Old 8th March 2023, 19:51   #226

Re: Honda City Facelift launched at Rs. 11.49 lakhs

Originally Posted by autobahnjpr View Post

Honda makes car lighter, gives a puny tyre to make sure they tick fuel average box but it wobbles and pitches giving a bouncy ride. Given the low ground clearance and soft suspension, a loaded one is sure to scrape and bottom out on large humps.
Feature wise, they are miserly.
So there are 2 chain of thoughts in the Auto World. One is the German / American heavy steels and heavy everything equals safety but sometimes that does not hold true, the most important is that the crash zones are impact absorbing and the structure does not collapse. You can Youtube any accident videos of the Verna or other current Hyundai / Kia including Creta and Seltos and you will see that the cars have even broken into two parts which shows that the structural integrity is missing completely.

Vis a Vis your observation about features - yes the Japanese always go for tried and tested thats why they are reliable, even Toyota India is the same. For latest tech you need to go to the Germans which can or cannot be reliable as we all know but I think the current 5th gen City has everything you will need and require, I have already shared my view on the Ventilated Seat and 360 option in another post but other than that I think it has everything required now.

Originally Posted by IamThat View Post
Thanks for the post. Im here looking for an upgrade to my i10. Honda City does look like a good allrounder. Can you put in your view on the safety aspect of the car.
I had an i10 with 2 airbags and a sunroof, mind you it was a maintenance hound, kept giving clutch problems, steering column replacements, AC compressor issues and faulty sunroof switches amongst other issues, got rid of it and got a Brio 7 years back and I would like to say that the Brio is far more reliable and other than routine service the car has no issues.

Regarding City yes the 4th gen was 4 stars so I expect 5th gen to be atleast 4 stars if not 5, I would assume the City E-HEV model to be 5 stars with all its ADAS functions and since you keep your cars for a long time - the City will continue to perform flawlessly even after 10 years from my own experience. You can also keep renewing the warranty every year on the car upto 10 years under Honda Anytime Warranty which I am doing for my Brio and the cost is marginal for peace of mind.

Originally Posted by princely_pauper View Post
Is the infotainment system/camera better than the one in the current City?
I saw some Youtube video which shows that the Screen Quality and Camera Quality have been improved, lets wait for the Official Reviews.

Originally Posted by On4Wheels View Post
(Honda iVTEC) when you find a 20 year old car with same iVTEC technology though it is an unlikely event to spot a 20 year old competitor car in this segment on road today.
I think the i-Vtec has been upgraded in the last few years but now with the Atkinson Cycle motor I think there is less reliance on the i-Vtec as its a completely different set up and system.
M00M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2023, 20:04   #227

Originally Posted by M00M View Post

I saw some Youtube video which shows that the Screen Quality and Camera Quality have been improved, lets wait for the Official Reviews..
It is true, even the brightness has improved slightly. The rear camera is better too, again marginally. I can confirm that. I did check the vehicles out at the showroom.
Old 8th March 2023, 20:26   #228

Originally Posted by Naparajito View Post
It is true, even the brightness has improved slightly. The rear camera is better too, again marginally. I can confirm that. I did check the vehicles out at the showroom.
I did a test drive of the facelift recently and the salesperson mentioned that the camera has been upgraded from VGA to 1MP.
Old 8th March 2023, 20:45   #229

Originally Posted by M00M View Post
I think the i-Vtec has been upgraded in the last few years but now with the Atkinson Cycle motor I think there is less reliance on the i-Vtec as its a completely different set up and system.
As per the Honda city webpage, the present generation (non hybrid) use DOHC i-VTEC engine. I guess the same technology is being used in hybrid engine (Atkinson Cycle) also. Kindly correct me I am wrong.
Honda City Facelift launched at Rs. 11.49 lakhs-screenshot-20230308-203108.png  

Old 8th March 2023, 22:00   #230

Originally Posted by jaysonline View Post
I did a test drive of the facelift recently and the salesperson mentioned that the camera has been upgraded from VGA to 1MP.
Does it have adaptive guidelines or just straight lines while reversing?
Old 8th March 2023, 22:23   #231

Originally Posted by SedateGuy View Post
Does it have adaptive guidelines or just straight lines while reversing?
Just straight lines, no adaptive guidelines.
Old 8th March 2023, 22:32   #232

Originally Posted by Venkatr View Post
I confirmed with HONDA accessories dept and service personnel that the shocks in 5th gen City eHEV model will NOT fit in City 5th gen ICE model as the part numbers are different
Part numbers will obviously be different as they are not the same. But since the chassis is the same, it will be interchangeable.

But Honda may not do it. That is a different matter altogether. 😊
Chethan B G is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2023, 07:25   #233

Originally Posted by Chethan B G View Post
Part numbers will obviously be different as they are not the same. But since the chassis is the same, it will be interchangeable.
True. Part numbers could be different due to a variety of reasons. As long as the mounting points are same it should be okay, unless the rebound rate and/or damping action is different between the E & ICE models.

This could well be the case given the diverse weight distribution between the two.

Mod Note: Our 2023 Honda City Facelift Report has been taken live at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the new thread. Thanks!

Last edited by Aditya : 9th March 2023 at 11:08. Reason: Link to report added

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com