Old 19th September 2015, 18:24   #931

Re: Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs

Had been to India Garage showroom on 10th Sep'15 to have a look at the tough guy. Could not test drove on that day since they had a media launch on 11th.
The vehicle has a macho, butch appeal when viewed form the front, does not look like a sub 4 metre vehicle due to the width.
The side profile shows the length and I must say the execution has been near perfect, the fact being it would have been very difficult for the designers with the 4 meter barrier. IMO they have done a good job. The 190 MM ground clearance is evident.
The rear looks stylish with the neat spare wheel cover design. Unlike Ecosport the spare wheel cover is part of stock vehicle (T8), the lower variants get vinyl cover.
The dash was a neat layout with hexagonal center console with black and beige combo. Hard plastics used but then the design is simple and neat.
The steering looks meaty, well proportioned with audio/volume controls and is adjustable for rake and not reach
Space will be its biggest USP, a spacious, well laid out sub 4 mtrs vehicle.
The front seats provide good support, had a health height adjustment range, the rear bench is flat doesn't offer good support but is wide enough to seat 3 adults comfortably, will not be a squeeze. The leg room is superior, I'm 5'11", in my driving position I had about 5 to 6 inches gap between my knee and the front seat, you could also stretch your feet under the front seat.
The jump seats in the boot are sufficient enough for adults for short intra city trips. The seats can be removed completely to have dedicated boot space as per the SA.
The overhangs are absolutely nil in front and back and the bumpers look flimsy for a vehicle of this size.
The tyre size looked puny in pics, but looked OK in real, should be good enough. Offered in 215/75 R16 rubber.
The front center grill plastic is of low quality, the paint had a smudged look and was different from the paint finish on the bonnet.
The ergonomics were decent, controls easily fall to hand, the oddly placed power window buttons near the hand brake did not actually pose any problems.
The mHawk80, I'm not sure how will it ride, moving the 1590 kgs kerb weight with passengers and luggage, its is refined for sure than the quanto engine and hence the mHawk moniker. May be Mahindra should offer another engine option with more than 100 PS power, would be a great choice.
They have host of accessories to choose from to make the TUV more urban. Good initiative by Mahindra considering the fact that customers are any ways looking for after market mod options. One need not worry about void warranty.

Overall a very honest attempt by M& M to create the compact SUV segment and I must say IMO, they have succeeded. They've got the pricing spot on and have give keen focus on safety aspects, kudos to M&M for that. The T6+ AMT costs more than the T8 MT, customer needs to choose between the convince of an AT and the features of the T8. BTW, the AMT is the only second diesel AMT on offer under 10 Lacs after the Zest . TUV 300 is a very good option at the sub 10 lac category, a perfect SUV (pun intended) for those who aspire to own an SUV but could not afford more than 10 lacs, and those who feel the bigger ones are tough to manoeuvre in the city.

All in all, the customers stand to gain as there are heap loads of options in the sub 10 lac category. A customer with a budget of Rs 10 Lacs (I'm one) can choose between a hatch, sub 4 meter sedan, sedan, SUV, crossover, MPV and what not? depending on the requirement.

I'm attaching the pricelist for Chennai
Originally Posted by narchennai View Post
Attachment 1416628 Prices at Chennai and waiting period for MT is 1 month and for AMT is 3 months as quoted by SA.
TUV is definitely a step forward than Bolero, but 2nd row seats don't accommodate any type of physique but a single adult can stretch legs in the last row, though loading lip is too high in the boot for luggage placement.
@ narchennai, you seem to have shred the price list from India Garage too, but how come the prices vary? The variations are seen in the Insurance charges. When did you check out? Has the prices been revised?

@neil.jericho, the SA confirmed that the AMT waiting period would be 2 - 3 months depending on colour chosen. My guess is white should be available sooner.
Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300!  EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs-20150919_143557.jpg  

Karthik Chandra is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 19th September 2015, 20:45   #932

Re: Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs

Originally Posted by Karthik Chandra View Post
@ narchennai, you seem to have shred the price list from India Garage too, but how come the prices vary? The variations are seen in the Insurance charges. When did you check out? Has the prices been revised?
I got the price list yesterday, and I was informed that prices were revised on 14th September 2015. The price list even mentions the same.
But I could decipher that they could have added handling charges somewhere without mentioning the same and boosted the price. Remember that Ex-showroom price PAN India was Rs.6.90/- lakhs when launched and now there is a change in that too.
Old 19th September 2015, 21:42   #933

Originally Posted by narchennai View Post
I got the price list yesterday, and I was informed that prices were revised on 14th September 2015. The price list even mentions the same.
But I could decipher that they could have added handling charges somewhere without mentioning the same and boosted the price. Remember that Ex-showroom price PAN India was Rs.6.90/- lakhs when launched and now there is a change in that too.
Rs. 6.90/- lacs is ex showroom price for Pune. If you check both the price list the ex showroom price remains as it is.
The changes to life tax and registration charges is also negligible. Substantial changes are evident in insurance charges.
Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300!  EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs-untitled.jpg  

Karthik Chandra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 00:40   #934

Hi all, my first proper Team-BHP post! Glad abut it and hopefully will now post more often.

I wanted a 7 comfortable seater family vehicle. Wished to have an automatic as well but had actually resigned to innova as there are zero 7 seater automatics less than 20 lacs. With TUV3OO there is now an option of having a comfortable 5+2 seater with an auto. This is the vehicle's primary USP I think.

Took a test drive and found the vehicle quite drivable. Decent torue 230 NM at lower RPMs of 1500-2250 rpm (compare this with Innova's 200 NM torque at similar rpms but with 70 kgs more kerb weight).

My guess is that there should be more people like me who will tilt from innova to TUV3OO.

The vehicle is wider than innova so three people in 2nd row have more shoulder room than innova (I tested this today by seating 3 people in innova and then the same three people in TUV3OO, and TUV3OO felt wider to us). Ofcourse the TUV seat doesnt tilt but its firmer than innova, which I personally prefer, and seemed to be offering better thigh support. The seat is also better countoured for 3 than innova.

Jumper seats are not overly uncomfortable but then which vehicle offers great 3rd row comfort. I personally feel less claustrophobic in facing seats than in row seats where there is no option to get out without tilting the middle bench. In jumper seats there is more leeway to stretch your legs in long journey, ofcourse if the person in front is very friendly to you.

The plastics are not great but looks pretty ok if you enter the cabin while being aware you are entering the cabin of an inexpensive mahindra.

The vehicle bonnet is very high, which is a very important safety feature by itself on indian roads as rarely trucks have rear guard here. The high kerb weight also makes a car safer (not when the car is collided with a tree or a wall, but high weight changes things in your favour if your car hits an object or a vehicle). If Mr Mahindra himself says that the vehicle will meet safety standards of 2019 then we dont have any reasons to disbelieve him. Ofcourse since the center of gravity is high hence only sedate riving should be done, even though the ride is not bumpy

I might go ahead and buy a top end Automatic. The unknown variable would be the performance of an AMT but then with 5 years extended warranty currently of offer the risk reduces greatly.
BlueJay is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 00:43   #935

Guys.. I've Just Came across this Auto Article.
Where they are Reviewing the TUV300 Modification-Concepts which are being Showcased in this Thread

http://www.motoroids.com/features/re...t-look-cooler/
kalleo4 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2015, 19:42   #936

I know looks are very subjective, but I think it looks like a jacked up WagonR and that car looks way better. What is up with Mahindra designers. First Xylo, then Quanto, now this ??? The new XUV 500 also seemed to be overdone. Let me not talk about the Scorpio too.

And to the govt of india, please abolish this stupid 4m rule that is giving birth to cars that look way out of proportion.
Old 20th September 2015, 21:22   #937

Originally Posted by drhoneycake View Post
I know looks are very subjective, but I think it looks like a jacked up WagonR and that car looks way better. What is up with Mahindra designers. First Xylo, then Quanto, now this ??? The new XUV 500 also seemed to be overdone. Let me not talk about the Scorpio too.

And to the govt of india, please abolish this stupid 4m rule that is giving birth to cars that look way out of proportion.
Yes your are too correct. For me wagon r looks like a car smashed from both sides and bulged because of that. Its one of the cars which is least for me. But i like all butch looking cars and Mahindra ticks that with most of their vehicles. I am pretty happy and waiting to do a test drive of TUV300.

For me the new scorpio in black color looks like a mean machine and you should really look it in flesh and you will be amazed

Last edited by msk_kapoor : 20th September 2015 at 21:23.
Old 20th September 2015, 22:08   #938

I just saw one in flesh today. Really liked the looks. It looks big and strong. The pricing is spot on. It has the potential to kill the Bolero, the Duster and the EcoSport. My better half will be happy that I do not wish to buy the Bolero anymore.
Old 21st September 2015, 01:54   #939

Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched ...

Originally Posted by BlueJay View Post
Hi all, my first proper Team-BHP post! Glad abut it and hopefully will now post more

I might go ahead and buy a top end Automatic. The unknown variable would be the performance of an AMT but then with 5 years extended warranty currently of offer the risk reduces greatly.

Welcome on board and wish you many happy TBHP years!

Your post makes me believe you have already made up your mind and gonna close the deal. I would say not a bad overall decision! 👍 For just 60k or so more than T6+ (based on some of the pricing posted here) you get a micro hybrid with cool add/ins and which could save considerably good amount of diesel in the long run!

Last edited by TMRT : 21st September 2015 at 02:08.
TMRT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2015, 12:17   #940

Saw a test drive vehicle today. It looks nice from the rear and side. The front looks decent but could have been better. It has good road presence and looks imposing in the ORVM.
Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300!  EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs-1442818014328.jpg  

Shanksta is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st September 2015, 15:28   #941

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post
The sales advisor confirmed that the waiting period for my T8 automatic booking will be between 1 to 1.5 months. Ive asked him to let us know if they get the T8 automatic in another colour earlier and someone cancels their booking. Does anyone have waiting period information in other cities?
The waiting period in Thane (maharashtra) is 1.5 months. All the deliveries would commence here only after 1.5 month
Prafful_Rathod is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2015, 18:43   #942

Originally Posted by kalleo4 View Post
Guys.. I've Just Came across this Auto Article.

Where they are Reviewing the TUV300 Modification-Concepts which are being Showcased in this Thread

http://www.motoroids.com/features/re...t-look-cooler/

I'd much prefer the round fog lamps like in the render. The squarish ones that Mahindra decided on look a bit off to me.
Old 21st September 2015, 19:27   #943

I took the TUV for another test drive today. Same route as before. And this time the NVH levels were a bit more acceptable. Of course, today's test car was different form the one I drove last week.

In any case, I have asked them to give me a highway test drive with my full family in the car. So, should be able to report back in a couple of days.
Old 21st September 2015, 21:25   #944

Re: Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched ...

Originally Posted by TMRT View Post
Welcome on board and wish you many happy TBHP years!
Thanks TMRT for the warm welcome. Am surely thinking about buying it. Which colour do you think will look good after mods. I browsed Wrangler images on net and I like mods on orange color better, it stands out and is very uncommon, however a lot depends on the shade of Orange... I havent seen it in flesh in TUV.

Another point to note about TUV 300. The hight of the vehicle is such that my mom could get inside easily. It is a bit higher than innova but surely not as high as Scorpio.

On looks, I somehow liked it better the first time round, and that too in white. I visited the showroom again and this time didn't like it as much... I think looks can 'reverse' grow as well .

Does anyone know of any URL wherein all the accessories are given with pictures?

Is there any insights on how AMT would perform on hills?
Old 21st September 2015, 22:01   #945

White-TUV300 looks Good In Here..

kalleo4 is offline   (6) Thanks