View Poll Results: Would you buy one today?
Yes 304 53.24%
No 267 46.76%
Voters: 571. You may not vote on this poll

Old 13th June 2023, 21:27   #76

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)

Aeon Motor Works.
Thanks a lot! Just checked their page out and they look very promising!! Will pay them a visit.
Old 13th June 2023, 22:23   #77

Folks am thinking of fulfilling my dream of owning a mercedes.
Have seen a 2010 c220 cdi done just 21000kms.It is a second owner car and i know both the owners well. The mileage is genuine.
Asking price is 5.5lakhs.
Is this a good buy? Anything i should look out for. I have a FNG who specialises in high end cars so maintenance is sorted out.
Kindly advise.
What about re registration after 15 years. I am worried my 5.5 lakhs will go down the drain if the scrapping policy is implemented.
Iam based in goa.
scorpian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2023, 15:28   #78

Originally Posted by Tassem View Post
  1. Full suspension change. The rear shocks are a bit shot. Mulling between stock and Bilstein B6. Advice?
  2. Full audio upgrade.
Congratulations for the cult car. My take on your questions:

1. Advise to keep the shocks stock unless you want a stiffer ride.
2. I have upgraded the audio system with JL Audio components, DSP, Amplifier, sub-woofer etc. but kept the stock UI screen as I was not keen to change the classic looks of the Dashboard. I will say am very happy with the setup.
3. If at all you change the seat covers, do a proper job of removing the old ones and putting new. Over wrap will spoil the ergonomics and looks.
4. Cup holder lid is a weak area on the W212. I keep it stuck open.
5. The AMG style wheels are available in 18" and 19" only as far as I Know. The stock ones looks cool if they are clean and shiny. Just fix the black center cap.

Let me know what you do on the headlamp upgrade. I also feel they are weak especially with oncoming lights.
BTW, Does you vehicle have the 6-speed shifter in center or the 7GTronic besides the steering wheel?

Last edited by vb-saan : 15th June 2023 at 09:18. Reason: Please avoid quoting the full long post. Thank you!
KkVaidya is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th June 2023, 19:49   #79

I own a Volvo S60 Cross Country and currently facing this - There is some noise from the steering while turning when stopped or barely moving. Is this a cause for a major concern? Please advice.
Old 14th June 2023, 21:31   #80

Mod Note : Please go through this thread, shall be helpful in replying with quotes.
Thank You!

[*]There is some forced creep when the car is held in gear and stopped.[*]Brakes squeal a bit at times. Pads are new.[*]Minor jerk while shifting from R to D and vice versa. No jerks while shifting from 1 through 7.[*]Passenger side power window switch doesn't work for closing. Open works fine. Driver's side controls work fine for all windows.[*]Rear headrest power fold doesn't work.[/list]
Great choice and a great looking piece too!

This machine is meant to age beautifully.

[*]Minor jerk while shifting from R to D and vice versa. No jerks while shifting from 1 through 7.
This is normal and should not be a reason to worry.

[*]There is some forced creep when the car is held in gear and stopped.
You mean that put the car in drive mode and press the brake and throttle simultaneously?

If yes, it could be engine mounting issue.

Last edited by Sheel : 15th June 2023 at 09:13. Reason: Mod note attached.
carizma is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th June 2023, 10:38   #81

Originally Posted by KkVaidya View Post
1. Advise to keep the shocks stock unless you want a stiffer ride.
Thanks! I wouldn't mind a slightly stiffer ride. Not enough to tell what side of a coin I'm driving on but enough to corner without too much drama.

2. I have upgraded the audio system with JL Audio components, DSP, Amplifier, sub-woofer etc. but kept the stock UI screen as I was not keen to change the classic looks of the Dashboard. I will say am very happy with the setup.
This is perfect! Have you used a Line output converter (High to Low) for the amplifier? Or does your unit have a pre-out? Please do share more details if you get the time. Mine is the NTG 4.0. The only reason I want to go with the floating unit is because the screen feels like the only thing that hasn't aged well in an otherwise timeless looking interior and exterior.

3. If at all you change the seat covers, do a proper job of removing the old ones and putting new. Over wrap will spoil the ergonomics and looks.
The whole seat will be stripped of the old leather and new installed. I've been going to the same gentleman upholsterer for over a decade (Imperial Leathers) and he does a fantastic job. I will be making slight changes to the design as well. Perforated, all black, maybe some light quilting without looking gaudy.

4. Cup holder lid is a weak area on the W212. I keep it stuck open.
This is what I have done right now. I cant close it anyways unless I remove my phone charger; but knowing that it doesn't work, bothers me.

5. The AMG style wheels are available in 18" and 19" only as far as I Know. The stock ones looks cool if they are clean and shiny. Just fix the black center cap.
You're right regarding the AMG wheels. And I dont think I'm keen on going 18" just yet. With the suspension and this, the ride may deteriorate a lot. However, I may (a big may at that) go for a similar design from the aftermarket. Your point on the stock alloys is spot on. Their renovation is also on the cards. But knowing me as well as I do, the amg wheels wont be too far away

Let me know what you do on the headlamp upgrade. I also feel they are weak especially with oncoming lights.
Absolutely. I'm spoilt by the lights on my other vehicles and this feels woefully inadequate. I know a guy who can work magic on old lamps with stealth projector upgrades. But the issue is that he's in kerala and a 10 hour drive away.

BTW, Does you vehicle have the 6-speed shifter in center or the 7GTronic besides the steering wheel?
Mine is the 7GTronic with paddle shifters.

Do you know where I may be able to source stock sun visors? They're a massive eyesore right now.

Originally Posted by carizma View Post
If yes, it could be engine mounting issue.
Thank you Carizma! It turned out to be loose transmission bolts. Now sorted. The engine mounts were replaced previously when we noticed some unwanted vibrations. The only unsolved mechanical issue at the moment is the steering noise. However all fingers point to the pump. The mechanic is currently sourcing a new unit to replace and check. Fingers crossed.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 15th June 2023 at 16:27. Reason: Individual replies rather than in-quote replies
Tassem is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th June 2023, 15:17   #82

Dear Tassem

I am attaching the details of my sound upgrade. My sound unit is the Audio 20 with 6 CD changer.
Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-final9.jpg  

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-sound.jpg  

KkVaidya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th June 2023, 18:43   #83

What a fabulous thread, what a fabulous machine. Voted Yes, a resounding one at that. Exceptionally well engineered, a global product made to withstand the abuse it will take in the form of a taxi in Germany. Six cylinder loveliness, tank like build, instant street cred, timeless design. Preventive maintenance is the key word, will ensure a fuss free ownership experience. Peace
Old 15th June 2023, 19:26   #84

I am in the process of upgrading this to a 12" floating tablet style headunit but have hit a few snags along the was as my stock unit is malfunctioning. The tab style unit is a piggyback and needs the stock unit to function. Figuring out how to replace or repair it. Any tips?
Lovely car Tassem, Looks timeless and regal. My senior used to have one back in 2013-2014 and I remember trying to find it in parking always as it looked sinister. Perfect car if you to go full mafia or stealth.

Unfortunately you will have to repair it incase you need the new headunit to read the data correctly. Perhaps it's due for a reset or version upgrade from Merc? I know some older BMW units are prone to restart/failure overtime as they had less ram/computing power in the past and now just can't keep up. I would get a software reset done once to see if it resolves.

1. AMG wheels or similar. Sticking to 17" to retain comfort.
  2. Full stealth mode? All chrome delete, wheels to black? Not sure yet.
I would honestly suggest looking for 18" if you want a nice balance between looks and comfort. Also they would fill in the wheelwell quite better. Something like this so you don't have to paint the wheels black

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-sl1600.jpg

Once again, congrats and amazing find. Curious to know how much you spent for it? Looks like a very well kept example.
turbowhistle is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th June 2023, 19:58   #85

I put money where my mouth is and bought a Pre LCI W212 E350 CDI with just over 45k on the ODO.
Beautiful machine. Wish you many happy miles on it.
The W212 generation is regal and built like a tank.

For projector swap, you can visit Evo Bangalore, Seen them do this upgrade on XFs and F10s.
They can also install AA/Carplay modules (but expensive).

Get a remap too, for unlocking the true axle-twisting torque this motor can offer.

Only thing you need to watch out for is the A/C.

vredesbyrd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2023, 13:48   #86

I'm one of the folks who voted a resounding yes; and in true TBhp style, I put money where my mouth is and bought a Pre LCI W212 E350 CDI with just over 45k on the ODO. Perfect blend of old school mafia, opulence and an abundance of smooth power delivery. It's also effortless to drive around the city. I've put about 400km on it so far in two weeks. Sacrilege, I know!

Many congratulations on the car. It's truly praiseworthy that you put money where your mouth is and actually bought a true blooded Merc. I have seen many people who say they can easily afford one but they aren'y buying one when the truth is that they they don't have the guts to do it.

I'm currently scouting for a reliable independent garage in Bangalore who can be trusted with repairs. And also a place to source parts locally. Would appreciate any leads. Looking at Marque One and Code 6 right now.

I would recommend Marquee one. When scouting for a good garage, don't just look for a place with a competent mechanic or a gulf returned mechanic who had worked in Mercedes. It is important that they have the proper diagnosing software (which is Star Xentry for Mercedes) and not just some general scanner. Furthermore, it is also important to see if they have some basic facilities like a decent lift, AC pressure checking machines etc.

I may start a thread if there is enough interesting things happening. There are a few issues but thankfully all minor and being taken care of mostly by the previous owner. The only real gripe (unsolved) I have with the car right now is the audio system which is a true (unwelcome) blast from the past in an otherwise timeless design. I am in the process of upgrading this to a 12" floating tablet style headunit but have hit a few snags along the was as my stock unit is malfunctioning. The tab style unit is a piggyback and needs the stock unit to function. Figuring out how to replace or repair it. Any tips?

I would highly recommend against changing the factory audio especially since the speakers are already decent. Installing a cheap android tablet display will be such an eye-sore to the car. If you want features like apple car play or android auto, places like marque one can easily retrofit the current display with those features. It will be cost effective and you won't be messing with the factory electricals. If you already haven't changed it, I would highly recommend reconsidering it.

[*]Full suspension change. The rear shocks are a bit shot. Mulling between stock and Bilstein B6. Advice?
Definitely stick with the stock and replace any worn out parts with OEM ones. Mercedes is at the top in suspension tuning and hard to go wrong with it.

[*]Full audio upgrade.
Already given my opinion. Please think twice before messing with factory wiring, trims fittings and speakers/ screens. These all work together in tandem and messing with them can cause a myriad of issues from reverse sensors to short circuits. Would recommend a retrofit using an apple car play module instead. Fixing a broken interior especially in a car like this modern e-class will cost you big time money and effort. Despite doing that, it will never be the factory fit.

[*]Seatcovers to all black.
Adding seat covers will cheapen the look and can't match the Mercedes quality unless you reupholster the seats. Would suggest leaving as it is unless the seats are too shabby. Also factory options was beige seats with the black car and black seats with the iridium grey car as far as I can remember.

[*]Centre Console sliding lid is broken. Needs replacement.
Fixing the interior might be a hassle but I can understand the irritation. Should be relatively easily fixable I think but might cost a bit.

[*]Both sunvisors are dirty and missing mirror covers. Needs replacement. Advice?
This is common problem and an eye-sore/irritation with older cars. Good idea to replace if you can find one at reasonable price.

[*]AMG wheels or similar. Sticking to 17" to retain comfort.
Yeah, since the car is designed with comfort in mind, best not to ruin it.

[*]Partial respray - there are a few scratches. Nothing major.
If it's some minor scratches, consider a paint correction with some good waxing.

[*]Full stealth mode? All chrome delete, wheels to black? Not sure yet.
I think chrome looks elegant in a Mercedes like this. However, if you really want to delete the chrome, it has to be done by someone who really knows what they are doing. Otherwise, ti will just end up looking shabby.

[*]Headlamp upgrade. Stock headlamps are useless for the most part. Will mostly go for a projector swap.
Yup, this being a safety concern, I would suggest getting it done from someone who's an expert at it.

[*]There is some noise from the steering while turning when stopped or barely moving. It doesn't sound like the rack; mostly pump.
Would suggest getting the power steering fluid and in fact all fluids changed before taking the car. Also I have seen oxygen sensor giving up and needing replacement in this generation.Water pump is also another replacement that comes up at this vintage. Do check that as well.

[*]CEL due to a glow plug sensor going kaput.
Nothing to worry about in a diesel of this vintage. In fact, it is a factory procure to replace the glow plugs at every seven years or so. Usually, when one glow plug goes out, the other 5 goes out shortly after as well. Would suggest changing then all at once. Moreover, also check the relay and the heater controls module for the glow plug. Check engine light and glow plug warning could be from that as well.

[*]There is some forced creep when the car is held in gear and stopped.
There is a common transmission control unit problem with these cars. Nothing to worry and easily fixable. Please do check this.

[*]Brakes squeal a bit at times. Pads are new.
Please check if the pads are original. For brands like brembo, there are plenty of fakes in the market. Do check out some trusted places.

[*]Minor jerk while shifting from R to D and vice versa. No jerks while shifting from 1 through 7.
Again, could be because of the TCU module. I would also suggest changing the transmission oil and differential oil since you just acquired the car regardless of what the previous owner might say.

[*]Passenger side power window switch doesn't work for closing. Open works fine. Driver's side controls work fine for all windows.
Minor electrical problems, to be expected and can be resolved by any competent garages.

[*]Rear headrest power fold doesn't work.
Might need a motor replacement. I don't think it would be insanely expensive but still pricey being Mercedes. Again, a competent shop should be able to handle it.

Some other common issues are the timing chain guides wear out prematurely. So, it's better to get it changed preventatively than for waiting it to fail. Oil seals break here and there. Get it checked and replaced preventatively. Check all sensors like water pump and oxygen sensors. Try to follow the factory service intervals and especially the checks and process they have in place. For instance, in major services, it's important to clean the sunroof drain plugs and things like that. Not all independent gauges will keep such things in mind. Please do visit some competent place like Marquee One like you suggested and make sure all these factory procurers are followed.

Once again, congratulations on obtaining this beautiful machine and wishing you many happy miles ahead with it.
cefiljoseph is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th June 2023, 17:24   #87

Originally Posted by KkVaidya View Post
I am attaching the details of my sound upgrade. My sound unit is the Audio 20 with 6 CD changer.
Thanks for the super detailed break up Vaidya! Really appreciate it. I think our units are the same as I have the 6 CD changer as well. I'm unable to find details on the specific integration harness you mentioned. That is the part I think I'll need to override the stock amplifier. Do you know anything more about it?

Originally Posted by turbowhistle View Post
Lovely car Tassem, Perhaps it's due for a reset or version upgrade from Merc?
Thank you turbowhistle! There are two issues with the current unit. 1: aesthetic - There is a damaged area on the LCD panel. 2: functional - The front stage is almost non-existant. It appears to be an issue with the amplifier as everything else works as intended. I dont think it's a software issue.

I would honestly suggest looking for 18" if you want a nice balance between looks and comfort.
I would like an 18" too. But the tyres are brand new and I don't want them to go to waste. Plus the suspension upgrade will stiffen the ride and 18 inchers will add to that. The wheels you've sent are precisely the ones I love. Or the ones below.

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-amg-wheels.jpeg

Once again, congrats and amazing find. Curious to know how much you spent for it? Looks like a very well kept example.
Thank you! I managed to get this at 12L.

Originally Posted by vredesbyrd View Post
Beautiful machine. Wish you many happy miles on it.
Thanks a lot vredesbyrd. Satya from EVO is a good friend. But I know a person who does only projector upgrades and is a magician. I would go to Satya for audio anyday though.

A remap is on the cards but once the car is returned to 100% mechanical condition. I want the baseline to be stock and then build from there once reliability is confirmed.

Originally Posted by cefiljoseph View Post
Many congratulations on the car.
Thank you Cefil for the detailed support! Really appreciate!

I would recommend Marquee one.
Marque 1 is where I got the car first evaluated. A very good organisation. I however wanted to make sure that I did my groundwork and evaluate all possible options before zeroing in on the folks who I will depend on. Right now, Aeon Motorworks is also ranking quite high. I will meet them this weekend.

I would highly recommend against changing the factory audio especially since the speakers are already decent.
I will refrain from tampering stock wherever possible unless there is a massive gap. Which is the case with the audio system right now. However, with my OCD and the perfectionism of some of the audio establishments these days, I'm fairly confident of an OEM+ install. Wish me luck nevertheless. Regarding the android display, it looks perfectly OEM and works like a charm. However, my stock unit malfunctioning is preventing me from going ahead with the upgrade. Wherever possible, I prefer to return to stock first and then upgrade. That will mostly be the case here too. However, I do not want someone to open up the stock unit and perform repairs - I haven't seen anyone with this level expertise so far. Which is why I want to override the system using an external amplifier. A hi-lo converter plus a DSP should get me the results I'm hoping for. Hopefully. Too much hope? I hope not. Once that is done, I will add the display. It looks like this, only larger. The one in the pic is the 10" model. I'm going with the 12" model.

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-android-display.jpeg

You can see the LCD damage in the pic below. Sorry I dont have a better pic at the moment. But if you open the image and zoom, it's clear. It looks like impact damage.

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-stereo-spot.jpg

Mercedes is at the top in suspension tuning and hard to go wrong with it.
The rear suspensions are shot. The dynamics aren't what I want it to be at the moment and also the stance is a bit off (by design) I don't want to drop the car or lower or anything for that matter. I want the stance to be corrected (OCD) so that the wheel well gap is the same as the front (See below) A slightly more controlled (stiffer) ride is bonus.

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-img_2004.jpg

Adding seat covers will cheapen the look and can't match the Mercedes quality
Let me correct myself. When I mean seatcovers, I am indeed talking about a complete reupholstery. All my cars in the past have been done by the same gentleman and he's a wizard. I have seen factory fresh cars with worse upholstery but his work is prime. Again, my OCD will keep me up at night thinking about a poor fit than anything else. And he knows it too. The aftermarket has indeed come a long way if you know the right people. Off the shelf seat covers would be sacrilege.

The below seats were done by him for my Isuzu. The design (I wanted perforated quilts) may not be to everyone's taste, but the workmanship cannot be questioned.

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-isuzu-seat.jpg

Fixing the interior might be a hassle but I can understand the irritation. Should be relatively easily fixable I think but might cost a bit.
I would want it to be a 95% car at the least. And knowing that something doesn't work even if it's not exactly a critical component bothers me. Hence the interior refresh. The car*looks like it's maybe 3 years old for the most part. But some plastic parts etc have an expiry date and needs replacement. I want to tackle that in parts.

I have seen oxygen sensor giving up
Absolutely! I have already gotten the car serviced for fluids, consumables and rubber parts etc. Will check reg sensor and water pump

Check the relay and the heater controls module for the glow plug.
You're spot on! The glow plug relay was at fault and the issue has now been resolved. It seems to be a common issue.

There is a common transmission control unit problem with these cars.
It turned out to the transmission bolts. The issue seems to be resolved. However I will investigate the control unit as well and replace if necessary. Don't want blind spots.

Please check if the pads are original.
The pads are original and recently replaced. Hence the worry.

Might need a motor replacement.
I can hear the motor work when I press the button. It could be the actuator maybe. Missed getting this checked but will do next.

Some other common issues are..
Thanks a lot! I have identified a couple of independent garages, mostly from the advice here. Will decide on one after I meet all of them. Marque 1 is just ten minutes away for me. But I don't want convenience to trump competence and want to make sure my homework is complete. So far very comfortable with Marque 1. Robesh is a true enthusiast and very helpful.

Thank you again for taking the time Cefil. I can see the passion with which everyone is helping and am sure I made the right choice going with this car. Looks like I'm not the only one who has a soft corner for this car.

Last edited by Tassem : 16th June 2023 at 17:39.
Tassem is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th June 2023, 22:36   #88

Looks like I'm not the only one who has a soft corner for this car.
You are not alone, not by a long shot. To me, this is the best-looking E-class ever! So, congratulations and may it fulfil all your expectations.

I have seen many people who say they can easily afford one but they aren'y buying one when the truth is that they they don't have the guts to do it.
Hahaha! I am one of those people -- lurking on threads like this, deriving vicarious pleasure drooling over photos, appreciating the beauty and engineering. Telling myself, someday I will have enough time (and parking space) to pursue something like this.
Su-47 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th June 2023, 11:18   #89

Nice thread Tassem,

@mods Tassem's car deserves a whole new thread.

Our journey to the Merc was very similar, if i remember you had a lancer before. Correct me if i am wrong.

I too own an E 350 CDI exact same year and exact same trim.

I have been dailying mine for the last 1 year and have put 20k Kms on it so far, these cars deserve to be driven an d they are fun to drive. They generally handle like a boat compared to the BMW 5 series of the same vintage.

I have specked up my cruze to my liking, but faced numerous problems especially with the alloys and tyres, These things weigh a lot, one pothole can leave you stranded so take the alloy wheel journey carefully.

The steering whine could be low fluid, bad PS Pump or an airlock, Merc recommends to have the front wheels on a jack stand and open the PS reservoir lid and turn the steering from lock to lock around 20 times. that will remove the air lock. top up fluid if necessary, These OPS system uses PS Fluid with pentosin chf 11s equivalent fluid and you will need a liter to fill the tank if you want to flush the system then 2 liters should be enough. I recommend you to flush the system, There is a Mannol equivalent on amazon which is the cheapest one available online, its available is .5 Liters so you can get 1.5 instead of 2 L.

I love the interiors that came in a w212 white e 350 year 2011. i am really tempted to swap mine with that as the beige interiors are a dust and dirt magnet especially if you have kids.

The screens for the HU is available easily, look at olx, try to checkout local junkyards. you can also use this opportunity to upgrade, there are systems that fit into the stock slot without any additional customisation.

The cup holder lid is the achilles heel of this model, it is flimzy, if you have the courage its a simple DIY fix, but i recommend to keep it open.

a good detailing and a alloy repaint should bring back the original regal look

Power window switches are another weak link, easily available on Amazon/ Aliexpress at half the amazon price

Here are some pics of my 350

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-e-class-4.jpg

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-e-class-2.jpg

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-e-class-3.jpg

Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Mercedes E-Class (W212)-e-class-1.jpg

Feel free to ping me if you need any help/Support.

Pramod

Last edited by pramodkumar : 20th June 2023 at 11:20.
pramodkumar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2023, 14:24   #90

Hi guys,
I had posted this query in another thread earlier but not received any reply :
What can I expect for my Merc E 220d, Avantgarde
November 2017
Cavansite Blue
Done only 6,900 kms. in 6 years
Not a scratch / dent on the exterior
Pristine White interior
Single owner
Bangalore registration
What can I expect ?