Old 19th October 2015, 13:57   #556

re: A Close Look: Fiat Punto Abarth. EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakhs!

Kudos to Fiat for keeping the price under 10 lakhs. This does sound like a mouth watering proposition now. But yeah, being based in Bangalore, i am sincerely hoping they keep the same ex-showroom price pan India, and help us Bangaloreans save some money in road tax!
Old 19th October 2015, 13:57   #557

Great car, good specs, hottest hatch...no doubts on that.
But with its peculiar looks and a hefty 11-12+ OTR price tag, only pure enthusiasts would buy it. Is selling limited number of cars a strategy of Fiat? It is obvious that this would not be a money spinner for Fiat. Isin't it a cause of worry if your car's manufacturer doesn't have even one car that is selling in high numbers? (like previous gen Figo or ES for Ford). How would Fiat sustain in India? And if it doesn't then who would provide service for these great cars?
Old 19th October 2015, 13:59   #558

Originally Posted by phreakv6 View Post
My guess is that the Avventura doesn't have the suspension upgrade like the Abarth Punto does and that is the reason why they have retained the FIAT badging on the Avventura with a 'Powered by Abarth' but the Abarth Punto gets the Abarth badge and also a higher premium in terms of pricing.
Avventura retains the 205mm ground clearance. Thats a huge 50mm over the Abarth Punto. Also is 1.1 secs slower to the 100.

Both these factors combined - the driving experience of the Abarth Punto should be way superior to the Avventura.
Originally Posted by SchumiFan View Post
Powerful car with manual transmission. Priced under 10L.

No more excuses for enthusiasts in India.
I would also add the hydraulic steering and the 4 wheel disk brakes to that list. They dont make steering setups like these anymore. This is one area (other than the raw power) that competition will find hard to match.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:00   #559

To add to that, they might have to do only the Engine swap to make it 'powered by Abarth' and the outgoing engines can be used for normal Puntos and Lineas.
They surely would be having unsold stocks of Avventura to do that.

One positive thing about 'Made in India' words is we hope we don't have to wait for ages to get the spares which was the case with my Linea T-Jet.
Old 19th October 2015, 14:01   #560

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
How can the price be same for Abarth Avventura and Punto? this doesnt make sense. By this yardstick the regular Avventura should be priced at part with the regular Punto Evo.

nonetheless, great pricing. Avventura Abarth looks tempting to replace my aging SX4.
Firstly I'd say this is an excellent pricing from FIAT and the marketing is excellent. Impressive.
I somehow get a feeling that the strategy behind the same price for the Abarth Avvy and Evo could be due to the dwindling sales of the Avvy

As stupid as I may sound, the only external difference between the regular Avvy and the Abarth Avvy are the "powered by Abarth" stickers; So they must've just replaced the MJD with the TJet and priced it alongside the Evo.

Obviously this is a better deal that the Evo on first look and so might help the sales. Unlike the Punto the Avvy will have a facelift later and for that they need the sales to pick up.
This is just my assumption/observation and don't think there's anything wrong in it being their strategy

Last edited by rav11stars : 19th October 2015 at 14:10.
rav11stars is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:05   #561

Why did fiat ditch the SIlver grey tone for Punto Abarth? It looked so awesome?

Is the red cabin ambience lighting still there?
devarshi84 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:10   #562

And the website is up now -

http://www.fiat-india.com/abarth-punto/

Edit - Abarth Race Pedals are available as an accessory.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 19th October 2015 at 14:14.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:14   #563

Originally Posted by KiloAlpha View Post
Fact 1: I am in the market for a new car - my Figo is now over 5 years old and I want to upgrade.
Fact 2: My budget is in the region of 10-12 lakhs on-road
Fact 3: I love hot hatches

Does this mean I am now headed off to the nearest FIAT dealer to put my money down on the Abarth Punto? Maybe not!!

See this post of mine from January: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3630514

How long will it take for discounts to roll in?
6 months or earlier is what I am hoping for!!

But that will not happen and they may wait till October 19 2016, when it will no longer be considered a new launch, to finally push sales by offering mouth watering discounts.

I am in the same boat. Need to avail huge discounts to pay for the fuel.

Just remember a hot hatch like the Abarth 595( I know its a CBU!) costs upwards of ₹30lacs ex-showroom. So, Fiat needs to be appreciated for launching a true hot hatch where the figures match the asking price.

Last edited by Shanksta : 19th October 2015 at 14:40.
Old 19th October 2015, 14:15   #564

Avventura retains the 205mm ground clearance. Thats a huge 50mm over the Abarth Punto. Also is 1.1 secs slower to the 100.

Both these factors combined - the driving experience of the Abarth Punto should be way superior to the Avventura.

I would also add the hydraulic steering and the 4 wheel disk brakes to that list. They dont make steering setups like these anymore. This is one area (other than the raw power) that competition will find hard to match.
Carwale reports the following:

Fiat has lowered the ground clearance of the Abarth Avventura by 20mm and stiffened the suspension to provide handling. The other mechanical changes include disc brakes for all four wheels to give additional stopping force in sync with the extra power.
Link to the report
sohu9 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:18   #565

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
Well said brother! Us Indians are a terrible lot when it comes to automotive satisfaction considering that we're never satisfied no matter how good a product is! Always nitpicking at the slightest opportunity.

It was always an open secret that the Abarth will be priced below 10L ex Delhi. So I just do not understand the comments like - gosh, the ex showroom's gonna go up in cities like Bangalore or I was expecting a price of 9.5L! Fiat have delivered their promise on the pricing so kudos to them!

I personally feel that at 12.5L on road Bangalore, it is a fantastic proposition and the best alternative to the GT TSi. Dare I say that as a product, it is more exciting as well! If I were in the market now for a car, this would be on top of my list.
You both just stole the words from my mouth! Of all the big volume OEMs, nobody has the courage to launch a niche "made-in-India" model. Not Maruti, not Hyundai, nobody. All the niche models are either CBUs or are exhorbitantly priced (compared to equivalent European models).

A small volume manufacturer like Fiat launches a genuinely likeable car and still people are not satisfied.

Costing of a new car does not just involve some software modifications, change of alloys and leather seats. To test the car with all these elements, Fiat would have put in hundreds of thousands of KMS of testing.

All this testing cost is spread out on the vehicle volume (numbers it is likely to sell). So, for a niche model like the Abarth, the per vehicle cost loading will be high. That is something we don't factor while estimating the pricing of a vehicle.

But all said and done, this step by Fiat is like an open invitation to all Indian petrol heads. It is a testing ground to see if the market has actually evolved and is ready to accept a niche model like this.

For the sake of all future hot hatches in the country and for the spirit of performance motoring, I hope this model sells! All the best Fiat!
Aragorn is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:19   #566

Originally Posted by sohu9 View Post
Carwale reports the following:
FIAT Website is already updated with the details -

http://www.fiat-india.com/specificat...icle=Avventura

Ground clearance is 205mm for the Avventura powered by Abarth.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:22   #567
J.Ravi

Fiat has lowered the ground clearance of the Abarth Avventura by 20mm
Fiat India website mentions the same 205 mm GC for Avventura Abarth T-Jet Petrol like other Avventura variants.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 19th October 2015 at 14:26.

Old 19th October 2015, 14:34   #568

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
It was always an open secret that the Abarth will be priced below 10L ex Delhi. So I just do not understand the comments like - gosh, the ex showroom's gonna go up in cities like Bangalore or I was expecting a price of 9.5L! Fiat have delivered their promise on the pricing so kudos to them!
With all the rumors out and about, sub-10L ex-showroom was a given. But pricing it at 9.95 is just Italian-level daft.

That said..
They could've been even more Italian and priced the Punto yet higher, but didn't

Now to get a TD and hope for a good deal on one towards the end of the year.

Cheers !

Sundar

EDIT: The site doesn't indicate that the ex-showroom price is same across all cities in India. Being a Bangalorean hurts once again
A Close Look: Fiat Punto Abarth. EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 9.95 lakhs!-screen-shot-20151019-2.36.27-pm.png  

Last edited by moralfibre : 19th October 2015 at 14:49. Reason: Resizing picture
MavericK46 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:35   #569

Originally Posted by S.MJet View Post
So the boot mounted sparewheel remains as is, I was hoping they move it back where it belongs, I guess Fiat was consideting this.
Couple of weeks back, Fiat had set up a counter at my office premises, displaying their entire range.
When asked about the rear mounted tyre and how it can create issues, the SA showed me provision to move it under the boot carpet, should the customer so wish. They would remove the entire mechanism and move the tyre under to boot carpet.

So, that option is already there. Please check it out once. Should be on Abarth as well.

Last edited by vinit.merchant : 19th October 2015 at 14:41.
vinit.merchant is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th October 2015, 14:35   #570

That's a great pricing FIAT. People have started complaining now, if one is really wanting to buy a hot hatch 1 lakh won't matter. Is there anything remotely comparable to Abarth Punto? NO, Period. Will the people who complain about this price buy if it was priced at 9 lakh? NO. Their argument will be it's priced so cheap, maybe it's not worth it. What our enthusiasts need is few stickers here and there and a black roof and they will queue up to buy sports variants priced 50000 or higher! For sticker job enthusiasts FIAT will always be wrong, come whatever they do. If I had a million I would buy this without battling an eyelid. Actually I'm very tempted. Moderators please don't bring out a brilliant review, my purse is already light!
The Rationalist is offline   (11) Thanks