Old 25th March 2017, 08:08   #151

Re: Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India

Yesterday while i was on my way to vijayawada came across 2 jeeps. i got to see the interior of one but was prohibited from taking photographs. The interior of the first car i think is the base model had a normal music system. The second car i think is the high end model with leds but it was on move so couldnt get to see the interior. But got to know where they are leaving the cars . Today will try to get few more pics
Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-20170324_164842.jpg  

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-20170324_164848.jpg  

yeshu2016 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 27th March 2017, 16:06   #152

Official invitation to the press unveil on 12th April:

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-jeepindialaunch.jpg

Last edited by RavenAvi : 27th March 2017 at 16:22.
RavenAvi is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th March 2017, 17:24   #153

Excellent share!
May I request if you could add in the Yeti too please with its relevant figures?
It will really help some of us make an informed comparo!
Here you go. Have added Creta, Duster / Terrano as well.
Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-compasscomparison.jpg  

File Type: xlsx Compass.xlsx (10.8 KB, 671 views)

Last edited by LionX : 27th March 2017 at 17:26.
LionX is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th March 2017, 23:10   #154

Originally Posted by LionX View Post
Here you go. Have added Creta, Duster / Terrano as well.
Don't think the Indian variant of Tiguan will come with a 180hp engine. It'd be awesome if they can bring it over though.

As for the Compass, it sure does look interesting. Hopefully they price it well and grabs all the attention of needs.
sweetvar26 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 17:17   #155

So I spoke to someone senior at FCA today who said that they've decided to price the Compass starting at 30 lakhs to about 50 lakh ex showroom. What do you guys think about the price?
Old 29th March 2017, 17:19   #156
//M

Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post
So I spoke to someone senior at FCA today who said that they've decided to price the Compass starting at 30 lakhs to about 50 lakh ex showroom. What do you guys think about the price?
Starting 30 lakhs means an On Road price of 35-37 Lakhs in most metros.

Some people will never learn.
//M is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 17:45   #157

Originally Posted by djpeesh View Post

Is he serious ? He is sure to kiss his job goodbye. 50 lakhs is X3, GLC, Q5, territory. The Jeep Compass is classified as a Compact SUV.

With FCA's poor image in India this will certainly put them out of India forget Make in India.
For a starter I don't think this gentleman knows much about the pricing. The Jeep Wrangler is 56 lakhs ex showroom in Bangalore being a full import.
Old 29th March 2017, 18:26   #158

If we go by autocar interview of Kevin Flynn, its very clear that they will be aggressive in pricing. Also given the base variant not even having projector headlamps, I will bet on near Hexa pricing for the compass.
kvish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2017, 18:43   #159

Originally Posted by kvish View Post
If we go by autocar interview of Kevin Flynn, its very clear that they will be aggressive in pricing. Also given the base variant not even having projector headlamps, I will bet on near Hexa pricing for the compass.

Tend to agree with you here. I would expect it to be a mix of Hexa pricing and for some reason the Innova. I am thinking the Trailhawk diesel should be around 25-26 lakhs ex showroom. The base Petrol versions to start around 17 lakhs. Pricing aggressively is the only way out for FCA at the moment. I haven't seen a single Jeep
Model on road anywhere.
Old 29th March 2017, 22:50   #160

Thanks to Debashish Das for sharing these from Pune.

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-2.jpg

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-3.jpg

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-1.jpg

Scoop! 2017 Jeep Compass spotted in India-4.jpg
RavenAvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2017, 13:14   #161

A little birdie tells me the prices will be from 20 Lakhs for the base model to 30 Lakhs for the limited 4x4 . ex-showroom.
Old 30th March 2017, 15:10   #162

30-50L? What are they smoking? A 5 seater with a dodgy service network and competing with the European cars? Surely they can't be serious? My tip says that the price will be between 20-30L on-road. Give or take a couple of Lakhs. Sounds much more reasonable.
Old 30th March 2017, 17:48   #163

Originally Posted by an_and View Post
A little birdie tells me the prices will be from 20 Lakhs for the base model to 30 Lakhs for the limited 4x4 . ex-showroom.
30 L for Trailhawk 4x4 model ? I dont think FCA is dumb enough to price it same as 4x4 MT Fortuner - 30.35 L ex showroom.

I guess it will be somewhere in the 18-24.5 range. Even Ford Endeavour starts at 23.78 ex showroom.

Last edited by benbsb29 : 30th March 2017 at 17:55. Reason: Fixed typo - 'dump' to 'dumb'.
Old 30th March 2017, 18:51   #164

How much will our team mates here pay for the Top Spec fully loaded Trailhawk 4x4 Jeep Compass with every single bell and whistle with which it comes, in its International Avatar?

Personally, I would pay upto 25 Lacs on the road Bangalore. No more than that.

Because 5.5 years back I got my Yeti at 19.5 on road and it has almost all the capabilities that this Jeep seems to have. And the Yeti was a SKD/ CKD kit which was only assembled in India whereas this Jeep is supposedly to be Made in India 100%.

This is why Im not really keen to look at it if it is going to be priced at 30Lacs here.

Adding inflation and the rupee value having gone down here and there, and the passage of 5.5 years time etc, I may be willing to up the ante to this much max, and no more.

Also, it would be nice to compare how much it is selling at, in other countries in S E Asia, Middle East, the US itself, UK, Australia and South America and then make a comparison with the price of this vehicle in India.
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th March 2017, 23:10   #165

Going by previous Jeep pricing, Fiat India folks think that Indians are in awe of the Jeep hertitage and would pay a premium. Forget a premium , most would not like to pay at par prices to own a Fiat. Years ago I picked up a Santro when I wanted a Palio. Again , I played safe with a City, while I wanted a Linea. They need to also know that Indians had not paid too much of attention for Rs 15 lakhs + -5 seater- SUV, except for Tuscon..