Old 3rd September 2006, 14:31   #76

Originally Posted by lamborghini
When we got a quote from outside, it was 40K less and the only reason it was so much was because of the spares prices. Oh and this included a polish.
I hope you realise that the repainted portion will not 100% match if you do it from outside.
1.5 Lakh is really expensive but to get the matching paint your gonna have to get it done from the showroom. I suggest you check your no-claim bonus and if the value of it is lower than 1.5 Lakh(i am sure it should be lower) then just claim it.
Better still you could try your luck at getting the dent repaired from outside and just get the painting done from the showroom If they allow you to do so then its ideal.
Old 3rd September 2006, 21:44   #77

Originally Posted by Sahil
I hope you realise that the repainted portion will not 100% match if you do it from outside.
1.5 Lakh is really expensive but to get the matching paint your gonna have to get it done from the showroom. I suggest you check your no-claim bonus and if the value of it is lower than 1.5 Lakh(i am sure it should be lower) then just claim it.
Better still you could try your luck at getting the dent repaired from outside and just get the painting done from the showroom If they allow you to do so then its ideal.
Sahil I seriously think you have no idea what some good garages can do today for less than the cost of official garages. I had my OHC painted & lots of Delhi T-BHPians have seen the work & the general consenus is that the work's atleast as good as factory finish if not better.

There is no rule today that an outside garage can't give you good enough finish, infact some garages give you better finish than authorised dealers & still cahrge you way less. Yes but I agree that only a select few can do that.
Old 3rd September 2006, 22:38   #78

Originally Posted by iraghava
Sahil I seriously think you have no idea what some good garages can do today for less than the cost of official garages. I had my OHC painted & lots of Delhi T-BHPians have seen the work & the general consenus is that the work's atleast as good as factory finish if not better.

There is no rule today that an outside garage can't give you good enough finish, infact some garages give you better finish than authorised dealers & still cahrge you way less. Yes but I agree that only a select few can do that.
I am not arguing over the finish quality, but the color is always slightly different. Specially since his car color is a little different it would be hard to match the exact paint.
Ironically soon after i wrote the above post my car got hit by a dog! Literally! A dog came running out of no where and bumped himself into my bumper when i was driving at 50km/hr. I managed to save the dog but i have a huge bump on the right hand side of my bumper with a small crack.
And yes i am sending it to an outside garage tomorrow! to check if it can be repaired instead of going though an expensive replacement. Will it be possible to get the plastic bumper back to its original shape?No paint has been damaged.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 10th May 2018 at 17:25. Reason: Typo corrected
Old 4th September 2006, 01:20   #79

I am not arguing over the finish quality, but the color is always slightlyy different. Specially since his car color is a little different it would be hard to match the exact paint.
Again I would disagree. Matching paint colours is no longer the black art it used to be & a good workshop will be able to handle it & execute a job to a very high level, provided they have the necessary expertise.
Old 4th September 2006, 10:52   #80

Sahil,

Did you know that a lot of authorised workshops outsource some painting work to non-authorised paint shops? One example is the chap in Tardeo (behind 4 seasons) where I have seen plentiful cars from authorised dealers (Mercedes included).
Old 4th September 2006, 10:53   #81

Originally Posted by lurker
It seems cost-wise also India seems like a rip-off, a friend of mine who bought a MB 220 CDI a month ago in South Africa was saying that it only costs 18 laks including taxes.
Taxes, taxes, taxes, duties, cesses, additional taxes...read my thread here:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...umbaikars.html
Old 4th September 2006, 10:54   #82

Originally Posted by GTO
Sahil,

Did you know that a lot of authorised workshops outsource some painting work to non-authorised paint shops? One example is the chap in Tardeo (behind 4 seasons) where I have seen plentiful cars from authorised dealers (Mercedes included).
Even other work - I know of several dealers who outsource to Panchal for muffler and other minor welding work.
Old 4th September 2006, 11:03   #83

I am not arguing over the finish quality, but the color is always slightlyy different. Specially since his car color is a little different it would be hard to match the exact paint.
Ironically soon after i wrote the above post my car got hit by a dog! Literally! A dog came running out of no where and bumped himself into my bumper when i was driving at 50km/hr. I managed to save the dog but i have a huge bump on the right hand side of my bumper with a small crack.
And yes i am sending it to an outside garage tomo! to check if it can be repaired instead of going though an expensive replacement. Will it be possible to get the plastic bumper back to its orignal shape?No paint has been damaged.
After a very long time, I finally went to a roadside paintshop to get my Swift rear bumper fixed. He came somewhat recommended and assured me that he would do a good job and also he bakes the paint using bulbs. He used a computer for colour matching, used some heat guns to mold the plastic/fibre back into original shape and fill up the holes/crack created in it and also did some minor touch ups. I must say I am reasonably pleased (it was at 20% of the cost - of course the dealer would have replaced the bumper). Entire job done in 6 hours. Can't really make out any difference at first or second glance, unless one looks extremely carefully. Let me see how time treats the repair job.

Edit: The point remains to be seen is that how the repaired bumpers hold up to the job of protecting you a second time. My opinion is that they certainly would not to the same extent, since the re-heating process has rendered the material weak. But I guess in our city traffic conditions, it is acceptable.

Last edited by sandeep108 : 4th September 2006 at 11:05.
Old 4th September 2006, 16:41   #84

Originally Posted by GTO
Sahil,

Exactly my point GTO. I know of an independent garage in Delhi where I get my work done which does cars both for Mercedes-Benz & Audi dealers. Sat in my first A8 & 997 Carrera S when it came for a fender dent & repaint job there!
Old 18th July 2012, 15:17   #85

Re: Maintaining a Mercedes-Benz in India

Merc service sucks BIIIGGGGG time...

Last year my S350L was stuck with Auto Hangar for more than a month coz Merc wouldn't sent the part (Valve Body) from the Germany... Supposedly this part is Chassis specific and can be calibrated only in Germany...

Service estimate for the S350L in its 4th year is 45k+... Needless to say I told them thanks but no thanks... Enough specialists in Bombay who can do an equally good job and half the cost...

I agree that the dealers do rip you off... Every time they have the same excuse that these repairs are detected by the MB Diagnostic system, a report goes to the factory also, we can't mess with it, etc etc... Ya sure...

the problem is that all other companies have the same rep as far as dealer service goes...

so i guess its best to buy a 2 year old luxury car, save huge on the costs and then maintain it with the specialists...

Old 19th July 2012, 01:08   #86

Originally Posted by jesalam View Post
Merc service sucks BIIIGGGGG time...

Last year my S350L was stuck with Auto Hangar for more than a month coz Merc wouldn't sent the part (Valve Body) from the Germany... Supposedly this part is Chassis specific and can be calibrated only in Germany...

Service estimate for the S350L in its 4th year is 45k+... Needless to say I told them thanks but no thanks... Enough specialists in Bombay who can do an equally good job and half the cost...

I agree that the dealers do rip you off... Every time they have the same excuse that these repairs are detected by the MB Diagnostic system, a report goes to the factory also, we can't mess with it, etc etc... Ya sure...

the problem is that all other companies have the same rep as far as dealer service goes...

so i guess its best to buy a 2 year old luxury car, save huge on the costs and then maintain it with the specialists...

Quite surprised you have had this experience in Mumbai. Even though we use an outside garage, I have been very happy with Mercedes Service off late.
Also, 45K is a good estimate for a 4 year old S350L. It is an S Class. We used to pay a similar amount for our E270.
Interestingly, I am not sure if it is a perception, but I have this feeling that BMW spares are quite well priced in relation to Mercedes. That, and their above average reliability and maintenance packages just give it the edge.
Old 19th July 2012, 14:40   #87

Maintaining a MB is Surely Very Expensive.
I just got the 4 ABC Struts[ re-manufactured by Arnott], Battery control module and all the hydraulic cylinders of the hardtop changed on my SL500, parts cost me 7 lacs + labour 40000.
2 months back, my driver crashed my S500, on the left front fender, it was bad, very bad, had to change left front subframe, lower and upper arms, shock, steering rods, fender, bumper, headlight etc etc. and, the total damage was, hold your breath, 11 lacs!!!
Its not easy to own and maintain a Mercedes, and its even more difficult if your car is 6 years or older, most plastic parts start decaying, become brittle.
I guess its best to own a Mercedes for 4 years from new and then sell her off!
Its all the same world over with these cars, go on to any Merc forum and they only talk about the maintenance costs.
scooby05 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th September 2017, 20:16   #88

Sorry to pile onto this existing but dated thread. But was looking for any updated information on maintenance costs for used Mercedes C Class's. Seem to find a fair bit of them in the used car lots these days. Predominantly the C180, C200 & C220. In terms of age most seem to be about 10 years old.

Any inputs folks ?
Old 13th September 2017, 22:11   #89

Originally Posted by auxsend View Post

Any inputs folks ?
I got two words for you - Stay Away!
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2017, 08:25   #90

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I got two words for you - Stay Away!
Oh shucks, that bad ? Whatever happened to all that German reliability i wonder. On a side note, are the BMW's or the Merc's an easier bet to maintain once they age a bit (7 years plus) ?
auxsend is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com