Old 10th March 2016, 12:55   #31

Re: 2016 Volkswagen Polo facelift spotted!

This is a farce of sorts.
What is VW doing here with such "updates".

Why even spend money on publicity?
It sort of reminds me of this childhood pass time!!

Name:  spotthedifference2.gif
Views: 9390
Size:  76.0 KB
arnabchak is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th March 2016, 13:21   #32

Wow.. I think a facelift came in the month of Feb already.
I was looking for a TSI and the test drive car was a facelift version with rain sensing wipers, touch screen audio and auto-dimming IRVM. And this itself was a good 35k dearer than the pre-facelift one.

With this one coming with DRLs (not sure if there are any interior changes - I really wish they give a center arm-rest for the front seat) I'm not sure how much of a price difference will this command.

I also do not so much fancy an update every quarter. For one, it keeps pushing the price northwards. The TSI, for e.g., I feel, is a very good car this side of 10 lacs. But the 3 additions I spoke about took the car to 10.25 on road in Pune. With the addition of DRLs and something else, it is going to go even further.
I don't see VW as a VFM brand, but the appeal of the car at a higher price point just goes down and down.

Me thinks..
Old 10th March 2016, 13:30   #33

Originally Posted by anshumandun View Post
I have put the decision on hold. There are a lot of unanswered questions:

I will visit the showroom this weekend to try get some answers but not sure if the sales people will have the answers or be willing to disclose the details since they would want to sell off the current inventory first. I will update here if I get any reliable information.
I doubt the showroom will tell you anything. They don't even have clear info on when the Vento with the LED headlamps will come. (And this is something that has been officially announced by VW).

Unless you get any concrete answers, I would recommend going ahead with the purchase. VW refreshes its cars faster than we can discuss them. So, by the time this is out and ready for the market, they will be doing something else. The wait can become never ending.
Rajeevraj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2016, 13:47   #34

anshumandun , my guess is that both the Vento and Polo face-lift would only come after Ameo launch . If you have 5 months to wait you can wait for these facelift , else you can go ahead with your purchase. Moreover all the upgrades are cosmetic which could be done later . Only Vento would be launched with upgraded TDi of 110 bhp.
csnanjappa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2016, 15:55   #35

I guess the folks at VW are keeping a strict eye on our very own TBHP DIY section (and Gannu_1's posts to be precise) - whatever DIY he does to his VW, they offer that as a new "facelift" Kudos to Gannu_1 on his DIYs though! Am sure the next facelift for the "new" Polo will be BiXenon Projector headlamps (over and above the LED DRLs they have just offered now!)
vsathyap is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th March 2016, 19:10   #36

I think its their frustration that is coming through, and they are marching with some sort of fiat from the global leadership to make the Polo work in India like it has in other parts of the world.

This means an important shift in strategy, faster product releases, an arguably better or competitive value proposition among its peers and important product customizations (in this case an entirely new product development - Ameo).

Unless, they want to carve a niche out of the market by pricing it in a category where only the loyalists and cult members would buy. (a highly unlikely scenario)
Old 10th March 2016, 19:38   #37

Guys, I just saw a GTI with a registered number plate in Pune in Kirkee Cantonment. The car was three door and dark red metallic color with GTI on the grill just like the one shown in a post above. I was driving alone so couldn't take pics. But the car did look awesome.
So, is the GTI launched officially in India or am I missing something ?
NiInJa is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th March 2016, 20:08   #38

What Polo needs IMHO

1. Cheap Peppy engines 1.2 mpi is the dullest of the lot - 1.2 tsi is too expensive
2. Slick Gearboxes - MT
3. More space in the back seats- VW needs to understand that our families are usually 4 adults + 1/2 kids who travel together
4. Consolidated makeover in the exterior- Make a list of all features u have in the competition and add it in one go
5. Cheaper service intervals- People are ok with INR 4-5k service cost at 5/10k kms but not 12k at 15 k km.
6. VW Germany needs to give some autonomy to service stations to get jugads done to solve unique problems efficiently

In the hindsight, I always felt my 2013 TSi more VFM than the one today.
No abnormal cost cutting. Yes it does not have the "features"
But am pretty happy since i got it at 8.8l on road. I heard current one is almost 10l
Old 10th March 2016, 20:43   #39

Would such iterations even be identifiable in the used car market or have an impact in the resale value?
VW is adding a new dimension to the word facelift with their incremental updates. Almost feel that VW is commercialising the high quality mods done to Polos on team-bhp
Old 11th March 2016, 00:10   #40

Cut VW some slack guys, at least they are trying to keep the product refreshed.
Considering the Polo was introduced in 2009, and the same car is still relevant today is commendable.
Agreed that too many superficial facelifts like the one apparent in the OP do dilute the car. But, we have to acknowledge VWs brilliance in matters like bringing in new engines, updates to exteriors, interiors and features that still allow it to sell in decent numbers and be the bread and butter of VW India.

In perspective, the last generation Ford Figo launched later than the Polo. VW really needs to get new cars to India. I realize we'll be getting the Ameo and perhaps the Passat, but the Ameo is just a smaller Vento and the Passat's launch doesn't seem imminent.

What we really need is the Golf. India is opening up to premium hatchbacks and excellent examples like the Fiesta and the Golf and exactly what we need to give a taste to the Indian market.
prakhar1998 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th March 2016, 00:25   #41

I think the reason is pretty straightforward

1. People keep talking about VW cars
2. People keep talking about more features in VW cars
3. People keep talking about VW making regular updates in their cars
4. People keep talking about the continuous improvements that VW is making in their cars
5. VW makes people talk about positive things about their cars

6. People don't spend time talking about the diesel gate scam.

As a matter of fact I think VW is successful in making people divert their attention from wrong things about the brand to better things. If they have think tanks who could do brilliant marketing (talking newspapers, mid-night test drive, using Volkswagen moniker etc), then they are not dumb enough to understand the problems of minor & quick updates every quarter.
swiftnfurious is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 11th March 2016, 00:44   #42

Its commendable that VW is adding features to keep the car fresh. But instead of adding 1 feature every month, adding 12 features after 12 months is a better strategy IMO. Wish they start facelifting their aftersales experience at the same rate they are facelifting Polo and Vento.
Old 11th March 2016, 01:53   #43

Originally Posted by prakhar1998 View Post
What we really need is the Golf. India is opening up to premium hatchbacks and excellent examples like the Fiesta and the Golf and exactly what we need to give a taste to the Indian market.

What we really like is the Golf. What will never sell in India is the golf. "Fixed the errors for you" lol.
Premium hatchback is not going to take off anymore in India. It's time has come and gone without making a significant impact. Now if VW really want to make their presence felt, they should be bringing in compact crossovers/ SUVs with contemporary design and engines.
pamiboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th March 2016, 10:16   #44

Originally Posted by pamiboy View Post
What we really like is the Golf. What will never sell in India is the golf. "Fixed the errors for you" lol.
Premium hatchback is not going to take off anymore in India. It's time has come and gone without making a significant impact. Now if VW really want to make their presence felt, they should be bringing in compact crossovers/ SUVs with contemporary design and engines.
The premium hatchback segment in India is already doing phenomenally well, and chances are, it can do much better. Hear me out once. The D1 segment of cars which used to stay under the 15 lakh rupee mark now is way above that price point. And the C2 segment has taken that place.

This leaves a vacuum between the C1 segment and the C2 segment that these premium hatchbacks fill up beautifully. They have the quality of a D1 sedan, the small size and hence practicality of a smaller hatchback.

The urban yippee who self drives today wants quality over quantity (size of car). Cars like the VW Polo TSI and to some extent the Elite i20 prove that. The Elite outsells its larger cousin the Xcent by a large margin, and they are in a similar price bracket. So, people who are going to buy the City or maybe even an Elantra might gravitate towards a Golf with its brilliant chasis, interior and engine options. I think its a market waiting to explode.
prakhar1998 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th March 2016, 11:05   #45

I second Prakhar here.

I really don't understand why Ford even attempted to add a boot to such a beautiful hatch. They could have easily spotted a place for a premium offering esp. with the likes of i20 and Polo around.

There are people in the market today who wouldn't mind shelling out 10 lacs upwards for a hot hatch. The market has matured that way. Did India think of buying a hatchback beyond the Zen a couple decades ago? It was always time to upgrade to an Esteem or a Cielo, right? But now we do think of putting our money on a VW Polo, an Elite i20, Baleno and what not - you can easily get a C1 sedan - say a Linea or for that matter even some entry level variants of cars like the City, Verna and Ciaz around the 9-10 lacs mark (I'm not counting the sub-4 meters here.. pretentious)
There is a niche market as well with Polos selling with the TSI variant, Punto coming with Abarth etc. Its a sign that the market is opening up for these hotter cars. Although they may not sell in good numbers right away.

There will be a time (and that would be soon enough) when Hyundai gets their i30 here. There will be a time when VW considers Golf (I've seen it in Chinchwad doing rounds many a times) - maybe pitching alongside the Polo GTI. Ford will consider their Fiesta in the hatchback avatar after tasting success with the Figo and Aspire. They have a long gap to fill BTW. They don't have any offering beyond Ecosport and before the Endeavour. Maybe they can think of a Focus too..
How I wish the car manufacturers, for once, not think of the 4 meter 1.2L engine and give us better products!

A bit here..