Old 18th January 2021, 10:11   #46

Re: 2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)

Originally Posted by ashenoy View Post
I was at PPS Ford on the 16th looking for a upgrade to my Figo AT and was told the 45 - 60 day delay is because Ecosport is only being manufactured back to back against a confirmed order. Perhaps a facelifted Ecosport is around the corner after all!
Indeed looks like it. But considering the fact that the current one has been updated to BS6 and is a known devil I think it is a right time to grab one if you keep your cars for 7-10 years. I think the deal is just too sweet to let go.

But yes would be wise for potential customers that change their cars every 2-3 years to wait for the facelift.(considering resale value)

Last edited by Shanksta : 18th January 2021 at 10:12.
Old 18th January 2021, 10:41   #47

More delays likely as Ford shuts plants due to chip shortage. The Chennai plant has no re-opened after Pongal shutdown.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...w/80317762.cms
84.monsoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th January 2021, 12:19   #48

Originally Posted by ashenoy View Post
I was at PPS Ford on the 16th looking for a upgrade to my Figo AT and was told the 45 - 60 day delay is because Ecosport is only being manufactured back to back against a confirmed order. Perhaps a facelifted Ecosport is around the corner after all!
Being manufactured against a confirmed order only, this is very very interesting!

Ford mentioned with the 2021 refresh that something exciting is planned for Titanium + MT model, which everyone has assumed to be Mahindra's turbo petrol. I wonder if that new engine will launch in this quarter and the facelift in next quarter.
Old 18th January 2021, 18:33   #49

Originally Posted by ramki.grandhi View Post

Are you sure, do we have any information about it? All I'm seeing is speculations but not even photos of test mules. I truly wish this is happening.
Trust me. Within 6 months there will be a massively improved model. What I do not know is if it is merely a facelift based on the same platform OR an all new platform. It is coming!

Last edited by gsferrari : 18th January 2021 at 18:42.
gsferrari is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 13:16   #50

After searching through many threads, I am still not sure of this is the relevant thread so if moderator's/admin can guide or move this I will be thankful. I am considering buying an Eco Sport but looking at all these comments, I am not so sure now.

So I am open to all kinds of suggestions. Would someone suggest a compact SUV around 15 lakhs in Mumbai.

Some points to consider for me are as below:

1. I own a Ford Figo (bought because of team bhp's suggestion) and extremely happy with the same but its time to change to a bigger car for long road trips (I hope).
2. Powerful and reliable engine is a must. Average/mileage is not of too much importance for me.
3. My wife likes Sunroof so if that's available, its a great addition
4. Car will be driven only on weekends (3 out of 4 weekends) and may be some highway driving once in 2 months. The running is very low.
5. I would prefer a petrol variant
6. No Maruti variants please

Please help!!
Old 15th February 2021, 16:37   #51

Originally Posted by Saminxs View Post
1. I own a Ford Figo (bought because of team bhp's suggestion) and extremely happy with the same but its time to change to a bigger car for long road trips (I hope).
2. Powerful and reliable engine is a must. Average/mileage is not of too much importance for me.
3. My wife likes Sunroof so if that's available, its a great addition
4. Car will be driven only on weekends (3 out of 4 weekends) and may be some highway driving once in 2 months. The running is very low.
5. I would prefer a petrol variant
6. No Maruti variants please
All your requirements are amply met by the Ecosport Petrol S version (better still, the TDCI version if you are open to it). I would say consider this seriously. Personally, I do not think that there is adequate reason to get dissuaded from purchasing what is a fantastic car which looks good, is powerful and reliable, as well as being well built with the full safety kit.

Another "popular" option is the Sonet, but I would personally not recommend a Hyundai/ Kia product at all given the recent news and developments about the Korean twin brands. The drive experience on the Sonet also did not impress me much. Builld/solidity of construction wise, the Sonet is nowhere near the Ecosport. The feel of solidity is much higher on the Ford.

The XUV 300 is also a good option, nice pair of petrol and diesel engines and good safety ratings as well, plus good build quality.

I personally picked up the Ecosport TDCI a few months back and am really enjoying the drive experience, so my money would definitely be on the Ford.

Last edited by arindambasu13 : 15th February 2021 at 16:45.
Old 15th February 2021, 16:49   #52

Thanks Arindam, I also like the Eco Sport a lot and would prefer Ford over Kia or Hyundai. I drove Eco Sport TDCI on one of the road trips last year (Self Drive from Zoom car) and love the engine, just the inside space is less in comparison to say a Creta. But this should not ideally matter much. Any specific reason for suggesting the diesel engine? My run on car is very less.

Why I am having second thoughts is reading some of the comments here that a totally new Eco Sport may come in this year and then you don't want to think that you hurried up the decision but then there is always a new model/car round the corner!

Also I don't plan to change cars and I would probably keep this for 5+ years for sure. Hence the slight hesitance.
Saminxs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:14   #53

Appreciate the move, but PLEASE reintroduce SYNC 3 in the figo derivations. Atleast the Freestyle or the aspire. The USP of the trio is still the fantastic 1.5 diesel, which is the best diesel engine below 15 lacs without a doubt but all other aspects of the car is ageing compared to competition and now they removed sync 3 with bs6. Makes absolutely no sense.
SaiSW is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th February 2021, 19:35   #54

But this should not ideally matter much. Any specific reason for suggesting the diesel engine? My run on car is very less.

Why I am having second thoughts is reading some of the comments here that a totally new Eco Sport may come in this year and then you don't want to think that you hurried up the decision but then there is always a new model/car round the corner!

Also I don't plan to change cars and I would probably keep this for 5+ years for sure. Hence the slight hesitance.
The difference between the petrol and diesel engine options is insignificant in the Ecosport (unlike its competitors). Moreover, the petrol engine is not exactly known for its mileage.

For just few thousand rupees more you would get an engine with an extra cylinder, a turbo charger, one that has sold more in India (so more spare parts availability) at the cost of slightly higher maintenance and maybe insurance.

You might want to take the test drive of an Ecosport diesel with a higher mileage count (something like above 40k run)...too many people complain of getting a busted left knee from operating the clutch of the Ecosport Tdci in traffic for it to be just an occasional niggle.
JithinR is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2021, 19:23   #55

I was told today by a guy who works at one of the service centres that Ford dealerships are also closing. One from where I used to get regular service has already closed last year and one more closed in last few months. I am scared now.
Old 16th February 2021, 20:23   #56

I was told today by a guy who works at one of the service centres that Ford dealerships are also closing. One from where I used to get regular service has already closed last year and one more closed in last few months. I am scared now.
I don’t think so. Ford still has decent sales and not to forget their Indian plant is key in manufacturing cars for export. We would have heard a scoop buy now definitely if it were true, because Ford has a huge workforce in India. At least I hope not.

Regarding the updated/facelift Ecosport, once again we would have seen or heard some news about this by now. I think we are at least a year and a half away. I checked with my sales executive based on a few comments here and he said that even they have not heard anything internally.

Look at it this way, if you really like the current Ecosport just go for it. It has been in the market for 8 years and has proven to be a pretty reliable machine. If you do plan to wait for the updated Ecosport whenever it is launched it will be a whole new machine. Chances are high of initial batches having issues as with any all new model.

The only other vehicle that meets your requirements would be the Tata Nexon XM(S) petrol. Has everything, maybe go for XZ+(S) if it falls in your budget.
Shanksta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th February 2021, 21:31   #57

On the contrary, I got a call from Ford service last week asking me to leave my Fiesta for service.
Old 19th February 2021, 19:23   #58

There is some news afloat mentioning that around March Ford will launch an EcoSport without a spare wheel as a new variant alongside the regular spare-wheel mounted EcoSport. Apparently some cars have been spotted in a Ford dealer stockyard and are RHDs.

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-913399ae2d484394b2de2084c9624588.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th February 2021, 20:37   #59

New Ford EcoSport SE to lose tailgate-mounted spare wheel.

The Ford EcoSport line-up in India will soon see the addition of a new EcoSport SE variant.

Ford EcoSport SE will come with tubeless tyres, a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) and a puncture repair kit, instead of a full-size tailgate-mounted spare wheel.

It will be the second-from-top variant, which means it will be positioned below the Titanium and the Sport trim in the Indian market.

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-20210219073242_ecobum2.jpg

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-20210219073254_ecobum3.jpg

Ford EcoSport SE to come without a tailgate-mounted spare wheel
To get similar rear tailgate design as the export model
Will come with a tyre puncture repair kit instead of a spare wheel
the number plate is positioned at the centre of the tailgate, which still remains a side-hinged unit like the regular version. The export version of the Ford EcoSport without the tailgate-mounted spare wheel was unveiled in Geneva back in 2015.
according to a Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH) amendment from July last year, passenger vehicles falling under the M1 category, subject to certain conditions (like having a TPMS), are not required to be sold with a spare wheel. The M1 category refers to all passenger vehicles with a seating capacity of up to nine occupants, including the driver. The vehicles also must not weigh more than 3.5 tonnes.

Last edited by volkman10 : 19th February 2021 at 20:46.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th February 2021, 20:39   #60

Ford is planning to add a new trim level. 2021 Ford Ecosport SE variant to be launched in India without Tail-Mounted Spare Wheel. This variant will be positioned between Titanium and Sports trims.

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-fordecosportse141280x720.jpg

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-fordecosportse121280x720.jpg

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-fordecosportse131280x720.jpg

2021 Ford EcoSport Titanium variant now gets a sunroof (Updated price list)-fordecosportse11280x720.jpg

In the picture, we can also see silver-finished roof rails and a shark fin antenna. The roof and spoiler aren’t blacked out, but body-coloured, and there is a chrome slat above the number plate mount. The special edition model also gets projector lamps, LED DRLs, and alloy wheels
Venkatesh is offline   (1) Thanks