Old 2nd August 2017, 16:41   #1531

Can the mods please inform when the team-bhp review would be out?

I am quite sure at least 75% of us here would be taking a call based on the review.
Old 2nd August 2017, 16:48   #1532

Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Originally Posted by aviraj View Post

PS: How come the Ex-showroom price is 1486000 i.e. lesser than the declared 1495000? Is this the Maharashtra wide ex-showroom price? I thought with GST, Ex-showroom price will be the same across India and only the road tax varies in Maharashtra and Karnataka.

I think their manufacturing plant near pune being closer to mumbai, the transportation cost is reduced hence the ex-showroom ( not sure though)

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post

In accessories, what are floor matts and body matts? Is there an option for glossy finish as well

No idea, received email from jeep this morning because i have booked petrol AT red color. But still not sure whether to go ahead with purchase. But I still have good two months to decide before petrol AT hits the market in october first week. Have been promised delivery in October end.

Last edited by sagpatel : 2nd August 2017 at 16:49.
Old 2nd August 2017, 16:59   #1533

Re: Meeting the Jeep Compass. EDIT: Priced between 14.95 to 20.65 lakhs

Hi everyone,

It's being a long time I posted. I am in a buying decision between compass and Elantra. I took TD of both yesterday, I do understand both are from different segments. Jeep I test drove was a diesel version as petrol will only come in September for TD. I feel it's a little overpriced as top model limited (o) petrol automatic only comes with 2 airbags, no auto headlamps, no auto wipers and manual seat adjust. I think its kind of a deal breaker for me compared to elantra and XUV W10.
Old 2nd August 2017, 16:59   #1534

Originally Posted by sagpatel View Post

No idea, received email from jeep this morning because i have booked petrol AT red color. But still not sure whether to go ahead with purchase. But I still have good two months to decide before petrol AT hits the market in october first week. Have been promised delivery in October end.
Does petrol AT (or for that matter, any variant of petrol Compass) make any sense? given that there is only a INR 50,000 difference between Petrol and Diesel variants. The diesel engine has more power (bhp) and torque and is much more fuel efficient. Doesn't it make sense to wait for diesel automatic?

Last edited by reddevilgautam : 2nd August 2017 at 17:02.
Old 2nd August 2017, 17:08   #1535

Originally Posted by torque18 View Post
Can the mods please inform when the team-bhp review would be out?

I am quite sure at least 75% of us here would be taking a call based on the review.
Sorry bud, can't work against the clock when compiling a review.

What I suggest for cars that'll have a waiting period = get your booking done, test-drive it & wait for the official review, then based on your liking / disliking it, take a call on the booking.
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2017, 17:30   #1536

turns out Jeep has made it compulsory to buy 1st year insurance from them. and handling charges seem a standard and dont feel like they will waive them.

Have booked the petrol automatic option and waiting for September for a test drive. I am also curious about the accessories list, when asked they said basic accessories. So there is no way in hell i am paying 25k for a bunch of matts etc. I rather go the aftermarket route. This was the Juhu/Andheri Jeep showroom. Waiting for them to get back with what exactly is available in that 25k .

Aanybody else manage to get outside insurance do let me know so i can argue with them over it. Would like to save up money on this car. Pushed from my initial creta automatic budget to almost 7-8 lakhs lol

MOD NOTE: Chat and SMS Language are STRICTLY prohibited on Team-BHP. Please type in full and proper English for the benefit of other community members. Also, please do not type.. like... this...

Last edited by khan_sultan : 3rd August 2017 at 14:22. Reason: See mod note
Old 2nd August 2017, 17:31   #1537

Originally Posted by reddevilgautam View Post
Does petrol AT (or for that matter, any variant of petrol Compass) make any sense? given that there is only a INR 50,000 difference between Petrol and Diesel variants. The diesel engine has more power (bhp) and torque and is much more fuel efficient. Doesn't it make sense to wait for diesel automatic?
I don't think petrol AT makes any sense at the current price point - especially with missing airbags. If someone can afford to wait, it is better to get the fully loaded diesel AT.
ece2k2 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2017, 17:44   #1538

Originally Posted by zoheb View Post
turns out Jeep has made it compulsory to buy 1st year insurance from them.
===================
anybody else manage to get outside insurance do lemme know so i can argue with them over it.. would like to save up money on this car...pushed from my initial creta automatic budget to almost 7-8 lakhs lol
After a bit of coercion during my discussion with the Landmark Jeep sales guy in Delhi, he finally relented and said that I can get a quote from outside and they will match it. Hope it helps.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 3rd August 2017 at 14:22. Reason: Trimmed quoted post for better readability
Old 2nd August 2017, 17:58   #1539

Originally Posted by reddevilgautam View Post
Doesn't it make sense to wait for diesel automatic?

Absolutely, but there is price for everything,
Already stretched my budget from 15 to 20 and i dont think diesel AT will be any cheaper than 27L which a bit of a steep stretch for me as of now.
Old 2nd August 2017, 18:03   #1540

turns out Jeep has made it compulsory to buy 1st year insurance from them.
===============
anybody else manage to get outside insurance do lemme know so i can argue with them over it.. would like to save up money on this car...pushed from my initial creta automatic budget to almost 7-8 lakhs lol
Just the arm twisting tactic of the dealers to make quick bucks with the rush around. Put your foot down and say you wont pay this or you cancel the booking. Drop a note to FCA mentioning this clearly. They will waive it off. Off late the current dealers were too pushy about this and a couple of my friends put down their foot and did not to pay the handling charges as well as got the insurance from their sources. FCA dealer had to oblige. Just be stubborn and firm. Ask for a cash/payment receipt for these charges instead of debit notes.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 3rd August 2017 at 14:23. Reason: Trimmed quoted post for better readability
nkrishnap is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2017, 18:16   #1541

Originally Posted by Alfresco View Post
Mods, some data crunching required:
Is this the fastest accelerating thread on the forum?
Check the post number. Peak torque at 1500 rpm. Lol

Originally Posted by Mindgrinder View Post
Hi everyone,

It's being a long time I posted. I am in a buying decision between compass and Elantra. I took TD of both yesterday, I do understand both are from different segments. Jeep I test drove was a diesel version as petrol will only come in September for TD. I feel it's a little overpriced as top model limited (o) petrol automatic only comes with 2 airbags, no auto headlamps, no auto wipers and manual seat adjust. I think its kind of a deal breaker for me compared to elantra and XUV W10.

Just doesn't work when you compare feature to feature between a sedan and an SUV in our market. Take a call strictly by your need. If you are not going to go off road or don't drive on bad country roads, the sedan is the way to go. The SUVs are always costly.

Sorry bud, can't work against the clock when compiling a review.

What I suggest for cars that'll have a waiting period = get your booking done, test-drive it & wait for the official review, then based on your liking / disliking it, take a call on the booking.

Makes total sense.
Arjun Reddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2017, 18:28   #1542

Turns out Jeep has made it compulsory to buy 1st year insurance from them. And handling charges seem a standard and don't feel like they will waive them...
Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
Just the arm twisting tactic of the dealers to make quick bucks with the rush around.
Instead of asking to waive off the handling charges, I asked them to increase the discount on the car by an equivalent amount when I got my Punto. Regarding insurance, just tell them to match the quote from outside, or allow you to take it from outside. There are many honest dealers who will sell you just the car and throw in some freebies as well without you asking. You might have to buy it from some outside city dealer. Also mention that you will check the RTO receipts and there shouldn't be much difference between the actual and quoted figures.

Lately this menace of compulsory accessories, handling charges, and insurance has been increasing. A person known to me fought hard with the Renault dealer who was overcharging by almost 45k on a Kwid under the name of RTO agent fees, depot charges etc. and got it waived off. The trick is to stay firm. And with the advent of online / social media, bad name for a dealer will travel fast.

The lone Fiat dealer in Mumbai has a lot to do to improve their services. I for one wasn't much impressed with their service despite me being an existing Fiat customer and 3-4 of my references buying cars from them. While the Jeep Compass is a hit no doubt, me giving them a future sale is definitely a question mark. After all, its your hard earned money!

Last edited by blackwasp : 2nd August 2017 at 18:30.
Old 2nd August 2017, 18:35   #1543

Originally Posted by Dr.Naren View Post
I had seen few Mopar parts in Engine bay. I think Mopar is supplying most of the localised parts. Jeep Compass Brochure has mention of all Mopar services.
It's the other way round. Localised parts will also be supplied to MOPAR as spare parts and hence the badging.
ritzy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd August 2017, 19:06   #1544

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
Compass is a competitor to Tuscon. 15 Lakh, even for a base petrol sounds too optimistic. Unless they offer a completely stripped down version, anything below 22 lacs on road, I would be super surprised.
I stand validated to this date, base model prices are within the range I quoted.
Old 2nd August 2017, 20:10   #1545

The pricing of the Jeep compass would most likely dent the sales of the S-Cross, Tuscon, Creta. Most people would like to associate with the Jeep brand- and even though it sells at Fiat showrooms, people would ignore that. The product looks very impressive and since it is produced by Fiat, it would likely be reliable, safe and durable. None of the Fiat cars have been plagued by quality issues so far.

Looking forward to the official review. The commercial is very good and it reminds me of the Safari advertisements in the future. It has all signs of becoming a legend- and we need legends in the Indian car market.

Last edited by Nissan1180 : 2nd August 2017 at 20:14.
Nissan1180 is offline   (2) Thanks