View Poll Results: Would you buy one today?
Yes 547 75.45%
No 178 24.55%
Voters: 725. You may not vote on this poll

Old 7th October 2024, 10:55   #196

Re: Pre-worshipped car of the week : Used Volkswagen Jetta (6th-gen)

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
DM me, and I will put you onto some folks in the owners group who might be interested in selling their car to a direct buyer.
Hi, I am new here and am not able to DM you. I am looking to buy a Used JETTA directly from owner and would love to join this group. Thanks in advance
Old 7th October 2024, 11:11   #197

Originally Posted by Jetta2oTDiDSG View Post
Hi, I am new here and am not able to DM you. I am looking to buy a Used JETTA directly from owner and would love to join this group. Thanks in advance
Unfortunately non owners are not allowed access to the group.
Old 7th October 2024, 11:33   #198

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Unfortunately non owners are not allowed access to the group.
Oh, that's alright. Thanks for replying. But you mentioned you know some people who would be interested in selling their Jetta. If that's not a bother, I would love to get in touch with these owners.

Last edited by navin : 7th October 2024 at 11:44. Reason: typos
Old 7th October 2024, 11:54   #199

Never thought I will achieve this milestone, but somehow I got 27.8kmpl on my recent trip to Munnar, in my 13' manual HL Jetta. The car had 4 occupants and an absolutely filled boot!

Originally Posted by sunilch View Post
With hypermiling (and AC On) you will see 30 KMPL on Diesel. Talk about efficiency and VFM
ssjr0498 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2024, 00:36   #200

Looking for a used VW Jetta TDI

Hey everyone,

Before I begin, I would like to thank Team-BHP for accepting me.
Apologies in advance if I make any mistakes in this post.

I am looking for a 2015+ VW Jetta 2.0 TDI MT, with less than 80k km on the odometer (though the mileage isn’t an issue if the car has been well-maintained). Could anyone advise me on what to look out for before purchasing a 10-year-old VW Jetta? I would really appreciate the help!
Also, if you know of anyone selling one, please let me know.
Old 17th December 2024, 22:27   #201

Hi fellow BHPians,

I am a newbie here, seeking your advice - I am planning to buy a pre-owned Jetta/Octavia 2.0 TDI DSG and I have almost finalised the deal on a 2016 Jetta Highline TDI 2nd owner car which has done about 95k km. I took a TD and its one of the cleanest of Jettas I have seen in the market. It drove like a dream and the owner seems to have taken a really good care for the car. Its also stock - no tuning, no ICE modification, nothing, as he prefers to keep the car stock. The owner is providing a final offer of 10.5 lakhs (Note - Its a KA registered car) I need to get back to him in 2 days.

I am almost sold on the car, but it feels like I am overpaying by 1 lakh. I also found a 2017 Octavia Elegance TDI in olx which I am trying to negotiate to the same amount.

Should I go for the Jetta? Is the maintenance and care provided by this owner worth 1 lakh?

Should I get the 2017 Octavia DSG elegance for the same amount?

Should I wait for few months so that the prices can do down as the cars will become older by an year on paper ?

Last edited by Amazing_Monk : 17th December 2024 at 22:54. Reason: Provided additional details
Old 17th December 2024, 23:44   #202

Originally Posted by Amazing_Monk View Post
Hi fellow BHPians,

I am a newbie here, seeking your advice - I am planning to buy a pre-owned Jetta/Octavia 2.0 TDI DSG and I have almost finalised the deal on a 2016 Jetta Highline TDI 2nd owner car which has done about 95k km. I took a TD and its one of the cleanest of Jettas I have seen in the market. It drove like a dream and the owner seems to have taken a really good care for the car. Its also stock - no tuning, no ICE modification, nothing, as he prefers to keep the car stock. The owner is providing a final offer of 10.5 lakhs (Note - Its a KA registered car) I need to get back to him in 2 days.

I am almost sold on the car, but it feels like I am overpaying by 1 lakh. I also found a 2017 Octavia Elegance TDI in olx which I am trying to negotiate to the same amount.

Should I go for the Jetta? Is the maintenance and care provided by this owner worth 1 lakh?

Should I get the 2017 Octavia DSG elegance for the same amount?

Should I wait for few months so that the prices can do down as the cars will become older by an year on paper ?
Price seems to be on the higher side. But since you are happy with the car, overpaying is ok.

But, how did you conduct the test? Did you take it to an FNG to check? If not, get that done for sure before paying. Might cost about 500-1000, but that is worth paying in such cases.

Also, what all work has he done so far? Does he have that on paper for you to review? Given that the car is at 95K, some important work would have come out in last couple of years for sure. Suspension, Belt, Pump, GB, etc. Not necessary, but the kind of conversation you have with the owner and his responses will give you more clarity on the same.

For recommendation, keep about 2Lacs aside for any unforeseen work that may come up in next 1 year after your purchase. It it doesn't no harm in keeping money aside. If yes, you will be ready.
sunilch is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th December 2024, 00:00   #203

Originally Posted by sunilch View Post

But, how did you conduct the test? Did you take it to an FNG to check? If not, get that done for sure before paying. Might cost about 500-1000, but that is worth paying in such cases.

Also, what all work has he done so far? Does he have that on paper for you to review? Given that the car is at 95K, some important work would have come out in last couple of years for sure. Suspension, Belt, Pump, GB, etc. Not necessary, but the kind of conversation you have with the owner and his responses will give you more clarity on the same.

For recommendation, keep about 2Lacs aside for any unforeseen work that may come up in next 1 year after your purchase. It it doesn't no harm in keeping money aside. If yes, you will be ready.
Thanks for your valuable inputs Sunilch!

Yes, Once we agree on the price. I am planning to take the car to Engineering Exponent at Whitefield for Inspection. Meanwhile I will check the service history and documents (RC, insurance).

If everything is in order, planning to pay him and get the car by January 2nd or 3rd (or as soon as my salary gets credited

Checking out a 2017 Octavia tdi elegance DSG tomorrow and see if can negotiate it to the same amount. Would it be a better deal compared to the Jetta given the resale values of Octavias are higher and its slightly new car?
Old 18th December 2024, 15:31   #204

Checking out a 2017 Octavia tdi elegance DSG tomorrow and see if can negotiate it to the same amount. Would it be a better deal compared to the Jetta given the resale values of Octavias are higher and its slightly new car?
Update - Checked out the car. It did not feel well maintained based on my TD. Engine did not feel smooth as the other car (2016 Jetta) did. (Infact, the 3rd owner 2014 Jetta I TD'ed earlier drove better than this) and I could hear rattles and squeaks while driving (not caused by things lying around). So, I would not be considering this any further.

I will continue my search for some more time. Hoping to find a good example!
Old 6th January 2025, 16:49   #205

I will continue my search for some more time. Hoping to find a good example!
Found a 2014 Mfg (2015 reg) Octavia DSG with Chennai registration 2nd owner car (the owner is from Coimbatore) in Olx. Negotiated the price to 7.85 lakhs over phone. Next steps - test drive (we have agreed to meet in Mysuru for checking the car out) and inspection at a Skoda service center in Mysuru.

Link below -

http://www.olx.in/item/skoda-octavia...iid-1793224417

However, I have some concerns. Listing them below-

1. The car looks heavily modified. Could it be abused ?
2. The person posting the ad claims that the car belongs to his brother (who is a doctor and has moved abroad for his education). How do I ensure that this is a genuine owner and not like a stolen car or something (Recently there was an incident where one of my relatives car was stolen and sold to a naive buyer in Chennai. Hence just trying to be cautious)
3. Do anyone know a good FNG or a Skoda service center in Mysuru where I can get the car inspected?

Thanks in advance for your advice/thoughts!!
Old 7th January 2025, 01:51   #206

Found a 2014 Mfg (2015 reg) Octavia DSG with Chennai registration 2nd owner car (the owner is from Coimbatore) in Olx. Negotiated the price to 7.85 lakhs over phone. Next steps - test drive (we have agreed to meet in Mysuru for checking the car out) and inspection at a Skoda service center in Mysuru.
If it is modified, don't get it. Unless you know the person.

The car not being on his name is also a red flag. It is a common tactic used by people who purchase cars and resell without transferring. You can go in to the details and ask to transact with the owner. Most cases they will not put you in touch and the deal will not go ahead.

Better to skip as you can easily get cleaner alternatives.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com