Old 28th December 2015, 17:43   #181

Re: Skoda Octavia gets a new "Style Plus" variant; Anniversary Edition launched

I don't understand why is everyone giving so much importance to the DSG box failures, go in for the extended warranty and you are absolutely covered for 4 years and from what we have all learnt from Adi's experience Skoda has definitely upped their game with regards to the after sales, I mean he was not charged a single cent in repair cost even though they did blame modifications for the issues in his car initially that says a lot about the way things have changed.

I drove the diesel extensively before going in for the petrol and have not regretted the decision once, the 1.8tsi motor is a treat to get to drive everyday and that suspension is so much better when compared to the torsion beam on the diesels, there is a huge difference in the ride comfort not something that can be overlooked as per me.
vvb8530 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th December 2015, 22:36   #182

I partly agree.

1) mechatronic fire in my car is one of the rare incidents I have come across on all forums. I am not sure but there was a mention of it being common in Superb TSIs.
2) I have crossed 52000 kms. The car has aged really well. Only issue I face is 2nd gear pick up judder. Seems to be a clutch issue. But all other gears are fine, so I will wait for the next service, which will be in 3-4 months.
3) the maintenance costs of a TSI are much lower than that of a TDI.
4) the TSI is a full ₹1.5 lacs cheaper to own in the first place. That, given with low usage for someone, doesn't get any better because all in all you're getting a wicked engine and suspension set up.

There are niggling issues in Octavias, I think which are common to both variants.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2015, 00:09   #183

Originally Posted by rutvij View Post
Go for TDI version. 6 speed dual clutch transmission that you get in TDI is more reliable than 7 speed found in TSI. TDI has excellent power delivery and running cost will also be low. TDI will be easy to resell and the resale price would more than compensate the additional amount that you are paying right now.

My running is also very low. I have completed about 7k in my 11 month of ownership. But I still opted for TDI for above mentioned reasons.
I really Love that beast of an engine- 1.8 TSI. Main Issue is , 1.8 TSI style plus costs ₹25L Change whereas the TDI cost ₹27 (OTR Bangalore) so figuring bout whther that extra 2L is necessary for my low usage.

Originally Posted by vvb8530 View Post
I don't understand why is everyone giving so much importance to the DSG box failures, go in for the extended warranty and you are absolutely covered for 4 years and from what we have all learnt from Adi's experience Skoda has definitely upped their game with regards to the after sales, I mean he was not charged a single cent in repair cost even though they did blame modifications for the issues in his car initially that says a lot about the way things have changed.
Thank You , Your reply just gave me that little bit of confidence to think over on the TSI.
Yes ,The torsion beam Suspension is terrible. Have got a TDI in the Family but Haven't had too much experience in it.

Originally Posted by adi_petrolhead View Post
I partly agree.

1) mechatronic fire in my car is one of the rare incidents I have come across on all forums. I am not sure but there was a mention of it being common in Superb TSIs.
2) I have crossed 52000 kms. The car has aged really well. Only issue I face is 2nd gear pick up judder. Seems to be a clutch issue. But all other gears are fine, so I will wait for the next service, which will be in 3-4 months.
3) the maintenance costs of a TSI are much lower than that of a TDI.
4) the TSI is a full ₹1.5 lacs cheaper to own in the first place. That, given with low usage for someone, doesn't get any better because all in all you're getting a wicked engine and suspension set up.

There are niggling issues in Octavias, I think which are common to both variants.
Are TSI maintenance costs really a lot less? I need to get back in touch with my dealer and finalise by the End of January . Really Putting down pros and cons on paper as its upwards of 25 Big ones. I shall trouble you more for some tips . Hope you don't mind.
Old 31st December 2015, 09:40   #184

Originally Posted by nishithrao95 View Post

Are TSI maintenance costs really a lot less? I need to get back in touch with my dealer and finalise by the End of January . Really Putting down pros and cons on paper as its upwards of 25 Big ones. I shall trouble you more for some tips . Hope you don't mind.

Where as your fuel expense might be double for the TSI compared to TDI, your initial 2 lakh saving, plus the regular maintenance costs of about ₹2/km, this includes your tyres and one service per year costing about ₹10K. If you plan to keep the car for 5 years, and drive it for a total of 35-40K kms, you will spend approx. ₹2.5 lakh on fuel, ₹50K on service, ₹40K on tyres. That's a total of ₹3.4 lakh.

If you go for TDI, ₹1.5 lakh for fuel, ₹1 lakh for service, ₹40K for tyres. A total of ₹2.4 lakh. Plus the additional cost of the TDI variant itself ₹2 lakh, a grand total of ₹4.4 lakh.

Since your running is low, these figures are justifiable for your case specifically.

There's the ₹1-1.5 lakh saving you get if you go for the TSI. That settles it then.
adi_petrolhead is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st December 2015, 11:06   #185

Where as your fuel expense might be double for the TSI compared to TDI, your initial 2 lakh saving, plus the regular maintenance costs of about ₹2/km, this includes your tyres and one service per year costing about ₹10K. If you plan to keep the car for 5 years, and drive it for a total of 35-40K kms, you will spend approx. ₹2.5 lakh on fuel, ₹50K on service, ₹40K on tyres. That's a total of ₹3.4 lakh.

If you go for TDI, ₹1.5 lakh for fuel, ₹1 lakh for service, ₹40K for tyres. A total of ₹2.4 lakh. Plus the additional cost of the TDI variant itself ₹2 lakh, a grand total of ₹4.4 lakh.

Since your running is low, these figures are justifiable for your case specifically.

There's the ₹1-1.5 lakh saving you get if you go for the TSI. That settles it then.
There is one more element in this math which changed the decision to TDI atleast in my case.

Resale price. Before opting for Octavia I had explored 2nd hand BMWs and Mercs. Invariably there was a huge difference in the prices of petrol and diesel variants. Second hand buyer generally prefers diesel variants. Diesels will be sold faster and will fetch you atleast 2 lakhs more.
Old 31st December 2015, 11:30   #186

Diesels will be sold faster and will fetch you atleast 2 lakhs more.

Not true for all brands. Skoda is a very poor reseller. Be it TDI or TSI, at least in our Ahmedabad market, the price of a TDI Skoda is also very less compared to other cars. When one is paying two lakh more in the first place to buy the car, getting two lakh more at the time of resale is kinda obvious?
Old 31st December 2015, 13:41   #187

When one is paying two lakh more in the first place to buy the car, getting two lakh more at the time of resale is kinda obvious?
Yes it is obvious and has to be taken into account while comparing petrol vs. diesel. If you take into account only additional initial outgo for diesel and ignore additional sale price that you will get, then comparison will not be fair. In your case if you take this into account then TDI will turn out to be cheaper.
Old 5th January 2016, 11:18   #188

Thank you for such a detailed Explanation. I have a Octavia TSI for a week for an extensive Drive. Will drive it thoroughly and take a decision.

When one is paying two lakh more in the first place to buy the car, getting two lakh more at the time of resale is kinda obvious?
In your case if you take this into account then TDI will turn out to be cheaper.
I really don't mind taking the resale hit and it wouldn't make much of a difference when you compare the resale values of an extensively used Japanese D segment sedan.
I've got used to low resale Values, Thanks to Ford.
nishithrao95 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2016, 11:32   #189

Picked up a Rio Red Octavia 1.8 TSI DSG Style+ last week.

Hopefully ownership thread soon. Few pictures attached for now, enjoy :-)
Skoda Octavia gets a new "Style Plus" variant; Anniversary Edition launched-full-1.jpg  

Skoda Octavia gets a new "Style Plus" variant; Anniversary Edition launched-front-1.jpg  

Skoda Octavia gets a new "Style Plus" variant; Anniversary Edition launched-front-2.jpg  

itwasntme is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 04:21   #190

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post

Congratulations on your New car! Did you go for the extended warranty? If yes How much was the net OTR cost? I was quoted ₹25,60,000
nishithrao95 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 09:39   #191

Thanks! :-)

Not yet bought EW but can do so within 90 days of car purchase. Believe it costs Rs. 21,000 for the TSI.

Prices have jumped by around 50k on road BLR since 1 January. I ensured invoicing on 31 December and got it for the old ex-showroom price of 20.15L translating to around 25.3L OTR without EW. Not even one paisa discount and no freebies apart from a Ganesha idol.
Old 8th January 2016, 10:51   #192

Congratulations. Awesome buy. Looks smashing. I have been on the fence for a few months now. The 1.8 is butter smooth.
Just sceptical of the after sales (have a fiat and a Mitsubishi). Skoda does make lovely cars, don't they.
Old 27th January 2016, 11:48   #193

Originally Posted by sarbashishb View Post
Hi, I just got my Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI Anniversary Edition delivered on Thursday 12-Nov-2015 .

I have a Google Nexus 5 phone (marshmallow) and I was struggling with the SmartLink Mobile Connectivity. It detects my phone and then gets disconnected.

So finally made it work and if anyone of you would like to use Android Auto then please follow the steps below:

1. Get an android phone running android 5.0 (Lollipop) or higher.
Note: Android Auto is designed to work with Android phones running 5.0 (Lollipop) or higher.
For more information, check out support.google.com/androidauto

2. Now you need to install Android Auto software on your phone and the issue is you cannot install from the Google Play store as it is not available. If you search the link and still try to install you will get a message "This item isn't available in your country".

There is a work around and that is to set your phone in developer mode and use a site as apkmirror to download Android auto. Install the APK and keep it ready.
Warning: Please run a scan on the apk file and make sure it is free from viruses. Since it is a 3rd party link and not from Google Play store.

3. Need an USB cable of your phone.

4. Now connect the USB cable to your android phone and the other end to the USB slot in your car.

5. From the Head Unit of your car click on Menu and select SmartLink.

6. From your phone allow permission and you are set.
Thats really cool! Do google maps work through Android auto? If yes, then this is probably the only way to get a functioning satnav system through the existing HU! Would be amazing if you could put up pics of the HU with google maps and the android auto screen layout.
Old 27th January 2016, 23:11   #194

On behalf of sarbashishb, my answer is that it works perfectly. Only addition is that I had to enable 'Developer Mode' on my Note 4 for it to start working. My iPhone 6+ also initiates Apple CarPlay seamlessly.

Will try and post pictures tomorrow.
Old 28th January 2016, 09:42   #195

Amazing pick there itwasntme and that colour is a total eye-candy buddy

I believe this is the new shade that has been introduced on the Octy as I have never seen this shade ever.

I ensured invoicing on 31 December and got it for the old ex-showroom price of 20.15L translating to around 25.3L OTR without EW. Not even one paisa discount and no freebies apart from a Ganesha idol.
Bangalore taxes are a daylight extortion to an extent man. Over 5 lakhs to get this car on the road from the showroom??

A Ganesha idol for a 2.5 million car? Is that made of Gold by any chance?
Vik0728 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com