Old 27th March 2019, 11:57   #46

Re: License Renewal

No NOC is required if all are within Bangalore. BTW, NOC going away altogether since all records are centrally available.

However, I suggest you go to the local RTO and give a request for adding your DL to the central database. You just need to submit xerox copies of DL and a photo ID like aadhar/voter-id/PAN.
Old 17th May 2019, 23:05   #47

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
This will be the story for most people I guess. I still have couple of years before I have to renew my DL and hoping the digital India transformation by then will simplify the process.

Here is my scenario - I got my two wheeler DL done in a different city(RTO1 ) and then LMV done in Bangalore Indira Nagar(RTO2). Now i fall under KR puram (RTO3). Luckily all in same state.

Does this mean i need to visit and get NOC from both those places before submitting renewal form in RTO3 ?
Yes, a hassle though!
Old 18th May 2019, 04:59   #48

Has anyone attempted changing the address on their DL from one state to a different state? Any experience based pointers would be most welcome.
Old 18th May 2019, 06:43   #49

Finally got my DL renewed in Kerala. My license was the old paper type and steps followed were a below.

1. Went to Cochin RTO to first get license updated online.
2. Got medical certificate from Ernakulam general hospital
3. Then approached Cochin RTO again with bank statement as address proof since my address had changed
4. RTO rejected application stating bank statement is not an acceptable proof.
5. Since my license had a Trivandrum address, approached an agent at Trivandrum who got the license issued to my old address without any address proof since not required.
6. He then arranged to collect the license before it was handed over to my old address and handed it over to me
narayan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2019, 18:37   #50

Originally Posted by Joxster View Post
Driving licence renewal only via online portal now.

Originally Posted by fordday View Post
In a sudden turn of good news, NOC from remote RTO need not be procured by the applicant anymore. It will be the task of the RTO where the renewal application is submitted, to get the NOC now.
Has anyone been able to change out of station address (change of RTO) or renewal of DL with change of address without the NOC process?

Currently undergoing through the address updation process online, but when I called up the Parivahan/Sarathi helpline to resolve a payment issue, this no-NOC scenario was completely shot down. In fact the guy on the call was completely bullish saying I have incorrect information and my application will be rejected at the local RTO without the NOC.

Any pointers?
Old 3rd July 2019, 21:49   #51

Hello Friends! My situation is slightly different. My Maharashtra (Mumbai West) DL expired in Jan 2019. I applied for renewal online, submitted the documents at the RTO and paid the respective fees. All this was done mid-June 2019. The online status shows that my application has been approved and is in printing. Do I have to wait for the DL card in order to drive. Can I used the online status and the online record of my DL (it has my phot and signature) to drive before I receive my actual DL in the mail?
Old 11th July 2019, 11:57   #52

Originally Posted by smooth indian View Post
Can I used the online status and the online record of my DL (it has my phot and signature) to drive before I receive my actual DL in the mail?
Yes! Indeed! You can drive with the online application#.
JMaruru is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2019, 12:29   #53

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post
Has anyone been able to change out of station address (change of RTO) or renewal of DL with change of address without the NOC process?

Currently undergoing through the address updation process online, but when I called up the Parivahan/Sarathi helpline to resolve a payment issue, this no-NOC scenario was completely shot down. In fact the guy on the call was completely bullish saying I have incorrect information and my application will be rejected at the local RTO without the NOC.

Any pointers?
I got it done in 2010 from a UP issued license to KA one. Went through a Driving School / agent since i didnt have NOC - got the new license in 2 days.
Old 11th July 2019, 12:36   #54

Originally Posted by smooth indian View Post
The online status shows that my application has been approved and is in printing. Do I have to wait for the DL card in order to drive. Can I used the online status and the online record of my DL (it has my phot and signature) to drive before I receive my actual DL in the mail?
You can download it to your smartphone using Digilocker, that's a valid license for police. It is also valid as ID in Airports.
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th September 2019, 09:14   #55

My Driving license expires by the end of October. Can I go ahead and get it renewed in the next few days? How early can i have it renewed before expiry?

Another question:
My license is in Chennai. I reside in bangalore. At present in a rental accommodation. Next year, will be moving to a permanent residence in bangalore.

Does it make sense to renew the license in chennai now, and then apply for an address change with the new permanent bangalore address next year? OR

Does it make sense to change it right now to Bangalore, with the rental address as proof of residence, and then change the address again next year when i move?

What is your advice?
Old 13th October 2019, 16:40   #56

Originally Posted by ninjatalli View Post

Any pointers?
Any updates man? What happened finally?
Old 13th October 2019, 18:31   #57

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Any updates man? What happened finally?
No change. Have been traveling due to work, so this had been put on the back burner!
Old 26th December 2019, 14:23   #58

My 4 wheeler license is getting expired next month. I have the old booklet type license with different address from where I stay now. The RTO (Yeshwantpur) will remain the same.

1. I checked online and I get the below message

Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 2089
Size:  15.6 KB

How do I get the DL number in central repository? If I have to visit the RTO, what is the process to get it done?

2. It is mentioned the DL is issued till the age of 50. Post that do we have to renew again?

3. I had to go through agent to get my 2 wheeler DL done long back. He never asked and I was not aware and hence I have separate DL for 2 wheeler from different RTO (Jayanagar) in Bangalore. The address is also different from the 4 wheeler DL. Basically current address, 2 wheeler DL address and 4 wheeler DL address are all different. Can I get all both DLs into single DL now? The 2 wheeler DL is still valid till 2021 though.

Last edited by AltoLXI : 26th December 2019 at 14:28.
Old 10th January 2020, 15:28   #59

My driving license expired 8 months back. Do I have to get a new license or I can manage renewing the same old license. Not very clear information is available online, what is the grace period?
What documents do I need?
There is a Medical Certificate, can it be from any city or it has to be got from the local govt hospital?
Kindly help!
Old 10th May 2020, 16:32   #60

My 20 year old booklet license expired mid-April in Mumbai. Since it was a booklet licence, I was unable to retrieve any information on the RTO Mumbai portal. Due to the lockdown in the city, I'm also unable to do anything until the RTO opens. What should I do about the validity? I need to step out every week to buy groceries and an worried about being caught by cops for the expired licence. Any idea how long will the validity be extended considering the lockdown situation?