Old 7th April 2018, 02:10   #1

Comparison of ARAI Fuel Efficiency Figures (Hatchbacks)

While browsing some of the car sales data on Auto Punditz just now, I came across a comparison done by them on the ARAI mileage of all the hatchbacks on sale in the Indian market currently. I found it quite interesting to see the comparison in a table like this, so thought of sharing it here on the forum

We have compiled a list of mileage figures of hatchbacks on sale in India. These figures are published on internet portals as provided by the vehicle research agency – Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI). These values are the outcome of mileage tests conducted on a chassis dynamo-meter under standard condition and not on a real road. Real world test figures might vary based on driving condition and style, however, as all the vehicles are tested under similar condition, figures are good enough for sake of comparison.
Comparison of ARAI Fuel Efficiency Figures (Hatchbacks)-11.jpg

In essence, companies which have got the Hindi colloquial phrase “Kitna deti hai?” (What’s the mileage?) right, have won half the game of pursuing consumer’s mind to buy their product, especially in budget conscious hatchback segment.
  • AMT technology has not only made owning automatic more affordable but are equally fuel efficient
  • Some cars having CVT or DSG transmission technology are more fuel efficient than their manual counterpart
  • High compression ratio makes diesel engine more fuel efficient, but car comes at a price premium
  • CNG is best bet to save money if one is living in a city which has good network of CNG filling station

I had some interesting observations from this table, but let me first point out that it seems like Auto Punditz forgot that the Abarth is a turbo-charged petrol.

My observations on the Petrol Manual Cars:
  • A Segment: The Tata Nano is the most fuel efficient petrol car, while the Hyundai Eon 1000 is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Alto 800 was the most fuel efficient, but I was wrong.
  • B1 Segment: The Tata Tiago is the most fuel petrol efficient car, while the Datsun Go is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Celerio or Wagon-R was the most fuel efficient, but I was wrong.
  • B2 Segment: The Maruti Suzuki Swift is the most fuel efficient petrol car, while the Fiat Punto 1200 is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Swift was the most fuel efficient, and I was right!

My observations on the Petrol Automatic Cars:
  • A Segment: The Maruti Suzuki Alto 1000 is the most fuel efficient petrol car, while the Tata Nano is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Alto 1000 was the most fuel efficient, and I was right!
  • B1 Segment: The Tata Tiago is the most fuel petrol efficient car, while the Maruti Suzuki Wagon-R is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Celerio or Wagon-R was the most fuel efficient, but I was wrong.
  • B2 Segment: The Maruti Suzuki Swift is the most fuel efficient petrol car, while the Honda Brio is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Swift was the most fuel efficient, and I was right!

My observations on the Diesel Manual Cars:
  • B1 Segment: The Tata Tiago is the most fuel efficient diesel car, while the Tata Indica is least efficient diesel car. I didn't even realize that there were only 2 diesel cars in the B2 segment, haha.
  • B2 Segment: The Maruti Suzuki Swift is the most fuel efficient diesel car, while the Fiat Punto is the least efficient diesel car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Swift was the most fuel efficient, and I was right!

My observations on the Diesel Automatic Cars:
  • Only observation: Maruti Suzuki has complete monopoly here, and there is no competition at the moment.

Mods - I could not really find a thread for this data, so created a new one for it. Please merge into the correct thread if needed.

Last edited by Aditya : 8th April 2018 at 18:51. Reason: as requested
Joxster is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 7th April 2018, 07:52   #2

re: Comparison of ARAI Fuel Efficiency Figures (Hatchbacks)

The "kitna deti hai" syndrome at work. All kudos to Maruti for having influenced (brainwashed--naah) the Indian auto community over a long period of time. The result is that most people buy Maruti on this one qualification alone. ( I said most, not all, before some Maruti owner starts taking umbrage.) It may be a good idea to also indicate the gross weight of the car across similar segments to get a more balanced idea of build quality, stability,safety etc.
I feel it is time to graduate to other equally relevant issues . So from kitna deti hai to kaisa deti hai and kya kya deti hai. Just a thought.
vkr15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2018, 10:28   #3

Originally Posted by Joxster View Post
I had some interesting observations from this table, but let me first point out that it seems like Auto Punditz forgot that the Abarth is a turbo-charged petrol.

My observations on the Petrol Manual Cars:
[list][*] A Segment: The Renault Kwid 800 is the most fuel efficient petrol car, while the Hyundai Eon 1000 is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Alto 800 or Tata Nano was the most fuel efficient, but I was wrong.
Not sure if I am missing something here - but, in the table, I clearly see that Nano with 25.4 kmpl is most fuel efficient Petrol Manual car - rather than Kwid - which has 25.2 kmpl you have mentioned.
dmplog is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2018, 11:23   #4

While the ARAI mileage calculations are purely under hypothetical conditions, in the real world Maruti wins. The suzuki petrol engines are well tuned considering a lot of variables like fuel quality, oxygen/air quality and more importantly our traffic conditions. Even the capacity of the A/c compressor and time interval at which the Compressor gets switched ON/OFF plays an important role in the real scenario. This is where Maruti beats others hands down.

Originally Posted by Joxster View Post
  • B1 Segment: The Tata Tiago is the most fuel petrol efficient car, while the Datsun Go is the least efficient petrol car. I always thought that the Maruti Suzuki Celerio or Wagon-R was the most fuel efficient, but I was wrong.
The Tiago is very fuel efficient on the highways, but not so in the city. The Wagon R and Celerio due to not so aero dynamic design lose out on the highway FE but they are quite efficient in the city(heavy traffic), most users claim FE of >14kmpl(tank full to tank full, not MID) in the city.
jetsetgo08 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2018, 12:12   #5

All these figures can only be achieved out on the highways if driven very sedately. Our Nano has never given us 25kmpl in the city. My friend's Tiago AMT doesn't give him more than 10-12kmpl in the Pune city traffic. I think its high time we factor in fuel efficiency based on real-life driving conditions. ARAI figures are the ideal number.

Originally Posted by vkr15 View Post
The "kitna deti hai" syndrome at work. All kudos to Maruti for having influenced (brainwashed--naah) the Indian auto community over a long period of time. The result is that most people buy Maruti on this one qualification alone. ( I said most, not all, before some Maruti owner starts taking umbrage.) It may be a good idea to also indicate the gross weight of the car across similar segments to get a more balanced idea of build quality, stability,safety etc.
I feel it is time to graduate to other equally relevant issues . So from kitna deti hai to kaisa deti hai and kya kya deti hai. Just a thought.
Sorry to say but many of us at team-bhp have overhyped the kerb/gross weight factor. Going by that logic, let's replace the 4-star safety rating Etios cabs with Amby's again. I think its high time we stop judging the safety aspect of vehicles based on accidental pics or kerb/gross weight, There is a reason why crash tests are benchmarked all across the globe to determine the safety of vehicles.
Old 7th April 2018, 12:29   #6

These numbers are absolutely meaningless as they are done on a dyno. Dyno testing will always be biased against turbocharged engines as they will not get cooled like what the case would be in the real world.

Drive in the city and you'll never achieve anything remotely close to those values mentioned.

Last edited by reignofchaos : 7th April 2018 at 12:31.
Old 7th April 2018, 23:15   #7

Originally Posted by vkr15 View Post
I'm in full agreement with you on this, as I myself have never considered the mileage of a car as an important parameter while buying a car. That being said however, safety is a topic for another thread. This thread was created merely to have a view on what mileage figures the manufacturers are quoting to customers.

Originally Posted by dmplog View Post
Not sure if I am missing something here - but, in the table, I clearly see that Nano with 25.4 kmpl is most fuel efficient Petrol Manual car - rather than Kwid - which has 25.2 kmpl you have mentioned.
This is what happens when your wife calls you in the middle of typing your post

Thank you for pointing this out! I have reported my post to the Mods to correct it.

Originally Posted by jetsetgo08 View Post
While the ARAI mileage calculations are purely under hypothetical conditions, in the real world Maruti wins. The suzuki petrol engines are well tuned considering a lot of variables like fuel quality, oxygen/air quality and more importantly our traffic conditions. Even the capacity of the A/c compressor and time interval at which the Compressor gets switched ON/OFF plays an important role in the real scenario. This is where Maruti beats others hands down.
Originally Posted by asit.kulkarni93 View Post
All these figures can only be achieved out on the highways if driven very sedately. Our Nano has never given us 25kmpl in the city. My friend's Tiago AMT doesn't give him more than 10-12kmpl in the Pune city traffic. I think its high time we factor in fuel efficiency based on real-life driving conditions. ARAI figures are the ideal number.
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
These numbers are absolutely meaningless as they are done on a dyno. Dyno testing will always be biased against turbocharged engines as they will not get cooled like what the case would be in the real world.

Drive in the city and you'll never achieve anything remotely close to those values mentioned.
Real time mileage will always vary based on a number of factors at work, and I'm sure that we're all aware of that. There is a different thread for that discussion however, where many members are posting their real time mileage figures. This thread was created only for displaying the mileage figures that manufacturers are quoting to customers.

Last edited by Joxster : 7th April 2018 at 23:40.
Joxster is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com