|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
Search this Thread | 51,452 views |
13th January 2022, 17:13 | #16 | ||||||
Senior - BHPian | re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Quote:
| ||||||
(21) Thanks |
The following 21 BHPians Thank asit.kulkarni93 for this useful post: | adisan, Akshay6988, amit1agrawal, amoi, Ashutosh_kumar, Bibendum90949, frewper, GaryTSI, grazd, magic.dwarf, neerajdan, One, PaddleShifter, Raghu M, rajvardhanraje, redohabitat, Researcher, Samfromindia, shancz, Varun_HexaGuy, vishy76 |
|
13th January 2022, 18:23 | #17 |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2014 Location: Mumbai
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency
May be not but something that happened with us further cemented my decision to not go for used car. My brother sold his 120kms done Honda City to a dealer and the same car was being sold on OLX in less than a week being advertised as 80K run. |
(9) Thanks |
The following 9 BHPians Thank raksrules for this useful post: | Akshay6988, asit.kulkarni93, GaryTSI, GST, lsjey, redohabitat, Researcher, shancz, shatananda.k |
14th January 2022, 00:09 | #18 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Mumbai
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Thanks for starting this thread Asit. I'm cognizant of the fact that C24 is an advertiser on the forum I am/was a registered channel partner on Cars24. Have had multiple bad experiences with the car buying process from Cars 24. Biggest joke, I had picked up a W211 E280 CDI, with the car scoring 4.5-5, on all parameters. When the car came to me, the car was not fit to even be "0" stars, with broken trims, AC not working, sunroof not working, errors on console, PW not working, and random noises from the Transmission. What sort of inspection these guys get into, I really do not know. I had to reach out to the city head o get the refund process expedited. In an earlier case, a Honda Amaze with a "REPLACED" roof was passed on to me as a car with a "REPAIRED" roof. I have bills from the ASC which state that almost 1.4 lacs was spent by the previous owner to get the roof replaced due to a fallen tree. However, C24 completely washed off their hands from this incident. In a third case, an E90 320d with a multitude of errors passed off as a 4-5 star rated car. To top it all, today they blocked my account, stating that there has been over 50% return rate (obviously returns were due to inspection misses). On top of that, their rep actually spoke to me like a roadside loafer (have call recordings with this dude). I've actually shot an e-mail to the founding team and the Sequoia investor team. Let's see if they act on it. To my understanding, the free flow of funds have made them thick skinned and it will be of no use! PS :: I have pics of the car that I returned and recordings with the c24 rep. Just to protect the sanctity and identity of the individuals and businesses, I'm not posting it on the forum. The above, and more are my experiences as a Channel partner. Let me now come to experiences as a customer- 1. I sold my Honda Accord 2007, 2.4AT to Cars24, on Jan 1, 2020. We are on Jan 14, 2022 today and the car still hasn't been transferred out from my name. I'm actually going to get it blacklisted by sending a letter to the RTO now. Again, I have my letter of sale to C24 and the details of RTO fines that have accumulated post selling the car. Can produce these on demand. 2. Cars24 has now started online car buying (B2C) biz. Just for kicks, I booked 3 cars to check out their competency in this regard. To my horror, cars that were 5/5 didn't deserve to be even 2/5. I had booked the following cars- 1. Renault Duster 2. Nissan Terrano 3. Skoda Yeti Needles to say, I have the booking history on my mobile app and can prove this very well. Cheers, Yogesh. Last edited by yogeshnagpal : 14th January 2022 at 00:15. |
(41) Thanks |
The following 41 BHPians Thank yogeshnagpal for this useful post: | Akshay6988, akshye, amansanc, amit1agrawal, amoi, anandtheleo, AutoNoob, avinash_clt, Bibendum90949, blackwasp, darkfantasy, defactorake, frewper, ganesc, GaryTSI, headbanger, JS Kwt, Learner, lsjey, mallumowgli, Meph1st0, mvadg, Nature&Me, neerajdan, oakajale, Rahul Bhalgat, rajvardhanraje, rakesh_r, redohabitat, Researcher, Roy.S, Seenz, shancz, stallmaster, Sumer, t3rm1n80r, tharian, theflyingguy, thepilgrim1424, Vijay T, Yeldo |
14th January 2022, 05:32 | #19 | |
BHPian | re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency A highly comprehensive and stark naked revelation of the backend operations of aggregators I must say and I would like to share my experience too! I drive a 2011 VW Polo 1.2 TDi Highline which used to come without steering mounted audio controls, climatronic air-conditioning, one-touch up down, comfort/ anti-pinch functions, 4k OPS etc. All these features were omitted even in the highest trims. Coming across multiple retrofits possible in the Polo, I wasn't convinced to shed much leaves from my money plant that too on an old car which I can't drive after 4 years. So, the bug of finding a preowned Diesel Polo bit me and the search began. All I observed was that these companies manage to make the exteriors and the interiors of a car look speckless so as to make the customer feel that it's a new car experience despite of being an old car. I selected a 2014 Candy White Polo 1.5 TDi online via one of these aggregators, (won't list the name) and paid them a visit to see the car in flesh. They had their showroom in XY Sector, Chandigarh and claimed that the car is with the owner at his home and they asked me to reach that location. The first question, don't people leave the cars with these aggregators? Second, why would the company officials send me the WhatsApp location in front of me, delete it after 5 minutes, and then ask me to reach there in an hour? Thankfully, I had clicked on the location link before they deleted it and I pinned the location. To my surprise, it turned out to be that empty road in Manimajra where repaired vehicles are tested by mechanics. It seemed pretty clear by then that they must have mistakenly shared the location which a trusted mechanic of theirs sent them. Those who don't know, Manimajra Motor Market is one of the biggest car and truck repair market for the people from Himachal Pradesh and the Tricity. All original, repackaged, refurbished spare parts available dirt cheap, paintwork being carried out on high-end cars in open for pennies, no one giving a damn to the quality of work and focusing on volume. I decided to speed up to the location and ended up spotting the car as I had shortlisted an HP registered car with a VIP number. I just parked my car a few metres away, sat in my seat and begun watching the show like a movie as I had already lost interest after having seen the location of the vehicle. I had an orange with me and begun enjoying the site while peeling it, just thanking god for saving me from a fraud. After 10 minutes of sitting there, a guy who was working on that car came to my window and asked me, "Bouji kya kaam Karana hai?" to which I responded "Purani lagti hai 2011 wali, 2014 toh bomb hai." He offered me to have a look at that car they were working on and I went ahead to observe closely. There were a total of 5 mechanics working on the car:
The guy waiting to throw in the new BCM and instrument cluster was their 'Ustaad' and to my shock he asked, "Upgrade Karna hai? Chotu jo sahab ko pasand aaye nikaal gaadi se. Sahab chimta (steering rack) aur shock lagva lo, *Friss part nikala hu bouji*." He offered me a full upgrade package from 2011 to 2014 in 50k and I started involving him into a discussion to know where the car came from. By the time he was about to confirm me the name of the showroom who gave him this car, the guys whom I met at the showroom turned up and the reaction on their face was priceless. They were literally scratching their heads as I could see through the windscreen of their car. One of them stepped down from the car and he had to audacity to accuse me for invading into their privacy and internal affairs to which I bluntly reacted and said, "I followed the location You sent me! What happened? I thought the owner would be coming here. Damn, is this the car You wanted to show me?" To this, he wasn't in a condition to react and was all red in embarrassment. I have read multiple threads where many teamBHPians have mentioned about the benefits of buying a preowned car in warranty which surely are beneficial in terms of the VFM quotient and peace of mind but I don't think I would ever be able to gather the courage to ever buy a preowned car in future if it's from a dealership. I'll get a thorough check done for the originality of the parts even if purchasing directly from an owner. As it is, I was carrying my laptop and VCDS cable along that day but God had other plans. Drive safe. Vaibhav Quote:
| |
(87) Thanks |
The following 87 BHPians Thank vgaquarius for this useful post: | @og_adi, acestormtrooper, adisan, adwaith, Akshay6988, akshye, amit1agrawal, amoi, anandtheleo, androdev, anshuman_b, asdfvinay, asit.kulkarni93, avinash_clt, Bibendum90949, blackwasp, CEF_Beasts, Crow, dailydriver, darkfantasy, defactorake, drive2eternity, durvient, d_himan, Everlearner, Foxbat, GaryTSI, gischethans, grazd, GST, himanshu_j, jithin23, JS Kwt, kiranton, Knight Rider, Learner, lsjey, magic.dwarf, mallumowgli, manubg92, Meph1st0, Moto_Bear, mvadg, Nature&Me, neerajdan, NiInJa, oakajale, One, Pancham, papr23, ph03n!x, phamilyman, Prakritij, PrasunBannerjee, Prathiiik, rajvardhanraje, raksrules, redohabitat, Researcher, Roy.S, sagarpadaki, Seenz, shancz, Shanky_1002, Shreyas, sierrabravo98, SinghShu, Sran, stallmaster, Stranger2106, Sumer, t3rm1n80r, texens, theflyingguy, thepilgrim1424, Torino, tp_dominator, V.Narayan, varoon9999, Vijay T, Vitalstatistiks, vredesbyrd, whitewing, wolg, Yeldo, yesyeswe, ysjoy |
14th January 2022, 06:42 | #20 |
Distinguished - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2011 Location: Bombay
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Interesting thread. Must say I had a good experience with Cars 24 while selling my Vento. Got a decent price (30% more than what the VW dealer offered as a buyback against my new Tiguan), got a guarantee that the RC transfer will take place (not sure how enforceable that was) but also got the RC transfer done within 60 days. Frankly, the Supreme Court order putting the onus on the registered owner even when a dealer has signed a form taking responsibility for cars is beyond ridiculous - a classic example of high and mighty judges who have never done any real work in life opining from an Ivory Tower. Makes selling a car very risky - and personally, makes me more willing to go with the online aggregators than a small dealer. Selling to an individual is not easy at all - I tried that (including through Team BHP) for my Superb but finally gave up and sold to a dealer who approached me based on an Ad. |
(22) Thanks |
The following 22 BHPians Thank Hayek for this useful post: | adwaith, Akshay6988, alpha1, anandtheleo, drive2eternity, frewper, GaryTSI, gauravanekar, gischethans, GST, oakajale, phamilyman, playingpossum, PrasunBannerjee, Researcher, Roy.S, Sayan, shancz, Shreyas Aterkar, t3rm1n80r, thepilgrim1424, V.Narayan |
14th January 2022, 09:03 | #21 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2012 Location: Bangalore
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Interesting thread. I sold my XUV500 to Cars24 and I had absolutely no issues whatsoever from contacting them until the RC was transferred. As to why the used car prices go up - whether it’s due to the aggregators or otherwise - it’s an economics question. Once demand and supply even out, correct pricing will surface. I too wanted to buy a used car for my mom and then went ahead with a new car as the price difference wasn’t worth it. I am intrigued by one thing though. Some of the posts in this thread look like confession to me. |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks sheelapratosh for this useful post: | LoneRidder |
14th January 2022, 10:28 | #22 | ||||
Senior - BHPian | re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Quote:
Big or small dealer doesn’t matter in the used car business. This business only runs on trust. There is a high probability of you getting cheated by a big dealer than a small dealer. Big used car dealerships are normally involved in bulk used car purchases. During bulk purchases, they do not have an option of rejecting the bad cars. I have worked with plenty of small and big dealers across Maharashtra and some of the small dealers actually do better business than the big ones without compromising on quality. My point of starting this thread was highlighting the fact that these aggregators are just like a shady dealer who can speak English, have posh offices & carry tabs with them. Your post would be on a different if your vento would not have been transferred. It was pure luck that you were saved from the unnecessary hassle. Cars literally end up in any city and you can’t control that. With an individual buyer or a local dealer, you can atleast reach out to them. Quote:
I would like to know which post on this thread is a confession? Most experiences mentioned portray the goof ups by the aggregator. Not a lot of people speak up from the other side because they do not have the right platform. There is a reason why the illusion around same needs to be busted. | ||||
(15) Thanks |
The following 15 BHPians Thank asit.kulkarni93 for this useful post: | blackwasp, CEF_Beasts, defactorake, GaryTSI, grazd, Nature&Me, neerajdan, One, rayjaycleoful, redohabitat, Researcher, Samurai, Seenz, shancz, Yeldo |
14th January 2022, 10:46 | #23 |
Distinguished - BHPian Join Date: May 2007 Location: bangalore
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency These aggregators are a great boon for sellers. Zero effort of my part as someone comes to inspect the car at my home for free. I just give them the key and few documents and go back to minding my own business. They get back with a price and if you are reasonable with your expectations, the deal gets done and the money comes to your account. You get an agreement of sorts where you are obligated to co-operate with the transfer and they will agree to take over the liabilities after handover. As a seller, this is pretty much the best case scenario for me. However, they offer nothing better to the buyer. Other than professional/polished interactions and software platform, you are getting exactly the same cars that were earlier sold by regular dealers. Garbage in, garbage out. Exactly as things were before these aggregators came into the market. Most likely at a higher price than earlier. Great for seller, bad for buyer. |
(18) Thanks |
The following 18 BHPians Thank androdev for this useful post: | Akshay6988, asit.kulkarni93, frewper, GaryTSI, Hayek, jithin23, lsjey, neerajdan, oakajale, Rahul Bhalgat, rajvardhanraje, raksrules, redohabitat, Researcher, Sayan, Seenz, shancz, ysjoy |
14th January 2022, 11:06 | #24 |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2015 Location: Kollam
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Being someone who was spending quite a lot of time on these dealers sites and apps in the last few months, this thread is an eye opener. Recently i had visited a preowned car showroom to check out a Tata Hexa whose ad was seen on olx. Coincidentally the same car was listed on facebook marketplace a few weeks back, and i had contacted the owner personally since i was seriously interested in the car. I could see that it was the same car on the showroom due to some stickers which was on the car which i remembered from the pics sent to me by the owner. Just as some members pointed out and from my limited experience most of the guys aren't much knowledgeable about the cars in these kind of places. They had mentioned a price and was totally against having any kind of negotiations about the price and the attitude was very arrogant. Now the problem is i like the particular vehicle. I have the owners contact details. But since i am unaware of the actual market price of the particular car i dont have an option of a negotiation with the owner directly. The owner might have had some agreements with the seller and i guess there will be some problems if i go with dealing with the owner himself as these showroom guys will try and get their commission even if they have actually nothing to do with the sale of the particular vehicle. |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank magic.dwarf for this useful post: | asit.kulkarni93, gauravanekar, Researcher |
14th January 2022, 11:15 | #25 |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: Delhi
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Interesting and an insightful thread. I think these aggregators are really useful for people who don’t want to get into the ‘hassles’ of dealing with paper work. I’ve too had my brother sell his car via one of the aggregator, with primary reason being the entire thing can be concluded online and over phone calls. This translates to minimal distraction from office which is I believe one of the major reason for their popularity in the urban office going junta. Buying from them is all together a different beast. Their n number of certificates, points checked lure the customers. Another major angle is most of us have heard some stories about shady car dealers in our cities and therefore it makes it difficult to part with hard earned money for a car bought from them. These online tech based aggregator with their branding and funding surely invoke some trust. However reading through these posts is an eye opener and would make people (at least here on tbhp) question those unrealistic offerings. |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank SinghShu for this useful post: | asit.kulkarni93, Rahul Bhalgat |
14th January 2022, 11:50 | #26 | ||
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Bombay
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Quote:
1) Why do you call it a "fake bid" ? Is it not a bid put in by a genuine dealer? Will he back out of the deal if his bid is the winning bid? 2) Who puts in these "fake bids"? 3) What's the benefit to the dealers to jack up the price? 4) If the buying price is being jacked up, then how can the seller get the same price? 5) You say investor money can't sustain them for long. Who are these investors and why do you feel they're unable to sustain it, if these aggregator sites have been in business since 2016 till now, isn't it a sustainable business? Quote:
| ||
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank Lalvaz for this useful post: | gauravanekar, shancz, sheelapratosh |
|
14th January 2022, 12:11 | #27 | |
1. Fake bid- not an actual bid by a dealer but a fake account being operated by the aggregator. How difficult is it to get udyam Aadhar for a proprietorship for anyone. 2. Please refer to 1. 3. Dealers have no benefit. The aggregator does. For example- The price that the seller gets will be the same. The dealer pays a high price due to the fake bids & the difference goes in the pockets of the aggregators. Now this worked well when the difference was around 1-2% not when it’s over 10-15%. 4. You think sellers always got what the buyer paid? The 10-12% difference involving cost of repairs and margin was always there in the business. With the aggregators in, they add their hefty margins too. In most cases sellers are told about the pending work or damages to their cars. These cars anyway Re-enter the market as good cars. Obviously the equation slightly changes with well kept cars. But most cars aren’t well kept. 5. Look at the number of times these aggregators have gone around for funding. There was a time when 2 aggregators did not have enough money to give out dealers as a part of the RC refund. I had close to 25k stuck too. 2 weeks later they got another round of funding and our dues were cleared in a week. Either you need to re read my posts and understand the difference between the dealer and aggregator or you are just catching the extreme end of my posts to create chaos here. Either ways, I have explained the point around additional margins due to the aggregators. That answers the concern. Please also understand that since last 1.5 years, local brokers & dealers have become aggressive too. They do not fully rely on these aggregators for their inventory. Options like Facebook marketplace also have enhanced individual to individual sales. | |
(12) Thanks |
The following 12 BHPians Thank asit.kulkarni93 for this useful post: | defactorake, frewper, GaryTSI, gauravanekar, neerajdan, rayjaycleoful, redohabitat, Sayan, Seenz, shancz, SILVER-ARROW, Yeldo |
14th January 2022, 12:12 | #28 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: DL3C>HR26
The car was taken and the amount immediately transferred but the car itself was never transferred from our name. A few months later we also received an over-speeding ticket from another state, which was raised with the aggregator, who confirmed that ticket was paid but refused to do anything to transfer the car. We tried to ask the aggregator if the car was sold further, to which they refused to reply and always quoted a standard statement that we have a seller protection insurance, and you don't need to worry, etc. We threatened them with legal action, which didn't work either, so the car till date drives (or exists) somewhere in our name. Basically, the aggregators are a skin on top of local car dealers, nothing else. | |
(22) Thanks |
The following 22 BHPians Thank SLK for this useful post: | anandtheleo, asit.kulkarni93, defactorake, frewper, GaryTSI, gauravanekar, gischethans, JS Kwt, Learner, lsjey, neerajdan, rajvardhanraje, redohabitat, Researcher, Sayan, Seenz, silverado, t3rm1n80r, texens, theflyingguy, Yeldo, ysjoy |
14th January 2022, 12:51 | #29 |
BHPian Join Date: Jan 2012 Location: MH-14 MH 12
| re: Online used car aggregators and their illusion of transparency Great eye-opening thread Asit. Very informative too. What I have deduced from this information is that, you should only 'Sell' on these aggregator platforms, and that too only when you are in much hurry. Cheers, AB |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks coriollis for this useful post: | asit.kulkarni93 |
14th January 2022, 13:05 | #30 | |
Distinguished - BHPian Join Date: May 2007 Location: bangalore
However the agreement clearly indemnifies you of any future liabilities, I would be interested to know if that is not the case. Last edited by androdev : 14th January 2022 at 13:07. | |
(7) Thanks |
The following 7 BHPians Thank androdev for this useful post: | frewper, GaryTSI, gauravanekar, Lalvaz, oakajale, SLK, t3rm1n80r |