View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th August 2021, 21:32   #1426

Re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

I'm going to stick my head out & say that I like the grille. It's the shape of the LED DRLs which I don't like.

Seeing the cockpit photos, it looks like the A pillar will be blocking the right side cornering vision.

The prices are surprising but I'm not to bullish about them as they seem to be temporary & are not going to cause an industry-wide price correction (although I hope it does !!) & secondly, the optional packs will jack up the final prices.
ScorpioYadav is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 21:35   #1427

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
I did not understand. Can you point to the pic you are referring to?
Originally Posted by manpreetsj View Post
Tailgate is made of plastic ���� Quite interesting!

Source -Powerdrift Instagram story'
I was talking about this.
All Plastic Tailgate is hard to digest. Few questions in my mind.
1) How will it Perform in case of a rear collision. (Plastic vs Metal)
2) How will it hold in such hot sunlight and hot weather in North India.
3) How will it perform in the Long run? How well it will hold the tailgate from hinges. Suspect soon it will start making sound, Specially in Mahindra where we all know about its build quality.

How much more weight has been added by metal sheet? 5-10kg? Why did Mahindra choose this instead of the same as been provided in Current XUV500.
I was shocked to see this.
Kindly observe the picture closely and share your views.
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-111.jpg  

Last edited by rpmmachine : 15th August 2021 at 21:37. Reason: Updated
rpmmachine is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 21:55   #1428

Originally Posted by rpmmachine View Post
This actually is a BIG dampner, don't know what level of cost cutting has been done by Mahindra to arrive at this price point. Remember having read somewhere that the fenders on the XUV5OO were also made of plastic.

I'm actually now intrigued and concerned by the fact why TBHP was not shared the vehicle, no comments were allowed on the build quality and there are no close up pics till date. It seems the dash and other parts might have been compromised on quality.

Heck, the diet specialist Maruti has never used plastic panels on the exteriors, why the hell Mahindra had to do it. I seriously cast my doubts on the build quality here, especially on the lower variants.

Last edited by Torquedo : 15th August 2021 at 21:56.
Torquedo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 22:19   #1429

The pricing looks introductory and looks like a marketing blitz. Seems a limited numbers in these base variants would be made and more in top variants and it will go down the same path of "booking on hold" due to excess demand. That will also create additional hype.

So in the early days of deliveries we would see more of Top variants and a few base variants at these prices. Soon there will be a revision of prices and delivers after X date would be 12.99L instead of introductory 11.99L for MX variant and some hike across all variants too.

So to get your hands on this car at these prices, you will have to be quick and be a TOPPER in list of bookings. Lower rank would mean that you might face the hiked price by the time delivery is confirmed.
MOUNTAINMAN is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 22:27   #1430

The actual look is really good and I'm loving it frankly. It's in no way what the spy shots suggested and the interiors look great too. Even if the introductory pricing is a marketing tactic, must appreciate the effort Mahindra has put to launch all variants at once - MT, AT, Gasoline, Diesel & AWD and with splendid features! Tata has a lot to learn from here. I wish Mahindra has taken the time to avoid any niggles in this.

Can't wait to read the reviews and see the car in flesh! I already feel worried for the competition.
Old 15th August 2021, 22:28   #1431

Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
Heck, the diet specialist Maruti has never used plastic panels on the exteriors, why the hell Mahindra had to do it. I seriously cast my doubts on the build quality here, especially on the lower variants.
Manufacturers using plastics for outer body are nothing new. As far as I know, it was mostly used for performance European hatchbacks such as a Renault Clio cup (don't remember the exact model). Even old Porsche 911 GT3 RS (on windows) - seen these on very old TopGear videos. It is understandable on performance cars. Also cars like GT3 RS comes with roll cage so it does not matter what outer shell it is made of.

However, I never heard about using a plastic door on mass market cars. I certainly agree that it will not be good. Image if someone crash at the back of your car. There are only frontal crash tests and no rear crash tests.

I find that is a silly omission. It will not increase the weight more than 10 or 20 kgs.
amvj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 22:41   #1432

Wait for a while and do not jump to conclusions. Meanwhile, call your dealer and confirm if he can alter the booking later on. If not then tell him to hold the booking and contact Mahindra. Dealer cannot take more than the booking amount mentioned on the Mahindra website and they will deduct only 1100 or so if you cancel before billing. Billing usually happens once the car is with the dealer and you have checked and are satisfied and ready to proceed ahead.

I don't know why you have paid the full amount and you have taken offline way when its so easy online on Mahindra's website?
Thanks for your advice. Actually my vehicle was ready for delivery in 2nd week of July itself. I have inspected the vehicle before making my payment when suddenly a day before delivery the dealership called me and informed that delivery may get delayed. This synced with the news of Mahindra recalling 600+ vehicles due to contaminated fuel and have not received the vehicle till now. The dealer and service incharge person also informed me that as of now only Thar and petrol versions of Mahindra cars are on delivery and the company officials have asked to stop delivery of other models until inspection is done by Mahindra Authorised persons individually at each stockyard of each delaers. Hope the interiors, especially comfort of xuv700 doesn't disappoint. Hoping the pace at which this thread is moving gets reflected in it's sales numbers.
Old 15th August 2021, 22:44   #1433

I don't get the hue and cry about the plastic tailgate. If it helps to reduce the weight of the car and provide the same level of safety, what is the big deal?

I remember the same amount of skepticism back when the M800 second gen came out with plastic bumpers. Now we have plastic bumpers for all cars except maybe UVs and everybody is ok with it.

Think about it, a plastic tailgate will be easier to maintain if it acts like the bumpers and can take hits of upto 20-30 kmph and not deform permanently. Think also the repair that can be done to minor dents, using a hairdryer.

I have seen some of the radical shapes that are being used in the industry using plastics and replacing the glass also with plastic, reducing the weight further. And before anybody starts bashing me, let me just remind you of the airplane windows, that are made of acrylic and not glass. I for one am all in for stuff that can help in reducing the weight of the car and provide similar safety on the road.
Ravi Parwan is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 22:46   #1434

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
Raise your hands if you think these crazy prices are introductory for the beta testers!! And all the frenzy means they can hike the prices later with impunity, just like what happened with the Innova, Honda City, Fortuner or even their own Scorpio.

Anyone can see that these prices as listed totally disturb their own portfolio, right from the new Bolero Neo/TUV to XUV300 to Thar and also Scorpio. It’s just not sustainable.
You spoke my mind! The best sensible comment here so far. Looks like many here are ready to jump in and make the booking. I'm kinda referring this to the 'click bait' tactic. If a bare bones, rough-edged unfinished product like the Thar can be expensive than this, I seriously cannot believe this type of a pricing strategy. A quarter from now, the new butterfly logo company will surely increase the prices by a great margin, or start removing features/capabilities from the base models, pushing customers to consider only the mid-spec and higher variants. By that time, I'm sure the prices will be on par with Safari/Harrier (7 or 5 seater).

By the way, what's Adrenox? Sounds like some kinda' antibiotic? I'm sorry, I can only be harsh to this brand - have been seeing only pathetic build quality and niggles so far - none of my friends that jumped into the xuv500 bandwagon years ago could recommend me a Mahindra even now. Excellent engines though! Just hope that the media doesn't hype this up (they also are click bait gurus -- one will see titles like 'Is this the best SUV ever?' 'is this the only SUV you will ever need?', etc) and get misinformed customers buy this xuv700.
gigatech2006 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 22:48   #1435

3) How will it perform in the Long run? How well it will hold the tailgate from hinges. Suspect soon it will start making sound, Specially in Mahindra where we all know about its build quality.
Originally Posted by Torquedo View Post
This actually is a BIG dampner, don't know what level of cost cutting has been done by Mahindra to arrive at this price point. Remember having read somewhere that the fenders on the XUV5OO were also made of plastic.
Had to google on this. The usage of plastic for tailgates (or liftgates) are a new trend, especially for SUVs - for weight reduction and fuel economy. The bonding process of the various parts is critical, hence the repairing means replacing the entire unit (including the glass?).

This 2014 Nissan Rogue had all plastic liftgate including interior and exterior parts/panels.

Source:
https://www.automotiveplastics.com/a...oday/exterior/

Another interesting page:
https://www.plastics.gl/automotive/i...yling-freedom/
bejoy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 23:03   #1436

What a marketing/pricing masterstroke by M&M, it has simply put this thread on fire which equally resonates the hype that it has created across the social media and even all the reviewers are like, OMG pricing.

The introductory and partial(select lower MT variants) price reveal has done the job of grabbing all the eyeballs. I suppose the AT, 7 Seaters and Optional packs will take the pricing equivalent to the Safari or even more.

The design looks cohesive for most of the part except for the Maserati and for some part S-cross inspired grill. The logo also looks too feminine and does not exude ruggedness/strength , even though the thoughts of twin peaks and sky etc were good, the implementation has left a lot to be desired on this butch SUV. The fit and finish on the interior also seems to be premium from the all the images, still would wait for TeamBHP official review.

I simply cannot however fathom that the tailgate is made of plastic, add to the fact the 3rd row passengers generally sit so close to the tailgate. Any eventuality where the car is rear ended would significantly jeopardise the safety of 3rd row passengers.
Old 15th August 2021, 23:09   #1437

Looking at the prices, the features and given that it is a M&M product I cannot help but think of this

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-quality.jpeg

Going by my overall experience with the XUV 500 in our family, I will take those features at that price with a bucket load of salt.
amoghchaphalkar is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 23:10   #1438

How much more weight has been added by metal sheet? 5-10kg? Why did Mahindra choose this instead of the same as been provided in Current XUV500.
I was shocked to see this.
Kindly observe the picture closely and share your views.
This is strange. To your questions, this is what I feel:
1) Plastics tend to crack and the metal deforms. I think metal performs better from the safety view point. Also, plastics can't be repaired and the entire part needs to be replaced even if there is small crack.
2) Plastics would definitely loose colour on continuous exposure to sun.
3) Plastic would be only for the cosmetic part and there should be a metal frame inside which actually takes the weight of the glass and important parts like hinge, locking mechanism etc. I think the overall set up will be still less 'abuse friendly' compared to metal.

If this news bit is indeed true, hope they have gone for some good engineering grade plastic with good reinforcement (like in FRP). It is common to go for Aluminum for making the vehicle lighter but that could have proven to be expensive.
I also feel that it would be a challenge to match the colour/finish between painted sheet metal and moulded plastic part. They can paint the plastic part too but it is bound to wear and tear and soon you will start seeing the actual plastic beneath (which would be in black).

Last edited by Guna : 15th August 2021 at 23:19.
Guna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 23:11   #1439

Mahindra has made this very interesting. As a prospective buyer for a 15-20lac SUV in a time when most manufacturers are limiting discounts and increasing prices quarterly (it seems), Mahindra has made them ponder over their offerings. On one hand this will lead to a lot of bookings for Mahindra, while on the other hand this may also push other manufacturers to offer better deals on 10-20lac segment cars. It would be interesting to see Diwali offers by many others. All in all, kudos to Mahindra and good times are soon to begin for customers (finally).
SidR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 23:24   #1440

Originally Posted by amvj View Post
I certainly agree that it will not be good. Image if someone crash at the back of your car. There are only frontal crash tests and no rear crash tests.
I find that is a silly omission. It will not increase the weight more than 10 or 20 kgs.
Exactly, that's what I want to say. 10-20 Kg will not make a huge difference. More fuel efficiency for compromising safety is never welcomed, especially from INDIAN manufacturers when Mr. Nitin Gadkari wants mandatory 6 airbags to increase safety.
How much cost will it add more? 20k which will be fine by everyone.
Mahindra shall think again and introduce the same old Metal rear for the Adrenox series atleast.
Mahindra shall in no way compromise on safety and quality to keep the prices low.
They will lose more than gaining and will end up in comparison with Maruti only forget competing with Tata. Tata is well known for its solid build quality everywhere.

Originally Posted by Ravi Parwan View Post
And before anybody starts bashing me, let me just remind you of the airplane windows, that are made of acrylic and not glass. I for one am all in for stuff that can help in reducing the weight of the car and provide similar safety on the road.
Do you think airplane windows are cheaper than glass? And you really think Mahindra did this to reduce weight?
Yesterday, I saw a video in which Maruti Banged TATA.
Sharing link here.

Not everyone wants plastic parts specially rear when you know that someone can come and crush you. Even a small impact will not be borne by the plastic. One who can buy it at this cost can also maintain the metal sheet(subjective and opinion may differ) and after all, we cannotagree to disagree”.

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
If this news bit is indeed true, hope they have gone for some good engineering grade plastic with good reinforcement (like in FRP). It is common to go for Aluminum for making the vehicle lighter but that could have proven to be expensive.
I also feel that it would be a challenge to match the colour/finish between painted sheet metal and moulded plastic part. They can paint the plastic part too but it is bound to wear and tear and soon you will start seeing the actual plastic beneath (which would be in black).

Thanks Guna for your reply and valuable thoughts on this. Yes, aluminum is well known for this job. But surprise to see that Mahindra has chosen Plastic instead. Soon there will be another video by Tata regarding the same.

Originally Posted by bejoy View Post
Had to google on this. The usage of plastic for tailgates (or liftgates) are a new trend, especially for SUVs - for weight reduction and fuel economy. The bonding process of the various parts is critical, hence the repairing means replacing the entire unit (including the glass?).

I have read the thread on TBHP where the MG Gloster owner suffered a huge loss because of rear-end collision and plastic parts.
Link to TeamBHP news.

Originally Posted by amoghchaphalkar View Post
Attachment 2193612
Going by my overall experience with the XUV 500 in our family, I will take those features at that price with a bucket load of salt.
Well said.
rpmmachine is offline   (3) Thanks