Old 13th July 2022, 14:25   #31

Re: 2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore

Originally Posted by avira_tk View Post
What does having AWD have to do with front wheel drive proportions? The dash axle ratio is off and that is good enough reason to reject this car. The reason this has AWD is because that is just about the only thing that has brand recall, the others are doing just fine with rear wheel drive and design proportions that come with it.
So what's wrong with the A8 having front wheel drive proportions? Buyers don't care about that anyways. You need to experience all the 3 Germans.
IREV is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 16:41   #32

Re: 2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore

What does having AWD have to do with front wheel drive proportions? The dash axle ratio is off and that is good enough reason to reject this car. The reason this has AWD is because that is just about the only thing that has brand recall, the others are doing just fine with rear wheel drive and design proportions that come with it.
That's a weird reason you are making to reject the car. Just like IREV said, buyers don't care about that! They just want to experience sheer luxury while sitting inside the cabin, not measure the dash-axle ratios of cars.
TechnoBloop is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 16:49   #33

Originally Posted by TechnoBloop View Post
That's a weird reason you are making to reject the car.
In fact, what he said about the dash axle ratio of the A8 being off and that's the reason to avoid the A8 is totally wrong. I have never seen poorly calibrated dash axle ratios of any luxury car. He also says it has front wheel drive exterior proportions which is totally irrelevant as the A8 is AWD only.

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th July 2022 at 21:06. Reason: Quoted post trimmed for relevance.
IREV is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 19:45   #34

That's a weird reason you are making to reject the car. Just like IREV said, buyers don't care about that! They just want to experience sheer luxury while sitting inside the cabin, not measure the dash-axle ratios of cars.
Buyers do, this car is a wholesale dud in India, discounts freed up space at the dealers' lots earlier. There is some post on this forum alone about a discount of around 25 lakhs to a buyer. Buyers in this segment like brand equity, the S rules and the 7 sort of hangs around, buy this and you can tell people this is not an A6. The dash axle ratio plays a big role in the look, people don't buy ugly, whatever the luxury inside, in this case there is nothing extraordinary inside versus the competition.

Originally Posted by IREV View Post
In fact, what he said about the dash axle ratio of the A8 being off and that's the reason to avoid the A8 is totally wrong. I have never seen poorly calibrated dash axle ratios of any luxury car. He also says it has front wheel drive exterior proportions which is totally irrelevant as the A8 is AWD only.

Front wheel drive proportions have nothing to do with awd, what are you on about? It just means that the distance of the centre of the front wheels from the dashboard is shorter on cars where the engine sits ahead of the front axle-literally every Audi. The reason to avoid the A8 is that this car has less presence than the competition, in this country we don't have enough people who think that's a great thing. I'm taking about the ones who shop in this segment.

One of our forum members was involved in the development of the S60, basically the new age Volvo platform that underpins their current model range. The design brief included a very important instruction - the dash axle ratio had to look like those of rear wheel drive cars - BMW or Mercedes, not Audi. This resulted in higher costs and complications, but the end result is pretty obvious, just compare the XC90 and Q7, one looks like a proper SUV and the other looks like a minivan. The Bentley Flying Spur is another car that was designed to get the dash axle ratio right, I didn't say that, the designers highlighted it, so yeah, this is a huge deal in car design.

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th July 2022 at 21:05. Reason: Quoted post edited.
avira_tk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 20:08   #35

The dash axle ratio plays a big role in the look, people don't buy ugly, whatever the luxury inside, in this case there is nothing extraordinary inside versus the competition.
All your theories are different compared to seeing in flesh. Audi's MLB EVO platform is such that their engines are placed in front of the front axle unlike BMW and Mercedes-Benz. So that might be a strong link to dash axle ratio. First of all, experience the A8 and then speak. I won't believe on those things at all unless you experienced Audis. I have never seen any Audi owner complaining about poor dash axle ratio leading to less road presence. Even entry level BMWs and Mercs and Porsches like the Macan have poor dash axle ratio. Why don't you complain those cars as well? Looks like you have some personal problems with the brand without even experiencing it by speaking all complicated things.

Front wheel drive proportions have nothing to do with awd, what are you on about? It just means that the distance of the centre of the front wheels from the dashboard is shorter on cars where the engine sits ahead of the front axle-literally every Audi.
Even the Porsche Macan's engine is placed in front of the axle just like Audis. So according to your logic the Macan has no road presence, meanwhile you are claiming Volvos like S60 and XC90 have better dash axle ratio, meaning they have good road presence. Even the Porsche Macan is becoming common on the Indian roads nowadays Even though it costs close to 1 crore with options. None of the buyers and enthusiasts care about it. Even the pre facelift 2nd gen Q7, though looks ugly and like a station wagon, sold well in India and I have seen so many of them till now. So stop putting all these baseless claims without even experiencing them. Even Audi owners don't complain about the less dash axle ratio as claimed by you. Audi's platform is the big reason for that. If you want to bash Audi for such reasons then bash Porsche Macan for this reason as well.

Last edited by Axe77 : 14th July 2022 at 07:16. Reason: Merging back to back posts.
Old 13th July 2022, 20:35   #36

The reason to avoid the A8 is that this car has less presence than the competition, in this country we don't have enough people who think that's a great thing. I'm taking about the ones who shop in this segment.
So you basically want to say that Audi has lesser road presence. I don't know from where or how you got that idea. That car definitely has the road presence, in fact all Audi's have except the A3 and Q2. I think you have some personal grudge against Audi, hence the hate.

Buyers do, this car is a wholesale dud in India, discounts freed up space at the dealers' lots earlier. There is some post on this forum alone about a discount of around 25 lakhs to a buyer. Buyers in this segment like brand equity, the S rules and the 7 sort of hangs around, buy this and you can tell people this is not an A6. The dash axle ratio plays a big role in the look, people don't buy ugly, whatever the luxury inside, in this case there is nothing extraordinary inside versus the competition.
S Class is one thing and Maybach is another. The A8 won't be able to compete with the Maybach no doubt about that. But, it can very much compete against the 7 and S. It has got all the bells and whistles that is expected at this price point, everything is customizable, the engine is powerful, it has got Quattro AWD, much better lights than the S (unsure about the 7), all massage functions, foldable footrests, everything. Want more info? I can share it's brochure.
A8 is even cheaper than the S Class by 31 lakhs!! So I don't see why this car isn't worth to go after!

buy this and you can tell people this is not an A6
I could say the same thing about Mercedes as well. The new C-Class' back looks the same as S Class with just minor tweaks in their LEDs, the new E-Class also gets the same. You would have a hard time explaining which car is an S, C or E.

I recommend the first thing you do tomorrow is to go and visit an Audi dealership and see for yourself how big and spacious the car is.

Last edited by TechnoBloop : 13th July 2022 at 20:58. Reason: missed some words
TechnoBloop is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 21:00   #37

This car should only sell on price, the lousy front wheel drive proportions
What does having AWD have to do with front wheel drive proportions? The dash axle ratio is off and that is good enough reason to reject this car.
Call me whatever, but I haven't paid attention to this at all in any of my past purchases in this segment, can be due to the fact that I never like Audi/ VW so didn't bother to look at and BMW always had this nice balance.

For others, who want to read on the subject of "drive proportions", I found this interesting and informative article. This also mentions Audi, being exception of using such a setup in the premium segment.

Dash to axle ratios are directly related to a vehicle’s powertrain configuration. The advantage of front-wheel drive over rear-wheel drive is that a more compact powertrain that allows for more interior space within a given wheelbase. More to the point, cars with their powertrains mounted longitudinally (RWD) generally have more dash to axle than those mounted transversely (FWD). Audi is a notable exception, as it regularly builds longitudinal engines mounted ahead of the front axle. This means that even on Audi’s larger, more prestigious cars, the front wheels are stuffed backwards, closer to the firewall with a shorter dash to axle.

https://www.hagerty.com/media/car-de...to-axle-ratio/

So what's wrong with the A8 having front wheel drive proportions? Buyers don't care about that anyways.
They just want to experience sheer luxury while sitting inside the cabin, not measure the dash-axle ratios of cars.
I will say, more than 99% of the buyers in this segment won't even know about this term.

this car is a wholesale dud in India, discounts freed up space at the dealers' lots earlier. people don't buy ugly, whatever the luxury inside, in this case there is nothing extraordinary inside versus the competition.
Agree, this car in past was never successful and I doubt, the current will be any different. The current 7 retails with 15-25 Lac discounts, though BMW has increased prices recently to make way of a higher price launch of the new 7, dealers will be happy to sell at old MRP less discounts.

One of the reasons for non-success has been the brand perception, Audi is perceived as a Discounted brand by everyone. Somebody whom I helped a few months before while he was shopping, Audi was not even checked. Reason no.1 was that all look similar and people actually make fun like XYZ had got the car as Audi gave a discount of this much

Coming to the car, enclosed is the brochure.

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th July 2022 at 21:27.
Turbanator is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th July 2022, 21:09   #38

One of the reasons for non-success has been the brand perception, Audi is perceived as a Discounted brand by everyone. Somebody whom I helped a few months before while he was shopping, Audi was not even checked.
The big reason why A8 isn't selling well in India because it's a CBU and is targeted for low volumes unlike the 7er and the S which are CKD. Also both of them have diesels unlike the A8. Along with the A8, the LS500h isn't less either. Both of them are CBUs meaning they are priced way too high (A8 celebration is the exception).

Last edited by Turbanator : 13th July 2022 at 21:14. Reason: Quoted post trimmed. Please quote only relevant portion, Thanks.
Old 13th July 2022, 22:58   #39

Agree, this car in past was never successful and I doubt, the current will be any different. The current 7 retails with 15-25 Lac discounts, though BMW has increased prices recently to make way of a higher price launch of the new 7, dealers will be happy to sell at old MRP less discounts.
The main reason is A8 is a CBU unit. Due to all the import taxes and stuff, the car became overpriced. But this particular A8 facelift is priced reasonably well. It definitely won't sell as much as the S or 7 but will eat up some of their sales. After all, every car sold in this segment counts!
Also both of them have diesels unlike the A8.
As IREV said, the absence of diesel is also a big bummer.
Another reason could be the Maybach. That car is the definition of luxury at a lower price than Bentleys and RRs, hence people are preferring those over the regular S, A8 (just my assumption )
people actually make fun like XYZ had got the car as Audi gave a discount of this much
I, as a regular person don't think like that at all. Most of the people won't. Maybe the people who have good knowledge about these type of stuff could think like that.
For others, who want to read on the subject of "drive proportions", I found this interesting and informative article.
Thanks for the article, it was really informative!
TechnoBloop is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th July 2022, 07:50   #40

I’ve never known something as a drive proportion ratio till I bumped into this thread.

While it is educative, I must say that one look at the A6 and I loved it’s design and contours and everything else and I’m almost at 20k km’s enjoying it every bit. Once inside for a drive and I know that the cabin feels a lot more plush and oozes luxury. An A8 was parked just next to the A6 in the showroom and it looked even prettier. If I had that money then…
jkrishnakj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th July 2022, 20:01   #41

First Audi A8L delivered in Indore:

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-3799982e5c594a56b537b76c42d7934f.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-b751c11303d6401d9bf94dd8b114ebfe.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-056c8ae288b04ad99716ee852a34435a.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-a15f74193d1c46ba82403b5cadb91af9.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-0c1c0389b1ef4f6c8646410107b15340.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-7101df25f97648e49cbe4cf86771c96b.jpeg

2022 Audi A8 teased ahead of its India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 1.29 crore-aef2025974d2404d8d515475208d83be.jpeg

https://www.instagram.com/p/Cf_PrJ8v...d=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 14th July 2022 at 20:02.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th July 2022, 21:43   #42

The A8 is extremely popular here in the UAE. Infact it totally took away the sales of the BMW 7 series.
lionheart_mm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th July 2022, 22:50   #43

Originally Posted by lionheart_mm View Post
The A8 is extremely popular here in the UAE. Infact it totally took away the sales of the BMW 7 series.
Really? And when? Almost everyone criticizes the A8 that too with no experience with it . They say 7er is far better than the A8 without even experiencing them. Can you tell me from where you've got the data?
IREV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th July 2022, 07:55   #44

Really? And when? Almost everyone criticizes the A8 that too with no experience with it . They say 7er is far better than the A8 without even experiencing them. Can you tell me from where you've got the data?
I work in the automotive sector so I know sales advisors and people who work at Audi and BMW dealerships.
lionheart_mm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2023, 19:48   #45

Does the A8L solid in India come equipped with all-wheel steering?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com