LCI, but website lists only Grey and Blue.
Old 12th December 2022, 21:29   #28

Heard from BMW dealership is that the standard wheelbase 3 is not going to come in the LCI. Only the Li / Ld versions would be available in the LCI. The short / standard wheelbase will be only for the 340i.
sandygordon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th December 2022, 22:13   #29

Re: BMW M340i xDrive Review

Originally Posted by karan561 View Post
Here's a pic from the launch event;

Attachment 2388608

Engine will now have an output of 374 hp but retains the 0-100 km/h time of 4.4 Secs. hence still the fastest car Made In India
Are you going to change yours now ? It was good to see the delivery and review as well on your youtube channel .
Old 27th December 2022, 13:15   #30

Just saw an article on the stunning Gentian/Enzian blue colur offered for the M340i in the UK. Wish BMW would offer this colour in India. It is absolutely gorgeous and complements the black grill and body trim so well.

It is designated as an individual paint color but so are Dravit Grey and Tanzanite Blue.

https://www.bmwblog.com/2022/12/26/2...n-blue-enzian/
2022 BMW M340i LCI launched in India @ 69.20 lakh-bmwm340igentianblue011229x1536.jpg  

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 27th December 2022 at 13:17.
84.monsoon is offline   (2) Thanks