Old 25th May 2020, 15:19   #16

re: Rumour: Kia is considering the Soul for India

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
While people have had an opinion on polarizing designs even in the past; I wonder how relevant it has been in decision making. Look at some of the cars that have struck big in our market; whoever said a car won't be sold because of a bad design!

As long as Kia can (feature) spec this car to warm the cockles of the Indian heart and price it well, no reason why this won't follow the Seltos. Only hitch, where does it fit and what would be its USP.
I was actually surprised to spot a lot of Kia Souls on American roads during few recent trips. Not sure if it is the design that makes it over-visible. Everytime I saw it, the irony of the name is something I could never stop thinking about. This car when seen in flesh has no-Soul.

I am also thinking that if this car can be a decent success amongst the US crowd which arguably prefers mean-butch cars, making this a success in India knowing Kia's ability to entice the market is surely possible.

But I am still a skeptic unless Kia proves otherwise. Till now, majority of the cars in this broad price range do not have a polarising design. I know Hyundai is hell bent on changing this (coughs - Creta, coughs again - Elantra) and the Kia Soul will simply appear out of date on our roads.

Last edited by warrioraks : 25th May 2020 at 15:48.
warrioraks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th May 2020, 20:12   #17

Re: Rumour: Kia is considering the Soul for India

Odd one out.

Like the boxy design. Gives character as well as being practical.

Saw a lot of them in Qatar, they were like the perfect size. And also two box shape, instead of fluidic one box kinda shape for its class.

Though since they are based on the Elantra family class, wonder how the pricing would be.
Better to bring as an EV only model, cause it's not really a sporty one.

And don't understand by the statement of two petrol engines available. The previous gen Sould did have a diesel engine option.

Last edited by DicKy : 25th May 2020 at 20:15.
DicKy is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 25th May 2020, 22:47   #18

I think it's one interesting looking fella. Looks almost like a squat WagonR to me from certain angles.

The features, price and VFM are going to be the only factors, because the design certainly isn't for me.

Last edited by Aditya : 26th May 2020 at 07:31. Reason: Dots deleted
Old 26th May 2020, 10:16   #19

I think the Soul has a good potential in India. The boxy shape, tall boy design and the good fuel economy (hybrid / EV options) could attract a lot of customers.

That said, like always, the pricing is the key to get into the more competitive segment. We have a lack of cars in the premium compact segment (eg. VW Golf, Hyundai i30, Ford Focus, Mazda 3 etc.). Kia cars will also have no issues long term relatively speaking.
Old 30th May 2020, 10:30   #20

Not sure if this is a welcome move by KIA.

India is not ready to adopt these funky, Boxy designs. Though this car looks practical, Design plays a major role. Even Suzuki has a lot of funky looking cars like HUSTLER, SPACIA in Asian markets but they are not ready to launch in India.

Personally, I would recommend KIA to launch a proper sedan with 1.6 P/D in the price range of 10-13 lakhs to gain the market share and KIA RIO as an entry-level hatch with the price range of 5-8 Lakhs.
Old 30th May 2020, 14:34   #21

Originally Posted by Thermodynamics View Post
I thought I was the only one who felt the design is quirky. A polarizing shape. When I had to rent a car in US, I picked Kia Soul (the previous generation) from the list, walked to parking lot, saw it in person, went back to counter and changed car to Elantra. What I wouldn't like to rent, would I own ? No way.
The last generation Soul was listless, weird and dull and i considered it more like a smaller and compact version of the Nissan Cube. Even i wouldn't touch it with a barge pole!
The 2020 Soul ups it's game and takes it to a completely different level, both with its exterior and interior quality along with the overall interior space management.
It may look weirdly shaped in pictures and the first couple of times you see it in person, but there are some designs that once you start seeing it continuously, you cant but admire them and this at least to me is one of those.
I am pretty sure this car will sell in good numbers if it's introduced in India at the right price point. Who'd have thought that the quirky S-Presso would rack up the numbers that it's doing now? Even though that car split opinion, four out of five people in my friends circle had a positive opinion of the Soul when we test drove it only 2 days ago At night, It looks menacing from the front with its huge angry faced DRL and the rear doesn't look bad either compared to the previous gen. One look at this tailgating you in the rear view mirror and you're bound to make way.

Just my two cents.
abhinavinc is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 21:29   #22

Something different and polarizing which might work in its favour. Think about Ignis and S-Presso. Among the sea of Compact/Mini SUV's, Soul can stand out. I expect it to do around 3-4k/monthly if priced well.
Old 30th May 2020, 22:25   #23

I would love to see the response in India. I did drive Kia Soul for few weeks in US and was taken by surprise. It had that somehow sit high/straight position with good view of the road. That is one thing common with the mini SUVs we have here.

The engine options might make it a seller or deal breaker here that we will have to see.
KIA Service also has a good response that should play in it's favor.
vidyanand is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 22:36   #24

I saw a lot of these on the American roads and always wondered what's so special about this car especially when everyone else drove SUVs, trucks or sedans.

I could think of one USP - practicality. It is tall, boxy, spacious and yet compact! It's like a slightly bigger and maybe, even better WagonR. If priced correctly, it can be a good upgrade option for buyers who love their tall boys. Most of them would agree that they have struggled to find an apt replacement for their tall boys, I am one of them!

Last edited by ashis89 : 30th May 2020 at 22:48.
Old 30th May 2020, 23:25   #25

Originally Posted by blackwasp View Post
I think the Soul has a good potential in India. The boxy shape, tall boy design and the good fuel economy (hybrid / EV options) could attract a lot of customers.

That said, like always, the pricing is the key to get into the more competitive segment. We have a lack of cars in the premium compact segment (eg. VW Golf, Hyundai i30, Ford Focus, Mazda 3 etc.). Kia cars will also have no issues long term relatively speaking.
Yes, price it well and Kia will have a winner in the Soul. It is the same country which made the odd looking Santro and the body WagonR a success.
Old 30th May 2020, 23:37   #26

Soul is a good car. I liked it. Very, very spacious and practical, perfect for India. The seating position is so high up you'll think you're driving a proper SUV. Indians are going to love it. Initially the car sold well in Dubai, but hardly see them nowadays.
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th May 2020, 23:42   #27

Originally Posted by Bibendum90949 View Post
Yes it looks quirky. Most off beat designs takes some time to grow on us.

Well, I do agree with the quirkiness of the car. Having said that, I think these designs seem to have growing in popularity in India over the years. Look at the tall-boy design and the height, it surely gives it a bit of a SUV-like feel to it.

I did get to sit in a few of these used as UBER taxis in Doha, Qatar when i was working there a couple of years back. I personally don't prefer these designs considering i personally aint a fan of Boxy cars, but i must admit that comfort-wise these were good enough, spacious and atleast at the rear it felt smooth and enjoyable too.

Well, you never know.these may actually sell well here in India considering it sold for around starting price of QAR56000 (INR11lacs approx) then.

Rumour: Kia is considering the Soul for India-soul1.jpg

Rumour: Kia is considering the Soul for India-soul2.jpg

Rumour: Kia is considering the Soul for India-soul3.jpg

Last edited by ampere : 31st May 2020 at 00:20.
Akki272 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st May 2020, 08:53   #28

It's a great car having driven one couple of times and my SO likes the looks as well. Quite possibly that might be the next one to go in for. There are more than a few on the roads here.

In fact, I'd mentioned in the Seltos thread, from the success of that vehicle, that the Soul is a good product for India. Happy to see that coming close to fruition. That said, all the Kia low end products are quite good - especially the Forte. Let's see...
mmxylorider is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th June 2020, 21:36   #29

Originally Posted by CarguyNish View Post

Currently the Soul is available in global markets with two petrol engines - a 2-litre, 4 cylinder unit which is good enough for 147 bhp and then there's a 1.6-litre turbocharged engine which gives the Soul its sporty credentials and it makes more than 200 horses.
Having driven the Soul GT, I hope Kia launches it in India. If it gets the pricing right, its a fun car to drive around the city!!
Old 20th August 2020, 18:51   #30

Kia India to focus on SUVs, MPVs; no plans for hatchbacks, sedans.

-Hatchbacks and sedans not on the cards for Kia's India portfolio.
- A third of Kia's India production capacity to be reserved for SUV exports.
- Kia eying the MPV segment with innovative products.

volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks