re: Comparison of ARAI Fuel Efficiency Figures (Hatchbacks) Quote:
Originally Posted by vkr15 The "kitna deti hai" syndrome at work. All kudos to Maruti for having influenced (brainwashed--naah) the Indian auto community over a long period of time. The result is that most people buy Maruti on this one qualification alone. ( I said most, not all, before some Maruti owner starts taking umbrage.) It may be a good idea to also indicate the gross weight of the car across similar segments to get a more balanced idea of build quality, stability,safety etc.
I feel it is time to graduate to other equally relevant issues . So from kitna deti hai to kaisa deti hai and kya kya deti hai. Just a thought. |
I'm in full agreement with you on this, as I myself have never considered the mileage of a car as an important parameter while buying a car. That being said however, safety is a topic for another thread. This thread was created merely to have a view on what mileage figures the manufacturers are quoting to customers. Quote:
Originally Posted by dmplog Not sure if I am missing something here - but, in the table, I clearly see that Nano with 25.4 kmpl is most fuel efficient Petrol Manual car - rather than Kwid - which has 25.2 kmpl you have mentioned. |
This is what happens when your wife calls you in the middle of typing your post
Thank you for pointing this out! I have reported my post to the Mods to correct it. Quote:
Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 While the ARAI mileage calculations are purely under hypothetical conditions, in the real world Maruti wins. The suzuki petrol engines are well tuned considering a lot of variables like fuel quality, oxygen/air quality and more importantly our traffic conditions. Even the capacity of the A/c compressor and time interval at which the Compressor gets switched ON/OFF plays an important role in the real scenario. This is where Maruti beats others hands down. | Quote:
Originally Posted by asit.kulkarni93 All these figures can only be achieved out on the highways if driven very sedately. Our Nano has never given us 25kmpl in the city. My friend's Tiago AMT doesn't give him more than 10-12kmpl in the Pune city traffic. I think its high time we factor in fuel efficiency based on real-life driving conditions. ARAI figures are the ideal number. | Quote:
Originally Posted by reignofchaos These numbers are absolutely meaningless as they are done on a dyno. Dyno testing will always be biased against turbocharged engines as they will not get cooled like what the case would be in the real world.
Drive in the city and you'll never achieve anything remotely close to those values mentioned. |
Real time mileage will always vary based on a number of factors at work, and I'm sure that we're all aware of that. There is a different thread for that discussion however, where many members are posting their real time mileage figures. This thread was created only for displaying the mileage figures that manufacturers are quoting to customers.
Last edited by Joxster : 7th April 2018 at 23:40.
|