Old 25th January 2016, 10:26   #376

Re: Mahindra unveils KUV100 compact SUV. EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 4.42 lakh (ex-Pune)

Yesterday I seen this car first time. I could able to get enough time to observe from all side.
1. I like the looks from all round, even all friends.
2. Interior quality is really impressive.

This is first time I don't agree with others here about quirky look.
This is really cute looking small SUV. Kudos Mahindra. I do not have doubt about the success of KUV100.
Old 25th January 2016, 13:08   #377

Re: Mahindra unveils KUV100 compact SUV. EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 4.42 lakh (ex-Pune)

Displayed in our office, honestly couldn't understand what people found so offensive about it's design !!

We're a nation where Dzire sells for God's sake, this one at least has scope of looking reasonably good with dark shade and meatier wheels. Some of the reactions here have been way too strong, I hope that's not the case just because it's from an Indian manufacturer.

Again, the middle space if used as an arm rest is palatable enough, and the gearbox placement: well once you sit and use it a bit, you're actually surprised why others have not attempted this so far! Besides, the ability to slide over and come out through the passenger side is actually a noticeable convenience.

One thing can be said though, Tata has made more strides in terms of maturity of its product design (even though sadly enough it's not generating into the desired sales). Hopefully Mahindra will catch up soon too.
avisidhu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2016, 14:32   #378

Originally Posted by raj_5004 View Post
I wonder why people think the KUV is overpriced.

When I checked the prices, it is -
  • 85,700 INR cheaper than the Swift
  • 5,000 INR cheaper than the Ritz
  • 34,800 INR cheaper than the Grand i10
I totally agree with you. 3.5 years back I bought Ritz Diesel Base model in 6 lacs from Navi Mumbai. And today I am getting KUV in little more than 6 lacs. IMO this car looks better in almost every aspect than equally priced hatchbacks.

Last edited by Technocrat : 29th January 2016 at 05:06. Reason: Please quote selectively as a large quoted post causes inconvenience to our mobile readers, thanks
napster1311 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th January 2016, 15:22   #379

Originally Posted by needforspeed88 View Post
Mahindra are making a massive mistake by trying to promote this ''car'' as a mini SUV. Barring long travel suspension i don't see anything which helps it case as a mini SUV.
Looking at the buzz generated by this car and the bookings, I don't think they made a mistake - in fact they've hit a sweet spot with their aggressive marketing of the car as Mini "SUV".

Hope, the TATAs learn a thing or two from M&M on how to market a car, they have better products than M&M albeit let down by poor marketing.
Old 25th January 2016, 18:04   #380

Saw the car on road for the first time. I'll be honest and say that I simply cannot stand this design. This is almost an "anti-design".

On the other hand, just saw sketches of XUV Aero. What a beauty! How can the same company create two extreme design themes?
troublemaker is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th January 2016, 18:54   #381

Originally Posted by thatsdileep View Post
Here is a pic of the K6 version without fog lights:
Attachment 1464124
Is it only me who think that the versions without Fog Lamps looks rather bland when viewed from the front?
Also, when you have given ABS & Airbags as optional across the variants, why can't you have Fog Lamps as standard in all the variants - beats me .

Originally Posted by thatsdileep View Post
The rear view from IRVM is very limited with the hindrances from the small rear windshield, rear bench headrests. Also there will be a big blind spot due to thick C pillar as well as lack of rear quarter glass (sacrificed for the rear door handles).
Attachment 1464170
Whoa! That's a serious concern - with very limited rear visibility and big blind spots, one has to be make full use of the ORVMs and while reversing need that parking sensors/camera to park the vehicle. Oh Wait - looks like the Parking sensors/camera are not present even in the top trim. Hope they are available as accessories which is a must for this vehicle or atleast need to install some after-market ones on priority!
Old 25th January 2016, 19:09   #382

Took the test drive of KUV today from Anant Cars, Bangalore.

Positives:
+ Price
+ Seating, storage options

Neutral:
= Design(some may like it, some will hate it)

Negatives:
- Noisy Engine
- Pathetic ORVMs (seriously how hard would it be provide decent ORVMs)
- Ride is harsh
- Turbo Lag
- Build Quality(Test drive car had done less than 1000kms, but was rattling away to all glory)
- Boot Space

Verdict: I will never buy nor recommend anyone this car.
Buy a proper hatchback than this excuse of a car, no way can this "vehicle" can be called a SUV.

If one wants a real compact SUV, get EcoSport or wait for the Breeza
speedmiester is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 25th January 2016, 23:22   #383

Happened to visit G3 Motors, Nerul, Navi Mumbai today to accessorise my friend's Thar and saw KUVs parked there. I could not resist my temptation to take TD. I somehow don't like blingy looks of Mahindras like XUV and now KUV. Since KUV is having the smallest diesel engine amongst all Mahindra and also the first petrol engine, I was having very few expectations from it.

I chose to take TD of D75. First impression is all good and the vehicle looked very good in silver colour. Started the motor and was impressed with refinement. There is a slight turbo lag till 2000 rpm abut post that, its just a breeze to drive. I never expected 1.2 motor to be so responsive. There were 4 people in the car. I drove pretty hard and nobody complained about ride quality or comfort. Handling and stability is good too. The car is spacious enough and there is no issue of knee room or head room. the TD vehicle was 5-seater one and hence, there was no arm rest for driver. Without the arm-rest, my left arm was stressed while shifting as there was nothing to rest my hand on. View upfront is good and ingress and exit is comfortable too. Fit and finish is not in the league of i20/ Baleno but it more than makes up for it in space and VFM quotient.

After the TD, I made it a point to check out 6-seater one and I realised how comfortable it is to use the 6th seat folded as arm-rest. Full marks to Mahindras for the latest innovations. Use it as occasional 6-seater (only when needed) and fold the seat as arm-rest when not needed. Many of us won't use the 6th seat but its always better to have one.

Overall, I am very impressed with the car and may consider it if its available with AMT in the future.
abhi.adrenaline is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th January 2016, 23:53   #384

As I mentioned on Advertisements thread too, I saw the Ad first on TV and then the complete Ad on Youtube and realised that they have really done a big goof up by showing the youngsters asking for the lift in the middle of the road and Varun Dhawan actually stopping the car in the right most lane which IMHO is really DUMB to say the least.

Secondly, they have highlighted the importance of front middle seat by making the adult girl sitting in the front middle seat even though it has been mentioned numerous times on T-BHP that it can be suitable for kids at the most.

MnM surely needs to change their Ad agency.

I also remember the major goof up on the TUV3OO teaser ad which they changed after it was discussed on T-BHP.

Last edited by carwatcher : 25th January 2016 at 23:54.
Old 26th January 2016, 10:54   #385

Originally Posted by carwatcher View Post

Secondly, they have highlighted the importance of front middle seat by making the adult girl sitting in the front middle seat even though it has been mentioned numerous times on T-BHP that it can be suitable for kids at the most.
Actually i was put on a video conference from my dealer side on launch day with an engineer in chakan plant and i raised the question of safety in middle seat to him. I was told that they have done crash tests for middle seat occupant and that it meets the safety regulations put in my Indian government.
Old 26th January 2016, 17:59   #386

Test drove the KUV 100 diesel and I agree with what seems to be the general consensus here. I personally liked the Mahindra design this time, though it feels over done here and there. Iam somebody who didn't like the XUV design.

Did not test drive the petrol. The diesel is responsive and NVH levels are acceptable I felt. The weight of the vehicle has not been revealed by Mahindra and there are suggestions it may be on the higher side. But the car felt peppy enough with the diesel engine.

It is more a small car (10 cms shorter than ritz and just 3 cms wider). Decided to book the K8 diesel as I was on the lookout for a small car for city use. Chose the 5 seater version as i felt the armrest in the 6 seater was too large and I didnt need one ( was driving my Ecosport without the arm rest for a couple of days to check if I need one). Wont buy the Mahindra claim of it being any SUV, but buying it fully knowing its a small car and suits my purpose.
drjkonline is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th January 2016, 19:39   #387

Saw the KUV at a mall in Allahabad. My views on the looks. The front is overstyled like the XUV (initial edition). The bumper / fender looks like it was finished in a hurry, without much thought to aesthetics. Upto the B pillar, the car has proportions of a mini SUV, however, the rear door looks like the small "pedestrian" gate in a much larger gates at homes ! Space in the boot is OK, although the lip is way too high and the base will get scrubbed with heavy luggage. On the top end, the rear windshield demister contacts can be seen and touched, where wires are soldered ! Tch Tch !

In gaining leg space, the dash has come up like a fortification and short drivers are going to complain about poor forward visibility. Rear visibility also is severely restricted by the tiny rear glass + thick C Pillars. No parking sensors or camera even in the top model, why ? I have a feel there is no space to accommodate the display for the camera in the dash. Why would M&M not plonk the XUV's or a derated version of the same in this "SUV" ? OVRMs are horrendous, too small.

To guage ride quality of this SUV, watch the ad carefully when it plunges through water puddles. The amount of bounce and roll is enough to make one sick. No tyre well cladding, even in the top versions.

However, with the street smart advertising and several models with competitive pricing, the car may sell, finally !
lifebuoy is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 26th January 2016, 20:29   #388

Originally Posted by msk_kapoor View Post
Actually i was put on a video conference from my dealer side on launch day with an engineer in chakan plant and i raised the question of safety in middle seat to him. I was told that they have done crash tests for middle seat occupant and that it meets the safety regulations put in my Indian government.
Hoping that this is relevant and not completely OT, does anyone know if there are any safety regulations at all prescribed by the indian government?

With that gear knob and hand brake position, seating someone in the center looks like asking for trouble! Its troubling to think that people will eventually have kids sitting there and take this car out to the highways!
N.r.K is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th January 2016, 21:15   #389

Originally Posted by N.r.K View Post
With that gear knob and hand brake position, seating someone in the center looks like asking for trouble! Its troubling to think that people will eventually have kids sitting there and take this car out to the highways!
You are right, like so many here, I feel it is beyond sanity to put humans right in the middle of impending danger. Given that the diesel mill will be sold in large numbers in tire 2 cities, I wonder if the regular Joe would think about safety while hard pressing the pedal. I am scared and Mahindra should take all the responsibility and educate the buyers about the dangers of the 'disaster waiting to happen' seat. Atleast they should have included a proper seat belt or a chest wraparound for the middle passenger. My 2 cents.

Last edited by doxinboy : 26th January 2016 at 21:16. Reason: typo
Old 26th January 2016, 21:33   #390

I see frequent references of TATA designs - that their designs are more neutral, mature, muted, pleasing, subtle - in everywhere the upcoming M&M vehicles are being discussed. Not only in this thread or in this forum; I'd say in everywhere such discussions are taking place in serious manner. There are umpteen people who advise M&M to follow the TATA design suite.

While I have absolutely no problem with the TATA designs, IMHO such a discussion is simply a open-and-shut case and such an advise is hilarious. TATA, with its so-called mature and neutral design language, is unable to sell their cars in decent numbers. M&M, on the other hand with a quirky and gaudy design philosophy is selling their cars like hot cakes. That's the end of it.

IMHO, let us accept the M&M designs as characteristic and DNA of that company and its culture.

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 26th January 2016 at 21:35.
sandeepmdas is offline   (5) Thanks