View Poll Results: Would you buy a used Toyota Corolla Altis today?
Yes 402 68.72%
No 183 31.28%
Voters: 585. You may not vote on this poll

Old 24th July 2020, 16:08   #16

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)

Voted yes, but only under some specific conditions.

1) This is a car I would consider when I am older and when I need a reliable family car.

2) Would actually prefer the older Altis, but a lightly used 11th gen AT would be a great daily driver/ beater in the city. Sure, it's unexciting and looks like a cyborg catfish, but at least it's a nice isolation chamber and it's reliable. Plus, from what I've seen, Toyota's service is quite nice. I feel that the extra amount paid for this car will pay for itself with better peace of mind, lesser stress of dealing with service center fleecers and a comparatively good resale value.

3) This would never be my only car (God, no. I shudder to think of this). I would buy this as a daily only if I have some other exciting car in my garage- preferably some warm/ hot hatch for the weekends.

4) I would not buy this if my running is high and if those are mostly a lot of highway runs. Sure, the Corolla diesel is economical, but that engine is way too weak for a sedan (let alone a hatch). There are more competent cars that fit this role well.

5) I would also not buy this if I had good mechanical knowledge so that I wouldn't be completely dependent on a mechanic and my DIY skills were good enough to maintain a Euro car. However, if my skills aren't upto the scratch (they aren't) and/or don't have the time to do my own maintenance (not anymore) or if I don't have a trusted mechanic (none at the moment), I would consider a Toyota.

Not much to go wrong with this car if you go in with your eyes open. It's not an enthusiast's car, but at least it's honest about being a reliable and a comfortable means of A-B transportation. I can respect that.

Last edited by evilmessiah : 24th July 2020 at 16:11.
evilmessiah is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 16:08   #17

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)

Voted yes, because I happen to also own a pre owned 2015 altis for over a year now.

I was scouting for my next car since 2018 and there were lack of exciting new launches due to BS6

Also I had pretty narrow band due to my peculiar requirements:
1. Some family members were sensitive to body roll and hence ruled out SUVs ( harrier, xuv500)
2. Parents found it difficult to crawl into the low slung rear seat of the sedans(Elantra/Octavia/City)
3. Pocket friendly(Rulling out the likes of Innova)

I Kept waiting for new launches like Seltos, new city, XL6 etc. hence could not experience them before freezing my choice.

Had it been a brand new car, I would have outright rejected corolla but at pre owned prices, this car felt a good deal to me.
1. Body roll is well contained in comparison to MUV/SUV
2. Car has surprisingly high ground clearance similar to that of my Ertiga and is comfortable for senior citizens to get in

Now that I have driven for over a year and over 6000 kms, I am more than happy with my choice.

1. Price - I could have got sub 4m cars at that price
2. Cost of ownership - similar to my Alto for general service( who said maruti is cheap to own?)

Coming from a car like Ertiga, I find corolla to be more engaging (in comparison) and car surely feels planted at tripple digit speeds

As a bonus the car has a very wide rear seat that can accommodate three adults and a kid in comfort (have tried this over a trip of 2000kms)

While I agree with some of the comments here, but no denying the fact that Toyota's are a keeper/beater cars which are trouble free.

Until I save up for my next purchase, can happily enjoy for few years. Also looking at the pandemic lockdown since last 4 months, happy to have saved a million over buying brand new car.
rajshenoy is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 17:10   #18

Mod Note : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum. We advise you to read the Forum Rules before proceeding any further. Request to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 24th July 2020 at 18:14.
Rustom Mistry is offline   Received Infraction
Old 24th July 2020, 17:17   #19

I voted a 'Yes', because of a simple fact that I would like to have reliability as compared to limited options in D1 category, pls read VW and Skoda. I have owned a Toyota for about 8 years and I am a huge fan of fuss-free car along with a good ASS. For me its a Toyota or a Honda ... any day!
Old 24th July 2020, 17:26   #20

Voted for YES

It all depends on your purpose for which you're buying the car. After driving a 10th Gen Corolla Altis facelift from the last 7 years, I have the following to say about the vehicle.

Positives:-

• Excellent Beater, it's a true mile muncher in every sense.
• The best Rear seat experience, I have experienced in a sedan under Rs. 30 Lakhs. There is no car better than the Altis if you're chauffeur driven regularly.
• Understated design, Personally, I am neutral about the same but my Father loves it. The same goes for the interiors, he prefers it over the competition barring the Octavia.
• Lower maintenance costs compared to the Germans
• Practical features, Gets everything one wants on a day to day basis with a few fancy stuff. The elders will love it.
• Easy to Drive, the steering is quite light at city speeds hence it's very convenient to drive the Altis. Furthermore, engine has a tractable nature which aids to the whole driving experience.
• Acceleration, Better than most of the cars in the segment except the TSI.
• Build Quality, the 11th Gen seriously lacks it but I am an extremely happy 10th Gen owner in terms of sheer build quality! Every part seems like might outlast me including the overall interiors as well. It's 7 years old yet the interiors doesn't feels aged up and feels quite fresh except the laggy touchscreen but that was a problem since the beginning.

Negatives:

• Boring.
• Handles like a boat.
• Fuel Efficiency, I drive a 1.8 GL and it has an average of around 8 - 9 kmpl. On highways though it's fairly fuel efficient returning around 15 kmpl.

The Altis is all about comfort and Practicality, if that's what you want or need, there isn't a better car than this! An absolute no brainer if you want a beater. For the fun factor look somewhere else.

Last edited by Aditya : 24th July 2020 at 21:01. Reason: As requested
YashD is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 18:26   #21

The Corolla is a car that I'd happily recommend to anyone. The budget typically dictates which generation I recommend since they are all pretty bulletproof vehicles so I have no qualms in even advising someone to go for an old one. However if I had enough money for the 11th gen Corolla, I would personally wait longer and secure a good LS460 instead. The car looks understated and can dish up all the luxury I would ever need to keep the enthusiast in me happy.
IshaanIan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 18:44   #22

Voted 'No'
  • Its not VFM in used car market, Prices are high, for the same price of a 2-3 years used car you can get new ciaz, spend little more you get base variant of new gen city. Why buy a used(which is now discontinued) when you can get a new car for almost the same price? Toyota reliability is hyped, i have seen MS cars (cabs mostly) which has run for 2+ Lakh Kilometers
  • Lost faith in Toyota, not sure if the Airbags would deploy on impact
Old 24th July 2020, 18:49   #23

It's a yes for me all the way. While the Corolla may not be fun or exciting a car to own, it makes immense sense to buy a Corolla used. It's one of the best cars to buy used IMO. Even more than the Innova and Fortuner.

Being a Toyota you can be rest assured on reliability and peace of mind even when taking the risk of buying used. Compared to a Skoda or a VW which will have immense fear when buying used, a Toyota is one car you can buy used confidently.

The Altis when compared to a Innova or Fortuner would usually have seen lesser kms been through lesser abuse and be generally well maintained. The pick of the lot is the petrol CVT or even the manual. Being a petrol sedan, resale is lesser but still a little higher for the brand vs a Honda/VW/Skoda/Hyundai.

For somewhere between 12-16L it's a brilliant pick vs the crossovers and for a 2014 version you can get one below 10L if you're lucky.

The 2014 is nice but in terms of features they just didn't update it vs the Europeans. The previous 10th gen corolla was the most feature laden in the segment. The 11th gen in comparison was the least.

Not just that, 10th gen felt more luxurious had better materials. Surprisingly the 11th gen cabin felt half a notch below the outgoing car.

Only in 2017 did they get the facelift that had 7 airbags and a few more features. That is the best one to get but prices have not dropped a lot. The 2017 also improved on interior quality which was criticized.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 24th July 2020 at 18:50.
Vid6639 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 18:52   #24

I was holding out for a thread on the 10th Gen Corolla but this will suffice. I have voted yes, both in the thread and with my wallet, kinda. I acquired a 2013 Toyota Corolla Altis VL-AT earlier this year. I was on the lookout for a 2017 onwards Honda City AT, had zeroed in a nicely kept 2018 car at 12L. Came across the car and at less than half the price, I picked it up in an impulse. The car has done over 80K KMS and it is without unwanted rattles and squeaks.

The facelifted 10th gen and the 11th gen Corolla share the same engine and gearbox, and it is butter smooth. The CVT gearbox gets the job done without any fuss or drama. I prefer the interior of the 10th gen over the 11th gen. Where the 11th gen beats its predecessor is in ground clearance, a better backseat and larger alloys.

I got the 90K KMS service done at the Toyota, and it's been rather straightforward. Not sure if it's worth visiting them for future upkeep as I have access to a very good FNG close to home. A couple of pics of my pride and joy. And do forgive the OT.

Side Profile:
Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)-20200531_131636.jpg

Rear with only 2 parking sensors:
Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)-20200531_131655.jpg

The simple and elegant dash:
Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)-20200531_131908.jpg

The rear bench: Well worn, the upholstery needs a revamp
Pre-worshipped car of the week : Buying a Used Toyota Corolla Altis (11th-gen)-20200531_131952.jpg

Last edited by Sheel : 26th July 2020 at 06:15. Reason: Typos.
hiren.mistry is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 18:55   #25

Voted Yes. Infact I was looking for a used Corolla before I got my Nexon. For me Corolla is a D Segment sedan with none of the drama associated with the segment and hence a truly fill and forget machine. I could not find any examples which matched my budget and hence let go of the Idea.
Old 24th July 2020, 18:56   #26

Voted yes. This makes for a good chauffeur driven car, or as an official car. If some good deals are available in the used market, then why not.
Old 24th July 2020, 19:19   #27

Voted yes, this is the only Toyota I would like to own but only as long as it is bought at a reasonable price.

May not be high on thrills but it is safe, comfortable mile muncher and relatively fuss free. Only caveat being it's still a Toyota which means we are paying premium, albeit not as nonsensical as the Innova and Fortuner.
Old 24th July 2020, 19:38   #28

This car makes for an interesting case in the preowned market, and I myself have recommended it to a few friends who wanted no-nonsense options in the 10-15L space, without breaking the bank or wanting to face any of the spare parts issues that its other European contemporaries suffer from.

When someone is buying a preowned car in this segment, I presume the ease of maintenance, cost of servicing and general reliability will be of paramount importance, and the Altis shines there as a preowned family car. The comfort and ride quality are great too, and it makes for a fantastic car for senior citizens or even just for general family beater duty in the city. The petrol option has adequate power to prevent any bickering from the driver's seat too. It is quite underrated in its overall prowess.

Would I buy one? Only if I wanted a fuss-free all rounder sedan purely for family use (this is assuming I can afford something else in addition to this for enthusiast pleasure), I think I would definitely consider this car with a 10-15L budget. It is an Innova in sedan avatar and there is little in it to find fault with regard to practicality.

Voted for Yes. Only for petrol though, not the diesel one.
KarthikK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2020, 19:45   #29

Voted for no.

I dont think Corolla will ever be a replacement for any German sedans, including Jetta or Octavia, let alone anything form the holy trinity. Those guys and Corolla are as different as chalk and cheese!

But, even as a stand-alone, second car, I’d skip it. Reason = one can get a new V-CVT version of City for just a couple of lacs more. This is especially True for Corolla, which holds its value relatively well...

So, a used Corolla works neither for heart nor for brain!

Last edited by Abhi_Automobile : 24th July 2020 at 19:47.
Old 24th July 2020, 19:51   #30

I voted yes. But a Toyota Corolla will never be the first car in my garage. The first car will be a Jetta or Octavia speaking from the segment. However as a second car (beater) I would love to have the Corolla with the small 1.4 litre diesel. Nothing can beat the practicality, reliability and economy of this car. I've driven the 11th generation Corolla diesel. I can live with that engine for a second car in the garage. Most examples in the used car market will be maintained decently, and something in the price range of 10-11 lakhs will be a good buy.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com