Old 13th January 2021, 21:23   #811

Re: The Tata Gravitas (H7X) SUV. EDIT: Branded as the Safari!

Originally Posted by pelican90 View Post
Is it just me or did the ride seem too bouncy in this?
Did the bounciness happen in Safari or in the vehicle from where the video is captured?
bwildrd#1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 21:26   #812

Safari’s captain seats teased by Tata.
The Tata Gravitas (H7X) SUV. EDIT: Branded as the Safari!-c564c4b7cc0845d18bdaf8cb11c3a22f.jpeg  

CEF_Beasts is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 21:35   #813

Originally Posted by bwildrd#1 View Post
Did the bounciness happen in Safari or in the vehicle from where the video is captured?
It was the Safari bouncing. I had to see it multiple times. Is their more suspension travel on the rear ?
Old 13th January 2021, 21:55   #814

Originally Posted by VOLANTE View Post
The all new Tata Safari cruising on road. What a road presence this SUV has got, almost dwarfed the Innova!

https://Youtu.be/MqIodNlVwrs
Why is it bouncing so much ? Is this the automatic version and its the gear change which is causing the bounce ?

Towards the later half of the video also, it seems to be bouncing when the camera is still.

The Innova seemed to be doing just fine, so no road undulations. What could be the reason then ?

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 13th January 2021 at 23:29. Reason: Typo
Old 13th January 2021, 21:57   #815

Originally Posted by gopi_rm View Post
Personally I would not blame Mr.Bose. He is a design guy and an employee of TML so he will defend TML's decision at any cost.
Ofcourse I wouldn't blame him.
He should defend his company and he rightly does. But what gets my nerve is his dissing of BoF, RWD just to defend the products and ridiculing the usage of AWD/4x4.

Example from his comment section in Insta (deleted)

Random guy 1 : "Should have made it RWD atleast"
Pratap Bose : " Would make packaging difficult"
Random guy 2. : "@mentioning guy 1 and you guys will complain of transmission tunnel"
Pratap Bose : "@mentioning guy 2 true (laugh)
Me : "as if FWD cars have flat rear floor"
Random guy x comment
Random guy x : comment
Pratap Bose. : "@mentioning me Ever tried entering the 3rd row in a vehicle with transmission tunnel?

I was like ....Did he really say that?

Wanted to reply, "yes sir, the Innova and Hexa both were BoF and RWD. Could enter the third row with ease.
In fact, the BoF Innova and Fortuner has the same transmission tunnel hump as the monocoque FWD Harrier does. So does the new Safari. "
Pity by the time I could type a reply, the comment was removed.

Either he should reply diplomatically or reply logically, instead of trying to hide shortcomings with 'future, time proof, market study, do you use it, have you tried.., last century, modern thinking' etc

Originally Posted by gopi_rm View Post
Could you please list out those BoF, AWD SUV's in the new Safari price segment being offered in the Indian market and their price list. And how many customers right now will be ready to buy a Tata product in that price point. May be once TML establishes itself in the premium segment then it may offer such a product but for now TML has just stepped into the 20+ lacs price segment.
He talked generally about BoF, RWD, AWD. Not of segments.
Same in the case of my arguments.

If the segment has to be discussed, the arch rival of Safari, the Scorpio which is arguably the better seller is to come this year in a new generation. BoF, RWD. With possibly 4x4 option.
Another one, the Innova is in its second generation. And is still BoF and RWD. So will be it's next generation.
If it is to club together Creta, Seltos, Hector with Safari...I don't have any words.

Again, I respect TML's strategy, their two platform only approach, the Harrier, their decision to rename the Gravitas as the Safari. I can very well understand those decisions.
It is just the general attitude of Pratap Bose towards the people who asked for stuff that Tata couldn't provide now.
Or maybe seeing the BMW ad first thing in the morning may have rubbed me off wrong.

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Looks like the new Safari doesn't get independent rear suspensions (as seen in this picture). That would have been a nice update.
Really don't know how the suspension has been tuned. Maybe a more comfortable setup.
But of what I have felt in the Harrier. An independent rear suspension would have been perfect for the Gravitas. Especially since there is a third row.
The rear suspension setup stands out as a visible chink in the Harrier, how it would affect the Gravitas has to be seen.
DicKy is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 22:09   #816
bkc

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
KIA offers worldly comforts (Even on SONET). Is it priced out of the market?
Brezza is cheaper than sonet, because of the features offered in Sonet.
Moreoever, if you think deep, there is no diesel torque converter below sonets's price. This is one of the USP and a smart move.

Again, If kia is still competitive, it is because of it's paltry investment in structural safety.
bkc is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 22:30   #817

Some technical details regarding the Safari, shared by a birdie:

- Panoramic sunroof in XT & XZ variants - Roll/Tilt/Glass/Slide open & close, one-touch, manual control & Express Open, Anti-Pinch, Rain sensor close & Key out/Global close
- Disc brakes all around
- 18 inch alloy wheel (top end variant)
- 6 & 7 seater configurations
- Rear AC
- Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
- iRA connected car features (Airtel & BSNL e-sims)
- Ambient lighting (mono)
- Functional roof rails (75 kgs load capacity)
- Reverse parking sensors standard across range
- Piano black B & C pillar trims
- Xenon HID projector headlamps in XZ variant (others have normal projectors)
- Easy seat recline, fold and tumble operation for easy ingress & egress for 3rd row passengers
- Easy slide co-driver seat
- USB charger port, Sub-woofer, Boot lamp, Cup/bottle holder, netted pockets storage & HVAC regulator knob in rear quarter trims
- Electronic Parking Brake with Auto Hold function on XT & XZ variants
- Automatic Vehicle Hold (AVH) is also available alongside EPB
- Terrain Modes - Normal, Wet & Rough Road
- Rear suspension same as Harrier except changes for rear disc brakes
- Safety modules include:
ABS (Antilock Braking System),
EBD (Electronic Brakeforce Distribution),
CSC (Cornering Stability Control),
off-road ABS,
ETC (Electronic Traction Control),
ESC (Electronic Stability Control),
HHC (Hill Hold Control),
HDC (Hill Descent Control),
BDW (Brake Disc Wiping),
DWTB (Dynamic Wheel Torque by Brake),
ROM (Roll-Over Mitigation),
EDTC (Engine Drag Torque Control),
EBP (Electronic Brake Pre-fill),
HBA (Hydraulic Brake Assist), and
HFC (Hydraulic Fading Compensation).

Last edited by RavenAvi : 13th January 2021 at 22:51. Reason: added for erohit.
RavenAvi is offline   (91) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 22:33   #818

The Tata Gravitas (H7X) SUV. EDIT: Branded as the Safari!

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Some details regarding the Safari, shared by a birdie:

- Disc brakes all around
).

Thanks a lot. So no panoramic roof in Safari ?

Last edited by erohit : 13th January 2021 at 22:34.
erohit is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 23:00   #819

- Panoramic sunroof in XT & XZ variants - Roll/Tilt/Glass/Slide open & close, one-touch, manual control & Express Open, Anti-Pinch, Rain sensor close & Key out/Global close
- Disc brakes all around
- Rear AC
- Tyre Pressure Monitoring System
- iRA connected car features (Airtel & BSNL e-sims)
- Ambient lighting (mono)
Pretty much covers everything, which Harrier lacked and I would have loved to have it on my Harrier. Major missings in Harrier are:
- TPMS
- Connected Car tech
- Ambient Light (Ups the overall feel-good factor in the cabin).
- Rear Disc Brakes
- Reclining Rear Seats

However, features that are still left out
- Ventilated Seats
- Wireless Charger
- 36o Degree Camera or Lane Watch Camera
Highh5 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 13th January 2021, 23:27   #820

Originally Posted by erohit View Post
Thanks a lot. So no panoramic roof in Safari ?
The first point of RavenAvi's post says that panoramic roof will be available on the safari. Please check it again, you may have missed it.
nikhilthegunner is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 14th January 2021, 00:07   #821

HHC (Hill Hold Control),
HDC (Hill Descent Control),
BDW (Brake Disc Wiping),
DWTB (Dynamic Wheel Torque by Brake),
ROM (Roll-Over Mitigation),
EDTC (Engine Drag Torque Control),
EBP (Electronic Brake Pre-fill),
HBA (Hydraulic Brake Assist), and
HFC (Hydraulic Fading Compensation).
CSC, HHC, HDC ... and more controls

Going by your previous scoops, I will take this list as a confirmed one. Thanks, @RavenAvi.
condor is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th January 2021, 00:13   #822

- Easy seat recline, fold and tumble operation for easy ingress & egress for 3rd row passengers
- Easy slide co-driver seat
Sir, what is this easy slide co-driver seat. How is this different than normal sliding co-driver seat.

Also, I remember the Gravitas video in YouTube where the 2nd row of seat was sliding but that was for captain seat configuration. Can you please confirm if bench type seats will be of sliding type to enable more space for 2nd row, in case we are not usingthe 3rd row.

Last edited by BlackPearl : 14th January 2021 at 06:49. Reason: Minor typo. Thanks.
Old 14th January 2021, 00:27   #823

- Disc brakes all around
- etc
Wow this is some extensive list. Thanks for sharing.

I hope they do justice to feature distribution in the variants.

And with the kind of terrain modes and safety feature it should be able to handle mild to mid off roading.

Quick questions:

- Are the seats powered
- Will they offer airbags for 3rd seat occupants too.
- Hope they offer alloy as a spare wheel too
- Any news on the comfort and ride
- From the captain seats tweeted - it looked thinner with very less bolstering, not like Hexa captain seats. Hope I am wrong.

Now, they should come up with killer advertisement and without saying it goes for price too.

Are you ready to "reclaim your life"

-PK

Originally Posted by turbo_delight View Post
Why is it bouncing so much ? Is this the automatic version and its the gear change which is causing the bounce ?

Towards the later half of the video also, it seems to be bouncing when the camera is still.
It seems that they may be testing suspension/shock tuning for best ride and comfort. The rear of the car seems to be raised a lot from the ground.

But that bounciness reminds me of i10 being viewed from the rear while in motion. If you are trailing i10 you will see its body bounce over slight adulation on the road too.

Hope Safari doesn't come with this bounciness. The one thing which I am still not able to come to terms (from the pics shared) is the back side of Safari. That torsion beam suspension is an eye sore. Hope they do proper adjustment and that is not visible.

-PK

Last edited by vb-saan : 14th January 2021 at 06:50. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged; please use edit/multi-quote options when posting back-to-back. Thanks!
pk_del is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th January 2021, 01:03   #824

Ive not driven the Harrier, so would like to ask present owners this -

How useful or effective are these "drive modes" achieved by ESP manipulation? Do you feel the 14 modes doing anything different perceivably? I mean how much can you squeeze out of a FWD vehicle with just electronic modulations?
Old 14th January 2021, 02:07   #825

Hindi response: Bas kar pagle, rulayega kya
English response: Shut up and take my money!

I will happily shell out 25 lakh for all this. But given that Harrier top end itself costs that much before discounts (Pune), I think Safari will ask for 27 lakh at least. In that case, I will wait for a discounts season.
pseudo_coder is offline   (4) Thanks