Took a TD of the GTI yesterday and here are my impressions.
Exteriors : The Polo is a timeless design and with the GTI front grill, DRL + Leds, new front bumper, rear twin exhausts and diffuser it does look smart. But you can't deny the fact that it loos too familiar and many folks won't give it a second glance (maybe that's a good thing). The 16" wheels and 215 section rubber does look meaty, but the alloys design could have been more exciting. The ride height is slightly lower than the Polo GT TSI, or maybe the bigger wheels were filling up the wheel arches a bit better, but a lower ride height would've made it look a bit more wicked.
Interiors : The dash layout is same as our desi Polos with the differences being, high grade cluster, soft touch dash, GTI steering wheel, touchscreen head unit, Octy like stalks, a slightly different gear stick base unit and of course the sport seats with Tartan fabric. The immediate feeling is that the seats are much more supportive and comfortable. For some reason I felt that the seats were a bit higher than the GT TSI even at their lowest setting! But I was able to find a comfy driving position. The three door layout is fancy but to be honest it is an inconvenience. Asking old folks to get into the back will be an 'apmaan' to them. At the rear I somehow felt the room was less than the desi Polo. This maybe due the fact that the seats are beefier and the rear seat base is longer, giving more thigh support but makes the legroom look like a joke. I love the Tartan seats and this with the GTI wheel gives it a certain character. The audio unit sounded better than the stock unit in my GT TSI. The boot is also slightly compromised compared to the regular Polo as the battery unit sits there. The boot floor is bit higher and as result there is no load lip. The spare is a space saver.
The Drive : I went for decent drive on Airport road. The first impression was that the NVH was well controlled. You can hear the deep growl from the engine, but outside noises were well cut out. As I set out my next reaction was that the DSG box seemed to be shifting faster than my GT TSI. Power is delivered in quite a linear manner and there is hardly any turbo lag. No turbo lag also means there is no sudden push back when the turbo spools up. The DSG just goes through gears even before you blink. One nice feature of this DSG unit is that sport mode is just a tap down. You don't have to press the lock switch and pull the lever down. To get back to D also you have to tap it in a similar manner.
The 1.8 TSI + 7 DSG pair is a deadly combination. I did not feel the typical DSG hesitation on take off, while the jerky deceleration was very much there. In D mode the gear box shifts at optimum points and is a joy to drive around city. The DSG is intuitive, so if you put your foot down it will hold gears for longer and if you lift off it will give you engine braking. You also get paddle shifters made in cheap plastic! Tapping into S is very easy and once you do that you
always find yourself in the meat of the powerband with the engine + exhaust note providing you background music. The car is fast no doubt, but its a bit too clinical. I was expecting a bit more drama. This car will make you want to miss that green signal at traffic lights, so that you are the first off the line at the next turn of green.
The suspension is firm, but at the same time its not uncomfortable. Large potholes will jarr, but the set up is ideal for our road conditions and I felt its easy to live with on a daily basis and capable of handling the power and delivering fun when you want. The handling is taut and bodyroll is negligible. The steering is a bit heavier than my GT, but its a typical VW unit. Precise, but devoid of much feedback.
Brakes need a special mention. The all disc setup does a terrific job and is a joy. Braking is progressive, effective and confidence inspiring. The front discs too are larger than those found on the GT TSI.
Now the tough part. Is it worth 25 big ones in Bangalore? Options at this price for a hot hatch are very limited. The Mini is more expensive and less practical. I need a compact hatch for self driving in the city. So that rules out the upcoming Octy VRS. But the problem is : Its just another Polo. Getting into the car I don't even feel like I am getting into a new car. Its all too familiar. With the recent price cut, on road price in BLR comes down by a whopping 8 lakhs! Will we get such cars in India again?