Originally Posted by muditjain23 So we waited until the Polo GT Line TSi was launched and finally we booked the new GT Line Polo TSi. |
Congratulations!
What scares me now is the maintenance of the beast. I have came across people claiming that Clutch wear and tear takes place in the DSG which would need replacement at any point of time and would cost around Rs. 1 Lac or more plus it is not covered under warranty (but the sales staff claim it is covered).
|
I haven't heard of anyone facing issues with the clutch, unless the car has been driven quite a bit. I know of one or two guys who have done over 1,00,000 km on the odo and they haven't had any clutch issues per se. Normal wear and tear of the clutch required them to replace the clutch pack at 1,05,000 km and that's normal, albeit pricier than your average MT clutch replacement. (It's definitely not going to cost you 1 lakh+ for a clutch repalcement!)
However, the mechatronics is what you need to be worried about. This unit may fail at 50,000, 60,000 or even as early as 5000 / 10,000 km on the odo. Replacing the mechatronics outside warranty (in the event VW refuses to honour even goodwill warranty) will mean a 1.5 lakh bill or more!
Secondly I saw a video on YouTube by some person ( Not Naming ) who claims to have spent Rs.40k on a service after 60k Kms on the ODO - Which includes Transformer Change, wiring of transformer, Spark Plugs, Water Pump etc.
|
Service can be expensive once the car has covered in excess of 50k on the odo. This is down to wear and tear parts that need replacement and / or labour. But I'm not sure what this transformer change / wiring is.
Please note that VW will charge you excessively if you are lackadaisical about timely services or you don't actively participate in the service process of your car. Be aware and alert at all times!
TIP : ALWAYS GET YOUR SERVICE DONE ON TIME AND ONLY FROM COMPANY SERVICE CENTERS. NEVER EVER GET YOUR VOLKSWAGEN SERVICED IN OPEN MARKET.
|
I would normally agree with this, because the benefits of getting your car serviced at unauthorized service center are huge! For example, if at any point your gearbox's mechatronics unit fails, VW will consider honouring goodwill warranty if your record is clean, i.e. if you have been getting the car serviced regularly at VW and in a timely manner. Not having any modifications to the car will also further your chances of availing goodwill warranty.
However, I haven't had the best experience with VW (Palace Cross).
1) They refused to allow me access to my car and observe the service being done to my own car (!) - unacceptable because they ordinarily should permit you if you request them.
2) They were ready and willing to dishonour warranty for a steering rack replacement solely because I had changed the tyres (only the tyres, by the way) on my car at the time of delivery - a bit ridiculous if you ask me.
3) I still haven't received clarity on a few issues I've had with my car, which included an almost invisible bubbling of the paint that had developed at the edge of my bootlid, and a very slight fogging up and condensation inside the RHS tail light.
4) Earlier this year I'd visited Volkswagen Palace Cross (Rajajinagar) to complain about my rock hard suspension and super tight steering. My car had, at that time, done about 25,000 on the odo. I was certain that there was something horribly wrong with the suspension and went to them to get it replaced under warranty (I was in my final year of extended warranty i.e. 2 years, and the car would complete 4 years since delivery - in May). They first took my warranty details and then made me wait for an hour before the service guy jumped into my car for a drive around the block. The guy took my car for a spin with me in the passenger seat and within 500 meters he said the suspension is fine and does not require replacing. He went on to say that the tyres were probably hard which is the reason for "the slightly stiff ride". I tried persuading them to take off the wheels, for which they said they will have to charge me (!) and then asked me to come in 6 months later to reevaluate the suspension replacement request. It was obvious that they had a discussion behind closed doors and were thereafter trying to push the car beyond the warranty period and get me to replace the parts outside warranty at my cost.
5) Any and every request I'd made, however small / inconsequential / insignificant, fell on deaf ears. They were all smiles throughout, but rejected every request, whether it was for merely a check up of the suspension, or the brakes, or even something as small and simple as to not apply that godawful wax-polish on the dashboard!
6) They simply refused to work with the insurance guys for replacement of my windshield that had cracked due to a branch that had fallen. I understand that I'd taken insurance independently, and I wasn't expecting them to coordinate with the insurance guys like the way they would had I taken insurance from the dealer at the time of purchase. However, they simply refused to cooperate with them and that's what irked me.
At this point, I'd realised that although the service advisor who was assigned to me was a nice chap, VW Palace Cross was being extremely non-cooperative and shrugging from their basic duties.
I don't know what it's like now. I know of people who've have good experiences at Palace Cross. In fact a few of them had even got the authorized service guys to swap the stock steering for the GTI wheel. I guess I've just been extremely unlucky, I don't know?
This is why I've decided to get my car serviced at a FNG and risk the fact that my gearbox warranty won't be honoured.
Coming back to the POLO GT TSi - Is maintenance really an issue, especially of the GT TSi ? Is DSG Clutch covered under warranty ? Lastly is it worth buying 2019 Polo GT Line TSi ? |
If you are lucky, you may not experience the trouble that I have faced. And for the most part, maintenance is not a big issue as long as you are smart about it. Yes, the DSG (mechatronics) is covered by warranty / goodwill warranty. Take the 7 year package that is now made available, for complete peace of mind. Yes, it is worth buying the Polo GT, because it's still a great car to drive and there aren't too many cars that will compete with it and come out on top, in my opinion. It's just the service experience that leaves a lot to be desired.
Also, please be warned that post 2014-15, VW has been aggressive with localization of parts, and certain parts are downright substandard, like the struts, ball joints, stabilizer links, etc. These parts may need replacement sooner than you think, and insist that they are replaced under warranty at all costs, should the need arise!