Old 27th November 2015, 20:25   #1606

Re: Next-gen Suzuki Baleno (YRA) unveiled. EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 4.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
Polo petrol is not easily sold. So before finalizing check for any accident damage. Otherwise the deal is fine.

The new one is 8.75 ex showroom here in Delhi, so 7.75 is just 20% less (during resale neither the road tax nor the insurance is credited)
It is the Polo GT Diesel. Last I checked the price was just over 10 lacs OTR.
Old 27th November 2015, 20:33   #1607

Originally Posted by invidious View Post
It is the Polo GT Diesel. Last I checked the price was just over 10 lacs OTR.
Both the GT twins retail at the same price, irrespective of the fuel type, since the Petrol is an Auto DSG and the Diesel is MT. 8L ex showroom is the price. OTR mumbai would be roughly 9.5 Max and one can easily extract 65-70k in discounts ( i just checked the "i booked my car" thread where one was able to get 65k cash discount). Get the insurance on your own and you are looking at 8.8 OTR.
vinit.merchant is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th November 2015, 22:08   #1608

@Vinit - Are you sure about these discount levels on the GT Twins . When my wife had enquired a couple of weeks back there was only 10K discount on the GT TSI and the On road still came to roughly 10 big ones OTR in Mumbai.
We had taken a test drive as well and it didn't look like VW was offering much in discounts in spite of the scandal problem they are in right now.
Old 29th November 2015, 16:02   #1609

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Never buy a car with the mindset of it being unsafe. Suggest you buy the Elite.
Originally Posted by WRXXX View Post
I agree with user volkman here.

It is very easy to trick a human mind. Everything is unsafe if you ask me.
Originally Posted by Karthik Chandra View Post
I'd suggest what member volkman10 has suggested. Do not go for the car with doubts in your mind. Put the decision on hold for a couple of days, check for other reliable sources and then decide what is the best car for your requirements

So take your time and make a wise decision.
Originally Posted by m8002? View Post
Rather than take an emotional decision immediately, you might want to sit back, wait for sometime and take an informed decision after a few days/weeks.
Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
I would never go for a car once I have got myself into double mind, if my mind is not clear I will just postpone the decision.
Thank You all for your valuable suggestions. As all of you rightly said, I didn't want to buy a car with a double mind.

Don't let the gadgetry fool you, and also a cheaper price, there is nothing in this world which is "sasta and tikao".
Thanks a lot. Yes, realised that there more to car than gadgetry. Finally, after giving it a lot of thought I went ahead and got the i20 Elite home.

Please find how and why I chose the Elite i20 over Baleno in the link below:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...ml#post3858352

Please note that this decision doesn't imply in anyway that I assumed Baleno to be an unsafe car. It's just that - as many of the above quoted members advised, I didn't want to take a chance.

Because, anyhow in the coming 6 months we will be needing another hatchback in our family. By that time, our team-bhp review and the crash tests will be most definitely be out, and also we will have more first hand information from our existing owners on safety and quality departments.

Hence, thought of playing it safe and postponed the Baleno purchase to that time if it ticks all the safety and quality boxes by then.
Old 29th November 2015, 21:44   #1610

Completed 1000 kms and got the first service done. Mine is a Ray Blue Alpha Petrol Baleno.

Here is a brief list of observations.

The good :
1. Its been a hassle free ownership so far, around 700 kms on highways and 300 kms in the city traffic. MID shows an FE of 20.1 kmpl.
2. No niggles or rattles observed.
2. Car drives well, even with 5 people on board there was no noticeable lag. No under belly scratches so far.
3. Nexa experience was so-so, but the Service experience (bimal mahadevpura, bangalore) has been fantastic. They picked the car from home on time, did a neat work and delivered home on time as promised.
4. Really liked the auto dimming IRVM (such an useful thing - a must in every car) and projector headlamps.
5. Have driven in varied conditions - rains, night , pot holed roads. Nowhere felt not in control of the car, driving comfort and visibility is pretty good too.
6. The space, as everyone already knows, is just too good.
7. The voice commands in the AVN does works very well. Dont have to take hands off the steering - to change a song, for example.

Not so good:
1. The center armrest could have been placed better, also it is not firmly fixed (maybe only in mine)
2. Horn placement is an issue, and also needs a hard press.
3. The 'Distance to Empty' on the MID goes crazy below a certain level (1/4 tank I guess), and drastically reduces with every stop/start and low fuel warning comes alive too early.
4. Rear AC would have been great, at times felt the front was too cold but the people in the back didnt feel so.

During the service the SA mentioned these :
1. The Push button start/stop needs to be just touched and not pressed long (I was doing it like on my Honda Activa). This is just an FYI for any owners if they didnt know it.
2. SA advised that Engine oil replacement is only at 10000 KMs, since it has synthetic oil and all new cars like Ciaz and Baleno don't need a change until 10K kms. Can someone confirm ?
aravindkumarp is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th November 2015, 23:46   #1611

Originally Posted by aravindkumarp View Post
During the service the SA mentioned these :
1. The Push button start/stop needs to be just touched and not pressed long (I was doing it like on my Honda Activa). This is just an FYI for any owners if they didnt know it.
2. SA advised that Engine oil replacement is only at 10000 KMs, since it has synthetic oil and all new cars like Ciaz and Baleno don't need a change until 10K kms. Can someone confirm ?
1. Yup all KESSY systems only need a single push to get the engine fired up no need to press and hold.

2. Yeah most cars don't need one but I follow a rule of using mineral oil (synthetic is not very good at breaking in the engine) for the first 1k kms after which I change the oil to synthetic, and replace the filter and follow 6-8k kms intervals thereafter since an aggressive driving style like mine would require more frequent oil changes. That said, road going cars are designed and tuned in such a way that they are always performing well within their limits taking into consideration harsh weather/air/road conditions, ignorant owners who never service their cars or never drive them properly etc. so as long as you are not pushing things, 10k oil change intervals are perfectly okay and I would not expect anything to go wrong

Last edited by IshaanIan : 30th November 2015 at 00:06.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2015, 10:02   #1612
SRK

Completed 1000 kms and got the first service done. Mine is a Ray Blue Alpha Petrol Baleno.

Here is a brief list of observations.

The good :
1. Its been a hassle free ownership so far, around 700 kms on highways and 300 kms in the city traffic. MID shows an FE of 20.1 kmpl.
2. No niggles or rattles observed.
2. Car drives well, even with 5 people on board there was no noticeable lag. No under belly scratches so far.
3. Nexa experience was so-so, but the Service experience (bimal mahadevpura, bangalore) has been fantastic. They picked the car from home on time, did a neat work and delivered home on time as promised.
4. Really liked the auto dimming IRVM (such an useful thing - a must in every car) and projector headlamps.
5. Have driven in varied conditions - rains, night , pot holed roads. Nowhere felt not in control of the car, driving comfort and visibility is pretty good too.
6. The space, as everyone already knows, is just too good.
7. The voice commands in the AVN does works very well. Dont have to take hands off the steering - to change a song, for example.
A 20.1 kmpl fuel efficiecny is great but I think the MID values might be varying. Did you do a manual calculation based on the full tank fill-up?

Also how is the light throw during rains? Since the projectors have a cooler tone did you face any problem with them?
Old 30th November 2015, 10:27   #1613

Originally Posted by SRK View Post
A 20.1 kmpl fuel efficiecny is great but I think the MID values might be varying. Did you do a manual calculation based on the full tank fill-up?

Also how is the light throw during rains? Since the projectors have a cooler tone did you face any problem with them?
That was the overall FE for the entire 1000 kms, I'll check the FE using the manual method and post the values shortly.

I did not observe any problems with the projectors during rains at night, visibility was good. However, I'll observe this more carefully the next time I encounter such driving conditions and let you know.
aravindkumarp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2015, 13:23   #1614

MID shows an FE of 20.1 kmpl.

1. The center armrest could have been placed better, also it is not firmly fixed (maybe only in mine)

4. Rear AC would have been great, at times felt the front was too cold but the people in the back didnt feel so.
1) That is some great FE in the initial run-in period, but i'll take that figure with a pinch of salt as i don't know how reliable are the MID figures. Will wait for your calculation through the manual tank-full method before gloating on the exceptional FE figures of the car!

Glad to hear that the AVN voice commands work well. Would be a useful feature. What all can be done using the voice commands?

Agreed, centre armrest is purely ornamental and at most can be used as a storage compartment. Should have either been placed a little forward or should've been a couple of inches longer in length.

Personally i too feel that the rear AC vent is one feature which will be sorely missed. But with Delta & above trims offering an Automatic Climate Control, i thought that the front & rear uneven cooling shouldn't be as acute as you mentioned.
Old 30th November 2015, 13:25   #1615

Originally Posted by manishkapadia View Post
@Vinit - Are you sure about these discount levels on the GT Twins . When my wife had enquired a couple of weeks back there was only 10K discount on the GT TSI and the On road still came to roughly 10 big ones OTR in Mumbai.
Here is the link to the "i booked my car" thread with the details of the discount the person could extract. The place of the booking is Chennai though.
Originally Posted by Astonite View Post
OTR without discount comes to 9.3x L and after discount it comes to 8.6x L (approx 8.65)
Old 30th November 2015, 13:31   #1616

Originally Posted by vinit.merchant View Post
Here is the link to the "i booked my car" thread with the details of the discount the person could extract. The place of the booking is Chennai though.
The discount details I have posted in Book my car thread is fr the normal highline not the GT. Even I wanted a GT TDI but sadly just 10-15K discounts.
Old 30th November 2015, 15:06   #1617

This is my first car buying experience and I need some help from you guys. I have got the loan approved from my bank already. The RM has said that they are expecting a White Zeta Petrol tomorrow and he will send the details in a while. Now I want to know what should be a proper process from here. RM is saying that I should instruct the bank to disburse the payment and I can do the PDI at the time of delivery. Is this how it is supposed to be? When should I make the payment? at the time of delivery or before that?

Last edited by chandra1 : 30th November 2015 at 15:12.
Old 30th November 2015, 15:08   #1618

Originally Posted by chandra1 View Post
Is this how it it supposed to be? When should I make the payment? at the time of delivery of before that?
Do the PDI against the VIN Number and if satisfied make the payment. Do not start the registration process without the PDI clearance from you.

Last edited by volkman10 : 30th November 2015 at 15:10.
volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2015, 15:17   #1619

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Do the PDI against the VIN Number and if satisfied make the payment. Do not start the registration process without the PDI clearance from you.
So, I should
1. Ask the VIN from the RM and ask him to arrange a PDI at the yard
2. give the vehicle details to the bank and ask them to release the loan payment after being satisfied with PDI
3. Check the vehicle again at the time of delivery
4. Make the down payment in cash, sign the documents and take delivery.

Am I right or missing something?
Old 30th November 2015, 15:24   #1620

Anyone can tell how much is wait time for Baleno in Pune? Here is Mumbai Nexa sale person says 3/4 months wait irrespective of the color. He can deliver a Diesel variant within a week.

That's a long wait period.