Old 8th June 2022, 15:11   #46

Re: Volkswagen’s official statement regarding Taigun AC issues

Originally Posted by samitjain View Post
I am facing similar issue in Honda City 4th Gen. CVT Petrol.
Likewise in my 2017 CVT City. I always felt that the AC was underpowered vis-a-vis my BRV(2016) and Jazz( 2018). But then, I keep my AC at 25 and don't venture out in the peak sun,so managed to 'live with it'.
Old 8th June 2022, 15:51   #47

I see a lot of people complain about the VW 2.0 upgrade not being worthy of its name, well honestly in my opinion it's a success as their sales have shot up and people are perceiving them as worthy competitors in their segments and buying them too. Even I was impressed with the new cars. (Sales figures speak)

Now the AC issue has always been an Achilles heel in Vag below 30lac cars Manufactured from 2004 to 2012. Now I speak from experience as a previous owner of a 2012 Jetta and a present 2019 Passat (No AC problems yet *Fingers Crossed*). And this ownership has enlightened me a little in this area, Oh and ya you can confirm this by reading old ownership experiences. After driving a Honda City from 2006 all the way till 2012 clicking around 375000kms in those 6 years I never faced any issue with the AC besides regular clean up of the vents and maintenance, but that's it. No Hot Air blowing with AC switched ON etc.

Come 2012 and I sell the city for a Sturdy German Jetta (Against everyone around me warning about the persistent AC issues with it) but the sales agent repeatedly assured me that VW had fixed it which was Not True. Come 60000 km my AC Compressor went kaput on me. But luck favouring me and everything was covered under warranty and fixed FOC and again reassured that the fix was now permanent. Come close to 120000 km my AC compressor again went kaput, but this time I wasn't lucky enough to claim a warranty as my car wasn't covered and the change would have cost me Rs. 65k. So I went to the AC guy and sourced an OEM Aftermarket compressor compatible with the car, spent around Rs. 30k and things were cool for a while. Around 190000kms the compressor again went kaput. Before the change, I tried to revive it this time by replacing the compressor switch valve but it wasn't successful and to my dismay, my father initiated a Jugad by fitting a Vento compressor instead of a compatible compressor and guess what within 2 days it had to be replaced due to non-compatibility. This is when I stepped up research on what is causing this problem is it me or the vehicle or the compressor.

Two of my mates bought VW Ventos 1.5tdi on my recommendation in 2014, but never faced any compressor issues, but were always dissatisfied with the cooling in the peak summers. This is when it was confirmed that this horrid problem exists in all VAG Global Cars of that time like the Jetta, Passat, Octavia/Laura, and Superb. VAG has always been in the know-how that their Sanden older model Compressors are not powerful enough to compete with Compressors from Subros India (Maruti and most Jap cars OEM) or Denso (OEM for most German-like Mercedes etc and American Cars), and with use tend to get weak over the period of time, but still used their old products. VAG though started using Sanden updated products from 2015.I tried to source a newer compressor but wasn't able to and finally settled on a Sanden PXE lower series. Coming 240000 km and 2022 the compressor again started to blow Hot Air and after revving the car a little would start throwing cold air. Stop and go traffic and Jams were horrible at times so this time around I just sold the car as is.

Alongside I own 2 Hondas too, which are a chiller when it comes to cooling, still not facing any problems with them. VAG has in all these years has understood everything an Indian Family wants in a car, but till date ignores the most basic complaint of AC Cooling issue. And now after the anguish of its newer customers on Social Media has recognized that Only the newer cars have issues and is just trying to wish wash the issue.

Last edited by Turbanator : 8th June 2022 at 16:31. Reason: Spell and spacing for readability.
Kanboy is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:08   #48

I have a Kushaq 1.0 MT and thankfully have not faced any issue till date.
Having said that the overall AC performance is average at best even when it works flawless.

My i10 had multiple times better AC performance than Kushaq. I couldn't keep AC vents pointed at my face as it started getting too chilly but in Skoda I keep vents pointed on face all the time. I don't think its lack of technical expertise on VW group part. They simply don't care about Indian's concern due to very poor judicial system here. They pushed Kushaq and Taigun on roads with nil testing but still it doesn't matter because even the competitors are no good. Koreans with their tin shell unsafe cars are doing the same. Everyone is taking Indians for fool except Indian manufacturers.

Good thing is they didn't compromise on mechanical engineering. Their cars drive better than anything else in the market in same price range.

P.S. It is still to be seen how safe VW 2.0 cars are. Huge chance that they are equally worse as Koreans.
varun.petro is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:31   #49

If this issue would have been in a Tata or a Mahindra car, there would be large posts about Indian engineering and bad testing. IMO VAG has screwed up big time, with competition ramping up (New creta and New seltos) on the line, VAG can’t even deliver a niggle free product. First EPC error, now AC. Can’t even sort the basic things in a car. Also to mention they’ve removed auto folding mirrors and also replaced 10inch screen with a 8 combined with increase in already inflated cars. Recipe for disaster
prakhar30 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 16:47   #50

Absolutely no issues with an 8 year old Polo 1.2 TSI's AC system.

At LOW setting, it chills out the cabin in this 42+ degree heat. Neither does the compressor cut off in any scenario (low speed, B2B traffic etc).

Not sure why SVWIPL couldn't get basics right for such an important product.
GoBlue is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 17:00   #51

The sales figures for VW 2.O products are relatively low for brand new products.Numerous reasons are responsible:
1. Niggles in critical areas (Indian customers now research online prior to purchase, so these issues act as deal breakers).
2.Not so value pricing (prior to launch, Mr. Zac had indicated competitive pricing)
3. Significant departure from typical VW core competency areas (as extensively discussed in various threads on this forum).
4. No crash testing yet. Look how Tata Punch is selling (significant sales numbers could be due to being a 5 star)
5. Poor planning (how can someone simply change the screen size/remove features months after the launch?)
Old 8th June 2022, 17:54   #52

I found VAG products (especially around 10-20L bracket) pricier than the competition.With Mahindra & Tata coming up with aces every couple of years (XUVs,Nexon,Punch etc.), Koreans introducing good reliable products and Suzuki too trying to catch-up in B/C segment, window is getting smaller for VAG.Their sales numbers and dealership network doesn't inspire confidence in buyers and I guess soon it'll be curtains down on them despite whatever they may claim, like India 2.0 etc. They should take a cue from Mahindra and Kia as to how impress the market with loads of features in their products and from Tata with the way they've priced Nexon (40+ ICE models) and its variations.
neel@makrand is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 18:22   #53

Waiting for the " robust " ac compressor now from team 2.0!!
SN88 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 22:53   #54

"Optimal fuel efficiency"
Maybe they are trying to pander to our obsession on fuel efficiency, and failed miserably on that. Since I am not bothered so much by fuel efficiency, I find it strange that even in this forum so much discussion is focused on fuel efficiency. In my opinion, this obsession have made car manufacturers in India sacrifice safety, and maybe other things too.

"AC performance in specific operating conditions"
As if VW just started their north Indian operations this year.

"kindly visit your nearest dealership and they will assist you"
Does not mention whether they have any solution. So could be just asking their customers to waste their time. Overall very vague statement from VW
Guite is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 23:43   #55

Originally Posted by tsi_niks1989 View Post
Surprisingly, AC in our Apr 22 Kushaq MT is working flawlessly. Honda brio for that matter used to perform poor compared to the cooling experienced in Kushaq 1L.

We have the active peace variant with manual AC and this experience is from Lucknow (44-48 temp). Rear ac vents also work on expected lines. Can it be something related to a batch of cars or cars equipped with auto ac?
Agree, AC works fine on my 1 L Kushaq.
Turbojet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2022, 23:53   #56

Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli View Post
The real reason is yet to be found out, but, switching off the AC for the 1.0 mill might also be something about maintaining brake booster vacuum at low speeds. The AC at full load is a significant burden on the engine output at crawling rpms! Our car power ratings are at 5000rpm ish! We crawl at 800rpm ish.
The Ac at crawling speeds never bothers the 800 cc Alto. Agreed it is no rocket, but AC does the job across RPMs and there is no brake booster issue either. Why should it bother a much higher spec car?

Guys, these are fundamentals. A Maruti S-Presso has an excellent AC. It has great reliability.
Exactly my thoughts.

A friend's daughter has recently bought the Kushaq but I haven't heard of any problems from her. It seems to be performing well.

Last edited by Gansan : 8th June 2022 at 23:55.
Gansan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 00:16   #57

As a Rapid 1.0 Tsi owner here, I dont face any issues with AC cooling that too in NCR weather, touch wood. My temperature is set at 22 degrees on Auto and I have hardly seen it go over 2-3 fan speed. Only once it went to full speed, when it was standing in the sun at 49 degrees for 2 hours. Within 5-7 minutes it gradually moved to 3.
Old 9th June 2022, 01:40   #58

Try getting a reply from Hyundai on Twitter and their PR team will block you. The service centers too try to fleece you. Even Japanese cars too have AC issues during peak summer in crawling traffic as the engine auto cuts off the AC to keep the engine cool. Even in 1st Gen Fortuner, I know that a few folks had installed a larger condenser and a fan to make AC more effective in Delhi NCR.
BTW, I am not trying to favor or run down any manufacturer here, but I am trying to put down the things in the right perspective.
ukalia is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 07:43   #59

Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli View Post
The AC at full load is a significant burden on the engine output at crawling rpms! Our car power ratings are at 5000rpm ish! We crawl at 800rpm ish. The Punto had a similar issue, a software update and a booster pump was introduced later, and the Seltos, and many others.
Chiming in, my Punto (petrol) audibly has the AC clutch (that’s what the Fiat mechanic calls it) clicking on and off between 1k-2k rpm. Cooling is better driving at 2k rpm. In my Taigun test drive I didn’t hear any clicks but AC performance was similarly inadequate. And the poor car broke down, thankfully right outside my workplace. I like these new VWs but this stuff is definitely not on.
Vikram9193 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th June 2022, 07:51   #60

Originally Posted by ukalia View Post
Try getting a reply from Hyundai on Twitter and their PR team will block you. The service centers too try to fleece you. Even Japanese cars too have AC issues during peak summer in crawling traffic as the engine auto cuts off the AC to keep the engine cool. Even in 1st Gen Fortuner, I know that a few folks had installed a larger condenser and a fan to make AC more effective in Delhi NCR.
BTW, I am not trying to favor or run down any manufacturer here, but I am trying to put down the things in the right perspective.
Not that Twitter is bad, but maintaining an active Twitter account is one thing and maintaining product quality is another. In my decades of experience with MS and Hyundai cars, not even once I had to raise a complaint about manufacturing defect. Only time my cars were in service center were either for regular services or body work due to accident
I hope companies put more rigor in product testing and quality control rather than blaming Indian customers or conditions. May be then they don't need such an active Twitter channel in the first place!

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 9th June 2022 at 07:53.
Aviator_guy is offline   (4) Thanks