Old 10th April 2018, 11:45   #1

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh

Toyota has quietly launched the 2018 Camry Hybrid in India at Rs. 37,22,300 (ex-showroom, Delhi). The updated model gets minor interior tweaks and added features. For Team-BHP's Auto Expo 2018 report on the Camry Hybrid, click here.

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-1.jpg

On the outside, the new Camry looks identical to the outgoing model. It has a chrome grille with automatic LED headlamps on either side. The front bumper features a large air dam with circular LED fog lamps placed at its edge, while triangular turn signals are placed on either side of the bumper. The rear features large wraparound tail lamps and a chrome garnish. The car rides on 17-inch 15-spoke alloy wheels.

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-2.jpg

Moving to the interior, Toyota has updated the Camry's cabin with new tan coloured upholstery and faux wood trim on the dashboard, steering wheel, arm rests and centre console. It also gets a new 3-spoke multi-functional steering wheel, which replaces the old 4-spoke unit. Apart from the aesthetic changes, the 2018 Camry Hybrid gets an updated touchscreen infotainment system with navigation, Bluetooth, USB and Aux-in as well as a 12-speaker audio system. It also comes with a head-up display, wireless charging pad, 3-zone automatic climate control, power reclining rear seats with collapsible headrest and ventilated front seats.

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-3.jpg

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-4.jpg

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-5.jpg

2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh-6.jpg

Meanwhile, the 2.5-litre, 4-cylinder petrol engine has been retained. It makes 159 BHP @ 5,700 rpm and 213 Nm of torque @ 4,500 rpm and comes paired to an electronically controlled CVT (E-CVT). The engine is assisted by a motor generator, which has a maximum output of 142 BHP and 270 Nm. The Camry Hybrid uses 6.5 Ah Nickel-metal Hydride battery pack. It has 2 driving modes - ECO and EV.

In terms of safety features, the 2018 Camry Hybrid comes equipped with 9 airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, vehicle stability control (VSC), hill start assist, electronically controlled brake system (ECB) and ISOFIX child safety seat mounting points among others.

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by Aditya : 11th April 2018 at 10:29.
TusharK is online now   (14) Thanks
Old 10th April 2018, 16:07   #2

Re: 2018 Toyota Camry Hybrid launched at Rs. 37.22 lakh

I have honestly lost count of the number of updates the Camry has received in the recent past. To make matters worse, they all look more or less the same!

Toyota is doing a VW in India.

Best,
Enigmatic
Enigmatic is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 00:00   #3

This is still the old gen Camry pre face lift. Since it is an import, they could have considered the latest model.
devil_klm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 07:25   #4

Originally Posted by Enigmatic View Post
I have honestly lost count of the number of updates the Camry has received in the recent past. To make matters worse, they all look more or less the same!

Toyota is doing a VW in India.

Best,
Enigmatic
Toyota had launched Camry in 2012 and hybrid variant arrived in 2013. These were followed by a facelift in 2015 and minor updates since then.

I think such updates help a car to remain within perspective buyer’s radar. Cars like current gen Honda CRV were launched in 2012 and have not recieved any update since then. Surely ‘not updating’ kind of attitude helped honda to loose lot of CRV sales.

Originally Posted by devil_klm View Post
This is still the old gen Camry pre face lift. Since it is an import, they could have considered the latest model.
Camry isn’t a CBU. The one we get in India is a CKD unit assembled in Toyota’s Bidadi manufacturing facility. Also, this is last gen camry but a post facelift version. If the rumours are true toyota is going to launch next gen camry in India in 2018-19.

ShubhamGhute is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 13:53   #5

Originally Posted by Enigmatic View Post
Would say that frequent updates are good; however, selling the old XV50 generation when the new XV70 is already on sale worldwide is a big no-no . That's especially the case in the premium segment where the mantra is "newer is better". The Camry is hardly selling any cars - just 20 to 30 a month, with the Superb completely annihilating it.

Guess we'll see the next gen soon, once Toyota India runs out of the old Camry's CKD kits. I'm wondering if they are deliberately delaying the new Camry's launch just to help Lexus a little bit.
GTO is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 14:13   #6

Would say that frequent updates are good; however, selling the old XV50 generation when the new XV70 is already on sale worldwide is a big no-no . That's especially the case in the premium segment where the mantra is "newer is better". The Camry is hardly selling any cars - just 20 to 30 a month, with the Superb completely annihilating it.

Guess we'll see the next gen soon, once Toyota India runs out of the old Camry's CKD kits. I'm wondering if they are deliberately delaying the new Camry's launch just to help Lexus a little bit.
I'm unable to understand Toyota's strategy. They launched Lexus at an exorbitant price and claim they are focusing only on customer experience and not on numbers. With brand Toyota they keep selling these outdated models(Prado,Camry,Etios). Why launch something half heartedly when you actually don't want them to sell.
PrideRed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 21:22   #7

It's a shame that even a CBU isn't the latest model. The latest model I hear is quite the driver's car. It's got fantastic interiors and is very Honda Accord like to drive. I've seen a few on the road here and it looks much better than this toaster.
Old 11th April 2018, 21:48   #8

Originally Posted by HKap View Post
It's a shame that even a CBU isn't the latest model. The latest model I hear is quite the driver's car. It's got fantastic interiors and is very Honda Accord like to drive. I've seen a few on the road here and it looks much better than this toaster.
The one you see in Canada and USA are not the same as what you get in Asia Pacific.

The Asia-Pac model is still not out and the latest one is what you see here on this thread. Also, this is not a CBU. Camry is assembled here i.e. CKD.
Vid6639 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 11th April 2018, 22:50   #9

This is not a new launch, but just an update. Whoever would have booked the Camry would be getting their cars with these updated features. Just like what Toyota did with the Fortuner (gave LED lights in the Fog lamps, Engine Start stop feature) few months after launch.

Top Tip: Just ignore this model & wait for the all new model
karan561 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 12th April 2018, 07:39   #10

The leather seats in this facelift are exactly the same as my ES300. The resemblance is even more now hence the all new Camry might just cannabalise the ES even more.

Last edited by ajmat : 12th April 2018 at 16:21. Reason: typo on cannibalise
Sahil is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th April 2018, 09:34   #11

The Asia-Pac model is still not out and the latest one is what you see here on this thread.
Not sure which all countries you meant by Asia-Pac, but I have seen several examples of the all new Camry here in Japan at least.

https://toyota.jp/camry/
Viju is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th April 2018, 09:47   #12

Originally Posted by Viju View Post
Not sure which all countries you meant by Asia-Pac, but I have seen several examples of the all new Camry here in Japan at least.

Ok, except Japan! Obvious Japan will have the latest model.

India gets the kits from Thailand. So once the new model is launched in Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia we will start seeing the car in India.

Japan, UAE already have the newer models.
Vid6639 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th April 2018, 13:46   #13

Originally Posted by Viju View Post

Wow - that car looks like a total Lexus killer. Just that the new Hybrid Camry is already pretty expensive - the ex showroom of this facelift is pretty much close to what the on road pricing was about 2 - 3 years ago.
Old 31st August 2018, 13:33   #14

The Camry is hardly selling any cars - just 20 to 30 a month, with the Superb completely annihilating it.
Having said that, in the second hand market, would the Camry make more sense because of the after sales/part costs/ etc?

Alternatively, the CRV is not very different to the Camry (except the body type) so should one explore CRV instead of Camry (considering more availability too)?

Can you help with reliable dealers/people who can help me with purchasing a good second hand luxury car with a budget of 8-10 lacs? I am guessing you have a strong network here in Mumbai/Pune regions? HOw do you go about your search?
Old 31st August 2018, 14:11   #15

Originally Posted by sjain2054 View Post
Having said that, in the second hand market, would the Camry make more sense because of the after sales/part costs/ etc?

Alternatively, the CRV is not very different to the Camry (except the body type) so should one explore CRV instead of Camry (considering more availability too)?

Can you help with reliable dealers/people who can help me with purchasing a good second hand luxury car with a budget of 8-10 lacs? I am guessing you have a strong network here in Mumbai/Pune regions? HOw do you go about your search?
The Camry has a better resale than the Superb because it's considered to be more trouble free than the notorious Superb. However, chances of finding this gen Camry / CR-V at 8-10L will be very difficult IMO unless it's one of the first batches (in which case, I'd urge you to avoid the Hybrid).
Plus, do keep in mind that parts are going to be expensive for both these options! The car may be more reliable than the Superb, but the spares will not be cheap by any means!

Between the Camry and the CRV - i'd pick the Camry as it's more spacious, fewer rattles, and will have lower running costs (FE). Alternately, have a look at the Honda Accord too - it's discontinued so prices will be stellar, and they're fairly reliable cars too.
Best place to look around is online - carwale.com , TBHP Classifieds, and OLX.com
lamborghini is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com