Old 24th June 2019, 13:19   #31

Re: Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh

OK, the car and the recent 700 series ad got me. Booked the 700 today. Fingers crossed on the delivery and there after the A.S.S.
I own an XUV and I am far from impressed with the service so far. However, I have to admit Mahindra's cars have a character and the Thar, as with so many of us on here, has been on a list of "Jeeps" which was a childhood dream.

Anyone from Pune, who is into off-roading, count me in (as a novice).
RacingForIndia is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th June 2019, 23:30   #32

Pics from one of the dealerships. (Source)

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232617.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232606.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232554.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232544.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232533.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232524.jpg

Mahindra Thar 700 launched at Rs. 9.99 lakh-img_20190626_232515.jpg
jailbird_fynix is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 27th June 2019, 22:16   #33

Originally Posted by RacingForIndia View Post
OK, the car and the recent 700 series ad got me. Booked the 700 today. Fingers crossed on the delivery and there after the A.S.S.
I own an XUV and I am far from impressed with the service so far. However, I have to admit Mahindra's cars have a character and the Thar, as with so many of us on here, has been on a list of "Jeeps" which was a childhood dream.

Anyone from Pune, who is into off-roading, count me in (as a novice).
Super decision dude!! I've been trying to convince myself on getting the Signature for a while now but unfortunately priorities don't permit me to get one. Congratulations on going ahead with it and I hope to see some pictures and mods soon.
On a side note, do any of the Pune Mahindra dealers have a a Thar available for test drives? I went to the one at Bavdhan but they didn't have one. Did you test drive one?
Old 27th June 2019, 22:25   #34

Originally Posted by yd_gli View Post
Super decision dude!! I've been trying to convince myself on getting the Signature for a while now but unfortunately priorities don't permit me to get one. Congratulations on going ahead with it and I hope to see some pictures and mods soon.
On a side note, do any of the Pune Mahindra dealers have a a Thar available for test drives? I went to the one at Bavdhan but they didn't have one. Did you test drive one?
Many thanks mate.
I took a TD with Unnati motors, believe me the car was rattling like anything but still it got me. Something about it that just gets to you once you drive one of these lot.

Getting it this Sunday or so I hope; pics will be shared soon. In case you don't manage to get a TD with Unnati, as the car is in high demand, I don't mind offering a TD on my one.
RacingForIndia is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th June 2019, 22:34   #35

Originally Posted by RacingForIndia View Post
Many thanks mate.
I took a TD with Unnati motors, believe me the car was rattling like anything but still it got me. Something about it that just gets to you once you drive one of these lot.

Getting it this Sunday or so I hope; pics will be shared soon. In case you don't manage to get a TD with Unnati, as the car is in high demand, I don't mind offering a TD on my one.
Cool. I'll go check them out this weekend! Rattles and Thar are synonymous I've heard. Irrespective of whether I get a TD or not, I'd love to see the 700 edition. Look forward to the pics and I'll see you soon. Thanks for the help!
yd_gli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th June 2019, 11:43   #36

A walk-around video -

jailbird_fynix is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th July 2019, 15:21   #37

Oh boy, got my car this weekend and is she a hoot to drive or what. Surprisingly ever since I got the Thar, all the potholes in the city seem to have vanished.
I'll post some pics on here soon.
RacingForIndia is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 07:22   #38

Video shared by someone @ Mahindra:
GTO is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 08:41   #39

Very nice video. great background music. Good dose of emotions. great to see senior assembly line workers being recognized... and ….
oh ! that sound of bolts being tightened with the powered tools !

Last edited by ajmat : 19th July 2019 at 10:24. Reason: removing video quote
narayan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 09:33   #40

Indeed a very nice video. Pulls the Thar loving side in me to actually pull out the cheque book.

But then I calm myself seeing this:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...ml#post4622612
Greater things are about to come. Hopefully the niggles are sorted in all these testing drives.

Last edited by ajmat : 19th July 2019 at 10:24. Reason: removing video quote
navpreet318 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 09:48   #41

wow, now that's what gratitude in corporate world should be like.

A video that shows Thar being assembled by veteran workers/staff, shot on the assembly line with real sounds thrown in, authentic emotions captured and the finished product next to its grandfather model.

Gratitude towards a product that generated revenues (irrespective of how much), so completely captured in those few seconds of the pooja being performed of the Thar-700 and pranaam to the vehicle.
Extremely powerful.

I wish we show more of such humbleness and gratitude in our lives , even towards inanimate objects.

M&M - take a bow - your heart is in the right place.
lazy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 10:32   #42

They haven't tried to hide the uneven panel gaps , the masking tape, nothing, it's as hand made as it gets during these days, made by good old men of our country. Although I'm aware that it is bits and pieces from everywhere, I'm still envious of those who were able to buy one Thar 700 , the same way i felt about those who were able to get the Legend.

Thar 700 then is special, I do not think they will have much trouble getting these ones off the showroom and yet they took the care to showcase what goes on behind the scenes. Brilliant work!
Old 19th July 2019, 11:41   #43

Very well made indeed. Good to see the "legacy" aspects being accentuated to the tune of peak emotions That being said, how many will spend close to 13 lac for this jeep is anybody's guess!!

Last edited by moralfibre : 19th July 2019 at 15:46. Reason: Removing embedded video from quoted post.
Old 19th July 2019, 14:31   #44

That being said, how many will spend close to 13 lac for this jeep is anybody's guess!!
Exactly my thought! Also being aware that the next gen model will be up for sale as early as next year who will want to spend so much ??
Hopefully the Off roading enthusiasts who have a thing for collectibles will line up !
Sk8r is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th July 2019, 22:17   #45

Super video! Mahindra sure knows how to create an aura around their products. I've wanted to get one of these for a long time. But I just can't justify the 13lakhs OTR and the fact that no one in my family will want to get into a manual transmission car anymore means that I will probably wait for the next gen model. However, I feel that with all the safety gizmos and better interior trim, the cost on the next gen is going to move into the harrier/hexa/xuv500 territory and it'll become even more difficult to justify one.