Old 1st August 2006, 17:37   #16

38..??? Crap. Either I've been getting some really weird info, or Mitsu's gone mad. 30 seems steep, and they're pegging it to 40?
Old 1st August 2006, 20:28   #17

veyron1,

I suppose that's standard with HM on the pricing front.

They usually spread rumours of a high price but then the product debuts at a lower price. remember lancer cedia? It was supposed to debut at 12lacs.

The pajery 2.8 was supposed to be 24. Price revision was 18-22.

If Mitsubishi has to capture market share they have to price it lower than the prado. But then look at the equipment levels. Montero is loaded to the brim.
Old 2nd August 2006, 22:24   #18

http://www.ndtvprofit.com/homepage/s...209:15:57%20AM

price speculated at 29.70 lacs.
3.2 ltr crdi pumping our 165 horses.
372.4 nm torque.

launch in Second week of august
Old 3rd August 2006, 10:46   #19

Nice Nice Nice. But 29.7 is the price in which place? If its Delhi, the Mumbai (with entry tax + 4.5% Octroi etc.) will be 35 - 36 lakhs. Not far from what the showroom told me. But 29.70 ex-showroom in Bombay is mouth-watering.

The BHP and Torque figures from this 3.2 liter are a little disappointing. My 2.2 liter Merc common rail does 141 BHP and 340nm of torque. Normally SUVs are higher on torque and lower on BHP, but even the monteros torque (though great) is not befitting of a 3200 cc common-rail.
Old 3rd August 2006, 12:45   #20

@GTO: The Montero is not common rail. It's a (3.2 DI-D; Stands for direct injection diesel) Turbocharged, Intercooled, NORMAL Direct Injection unit. This motor benefits from a high pressure unit pump, that's it. And that's where Montero's strength lies. This baby can withstand ANY quality of fuel, is as reliable as a mountain goat, and has road presence like no other. Before anybody asks, yes, I'm a Montero fan. I had sampled one on ACI's performance expo last year, and although I didn't get to drive it, I was absolutely smitten.

Check out this ACI link..

http://autocarindia.com/new/Information.asp?id=1420

The spare and service prices could be an issue, but hey, it'll be cheaper to maintain than an average Merc, Prado, or even the X-Trail.

As for the price, like I said. It SHOULD be in the region of 29-31. I'm hoping the Thane prices would be lower.

Last edited by veyron1 : 3rd August 2006 at 13:03.
Old 3rd August 2006, 12:53   #21

Going by the current HM strategy, ex-showroom will be same all over the country.

what is the difference between the older 3.2 pajero and this Montero?
Old 3rd August 2006, 12:59   #22

@devarshi; Enginewise- slightly more tuned for a wider spread of torque. That's about it. Rest are all cosmetic and equipment changes. Finer suspension, brakes, blah,blah.

You could say this's the "new" avatar.

And, erm, this detail isn't that important, but the name "Pajero" was changed to "Montero" in some markets, because "Pajero" means, ahem, a certain profanity, in a cetain language....some of you might get what I'm talking about.
Old 3rd August 2006, 13:27   #23

[quote=veyron1And, erm, this detail isn't that important, but the name "Pajero" was changed to "Montero" in some markets, because "Pajero" means, ahem, a certain profanity, in a cetain language....some of you might get what I'm talking about.[/QUOTE]

umm....self entertainment?
Old 3rd August 2006, 14:23   #24

Nope. Something to do with, ahem, a male fowl and what you do with a straw...li'l off-topic,though...
Old 3rd August 2006, 20:21   #25

I can't forget that one.

I had prepared a class project for my PG.

It was on the New product introduction (COLT) inthe North American market under mitsubishi's brand before the onslaught of the hatches started.

And when the I showed the rally pajero for showing the mitsubishi heritage, A gal from Argentina raised her hand during the presentation to bring up that topic.

And believe me I had know clue until then.

Last edited by devarshi84 : 3rd August 2006 at 20:25.
Old 5th August 2006, 18:01   #26

Just confirmed officially. The Montero is available for 35,22,000 on-road, Thane. Bookings have started. 20% amount as booking amount. 2 months waiting/delivery period.

Let the brickbats begin.
Old 5th August 2006, 21:09   #27

Got a call from HM motors somewhere in delhi i believe, he confirmed 29.75 Lac showroom price and confirmed delivery in 60 days.

I also contacted a dealer who is into car imports, and confirmed the prices of Landcruiser, got a quote of 68 Lac for diesel and 72 Lac for petrol with night vision....want to know are these rates genuine and want to know do the toyota dealers are into imports of Landcruisers.

Old 5th August 2006, 21:36   #28

The price of landcruiser prado from Toyota Dealer in Mumbai is 3754350 ex-showroom @madhuban toyota

Last edited by devarshi84 : 5th August 2006 at 21:37.
Old 5th August 2006, 22:00   #29

Buddy i am not talking about Landcruiser Prado, talking about Toyota Landcruiser 100 series, the big boy
http://www.forbesautos.com/showmodel.../land_cruiser/

Last edited by lastmanstanding : 5th August 2006 at 22:04.
Old 5th August 2006, 22:13   #30

Originally Posted by lastmanstanding
Buddy i am not talking about Landcruiser Prado, talking about Toyota Landcruiser 100 series, the big boy
http://www.forbesautos.com/showmodel.../land_cruiser/

lol. I did not state the price for you. I got that when you quoted those high prices.

I posted the prices in conjunction with the Montero prices.

Sorry for the confusion.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com