Old 29th January 2021, 14:29   #31

Re: The best car advertisement taglines used in India

Really loved many ads posted here which I was previously unaware of. The absolute best were safari, AMG and pulsar.

Regarding the taglines, Hyundai's "new thinking, new possibilities" is, my personal favorite. Not just for automobiles but this tagline has a message for every sphere of activity. I also loved the new i20's 'born magnetic' and xuv300's ' set the roads on fire'
Old 29th January 2021, 14:44   #32

Who said any of these were better than this AMG campaign,

viXit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2021, 17:01   #33

My favorites are:

Hero Honda: Fill it, Shut it, Forget it...
There can be no doubt in the readers mind what the product offered.

Nissan Sunny: Its not just a CAR, but a CAAAR...
Another example of a perfectly captured product promise.
laser2707 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2021, 11:06   #34

My favorite is Mahindra Classic
The best car advertisement taglines used in India-classic.jpg  

KkVaidya is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 30th January 2021, 11:29   #35

Originally Posted by vaish9925 View Post
I am sorry but I am not sure I would class this as a good ad.. . The core principle of automobile advertising is that a car at every level of the price segment is aspirational to its target audience whether its an Alto or a City or a Mercedes. You have to make it seem aspirational in ads as well.. ads like these which position it as a car meant for people who could not afford regular cars is one of the reasons that Nano never took off... The 800 always spoke about common sense but never made itself cheap in any campaign. If Nano was positioned as a smart urban mover, it would have been so much more, they tried that later in its life but by then it was too late.

Of course this is only my opinion.
Old 30th January 2021, 11:32   #36

v=NvrvjRuRl1k

The now forgotten Indigo Marina .. I loved this ad
sunilrs is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 01:32   #37

My fav is the Harley ad, which suits any class of automobile:

The machine you sit on can tell the world exactly where you stand
Old 31st January 2021, 02:03   #38

Originally Posted by sramanat View Post
Closer home in India, I don't recall which VW it was, but they had an "Achtung, Baby!" commercial which was pretty good. The "Das Auto" was full meme material. "I didn't get a pay hike. Thus Auto" was one.
If I recall correctly, the “Achtung, Baby!” punch-line was for the Opel Corsa.

I quite liked the advert for the erstwhile jellybean Zen - where the husband would leave his office in his Zen, drive around a bit and get to his house after some time, only to hear his wife complain that he took too long to reach despite the office being next door. Does anyone remember this advert?
suhaas307 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 06:54   #39

1. Maruti SX4s "Men are Back" (Yeah not the brand I know)
2. Toyota's "Touch the Perfection"
3. Bajaj Discover 125 "Chaltha Nahi, Daudtha Hai" (It just doesn't walk, It sprints)
landcruiser123 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 11:07   #40

After 3 pages of discussion and a number of posts shared by BHPians, one thing is clear, the best of best ads and taglines came from TATA Motors. Kudos to the team behind those ads.

Even recently TATA came up with memorable & funny poster ads. But their TV ads these days are funky trying to target the youth and lack a macho feel.

Last edited by kamilharis : 31st January 2021 at 11:08.
kamilharis is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 12:06   #41

The most honest tagline that I can recall is for the late unlamented Premier Padmini. It featured in an ad released by PAL after the Maruti 800 entered the Indian market.
The tag line simply said "It gets you there"!
Suprit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 12:14   #42

It's ironic to see that the the catchy taglines did not set the sales registers running for most of them.
shabeermohamed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 14:00   #43

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Can't forget the Bajaj Pulsar ad in this list of famous taglines.
"Definitely male", started a cult following.
This, and the SX4's "Men are back" probably worked fine in that era.

I can only imagine what would happen if these same ads were released today. The trolling, counter trolling, shaming, name-calling, etc by two sides, would finally result in the advertisement being unceremoniously withdrawn. Twitter would have had a field day
PearlJam is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 14:12   #44

..But I think the only ads/ taglines that could hold a candle to the "Reclaim your Life" Ad by TATA is the "Pulsar Mania" ad by Bajaj.

An Honorable Mention, For converting many commuter bikers to pro riders.
kar_thikr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2021, 14:44   #45

Achtung baby for Opel Corsa. It had such a nice ring to it. I only realised it's meaning when I went to Germany to study.
The best car advertisement taglines used in India-41365b20b30edab71991e2a1685fab30.jpg  

kwacker is offline   (3) Thanks