View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 16th August 2021, 00:13   #1441

Re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by vvivek85 View Post
, the spare wheel is too punny for a car of its size. I hope it's a typo, if not tough times for owners who faces situations to use this spare wheel
It is a *space saver* spare wheel, which is to be used only as a temporary measure till you can visit the nearest tyre shop and get the actual wheel fixed. Generally, it is advised to go at a lower speed while using the spare wheel.

This abomination is all too common in German cars like the BMW, which have run flat tyres from the factory and carry a space saver spare just to meet the requirements of laws here. The worst part being that those spare wheels are just fixed in the boot, eating up the boot space.
FloatingCanvas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 00:34   #1442

I've been completely indifferent to the launch of the XUV700, thanks to the lack of interest in a car this big, the not so appealing looks, anticipated price range, etc

First, the Petrol AT engine specs got my head spinning and then I saw the pricing for the variants announced!! Suddenly, VW/Skoda newbies feel darn overpriced!
pannags is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 00:34   #1443

I'm still trying to figure out the reason why there are 5 & 7 seater versions.

Is there some tax benefits for launching the 5 seater version? Or are there going to be 2 different versions (7 seater having larger dimensions)?

Can't help but point out this: 3 row airbags for the 5 seater version?

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-capture.jpg
Originally Posted by FloatingCanvas View Post
It is a *space saver* spare wheel, which is to be used only as a temporary measure till you can visit the nearest tyre shop and get the actual wheel fixed. Generally, it is advised to go at a lower speed while using the spare wheel.
Indian infrastructure is not ready for space saver tires yet. Also, I feel space savers are an inconvenience everywhere - even in the US.
landcruiser123 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 02:36   #1444

Great pricing for the variants announced so far. Can agree with someone’s statement here that even Mahindra employees were shocked by the price announcement. Most were expecting the base variants to be priced at 16-17L as per info I heard.

Any manufacturer who brings some sanity to the overpriced car market will get my support. Sub-4m hatchbacks priced at 13L OTR was the last straw. And bonus: I will be happy with Hyundai getting some lesson in humility for their pricing of Creta.

Last edited by Yieldway17 : 16th August 2021 at 02:37.
Yieldway17 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 03:18   #1445

The AX7 version gets adaptive cruise control, which obviously comes at a cost. Do we know if the AX3 and AX5 versions get a normal cruise control. Just curious that if we want to skip the adaptive cruise control, do we not get cruise control at all?

AX5 seems to be very decently specced version that comes with the sky roof and Adrenox. Add the optional pack and it seems to be best VFM package.

Also, is it possible for adaptive cruise control to work with manual gears? If not then AX7 will only be available with auto gears.

Last edited by a.bhatt : 16th August 2021 at 03:47.
Old 16th August 2021, 06:17   #1446

This has been a great launch, as far as launches go. It has definitely got the public's attention with the features and pricing. The mHawk with the 185PS and 420nm powertrain is definitely sweet on paper and gives the competition a run for its money.

What remains to be seen, is the drive quality and the pricing of the diesel variants.

As a previous owner of a 2014 XUV500, I never liked the chopped off rear of the vehicle. The new design seems to have fixed it and I like the new look. I personally feel that the front does not look overdone and looks very stylish. Few people have done an all black rendering of the grill slats, that simply makes the front look abominable, like there is a big gaping hole in the front.

Kudos to the Mahindra team for bringing out a feature packed Indian product. However, I feel considering its a Mahindra product, I wouldn't rush to the dealership just yet. Mahindra has had a history of using the buying customers as guinea pigs for their beta testing. It is probably best to wait until the first batch comes out and a few months worth of ownership experience and niggles are ironed out and then maybe take a call.

Cheerio
Old 16th August 2021, 06:47   #1447

Originally Posted by rpmmachine View Post
I have read that someone invited TBHP (Behind the Scenes: How Press & Media Drives Work)for previewing vehicle, but asked not the comment about the build quality.
TBHP refused and that's why no review by TBHP for the next 1 month.
Just to clarify, this was not Mahindra. Our first drive impressions will be up when the embargo ends on the 18th.
GTO is offline   (77) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 06:59   #1448

Originally Posted by manpreetsj View Post
Tailgate is made of plastic ���� Quite interesting!
Originally Posted by rpmmachine View Post
I was talking about this.
All Plastic Tailgate is hard to digest. Few questions in my mind.
1) How will it Perform in case of a rear collision. (Plastic vs Metal)
2) How will it hold in such hot sunlight and hot weather in North India.
3) How will it perform in the Long run? How well it will hold the tailgate from hinges. Suspect soon it will start making sound, Specially in Mahindra where we all know about its build quality.

How much more weight has been added by metal sheet? 5-10kg? Why did Mahindra choose this instead of the same as been provided in Current XUV500.
I was shocked to see this.
Kindly observe the picture closely and share your views.
Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
This actually is a BIG dampner, don't know what level of cost cutting has been done by Mahindra to arrive at this price point.

Heck, the diet specialist Maruti has never used plastic panels on the exteriors, why the hell Mahindra had to do it. I seriously cast my doubts on the build quality here, especially on the lower variants.
Plastic Tailgate - If this is indeed true, I wonder how it will perform in a rear ending. After having a recent experience with a truck rear ending our Brezza, I can very well say that if the tailgate is made of plastic, better to use it as a 5 seater ALWAYS.

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-img_20201225_154811__01.jpg

My Brezza faired pretty well in this, nothing much happened to us, 5 occupants all belted up. I don't know what would have happened if it was indeed a plastic tailgate. Damage appears less but speed was around 40kmph for a loaded 10 wheeler, momentum was huge. Not sharing the video as it would be off topic.

I feel it's a normal metal tailgate on the XUV7OO with many plastic inserts on the outside. I doubt Mahindra would do such a stupid move.

Just to clarify, this was not Mahindra. Our first drive impressions will be up when the embargo ends on the 18th.
Thanks for the clarification.
BoneCollector is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 07:10   #1449

The car at 150 kph on the test track.
07CR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 08:54   #1450

It’ll be interesting to see how many visit the showroom for a Thar and come back with the 7OO. Will this also see more Thar cancellations?

I would imagine that deliveries and wait times might not be as bad and harsh like the Thar.
jkrishnakj is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 08:55   #1451

Originally Posted by vvivek85 View Post
Man that's a killer pricing and tough times for the competition. I was surfing through their website and found something strange, the spare wheel is too punny for a car of its size. I hope it's a typo, if not tough times for owners who faces situations to use this spare wheel
Pardon my ignorance. If the spare wheel is a "space saver" one, how does a punctured tyre (non space saver) fit into the spare tyre well? If the well can indeed accommodate a non-space saver tyre, wouldn't it be prudent to just upsize the space saver tyre once for all?

P.S: The XUV500 doesn't have a 'well' for the spare tyre. It just sits beneath the fuel tank. It is going to be no different in the XUV700 too. So this 'space saver' jargon is pure BS in this context. It is just a cost cutting method as they don't save any space, in reality.

Last edited by Geta : 16th August 2021 at 09:20.
Geta is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 08:57   #1452

We must agree that Mahindra nailed the pricing game for XUV 7OO. This morning I came across this meme in one of the meme portal and it captures everyone's thoughts on the pricing.

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-8a7bb682be5341a89e5ba94fddf98cde.jpeg
samy1117 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 08:58   #1453

Originally Posted by BoneCollector View Post
Plastic Tailgate - If this is indeed true, I wonder how it will perform in a rear ending. After having a recent experience with a truck rear ending our Brezza, I can very well say that if the tailgate is made of plastic, better to use it as a 5 seater ALWAYS.

My Brezza faired pretty well in this, nothing much happened to us, 5 occupants all belted up. I don't know what would have happened if it was indeed a plastic tailgate. Damage appears less but speed was around 40kmph for a loaded 10 wheeler, momentum was huge. Not sharing the video as it would be off topic.

I feel it's a normal metal tailgate on the XUV7OO with many plastic inserts on the outside. I doubt Mahindra would do such a stupid move.

Thanks for the clarification.

When you say "tailgate", do you mean the rear fender? If it is the rear hatch, then that would be sheet metal, wouldn't it?
Ajay_Sensei is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 09:00   #1454

Very agressive pricing. After looking at the spy shots and then the name change, I was expecting this to start at least 20l and as a replacement of Alturas G4.

I'm very happy to see at least some brands which are pricing their cars sensibly. I'm so angry at Jeep right now for their arrogant pricing of the new Compass that I'm literally imagining Mahindra slapping them. Even with all the features and goodies, the price of top end XUV700 looks to undercut the price the model S of Compass by a huge margin.
neelkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2021, 09:07   #1455

Originally Posted by a.bhatt View Post
The AX7 version gets adaptive cruise control, which obviously comes at a cost. Do we know if the AX3 and AX5 versions get a normal cruise control. Just curious that if we want to skip the adaptive cruise control, do we not get cruise control at all?

AX5 seems to be very decently specced version that comes with the sky roof and Adrenox. Add the optional pack and it seems to be best VFM package.

Also, is it possible for adaptive cruise control to work with manual gears? If not then AX7 will only be available with auto gears.
AX3 doesn't have regular cruise control as per the released model specific teasers. Not sure about AX5 as they haven't shown the interior in the teaser.

I am not sure if it needs to be an automatic for ADAS to work, if that's the case AX7 would be priced significantly higher than AX5.