Old 1st March 2021, 10:54   #571

Re: 2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs

Originally Posted by Kln View Post
I let out a silent whistle looking at the pic. The black Fortuner, especially with black alloys, is something else. Congrats buddy, excellent choice. Do let us know if you got any accessories fit, and how is the ownership experience.
Originally Posted by getsurya View Post
Awesome, welcome to the gang!! Gangsta looks, for sure!! What are the accessories done and any customization planned?
Thank you so much for your kind wishes.

This car is primarily for my father. So, the customizations will be to a minimum.

As for accessories, the standard ones for now, 3D mats (ordered online, Approx 9.5k), some window shades (Delhi NCR summers are brutal).

But I must say, I am impressed with the car. I have an old Fortuner (2008 model), the gap in quality is significant. You seriously do not realize the speeds you're doing. The car grips the road in a way I am yet to experience.
Old 1st March 2021, 12:02   #572

Re: 2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs

Originally Posted by TwerkyC0ffee View Post
Congratulations to all new owners of Fortuner/Legender. Best wishes.

Slightly OT, came across this mod on internet, wondering what would be the effect on ride quality (since GTO already mentioned it to be firm).

Attachment 2126862

Attachment 2126863

Looks horrible IMO

Source: Cartoq
Yuck! This is simply horrible mod one can think of. Looks absolutely hideous.
How one can spend so much & completely spoils the looks of such a wonderful car.

IMHO, all SUV's looks good only with fat tyres.
Old 1st March 2021, 15:13   #573

Hi everyone.

Got delivery of this 4 x 2 AT Beast last week. Have driven around 400 kms. Amazing smooth Gearbox. Steering feedback and response is also very good. It makes managing the whole big machine even in crowded city traffic very easy.

Got FE of 12.6 on my highway drive of about 200 kms which includes 50kms of city traffic also.

Also got Ceramic coating done from Detailing Devils Noida. Its very imp more for Dark Col. Nice job. I must say.
2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-a9f71f80272542e596629eae1b163a98.jpeg  

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-b96c650e0d164b528880558a79b90ea1.jpeg  

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-fc83ac3d8fa14faab052fbe0a44dca41.jpeg  

AmitR is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 1st March 2021, 15:52   #574

Looks like Toyota is rolling out Fortuner's fast. They had a splendid Feb and shipped record numbers in couple of years now. As I thought couple of lakhs, don't seem to be deterring potential buyers. With updated mechanicals and feature set it will be all the more difficult for Endeavour to dethrone Fortuner. Gloster though seem to be catching up and is getting good acceptance among buyers unlike Alturas.

Last edited by PrideRed : 1st March 2021 at 16:06.
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st March 2021, 19:00   #575

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
select a car based on your preference, you won't go wrong with either.
Completely agree with this, PrideRed

In a nutshell - if engine performance is one's primary decisive factor then the Fortuner is a no-brainer, as the Endeavour 2.0 does not come even close in this department. However, if other factors matter as much (or more) as engine performance, then I'd strongly suggest one to go for a test drive of the Endeavour 2.0 before taking a call.

Also, not that it matters much to most buyers in this segment but keep in mind that the Endeavour 2.0 4x4 AT (not the Sport) costs 4 lac or so lesser than the Fortuner 4x4 AT.

Last edited by cool_dube : 1st March 2021 at 19:13.
cool_dube is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 1st March 2021, 19:15   #576

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
Completely agree with this, PrideRed
Last row ingress/egress and comfort is another deal breaker when I last checked endeavour, around 2 years back. My kiddos, 15 and 10 are used to innova for a decade, even though a compromise in Fortuner as well, still acceptable considering the tumble down and recline function.
Having said that, I will again check Endeavour as per the suggestion.

Last edited by abhi1881 : 1st March 2021 at 19:17.
Old 2nd March 2021, 12:35   #577

Originally Posted by abhi1881 View Post
Last row ingress/egress and comfort is another deal breaker when I last checked endeavour, around 2 years back. My kiddos, 15 and 10 are used to innova for a decade, even though a compromise in Fortuner as well, still acceptable considering the tumble down and recline function.
Hi Abhi, I have used the last row of seats frequently in the last 2 years and it's a comfortable place to be in once somebody gets in and also optimizes on legroom between middle and last row. Once seated, the seats themselves are comfy and supportive.
This SUV can carry 7 passengers with their 2-3 days of luggage with ease. Moreover, you get a lot more luggage space with all 3 rows up than the Fortuner. (thats true also with last row down as well)
Aniket6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 13:09   #578

Originally Posted by abhi1881 View Post
This is a perfect example of what I mentioned earlier. The electric 3rd row seats in Endeavour is wow but then Toyota's one touch tumble is more practical and getting to 3rd row is easier. Feature wise Sunroof is a glaring omission in Fortuner, no matter what Toyota justifies, at this price point its a big miss. Same way 170HP engine on Ford is a big compromise at this price point especially when bi-turbo was an easy fix. Look below comparison, you lose some and you gain some

Dual zone AC vs Ventilated seats
TMS vs drive modes
3rd row electric seats vs one touch tumble
Leather on top of dash vs leather o glove lid/IP cover/knee rests
Park assist vs paddle shift
10 speaker vs 11 speaker
Low speed ride vs high speed
AWD vs Part time 4WD
EPS vs hydraulic(Comfort at parking speeds vs Joy on long drives)

Endeavour does get few more like TPMS, inbuilt navigation, better connected car service, lumbar support etc. but biggest differentiator are Sunroof and 201HP engine.
Yes the Endeavour is also 3.5L cheaper but then Fortuner enjoys lesser depreciation and has better reliability "On Paper". Aso note Fortuner, despite being lot more powerful, is actually more fuel efficient.
PrideRed is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 13:32   #579

Originally Posted by Aniket6 View Post
Moreover, you get a lot more luggage space with all 3 rows up than the Fortuner. (thats true also with last row down as well.)
Although the Endeavour gets a 400L boot on paper with all rows up the Fortuner’s 296L boot fits in more. With all rows up the Fortuner’s side folding seats restrict room but it’s not too bad.

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-7c9dbaafdce849c2973a7c9200c8bd41.jpeg

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-adaff8e5da78463c816bfb75e9967ff4.jpeg
From an Australia video

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-eb500ef683ff45ed84268acaa8b45567.jpeg

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-473e3ae8911a420cb730387cee48a05d.jpeg
From Motoroctane’s video.

CEF_Beasts is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2021, 22:38   #580

This guy travelled from Delhi to Goa on the new Toyota Fortuner, and claiming comfort "almost" as Crysta(his previous car) on the driver seat(in comment section)

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-screenshot_20210302223235.jpg

Last edited by abhi1881 : 2nd March 2021 at 22:40.
abhi1881 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 00:39   #581

Originally Posted by gamingstein View Post

So far I am pretty happy with this vehicle, will keep posting more as I drive!
Took out my Fortuners (2012 + 2021) and drove them back to back on the same tarmac/surfaces today. Could figure out the below -

> Insulation
Cabin insulation is drastically improved and this has a positive impact on the overall drive and feel. The road noises are muted to a great extent and even the thuds on the potholes seem to go unnoticed if not paying attention (There is an audible confirmation that you hit a pothole on my 2012 model ). Also, when honking from inside I felt as if I am blowing some sub-4 meter vehicle's stock horn instead. However, it is much louder if heard from the outside. Just another indication to the improved insulation in comparison.

> Suspension
The suspension is better when compared to the earlier model; however it is not as soft and you do feel the road irregularities filter through the car. I feel largely it is the improved insulation which smoothens out the experience and not the suspension per se. I did change the tyre pressure to 32 psi (on nitrogen) and that does seem to help a bit more. The setup is better when compared to the pre-facelift version as well (especially in the bigger potholes experience). But maybe the setup of Innova Crysta is a better balance in comparison (per my limited experience)

> Steering
This one is a bit difficult for me. Honestly, I have been trying to figure out noticeable differences in between the two; the steering has definitely improved in terms of responsiveness, connect and feedback but the overall effort for manoeuvring is still very comparable to before.
gamingstein is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 00:49   #582

Originally Posted by AmitR View Post
Hi everyone.

Also got Ceramic coating done from Detailing Devils Noida. Its very imp more for Dark Col. Nice job. I must say.
Hey, this looks great. Can you share more details on the cost and details of all the work done?

I am confused and trying to figure out if I should opt for Ceramic Coating/ PPF (paint protection film) on my Pearl White Fortuner or leave it as is and instead get it cleaned and waxed at a professional car wash every month or two?

The main reason I ask this is because I travel a lot on the Lucknow-Delhi expressways and the front gets covered with all the insects all way long.

Looking for suggestions from fellow BHPians as well.
gamingstein is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 08:19   #583

Originally Posted by gamingstein View Post
Hey, this looks great. Can you share more details on the cost and details of all the work done?

I am confused and trying to figure out if I should opt for Ceramic Coating/ PPF (paint protection film) on my Pearl White Fortuner or leave it as is and instead get it cleaned and waxed at a professional car wash every month or two?

The main reason I ask this is because I travel a lot on the Lucknow-Delhi expressways and the front gets covered with all the insects all way long.

Looking for suggestions from fellow BHPians as well.
My suggestion is to go for PPF as that offers peace of mind, for sure. It will protect from the stone chips and other paint injuries better. Also, you can remove or redo it as you would like or for any rubbed or damaged portions. You don't need to bother on who is running their hands and keys on the car, when parked! I have the PPF applied on bonnet, both bumpers, door sills, handle areas, door sides etc. The cost varies from 500-950 per sq ft, depending on the quality of the company!!
getsurya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 11:03   #584

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
Although the Endeavour gets a 400L boot on paper with all rows up the Fortuner’s 296L boot fits in more. With all rows up the Fortuner’s side folding seats restrict room but it’s not too bad.
All I was trying to point out to Abhi was that, third row seats and their comfort in the Endeavour are better than what most reviews suggest & are useable (from my personal experience) and that there is decent boot space with all rows up and maybe that alone need not be a deciding factor as there is not a world of difference between the two in this regard.

Of course with last row down in both, Endeavour offers way more boot space.

Cheers!!
2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-1.jpg  

2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-2.jpg  

Aniket6 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd March 2021, 12:47   #585

A small update from a 750Km trip Gurgaon->Chandigarh->Gurgaon:

1) The engine is comparatively smoother than the outgoing model with well mated Auto Box
2) Sound Insulation is better than the previous model
3) Suspension is definitely improved, at few places I miss my storme's cushiony ride and some places Fortuner is better. Overall I am fine with it
4) Unable to find a comfortable driving position and surely missed my storme
5) Fuel efficiency after a max speed of 80 for initial 500KMS and 90 in the next~400 is mentioned below. Hard to believe, but even If I add an error of 1 KMPL, it is still very good for a new car.
2021 Toyota Fortuner Facelift spied undisguised in India. EDIT: Now Launched at Rs. 29.98 lakhs-pic.jpeg

Slushmaster
Slushmaster is offline   (4) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com