Old 8th February 2019, 10:40   #16

re: Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket

On a serious note, Toyota is smart enough to know that the rebadged Marutis will have limited market success. This rebadging exercise was just to add some spit shine to the partnership. Long term, it's going to swallow Suzuki up.
OT Post:

This is how it looks like to me as well. In the long run, the substantially larger partner ends up eating the smaller partner most of the times.

However, MSIL as a body arm isn't going anywhere, at least until the eclipse of the IC age. In an idiosyncratic/quirky car market such as India, MSIL's pole position is invaluable and not easily replaceable.

Toyota will bide their time until the next generation/electric vehicles catch up in India. That will be time when MSIL will be vulnerable.
Old 8th February 2019, 11:43   #17

Knowing Toyota, I doubt if they will bring any models soon. They seem busy chopping the Baleno and next year they will chop the Brezza. I don't see Rush/Avanza making it to our shores before 2022. Been hearing stories of Avanza/Rush for ages now!
PrideRed is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2019, 12:07   #18
MAS

When i was at the service station earlier last month for the Fortuner, the guys told me that RAV4 is being planned for launch in India and they will go for training very soon.

I have been in RAV4 Hybrid in Dubai and Italy. The car ride quality is okayish, but the Hybrid blew me off with mileage of around 28 kmpl in city traffic!!

The 2019 RAV4 looks fantastic. Bring it on Toyota!!!
Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0009_v003.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0010_v002.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0016_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0041_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0043_v002.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0044_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0045_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0050_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0051_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0059_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0070_v001.jpeg  

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-rav_my19_0072_v001.jpeg  

MAS is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 8th February 2019, 12:24   #19

Infractions: 0/1 (3)

Small SUVs, the current flavour in the Indian customer's mind frame, why is Toyota not capitalizing on this with their RAV4. Its small, can be well priced, hence shall be lapped up by prospective customers who would like to own the T.

Avanza is another product that shall get numbers on the road. With their huge product portfolio worldwide, one wonders why is Toyota happy selling only the Fortuner and the Innova (in various avatars) in India.

Hiace - another product that could be tried (van and micro bus options). Airlines, hotels, corporates, schools, taxi operators, super and hyper markets, the list goes on. Am pretty sure it is a much better vehicle as compared to the current crop available. One may feel the initial cost is too high, the same was felt when Volvo trucks / buses came to India competing against Tata and Ashok Leyland. With innovative marketing the Hiace has the potential to sell in decent numbers. There are hardly any options available for a group of 8 ~ 12 people to travel comfortably apart from the Tempo Traveller.

Yaris - at Kolkata it is rare to spot one on the road, wonder if it has been written off the customer's mind
ALTIMAed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2019, 12:58   #20

Originally Posted by MAS View Post
When i was at the service station earlier last month for the Fortuner, the guys told me that RAV4 is being planned for launch in India and they will go for training very soon.

I have been in RAV4 Hybrid in Dubai and Italy. The car ride quality is okayish, but the Hybrid blew me off with mileage of around 28 kmpl in city traffic!!

The 2019 RAV4 looks fantastic. Bring it on Toyota!!!
RAV4 is going to be very expensive. It starts at 25000 USD for basic LE and there are No Taxes in USA. There is no way they can price it in 15-20 Lac. If your service station guy is correct which I doubt, they might get as CBU and the price will be between Fortuner & LC Prado which may defeat the whole purpose of numbers.

Apart from the Maruti-Toyota vehicles, I don't see anything from Toyota in this Year.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th February 2019, 17:10   #21

I would pay up to 32-34 lakh on road for a decently high variant of a RAV 4 Hybrid. Any reason it should not be in that price range? Considering the Camry is 45 on road?

Not sure if the plans to bring it are real of course but in my view if they can offer the Camry at that price point they should try to launch a RAV 4 like model too. At this point, the petrol hybrid factor would be a clear differentiator from the likes of Tiguan Compass etc.
Old 8th February 2019, 19:34   #22

The RAV4 is a brilliant compact SUV that badly needs to be launched in India. The RAV4 is a globally successful model which is the benchmark in USA and Australian markets. With the government being friendly towards hybrid and electric cars, the RAV4 hybrid looks like a good starting point for the Indian market. Subsequent gasoline engine models can come in later with the lower price tag factor.
karthick_b is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2019, 08:34   #23

OT Reply :

Originally Posted by ALTIMAed View Post
Yaris - at Kolkata it is rare to spot one on the road, wonder if it has been written off the customer's mind

Yes, it's somehow overpriced if you compare the spec sheets. J and G variants are the only one that make sense.

However, if you are a Point A to B guy in need for petrol car, comfort is more important than acceleration, it's the best car in that segment.

3 people I know got the Yaris following the above advice. They don't regret the paying the premium now.
sharktale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th February 2019, 11:19   #24

SUV:

Rumors in Thailand are of another SUV Toyota is planning below the Toyota C-HR . This could be the SUV that is likely to come in 2022 to India too ?

Reasoning for the new SUV is that the current C-HR is expensive when compared to the price levels of competition (Honda HR-V, Mazda CX-3, Chevy and Nissan Juke )

Toyota is rumored to be preparing a new, compact-sized SUV with a base similar to the Toyota C-HR. Yep, if its similar, then obviously this new Sub Compact SUV is already using base TNGA-C . Sources mention that the process of R&D of the SUV is still just getting started
This new SUV will be positioned at the bottom of Toyota C-HR and had a shape like a sub compact SUV more, and not in a coupe style
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th February 2019, 16:36   #25

New Toyota mid-size SUV in the making

Toyota has begun work on an all-new global SUV model. This new SUV will sit below the funky CH-R crossover that is sold abroad. According to sources, development work on this SUV is still at a very early stage and details are scarce. This new SUV will be based on the brand’s newest TNGA-C architecture which underpins the Toyota Prius hybrid as well as the all-new Toyota Corolla yet to come to India.

https://www.autocarindia.com/car-new...e-works-411645
Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-0_578_872_0_70_http___cdni.autocarindia.com_extraimages_20190225023114_toyota_newsuv_aci.jpg  

RM Motorsports is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th February 2019, 00:28   #26

Originally Posted by sharktale View Post
OT Reply :
Yes, it's somehow overpriced if you compare the spec sheets. J and G variants are the only one that make sense.

However, if you are a Point A to B guy in need for petrol car, comfort is more important than acceleration, it's the best car in that segment.

3 people I know got the Yaris following the above advice. They don't regret the paying the premium now.
Make that 4. My dad had booked a swift and I convinced him to pony up the extra for the Yaris. J Auto @ 10.55 on road. It's the perfect car for him (easy driving style, low miles). It's smooth, silent and looks and feels classy enough for the money. Not the most exciting to drive but unless you crave that quick response, it's a safe buy!

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 28th February 2019 at 09:33. Reason: Editing spacing
Old 22nd May 2019, 12:16   #27

Re: Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket

Toyota will produce new compact SUV, early beginning 2020. Positioned for Europe (initially) this SUV built on the TNGA-C platform will be considerably cheaper than its premium CUV, CH-R.

Toyota plans new MPV & SUV in the Rs 15 - 20 lakh bracket-1.jpg

Reportedly, this new Toyota-owned small SUV will be manufactured at their assembly plant in Valenciennes, France. In the beginning, was mentioned that this product will be at least produced at the beginning of 2020, but if possible, this car could have climbed to the production line faster, which is at the end of the year 2019. The Toyota factory in Valenciennes itself currently only manufactures the Toyota Yaris, and of course there is still space left to produce other products that are being hype there.

Old 28th March 2020, 08:31   #28

Romour: Toyota and Suzuki working on C-segment MPV and SUV

Source: https://www.indiacarnews.com/news/ma...n-india-38819/

"Toyota and Suzuki are working on all-new C-segment MPV, which will be positioned right between the Ertiga and the Innova Crysta. What’s interesting is that the duo is also developing an all-new mid-sized SUV for the Indian market. The new mid-sized SUV will be launched in the Indian market in 2022.

The new mid-sized SUV is most likely to be launched under Maruti Suzuki nameplate. It will be manufactured at Toyota’s Bidadi plant. The SUV will directly rival the likes of the Kia Seltos, new Hyundai Creta, MG Hector, Tata Harrier, Nissan Kicks and the upcoming SUVs including the Tata Blackbird and the Mahindra XUV400.

Details about the platform are yet to be revealed, but it is likely to use Suzuki’s global C-platform. This platform currently underpins the Vitara Brezza and the global Vitara. Previous reports suggest that Toyota is planning to bring Toyota’s DNGA platform in India. This is basically the low-cost version of the TNGA platform, which underpins the Raize sub-4 meter SUV. The new mid-sized SUV will be sold through NEXA premium dealerships. It is likely to be powered by the new 1.2-litre turbocharged petrol engine, which is currently under development."

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 28th March 2020 at 11:20. Reason: Minor typo. Thanks for sharing.
romeomidhun is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th March 2020, 11:11   #29

Re: Romour: Toyota and Suzuki working on C-segment MPV and SUV

If it's a joint effort, there are high chances this would also be cross badged. That way both manufacturers can leverage the synergy and maximize the volumes. Maruti and Toyota continuing to join hands is a good indication of a fruitful marriage. It doesn't necessarily mean it's good for the Indian car buyers.

Maruti is a company that has been bred on volumes and that doesn't quite change with this alliance. On Toyota's part their brand image would get diluted a bit in the long run at least in India. This combo if driven with ambition can bring good changes to the industry. For starters, Maruti can begin to think of making cars that would get rated 5 stars in G-NCAP.

I look forward to such sweeping changes in Maruti's policy and approach than bringing out newer models in different segments with Toyota in tow.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th March 2020, 15:14   #30

Re: Romour: Toyota and Suzuki working on C-segment MPV and SUV

Hope the new platform is only low cost, not low quality. As the number 1 manufacturer in India Suzuki has a moral obligation to produce cars that get at least 4* in crash testing. If not for India, Suzuki as a car manufacturer would have been taken over already. Suzuki would eventually get taken over by Toyota, but that would be in a respectful way.

I wish you guys value lives of Indians and those from less privileged countries as equal as anywhere else. I hope the prevailing scenario makes you introspect. We definitely deserve better.
The Rationalist is offline   (1) Thanks