Old 18th August 2021, 20:45   #1

Your favourite car in different price bands?

What is your live, practical, and real one-car garage with the following budget?
  • Upto 10Lkahs
  • Upto 30 Lakhs
  • Upto 60 Lakhs
  • Upto 1 Crore
  • Above 1 Crore
And WHY?

Last edited by Livnletcarsliv : 18th August 2021 at 21:10.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 18th August 2021, 21:56   #2

re: Your favourite car in different price bands?

My probable cars will be
  • Upto 10 Lakhs : Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza VXI Manual. Why? Cause for 10 lakhs, I get a Sub 4m SUV with a dependable Maruti Suzuki badge.
  • Upto 30 Lakhs: Isuzu D Max V Cross Z Prestige 4x4 AT. Why? Cause I really love this truck and I want to buy one immediately, but well short of Vitamin M.
  • Upto 60 Lakhs: Almost a blank at this price range, I guess, I would settle for a Mercedes Benz GLA cause a Sedan won't be practical where I live.
  • Upto 1 Crore : Definitely I would get myself a Land Rover Defender, Defender 90 would be available at this price point. Why? Cause its a Fun Vehicle
  • Above 1 Crore : If money is not a concern, I would definitely want a Mercedes AMG G63 6x6 or 4x4 squared.

And a special mention of my absolute (Unattainable ) dream car, The Mighty Mclaren F1.
    And a close second is the Mercedes CLK GTR

Last edited by dr_TJ : 18th August 2021 at 21:58.
dr_TJ is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 18th August 2021, 22:04   #3

Originally Posted by Livnletcarsliv View Post
What is your live, practical, and real one-car garage with the following budget?
  • Upto 10Lkahs
  • Upto 30 Lakhs
  • Upto 60 Lakhs
  • Upto 1 Crore
  • Above 1 Crore
And WHY?
Is this limited to new cars only or are pre owned allowed?
AJ56 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th August 2021, 22:24   #4

You didnt say whether it is ex-showroom, or on-road, so I am going to assume ex-showroom.

Upto 10Lakhs = Mahindra Bolero Neo: Go anywhere (well, further than monocoques anyway), easy to fix, reliable. (Jimny 4x4 may make an entry to this list)

Upto 30 Lakhs = Jeep Compass 4x4. Maybe an XUV700 AWD. Would depend on which of these two would turn out to be more capable off-road. Realistically I would just borrow 5 lakhs more from someone and get a Fortuner 4x4 manual.

Upto 60 Lakhs = Fortuner 4x4 Manual. Why? Same as bolero neo.

Upto 1 Crore = Still a Fortuner.

Above 1 Crore = Land Cruiser 4x4.

I value go-anywhere ability and absolute peace of mind over looks, features, brand value and pretty much everything else.
SNA411 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 00:07   #5

Practical one car garage. Assuming the mindset and lifestyle remains the same.
  • Upto 10 Lakhs - Altroz D or Freestyle D? Hmm.. Altroz D. Though it would be a no brainer if the Ertiga had a diesel.
  • Upto 30 Lakhs - Sorry everything between 10-30 lakhs. Am sure every model are good in their own way. But for a one car garage? Innova.
  • Upto 60 Lakhs - C class or 3er? Nah. Camry it would be. C'mon, who am I kidding. Practical single car. Present lifestyle. Indian roads/traffic. Fortuner 4x4 MT.
  • Upto 1 Crore - Defender 90 D300? Or the practical 110 D300? Nope. It is a close fight between the V class and Vellfire
  • Above 1 Crore - GLS or X7? Nope. Would be the G350d. Though answer would have been different if the LC was on sale in India.
DicKy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 02:30   #6

Well for me, here is what I can think of:

Upto 10 Lakhs - Ford Ecosport
Upto 30 Lakhs - Skoda Superb 2.0 TSI L&K
Upto 60 Lakhs - BMW 330i Msport
Upto 1 Crore - BMW 530i Msport
Above 1 Crore - Land Rover Defender 3 litre Petrol

Rachit
Rachit.K.Dogra is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 09:37   #7

Originally Posted by AJ56 View Post
Is this limited to new cars only or are pre owned allowed?
Any car ever if you have the money right now.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 10:59   #8

My choices below are based on my current family situation and for all practical reasons.

10L - Ford Freestyle/Aspire 1.5 TCDi.
Reason - Solid reputation and reliability, best driving dynamics, better build, fit and finish, decent service network, good performance (if not the best), decent enough features, good looks, and enough space.

Upto 30L - Compass (or) Octavia (or) XUV700
Reason for Compass - Driver's car, best ride-handling-build-fit-finish combo, excellent performance, features loaded to the brim, 4*4. Negatives - poor service network, space, expensive, jeep's service & reliability is a hit or miss.
Octavia - All the above strengths of the compass except for 4*4 and features miss. Negatives - All the above of Jeeps'
XUV700 - On paper, it looks really good. Waiting for real-world feedback.

Upto 60L - Ford Endeavour (or) BMW 330i for obvious reasons.
Choosing a ford for all the above-mentioned factors plus the premium feel. Of course, the only letdown is the powertrain. I loved that 3.2 4*4. Hope ford takes note of this.
Bimmer for best of all worlds - features, build and quality, premium feel, powertrain, ride, and handling, of course, put's a blushing happy smile on the drivers face.

Upto 1Cr - Confused between F-pace, Wrangler, M340i Xdrive, and 530d. Will cross the river when it comes.

Above 1Cr/No limit - G63 AMG, Porsche 911 Turbo S, MB S450, Defender 110X, Maserati Quattroporte S, Range Rover Sport SVR, Ferrari 812 SF, RR Phantom and the list goes on.

All the above are models available in India.
If given a global chance, these are few (the list is pretty long though) models - F150, Chiron/Centodieci, LC300, G63 6*6/4^2, LaFerrari, McLaren F1, Golf GTI, Hennesey Venom F5,...

Last edited by Livnletcarsliv : 19th August 2021 at 11:09.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 11:20   #9

My picks would be

Upto 10 Lakh - Tata Nexon. It can seat 5 people in relative comfort, has all the features required in today's time, has a fairly large boot. The cherry on top is the 5 star safety rating, even though it was for the pre facelift version.
Upto 30 Lakh - I believe this is the most happening segment in the market right now. I would choose the Jeep Compass 4x4 though it might exceed the budget onroad. Strictly under 30 Lakh, I would choose the Safari.
Upto 60 Lakh - BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine. Looks smashing in that red colour! Can't comment if it is any less FTD than regular 3 series as I haven't driven any of them.
Upto 1 Crore - Whatever variant of LR Defender comes under 1 Cr.. Too many variants for a car in its segment! It is a practical everyday vehicle while retaining it's off-road credentials.
Above 1 Crore - Mercedes Benz S - Class. I need not elaborate why.
quantobigboot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 12:21   #10

Since it’s going to be a single car, the list might sound repetitive but our market is very limited in the types of cars it offers (specially at high price points):

Under 10L: 2012-13 Accord 3.5L V6 (280hp, 0-100 in 6.5 secs, beautiful sounding Honda V6 motor, great rear legroom by mid size sedan standards, accurate hydraulic steering, by far the best value for money in my view)

Under 30L: Same (would’ve said 530i M sport but it’s not old enough to be available under 30 yet).

Under 60L: 2015-16 S500 (V8 motor, beautiful interior, exceptional ride quality)

Under 1Cr: 2018-19 S500 (newer, with less miles)

Above 1Cr: S65 AMG (0-100 in under 3.9 secs, smooth as butter V12 motor, magical blend of performance and luxury with rear seats that can actually be used unlike 2 door coupes. Will most likely have to import one as merc stopped selling the sedan version of the S63 awhile back).

Last edited by AJ56 : 19th August 2021 at 12:28.
AJ56 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 12:23   #11

Considering ex-showroom prices of all cars:

Upto 10 Lakhs - TATA Nexon. Safe and fairly dependable.
Upto 30 Lakhs - The XUV7OO AX7 or KIA Carnival. Spacious and tech loaded.
Upto 60 Lakhs - BMW X3. Sporty and practical.
Upto 1 Crore - Range Rover Sport. Always been a fan.
Above 1 Crore - Rolls Royce Phantom. No justification needed.
raj_5004 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 12:52   #12

My list is as follows :

Upto 10Lakhs : Jazz VX CVT. Easy to drive in the city, can fit in my family perfectly and carry adequate luggage too. CVT is added convenience. Cabin is spacious for the segment.

Upto 30 Lakhs : Toyota Innova ZX A/T Diesel. No nonsense family car. Can replace my XUV comfortably. Safari is undoubtedly better looking but the niggles will be unbearable in a single car garage.

Upto 60 Lakhs : Ford Endeavour Top Trim will be the pick. Great space, 4X4 go anywhere car with ample space. Good combination of space, features and convenience. The motor maybe the only glitch here.

Upto 1 Crore : Volvo XC90 . Great set of features, good reviews of Volvo cars and their service on the forum , adequate for my needs.

Above 1 Crore : Mercedes G63 AMG : This is for me
model-t is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 18:58   #13

I’ll state the cars assuming Ex-showroom prices:
Upto 10 lakhs- POLO GT TSI
For 10 lakhs its a lot of car with the best drive ability. Would obviously prefer the DSG+1.2TSI combo if it was on sale.

Upto 30 lakhs- OCTAVIA 2.0L L&K
For me even if i find a 100 faults in the Octy, I will still secretly love it. Actually considering to buy it as my daily at this point.

Upto 60 lakhs- VOLVO S90
Have to love the exterior and the interior of this car. Drove one a few weeks back and adored it. Ex showroom is 60.5 lakhs but discounts are always there right?

Upto 1 crore- BMW 530D M SPORT
Lets be honest here, we all love this car. I was going to put the M2 here but practically I would still buy a new 5 over a M2.

Above 1 crore- No specific choice here because there are 3 cars which I want in the 1CR< price bracket and they are the GLE53 AMG, PORSCHE 911 CARRERA S and RANGE ROVER VOGUE
I fell in love with the GLE 53 AMG Coupe when i first saw it. Drove a friend’s 911 Carrera S and that ignited the love for Porsche’s in me.For the RR like Jeremy said, “If you want a large, luxury off-roader. You buy a Range Rover. The End. THE END. MOVE ON.”

If I had unlimited money I’d go for a Mclaren 720S or a 812 Superfast.

Last edited by speedfreak77 : 19th August 2021 at 19:04.
speedfreak77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 20:25   #14

I have added a upto 45Lakhs category as well because 30-60L has a wide range of cars!

Upto 10 Lakhs : VW Polo TSi MT, manual only for the FTD criteria that has to be met at this price range. Space is lacking, but one drive in it makes you forget everything!

Upto 30 Lakhs : Toyota Innova ZX A/T Diesel/Petrol, most spacious and reliable at this price segment, even if it misses out on gizmos that are coming with competitors.

Upto 45 Lakhs : Toyota Fortuner 4X4 AT, the most capable 4X4 in the segment, at the same time engine is very powerful and will take you deep into the forest and get you out as well!

Upto 60 Lakhs : BMW X3, has the best dynamics in the price range and BMW reliability is better than the other premium brands.

Upto 1 Crore : Mercedes-Benz GLE/BMW X5, both are great cars but again I will lean towards the X5 only for the slightly better after-sales of BMW.

Above 1 Crore : Land Cruiser LC200, even if it’s pre-owned. The dependability and reliability at this price is absolutely unmatched and how can we forget the resale value!

In fact I have just, put my money where my mouth is, in one of these price-ranges. Will reveal it soon, it’s not in the last two categories definitely!

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 19th August 2021 at 20:32.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th August 2021, 20:46   #15

Originally Posted by Livnletcarsliv View Post
  • Upto 10Lkahs
  • Upto 30 Lakhs
  • Upto 60 Lakhs
  • Upto 1 Crore
  • Above 1 Crore
And WHY?
Since it has been mentioned that it has to be a real one car garage, so I will contain my fancy and write the name of the ones I will actually buy:

Upto 10 lac: Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza VXi. Simple no nonsense car with all SUV attributes. Proven mechanicals, good enough for the city, decent for highways and can go to Leh too.

Upto 30 Lac: Innova Crysta, nothing else.

Upto 60 Lac: Ford Endeavour. Even if it's the 2.0, the long distance comfort matters a lot to me. Fortuner will be close second though, if Ford exits, then Toyota Fortuner.

Upto 1 Crore: Not going to Germans, my usage demands the rugged, reliable and tantrum free vehicles. Will keep on holding to Endeavour or Fortuner only. Or a used Prado.

Above 1 Crore: Odd one out here, won't even look at other options. LC300 has to be the car. If 300 is out of budget, then a sparingly used 200. I don't need garage queens, for that money I would better add more to my property balance. If I have paid for 4 wheels, I will juice them to the last drop - that's my clear rule, and hence the Germans don't fit my preferences.
VKumar is offline   (5) Thanks