Team-BHP > The Indian Car Scene
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th March 2022, 11:15   #1
BHPian

Unlike other consumer goods, why do we have to wait to take delivery of a new car?

I'm a total newbie when it comes to cars and have never bought one myself. I do intend to buy one soon but before doing any kind of real homework/groundwork a thought, rather a question, came to my mind.
Why buying a car in India is so different from any other high value consumer good, let's say a big screen OLED panel ?
The way I see it, both items are displayed in a showroom. One can go and check them out, analyse their features and in case of a car, one can even take it for a test drive. Yet when the actual purchase is to be made, you can actually walk out the showroom with the item you wanted, or get it in a day or 2 if "stock issues" are there.
Compare this to a car, let's say Mahindra Scorpio which are dime a dozen on Indian roads and also available in stock in dealerships (I'm assuming this due to vehicle's age and popularity). Now, if one wants to buy it, one has to wait before taking the delivery. This wait can be anywhere from a week to a month.
In case of new launches, waiting period is understandable and can also accept the "chip shortage" thing but still the question remains is that why buying a car isn't as easy and fast process as buying any other retail good?
KadiNiSikhiya is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th March 2022, 20:43   #2
BHPian

re: Unlike other consumer goods, why do we have to wait to take delivery of a new car?

A few reasons I can think of:

1. Maintaining a stock of TVs/Refrigerators etc. is easier than maintaining a stock of automobiles. You can simply put X number of packed TV boxes in your shop/godown. For stocking cars, you not only need a lot more capital, but also need more space.