Old 22nd August 2021, 13:15   #31

Re: Your favourite car in different price bands?

My picks would be:
Upto 10 lakhs-

Pre-owned Mitsubishi Pajero 4x4 (2007-2010)

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-31.jpeg

O boy, that boxy SUV no one manufactures now. Japanese reliability + wild wild 4x4 suv + Manual levers. I just love everything about that car!

OR

Ford Freestyle Titanium Plus 1.5 TDCi

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-32.jpeg

A beautiful car to own first hand under 10 lakhs. The threads about it just prove the point.

Upto 30 lakhs-

Pre-owned Toyota Fortuner 3.0 4x4 (2014-2016)

Your favourite car in different price bands?-download-1.jpeg
One mean looking beast. Nothing more to add.

OR

Tata Safari Adventure Persona

Your favourite car in different price bands?-20210429_191954.jpg
(Why choose something from the internet?)

In the past few months that we've owned this beast, the number of eyeballs it had grabbed everytime it was taken out! Oof! It looks like no other car under 30 lakhs in India. A Land Rover sibling in true sense!

Upto 60 lakhs-

Lexus ES 300h

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-33.jpeg

One beautiful machine! I know it is not most people's pick in that segment, but for some reason even I don't know, I find it different and elegant. One good looking sedan.

OR

Audi A6

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-34.jpeg

240 BHP? Yes please!! Very tastefully designed, charms one with its subtle elegance.

Upto 1 Cr-

Pre-owned Toyota Land Cruiser LC200 VX

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-35.jpeg

Almost everyone's dream car! Needs no more justification.

OR

Land Rover Range Rover Sport

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-36.jpeg

Sold ever since I watched that dragon challenge video. Looks stunning, blends the classiness of a business sedan with a capable SUV.
Video-

Above 1 Cr-

Lexus LX 570H

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-37.jpeg

Yup, you read that right. The car I entered in "what's your favorite car" column while filling the membership form.
The Japanese continue to marvel me with their beautiful design language. Elegant big boy with a big heart (5.7 L). Last of those boxy luxury SUVs.

OR

Land Rover Range Rover 3.0 SV Autobiography Diesel LWB

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-38.jpeg

Like all my other picks, just another SUV. But, but, but.... The S class of SUVs. Nope, Maybach GLS600 doesn't appeal to my tastes. Sorry Merc.

Others- Land Rover Defender 110 D300, Lexus LS, Mercedes Benz G350d.

Extra-
I really would have loved to see the Bentley Flying Spur still on sale in India.

Your favourite car in different price bands?-images-39.jpeg

My my, what a mighty beast. Blends luxury and sportiness like no other. Love it's royal charm.

Last edited by @og_adi : 22nd August 2021 at 13:22. Reason: Correction
@og_adi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 13:43   #32

Nice thread to dream on a Sunday!

Here is my wish list:

Upto 10Lkahs - TATA Altroz Diesel- a zippy, sexy-looking all-rounder car.
Your favourite car in different price bands?-modifiedtataaltrozfrontview43a7.jpeg

Upto 30 Lakhs - TATA Harrier XZA Plus dual-tone Red - for the Engine, Size & LOOKS!
Your favourite car in different price bands?-harrier.jpg

Upto 60 Lakhs - BMW 3 Series 330i M Sport - Pocket rocket with a luxury badge.
Your favourite car in different price bands?-3seriesexteriorleftrearthreequarter2.jpeg

Upto 1 Crore - XC90 D5 Inscription - What a sophisticated car.
Your favourite car in different price bands?-car_shooters_volvoxc90provasustrada_1990x659.jpg

Above 1 Crore - No questions asked, Mercedes S-Class and my most favorite badge. ( Would happily pick a used W222 over W223)
Your favourite car in different price bands?-sclass.jpg

Last edited by kamilharis : 22nd August 2021 at 13:55.
kamilharis is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 13:57   #33

Originally Posted by Livnletcarsliv View Post
What is your live, practical, and real one-car garage with the following budget?
  • Upto 10Lkahs
  • Upto 30 Lakhs
  • Upto 60 Lakhs
  • Upto 1 Crore
  • Above 1 Crore
And WHY?
Upto 10 Lakhs
Rapid Rider plus - proven safety, enough space for ppl and luggage, practical feature list, 1.0 TSI engine, great ride quality.
One can also get 7 seater like Triber but I'm not sure how usable the third row is for long journeys.

Upto 30 Lakhs
Innova Crysta - proven safety, reliable brand, a mile muncher, enough space for 8 people, decent luggage space (though limited with all three rows up but better than any other car in the segment)

Upto 60 Lakhs
This is where brand image comes in.
BMW 330i M-sport - All cars in this price range is well built and offers great safety features. So it boils down to personal preference for other options. I would like to have 330i M-sport in this range which is the best driver's car, offers decent space, reliable than other luxury brands.

Upto 1 Crore
BMW GT 630D - Honestly I haven't driven any car above Crysta 2.8D. But as a car enthusiast and knowledge gained from various car forums this car fits the bill in this price range and criterias you have mentioned.

Above 1 Crore
Audi RS5 Sportback - Superb engine, space for 5, good boot space and can very well be a everyday car.
bwildrd#1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 15:19   #34

Upto Ten Lakhs
Tata Altroz
This proportionate looking hatch also has solid built quality and sorted dyanamics , for everyday city rides.Your favourite car in different price bands?-96a744d02a0544f7ba9f36a57bc74fbb.jpeg

Upto 30 Lakhs

Tata Safari Adventure Persona
Why look somewhere else when this majestic steed is right there, in my garage Your favourite car in different price bands?-3faa154504be41299d933717855a9461.jpeg

Upto 60 Lakhs

Volvo xc60
Elegant looks , loads of safety features, and great driving dynamics Your favourite car in different price bands?-c229195bb7b54bb89a0f3a265f90a10b.jpeg

Above One Crore
Land Rover Defender
Need I say anymore.
Your favourite car in different price bands?-1f65e8e79148464eab34aa9617b3d5dc.jpeg
NitSat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 15:43   #35

My picks would be :

1. Upto 10 Lakhs :

New - Ford Freestyle TDCi Diesel
Used - Skoda Octavia MK3 1.8 TSI

2. Upto 30 Lakhs :

New - Jeep Compass 2.0 S Diesel
Used - BMW 530d M Sport F10

3. Upto 45 Lakhs :

New - Mini Cooper Countryman JCW
Used - Porsche Cayenne S Diesel

4. Upto 60 Lakhs :

New - BMW 330i M Sport
Used - Porsche Panamera Diesel

5. Upto 1 Crore :

New - BMW 630d GT M Sport
Used - Mercedes Benz S-Class W222 Facelift

6. Above 1 Crore :

New - Land Rover Range Rover Autobiography
Used - Toyota Land Cruiser 200 Facelift

Last edited by Shreyfiesta : 22nd August 2021 at 16:01.
Shreyfiesta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 19:47   #36

Upto 10 lac: Maruti Suzuki S-Cross Zeta MT. The clearest choice. All four disc brakes, tilt telescopic steering, 9 cabin lights, cruise control, electric mirrors, Auto AC, android auto apple car play. Every must have item is sorted in this one including space. This is the car I presently drive and I do not intend to move up a segment after this in future as well.

Upto 30 Lac: Toyota Innova Crysta, nothing else (copy pasted from Vkumar). I want peace of mind and want to retain the piece of wallet too. If I have to ever buy a car above 15-18 lacs, this is the car I will buy eyes closed. No TATA/Mahindra/Hyundai/Jeep/MG for me.

Upto 60 Lac: Toyota Fortuner as I believe this is the segment where manufacturers milk the customers during service the most. My punto service after some decent odometer running went up as high as 25k from initial 5k so I am a bit mindful of service cost. I do not see the logic of paying 1 lac for service of a 50 lac car.

Upto 1 Crore: Spending this much = money is a non issue so home robbing maintenance is no headache.
Two contenders here:
Porsche Macan (80% probability)
Jaguar F-pace (20% probability)

Above 1 Crore: In upto 1 crore, I mentioned home robbing expensive service, here I will say even bank robbing expensive service should be tolerable, here I have three contenders again:
1. Bentley Continental GT/Flying spur: Full royalty.
2. Audi RS Q8.
3. Lamborghini Urus.
PaddleShifter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 19:58   #37
YDS

What I would choose is-
Upto 10 Lakhs - Maruti Gypsy
Upto 30 Lakhs - Toyota Innova
Upto 60 Lakhs - Toyota Fortuner
Upto 1 Crore - BMW 6GT
Above 1 Crore - Porsche 911 GT3
YDS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 20:12   #38

Upto 10 lakhs: Volkswagen Polo: fun, chuckable, reasonably reliable, there's nothing much to go wrong here.

Upto 30 lakhs: Toyota Innova Crysta ZX: comfort for the family, wonderfully fuss free car whilst still being sufficiently luxurious.

Upto 60 lakhs: Lexus ES hybrid: I absolutely love the way it looks, extremely luxurious and comfortable, again fuss free ownership.

Upto 1 crore: Range Rover Velar (does the Autobiography come under a crore?): I have enough reliable cars in my garage by now, something this evocative looking must be included. It looks absolutely stunning and can seat 4 in comfort while still being plenty usable on our roads, there's nothing more that I want.

More than 1 crore: Toyota Land Cruiser J60 in grey-blue: I'd import one of these stunners considering there isn't an upper limit, but I think I'll settle for a J80 if I absolutely have to but oh, to own one of these!
sunnysideup_ is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 20:36   #39

Upto 10 lakhs:

This is the price bracket most of us pick out the most abuse-friendly, straightforward beater cars in. So practicality and small size for city driving take precedence over outright speed and capability. Low cost, easy to run, vfm, yet a little fun to drive in a small package, I guess a Maruti Swift would be my top pick.

Upto 30 Lakhs:

Something a little more indulgent, would probably be a car driven to the office, the one that also hauls the elders and for this money, imperatively, some *rear* as well, so my pick would be a diesel, manual Jeep Compass. The demise of D-segment sedans in our country is saddening, miss the driving dynamics of the civic and the old octy.

Upto 60 Lakhs:

A red Jaguar XE. Looks that make you go week in the knees, a handling and chasis package that needs no more praise than the fact that it underpinned the Project 8. Despite its quirks, and compromise in the practicality and reliability department relative to it's german rivals. It's the most soulful car 60 lakh ruppees can buy.

Upto 1 Crore:

Aah now the fun stuff. Money enough to buy you much power, still not the most expensive steed of the house, so, definitely something fun and capable. Something you'd use for taking trips with friends or family in comfort. A BMW X5 with a diesel motor and X-drive should more than suffice.

Above 1 Crore:

This is the segment where heads no longer weighs heavier than hearts for most folks. A status symbol, a reminder of all the years of hard work, the manifestation of the dream that started with a glance at the bedroom wall poster and stood the test of time through all that life threw at us. A personal statement to say the least. This is where I feel we'd see the most diversity in answers on this thread, since in the absence of pragmatic considerations, this is perhaps a much more personal choice. I have always been a sucker for long, low slung, sedans fit to carry monarchs, heads of states and gangsters. The most true to this identity of cars in today's time would in my opinion be the BMW m760li. The sort of car that'll be appreciated by the exclusive club of people that don't need an ostentatiously large v12 badge to know what's lurking beneath the hood. A subtle Godfather-esque reminder of the quite force of this otherwise elegant and understand machine is enough. God, I want one so bad. Too bad BMW had to slap that stupid grill on its face. A timeless design ruined.
brohanv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 20:44   #40

Upto 10 Lacs: Nissan Magnite XV CVT, reasonably safe, compact, and high riding as a city beater car.

Upto 30 Lacs: Innova Crysta ZX AT Diesel, safe, spacious and reliable for those highway runs.

Upto 60 Lacs: BMW 330i, practical sportiness and snob value

Upto 1 Crore: Porsche Macan (would prefer the V6, but okay with the 2.0), fun to drive SUV apt for those long drives with 2 people

Above 1 Crore (if my Head and Heart agree to splurge
as much) : Mercedes Benz EQS (when launched), prestige, comfort, and those green bragging rights
Hareesh27 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 21:36   #41

10 lakh segment
Polo Gt MT/AT
sheer drivability and mod capacity.
30 lakh segment
Innova crysta ZX AT
Bulletproof reliability family car highway muncher
60 lakh segment
330i
Sporty, practical,looker
1crore segment
Gle53 amg
At the price it's a steal
Samay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 21:43   #42

Being an enthusiast here’s my choices-

Upto 10 Lacs - VW Polo TSI 1.0 MT
FYI I’m a proud owner of this car and nothing even comes close upto 20 lacs in terms of FTD.

Upto 30 lacs - Skoda Octavia

Upto 60 lacs - Audi A6 or Mercedes A35 AMG

Upto 1 Cr - BMW M340i + remaining cash

Above 1 Cr - Porsche 911 Turbo S or BMW M5C
divyadeeptsi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 21:54   #43

10L - Ignis diesel AMT. Diesel for low cost/km. AMT for city friendly. Ground clearance for obvious reasons. Cheap in used market because no one likes it. easy ingress egress. Super VFM package.
30L - Something like the RC 6 with MG's twin turbo diesel, tech and AWD.
60L - Used and depreciated, 1-owner Mustang
1cr - 630d GT
1cr+ - Porsche Panamera - probably with an electric motor

I think you can tell that I want the high ground clearance of an SUV/crossover but from a car that doesn't scream "S-U-V". And I love the 3-box design of a sedan.

Last edited by MaheshY1 : 22nd August 2021 at 21:56.
MaheshY1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 21:57   #44

For me safety, space, decent ground clearance, and fun to drive are key.
I can live with a stiffer suspension, fewer features, average reliability, outdated interiors, etc. but the above 3 are essential for a daily single car garage.

With this in mind:
Rs. 10L: New Rapid TSi, used Laura TSi MT or Jetta TDi (keeping in my average reliability, wouldn't want to risk a 10+ year old BMW)

Rs. 30L: new Tucson, used F10 530d or F30 330i LCI unless I spot a good X3-30D LCI

Rs. 60L: new 530i, or used F80 M3

Rs. 1Cr: new 6GT, or used Cayenne

Above Rs. 1Cr: as a single car garage, budget no bar, I'd pick the Urus. It's quick, and can handle Mumbai city roads. Yes there are other options too: quicker, or more luxurious, or more capable for our road conditions but the urus meets my basic requirements of fun to drive, safe, spacious, and able to tackle our roads.
lamborghini is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2021, 22:07   #45

Fantastic Thread, gives an insight into everyone's taste and choices.

My choices are pertaining to the following conditions:
- Single user
- Prices are Ex-Showroom for new cars

Under 10 Lakhs :
Pre-owned VW Polo GT TSI (1.2) and spend the rest on mods.
Reason - German Engineering, Mod Potential, Tried and Tested.

Under 30 Lakhs
Pre Owned Octavia VRS if the Gods are kind.
Reason- That kind of performance in a 3 box sedan? Come on!

Under 60 Lakhs
BMW 3 Series (G20)
Reason- Again, ticks boxes well, space and BMW driving manners and loaded with kit.

Under 1 Crore
V167 Mercedes GLE300d
Reason- Despite some tech miss outs it's a fantastic all rounder with acceptable driving dynamics coupled with opulence of a Mercedes

Above 1 Crore:
Mercedes G63 or nothing. Reason is irrational.
Arnav612 is offline   (1) Thanks