Old 31st August 2022, 16:25   #31

Re: 2022 Audi Q3 launched in India at Rs 44.89 lakh

When i started in college 6 years ago, me and my friend used to say that a Q3 is definitely not the Audi we would like to settle at. But 50 lakh Rs for a Q3 and that to ex-showroom is a huge stretch. For reference 10 years ago an A6 used to start from around 43-45 lakh Rs.
yshvj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st August 2022, 17:16   #32

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
Dont think X1 20d will be faster than Q3 2 TSI. Lets wait for the test drive reports.
Bro you serious???

A base model x1 20d (with the fantastic B48 engine of actually 2 Litres) is way faster than all c classes, and all A4s also.

i shudder to think the engine in a Q3 2TSI. it may just be the 1.4 tsi (appropriate for a vento, or a slavia)
Old 31st August 2022, 17:53   #33

Originally Posted by Nucliomaniac View Post
Bro you serious???

A base model x1 20d (with the fantastic B48 engine of actually 2 Litres) is way faster than all c classes, and all A4s also.

i shudder to think the engine in a Q3 2TSI. it may just be the 1.4 tsi (appropriate for a vento, or a slavia)
Sorry to break the bubble

X1 20d 0 to 100 - 7.72 secs

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...t-drive-416383

A4 2 TSI 0 to 100 - 7.19 secs

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-rev...t-drive-419539

Guess you missed the point where it is mentioned the engine is indeed 2 TSI

Again sweeping statements like 'A base model x1 20d (with the fantastic B48 engine of actually 2 Litres) is way faster than all c classes' doesnt help - it is definitely not faster than C300d

I am a die hard fan of BMW too, 320d is faster but dont think X1 is (though same engine). As said in my previous post, lets wait for the test drive report of Q3 before judging which is faster and which is slower.

Last edited by sunikkat : 31st August 2022 at 18:12.
sunikkat is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 31st August 2022, 18:39   #34

Originally Posted by josephilip View Post
I am very surprised by people saying that the new Q3 is overpriced. People will buy the Fortuner for 60lkhs on a heartbeat but are not willing to pay for a Q3. It is weird.
The reaons people will buy the fortuner over the Audi Q3.
1. Way bigger car.
2. Fortuner has a much bigger fan base than a Q3. I dont see anybody aspiring to buy a Q3. I know plenty who have the fortuner as their dream car.
3. The capabilities of the fortuner is not even comparible to the Q3.
4. The insane resale value of the T Fort!!
5. If I put my head into this I can go on and on about why the fortuner is so much more in demand in the market.
SN88 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 31st August 2022, 19:07   #35

I think the Audi Q3 will do very well even at this price. They have a head-start over BMW's next-gen X1 and the new Q3 is a great package. Personally, I would pick the petrol Q3 any day over the GLA petrol. All the VW part sharing aside, the Audi badge is still a notch above and compares favorably. This model will finally give Audi India its much needed lifeline to become competitive once again.
Old 31st August 2022, 19:39   #36

Originally Posted by Nucliomaniac View Post
Bro you serious???

Sorry dude, but your info is out of date. The X1 was a competent and VFM product 7 years ago when it was launched but it is horribly outdated and overpriced now. They got rid of the X-drive AWD variant, the M-sport package with the nice seats, and now even the base model costs 40+l ex showroom with minimal discounts due to current market situations. Not to mention, the next gen x1 has been revealed globally and is launching in India next year. The interiors too look cheap and out of date compared to even the 2 series.

7 years ago, you would have been right with the lethargic diesel engines available in the Q3 and A4 but nowadays they are only available with a 190hp petrol engine.

Same for the C class. Even the base C 200 has 200hp now and the C 300d has 260+ hp.
Cresterk is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 11:06   #37

I am very surprised by people saying that the new Q3 is overpriced. People will buy the Fortuner for 60lkhs on a heartbeat but are not willing to pay for a Q3. It is weird.
Totally agreed. 50-lakhs is the new 40-lakhs and all cars in the market are overpriced today, especially the new launches. For anyone in the market with 50 big ones in the pocket and desiring a luxury brand, I think the Q3 makes a compelling case for itself. Would definitely buy it over the GLA & its boring 1.3L turbo-petrol or the antique X1. Let's not overlook the fact that the Q3 does have AWD too.
GTO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 11:17   #38

For anyone in the market with 50 big ones in the pocket and desiring a luxury brand, I think the Q3 makes a compelling case for itself. Would definitely buy it over the GLA & its boring 1.3L turbo-petrol or the antique X1. Let's not overlook the fact that the Q3 does have AWD too.
You can rather get the Kodiaq or Tiguan if you want to experience the MQB platform and the same powertrain. Those who want an Audi, should rather get the A4 instead. At least it's a bespoke Audi (as it's based on Audi's MLB platform) unlike the Q3 which is a rebodied Tiguan. A4 Technology costs the same as the Q3 for now and since the A4 is quite dated now, discounts can be expected. The Q3's atrocious pricing makes the A4 VFM package now.

Many who say that the A4 is a glorified Octavia, should experience both these cars. A4's powertrain is completely different compared to the Octy even it has the same engine on paper. A4's engine is longitudinally mounted thanks to the MLB platform and it has DL382 S-tronic wet type dual clutch transmission whereas the Octavia has DQ381. Also the A4's overall parts and interiors feel way superior to the Octavia. There is a day and night difference between the Octavia and the A4.

Last edited by IREV : 1st September 2022 at 11:20.
IREV is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 12:54   #39

Originally Posted by SN88 View Post
The reasons people will buy the fortuner over the Audi Q3.
1. Way bigger car.
2. Fortuner has a much bigger fan base than a Q3. I dont see anybody aspiring to buy a Q3. I know plenty who have the fortuner as their dream car.
3. The capabilities of the fortuner is not even comparable to the Q3.
4. The insane resale value of the T Fort!!
5. If I put my head into this I can go on and on about why the fortuner is so much more in demand in the market.
I can see all of this and more.
Yes people dream about buying the Toyota Fortuner. Especially people coming from middle class families like I do.
But even my father who LOVES Toyota is of the opinion that the fortuner is overpriced for what it is.
The fortuner doesn't even have four wheel disc brakes, the ride isn't that great and misses out on some features we expect on a 50-60 lakh car.
I guess in the end BIGGER is better in our market.

Personally I find the price of the Q3 acceptable. Not killer, but acceptable.
Old 1st September 2022, 13:18   #40

The pricing is what I expected. We can see the new X1 around 60lac price bracket. That will be weird when the X5 once used to be 65lac.
Old 1st September 2022, 15:54   #41
pqr

2022 Audi Q3 launched in India at Rs 44.89 lakh-1.png

Direct competition (For brand-conscious buyers.)
  • Audi Q3: It seems like Audi has gone for CBU pricing for the Q3, and is priced ₹ 6.3 lakh above the average competition basket. The only advantage the Audi Q3 has is the AWD system, and feature-wise it's even. AWD can command ₹ 1.5 lakh max, but what about unnecessary CBU surcharge of ₹ 5 lakh?
  • Mercedes GLA: The exterior still has a hint of hatchback feel to it, but the interior is very youth-oriented. It lacks big time in the drivetrain department. So Mercedes is banking on the diesel engine for volume.
  • BMW X1: Certainly has the best exterior stance, so is selling well despite the interior's age (generation change is due). It doesn’t stand out in any other department, as the equipment level also looks dated in comparison. GLA pricing has helped BMW to jack up X1 prices in recent times.
  • Volvo XC40: With Harman Kardon 600w-14 speakers sound system, and selective ADAS features, XC40 is the best equipped car here.
Strangely, manufacturers don’t offer 360-degree cameras and ventilated front seats in this segment, which are now considered staple features in the three segments below.

Alternate value-for-money options (Not meant for brand-conscious buyers.)
  • Skoda Kodiaq: The Skoda Kodiaq shares the same MQB37A platform and EA888-DQ381-AWD drivetrain as the Q3 and Tiguan, but it is larger on the outside and inside and has a few feature advantages, including a 625w Canton sound system (vs 180w Audi system), DCC, 360 camera, ventilated front seats, and an additional 3rd row of seats for small children.
  • VW Tiguan: Almost the same configuration as the Q3, but for ₹ 17.6 lakh less. It seems like a used Audi Q3 deal after 2 years, but in metal, it will still be an all-new car. Although Audi is a notch above VW and Skoda in terms of material quality and in the department of driving dynamics.
pqr is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 16:25   #42

The Fortuner doesn't even have four wheel disc brakes. The ride isn't that great and misses out on some features we expect on a 50-60 lakh car.
Please update your source of information.

Fortuner gets all 4 disc brakes since 2016…

Comparing a BOF’s ride quality with a Monocoque will definitely see the Monocoque win, and yes ride quality of the Fortuner is not best at low speeds compared to other BOFs but the ride and handling balance is brilliant for a BOF, which can be felt clearly out on the highways.

In terms of features only a panoramic sunroof is missing, rest everything is very much present, meaning the essentials are all there, just gimmicky features have been given a miss.

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 1st September 2022 at 16:29.
CEF_Beasts is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 16:40   #43

Apart from the obnoxious pricing for Audi Q3, another big reason to avoid it be its was released back in 25 July 2018.
Source: Audi Q3: Wikipedia

So Audi Q3 is already 4 years old.

With a 6 year life cycle, next generation can be expected in H2 2024.

I rather buy a new model car then a car going out of production in 2 years.

3rd generation BMW X1 (U11 2022) rather be a compelling buy to stay relevant.
el lobo 6061 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st September 2022, 18:11   #44

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
In terms of features only a panoramic sunroof is missing, rest everything is very much present, meaning the essentials are all there, just gimmicky features have been given a miss.
Oh yeah! I am sorry about that. It does get disc brakes even though the brakes aren't that good.
Handling is good for a Ladder frame, but RIDE? I wouldn't agree. Personally i liked the Scorpio's ride better than the Fortuner. And obviously it can't be compared to the Ford Endeavours ride.
Old 1st September 2022, 20:55   #45

Originally Posted by el lobo 6061 View Post
Apart from the obnoxious pricing for Audi Q3, another big reason to avoid it be its was released back in 25 July 2018.
Source: Audi Q3: Wikipedia

So Audi Q3 is already 4 years old.

With a 6 year life cycle, next generation can be expected in H2 2024.

I rather buy a new model car then a car going out of production in 2 years.

3rd generation BMW X1 (U11 2022) rather be a compelling buy to stay relevant.
Even the segment above A4 which is priced the same as the Q3, would be a better deal. Sure, the A4 is dated, but it's a bespoke Audi unlike the rebadged Tiguan a.k.a Q3.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com