View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th August 2021, 11:53   #1336

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by CarNerd View Post
Not really. The Innova, Hexa have usable 3rd row seats with some boot space unlike XUV 500. That's what I meant. I'm glad that they have increased the boot of XUV 700 by a bit.
Innova and Hexa are nearly 4.8 meter cars (XUV500/700 must be good 15cm shorter). In case of Innova, side-folding seats also help to some extent. Problem with the seats which collapse in to a flat floor is that the height of the seat base id decided by the boot floor level which end up in people sitting in knee-up position.
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 11:54   #1337

Thank you M&M, you've made a shareholder and an Indian very proud. This will certainly find its way to my garage but only after a year or two. For we all know to skip the first generation of any new product!
lemedico is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 11:55   #1338

Could that camoed XUV700 be the Electric Version ?? Credit to MotorBeam Instagram
IMHO the vehicle looks good in camo !!!
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-screenshot_20210815115101__01__01.jpg  

docted is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:00   #1339

Unbelievable prices indeed! Couple of observations:
  1. The strategy behind announcing prices of some variants seems multifold. By announcing shock prices not only for the base variant but two further variants up, is of course, to create buzz about the value pricing of the product. There is no way the company can make a profit on these variants. However, these are also variants likely to see low volumes as petrol's in this category will be massive guzzlers and few would dare to go in for them with today's petrol prices. Plus, for such a large SUV, a good percentage of the urban buyer base, at whom this car is targeted, will prefer automatics.
  2. The real sales volumes as well as will come more from Diesel variants in this segment. Decently equipped Diesel variants can be priced a further 1 lakh up, while still seeing to be good value, for AX3 and AX5 manual Diesels. M&M also knows more people will want a 7 seater for the flexibility and these can be priced 50 K further up. Lastly, a big part of this segment is shifting to Auto and these can be priced 1.5 lakh up from the corresponding manuals. So all told, an AX5 Diesel Autos 7 seater can land at 17.99 lakhs without breaking the value pricing perception. Now add another 1.5 lakh premium for the AX7 and viola, you have the top end Diesel Auto 7 seater at 19.5 lakhs! Now, add the option pack for ADAS and other features and you will not be too far away from the top end Safari, which retails at 21.8 lakhs!
  3. Great to see the car comes with a 60L fuel tank., This is a must to achieve a decent range with the petrol engine. Highway FE is unlikely to be over 8-9 KPL with the Petrol and the tank size will ensure a decent cruising range of around 500 KM. The Diesel on the other hand can achieve 11-12 KPL on the highway and get closer to a 700 KM cruising range.
  4. Imagine if the XUV is so aggressively priced, what of the upcoming new Scorpio? I would not be surprised if a base variant starts under 10 lakhs! I thought I was getting good value buying the top end Thar LX Diesel AT at 13.75 lakhs ex-showroom, but now that looks like a raw deal, compared to getting a proper 200 HP Turbopetrol SUV, much better loaded with features, for nearly the same price!

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 15th August 2021 at 12:02.
84.monsoon is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:05   #1340

Everybody praising Mahindra for great pricing forgetting (great if not) that they equalised their profits by raising the prices on Thar.

Soon the prices of XUV 7OO will be according to the market and for profit. This, as we all know is just to open up our eyes big and wide and forget everything else.

Most people do NOT cancel their bookings even when prices are raised. Mahindra has succeeded in stealing the limelight from everything else.

A great product nevertheless. I liked it, including the styling. But this is seeming like Jio of car industry. Now that Jio is as expensive as Airtel or VI but people still believe it's cheap.
RavSam is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:07   #1341

Originally Posted by aan nhu mare? View Post
This question may have been answered previously, but what is the XUV 700? Is it a replacement for the XUV 500? Or is it a new model that sits above it?
And if it is the latter, will there also be a new XUV 500 coming too?
XUV700 is the replacement for XUV500.
A Creta sized SUV will be launched in 2024 which will be called XUV500.
Guna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:14   #1342

With this shocker of a pricing, two lines which come to my mind :

a) "Good things come to those who wait"
b) "Picture abhi baaki hai" as prices revealed only for a small subset of all variants possibilities which may be on offer.

Looking forward to the reviews. I am planning to buy some car in this range (a 5 seater + Diesel AT + AWD would be sweet) in next 1 year and this is right on top of my list.

Thumbs up to Mahindra for making this independence day really special & busy for all of us. Happy independence day folks !
Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-xuv.jpg  

viscosity is offline   (61) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:24   #1343

So the ugly face is forgotten with the price announcement? I doubt if any volumes will be delivered at this price. Most customers would opt for the AT variants which will be launched at a premium and the base variants will be taken off the menu/ have significant price increases like in the case of Thar

But what does the current 700 pricing do to the XUV 500? Bring it under 10L
Rajiv0909 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:39   #1344

Originally Posted by Mafia View Post
This is a problem with most 7 seater SUV's. Even the big boys like Prado/ Land cruiser have the same problems with all rows up.

If you want a 7 seater SUV option, I know one that will will work is not available in India, the GMC YUKON XL
Yeah that one is a truck proper, This isn't a practical 7 seater for sure, but i would love to be proved wrong. but realistically, i would go with the 5 seater and use the boot space. Not in a hurry though, would wait for an year at least before putting money were the mouth is. A diesel 5 seater AWD manual transmission.

Having said that, considering my experience with the XUV 500 which drove me almost 1 lakh KMs in 3 years of ownership, Mahindra XUV 700, version 1.0 shouldn't be too bothersome. Guess we will find out soon.

p.s. How much did they say it drinks per kilometre? Kitna deti hai?

Last edited by Aditya : 16th August 2021 at 05:54. Reason: Typos, spacing
nairanupg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:44   #1345

Heck, what's life without a gamble. I have taken it. Paid booking amount as of now Rs.51000\- for the top end model (Diesel AX7 AWD AT). It's refundable. Let's see how it pans out.

Till now I had zero niggles with my XUV500 W8 2012 year model( that was top end during that time, then came plethora of W10, W11 ....). So frankly speaking it is not a gamble as such. Finger crossed.

Seems booking started before launch itself, and now today morning there has been numerous bookings.

Last edited by Vasuki : 15th August 2021 at 12:48.
Vasuki is offline   (34) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:47   #1346

Originally Posted by pelican90 View Post
Overall:
It's an XUV 500 facelift on the outside. Could call it an XUV 501.
The only thing that justifies the 500 to 700 jump is the interiors. Will the electronics work as well in the long run? That only time will tell. I liked the black color which was briefly shown. The XUV Blue is poor as compared to the Safari blue.

Attachment 2192844
- Couldn't agree more. It still has the XUV 500 vintage in its looks.

- Feature rich electronics like Hector. Big question is will they hold up in the long run?

- Is M&M banking solely on the AdrenoX technology proposition as its USP?. And this too is available in 3 variants.

- Once again, the AWD is on offer only in the top variant.

It looks like the feature rich AdrenoX variants will be priced at a premium. If they don't get it right, they are done for!. I wonder how the variants without AdrenoX will fare against the Safari. Fingers crossed for this one from M&M.
Old 15th August 2021, 12:47   #1347

This is the best suited colour of XUV700 as seen in pics:

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-3.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-1.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-4.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-2.jpg

Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs-5.jpg

volkman10 is offline   (42) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:48   #1348

Sitting abroad, the prices are even harder to digest. 12 Lakhs is about 13,700 Euros, 16,000 USD, 22,000 AUD and 60,000 UAE Dirhams. This is eye-wateringly cheap for what is a sizable and spacious SUV with a good interior and a 200 Bhp engine . While it will certainly won't work in US or Europe because of brand affinities, it will certainly gain a lot of attention in markets like the Gulf and Australia where some Chinese brands have already tasted success using the formulae of low prices and high features. I am ignoring S. America and Africa where Mahindra is already fairly established. With these prices and features, the XUV 700 has huge potential not just in India but in other markets as well. I just hope Mahindra don't slack on introducing EVs since Tata is already ahead in that regard.

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
This is the best suited colour of XUV700 as seen in pics:
Agreed, darker colours really do suit the vehicle more. Not exactly a looker generally, just an evolution to the XUV 500 and seems quite tall than sleek (probably better for practicality)

Last edited by dragracer567 : 15th August 2021 at 12:50.
dragracer567 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 15th August 2021, 12:49   #1349

Are the dealers taking bookings unofficially? Or is there a way to officially book? I could not find one online.
Old 15th August 2021, 12:57   #1350

It actually looks like a good evolution of the XUV-500 and is priced competitively. Mahindra has a winner on it's hands. I hope it's decently reliable.

IMHO something doesn't sit right with the logo and the grill. I think it looks out of place.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com