Old 29th August 2015, 12:26   #466

re: Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs

I'm sorry but this looks absolutely hideous! What were Mahindra thinking? It looked much better with the disguise.
Shadowbane is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2015, 13:56   #467

re: Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300! EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs

Originally Posted by i74js View Post
Attachment 1408281

One more from the same album, this one is with manual transmission
Looks good, but "too close" to the Jeep grille design. A potential lawsuit? Or have the Mahindra lawyers measured the millimeters and prepared a defense in advance?

If I was Jeep, I would not happy at all at this. It happens in China, but does it behove a reputed Indian manufacturer so focused on design and IP in the past few years? I wonder. I think not, but that is my personal opinion.
Contrapunto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2015, 13:59   #468

Thanks for the pictures. I cannot make up my mind. The front promises a lot, but the rear does not stand up for it. It looks to me like a mating of an ol' Jeep Cherokee and the new Rangerover Evoque. Would have been impressive but for the abrupt rear end.
But, i guess got to wait to see it in the flesh and for the official T-Bhp review.
Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300!  EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs-jp011044lb.jpg  

Next-generation Mahindra Bolero? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300!  EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 6.90 lakhs-2015_land_rover_range_rover_evoque_angularfront.jpg  

Last edited by alphadog : 29th August 2015 at 14:01. Reason: landrover changed to rangerover
alphadog is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2015, 14:00   #469

I like the overall proportions and specially the butch looking front. Give this machine an AMT, and light controls and you have an almost perfect vehicle for the kind of roads and traffic in our cities.

An observation.

I looked at the following picture in a post made earlier in this thread by a member, without going through post itself. I was under the impression that the both the vehicles posted in the photo are same (since they had similar colour). And going by this it certainly looks completely disproportionate and hideous.

Until I read the post again that it's actually Quanto's rear on the right.
Aaah. Relieved..
Originally Posted by 400notout View Post

And some visual comparisions for people who think this is just another quanto.

Attachment 1408437

I hope people who think it is disproportionate know that the above picture is of two different cars.
Old 29th August 2015, 16:33   #470

Looking at pics put up by maxtorque, the TUV does has its own charm - in a rugged sort of way. Personal tastes will differ and I guess no designer can appease every one. That said, it does look like an evolution of the Bolero which is a good thing and remember the Bolero still sells in huge numbers even in Urban areas. Being an owner of a Bolero myself I can vouch for it being one of the easiest vehicles to drive in cities and it lends itself to huge opportunities to customise. So, why the fuss from the detractors?
studedude is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2015, 17:23   #471

The making of the TUV300. Official video by Mahindra:

RavenAvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2015, 23:32   #472

Is this the next-generation Mahindra Bolero (U301)? NAMED: Mahindra TUV300

As everyone said in the earlier comments looks are subjective. I do agree with them. Bolero is one of my most desired vehicle but the lack of comfort (Personal opinion) was an issue for my family.
So my wish for Mahindra was to make it comfortable. Looking at TUV 3OO I am having a feeling that Mahindra have had done a good job there. The high ground clearance and the lesser overhang would ensure better equipped for the Indian terrain.

Would I consider it?
Absolutely only if Mahindra prices it good. They have always done it but I did have the same hopes when I booked SCross .

Once again Fingers crossed and come Sept 1st I will be queuing up in front of the Mahindra showroom with my booking money.

On niggles of the first batch we do take risks everyday :-)
Arindam_Nayek is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 01:21   #473

im usually a big fan of M&M vehicles, owning one for the last 7 years.

But ive been left baffled with this one. I dont want to write off the TUV300 all together till i dont see it in person and drive it. But from the pictures it looks like cut+paste/makeshift job.

This after using the consulting inputs of the Italian design firm.

Being a marketing & branding consultant i really want to know who the hell advises M&M to say stuff like " inspired by a tank" and in the design video the lady says " for the true suv feel, a rear mounted spare wheel". Since when did rear mounted wheels be the definition of a SUV !!

With the upgraded Scorpio 2014, the facelift XUV500 and even the upgraded Thar to an extent, M&M has really upped their game. This looks like a step back for me.

I hope i am proven wrong when i do see the vehicle in the flesh.

Kundan
Ksingh544 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 03:29   #474

Originally Posted by Ksingh544 View Post
M&M to say stuff like " inspired by a tank" and in the design video the lady says " for the true suv feel, a rear mounted spare wheel". Since when did rear mounted wheels be the definition of a SUV !!
If i am right, this lady was also behind the styling of the Xylo, and when C&B show interviewed her and asked whats her favourite aspect of the Xylo's stying, she said fondingly looking at the grille, "The grille, the grille is the most beautiful part of the car".
DicKy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 06:35   #475

Originally Posted by Ksingh544 View Post
im

Being a marketing & branding consultant i really want to know who the hell advises M&M to say stuff like " inspired by a tank" and in the design video the lady says " for the true suv feel, a rear mounted spare wheel". Since when did rear mounted wheels be the definition of a SUV !!

I hope i am proven wrong when i do see the vehicle in the flesh.

Kundan
The Mahindra owner profile is of someone who likes to make a statement on the road and can brag about having a 'cheetah' or a 'tank' inspired vehicle.

The goal seems to be to project this car as tough and unique. A supposedly 'superior' alternative to the crossovers etc.

They may also up sell it to the large rural base of bolero customers.
Old 30th August 2015, 06:39   #476

Originally Posted by DicKy View Post
If i am right, this lady was also behind the styling of the Xylo, and when C&B show interviewed her and asked whats her favourite aspect of the Xylo's stying, she said fondingly looking at the grille, "The grille, the grille is the most beautiful part of the car".
Dicky, you got it spot on! - I am no MCP, but I do remember the old mildly derisive phrase - air-headed bimbo/bimbette. Members of both sexes abound in the media!
shashanka is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 07:38   #477

While it may be good for Mahindra to introduce another variant and compete with the others for a share of the SUV pie, IMO the front/middle and the back portions of the vehicle are not in proportion. This is an observation by other members too.

Is it the camera angle that accentuates the dis-proportionality? Hope it will not be the case in actual viewing.
Old 30th August 2015, 07:51   #478

What was that video all about. I mean seriously? True blue SUV because of a rear mounted wheel? Straight lines inspired by a tank? It would have been funny if someone from the audience had remarked that only resemblance is to a water tank. I mean the end product is not all that bad, but then you dont expect too much better if this is how the thought process of the top brass goes. To a layman, I dont see any tank inspiration or 'Hatke Gaadi' here.

After all this 'Mardon ki Gaadi', 'True blue SUV', 'inspired by tank' etc rhetorics, I seriously hope the car is crash worthy and has all the safety features in place.

Last edited by vibbs : 30th August 2015 at 07:54. Reason: Fixing Typo
vibbs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 09:34   #479
AWD

Agreed its a silly video, almost cheap. No talk of technology, workmanship, etc, just some bragging about designing, looks, etc. Only a cheap audience will ask for "mardon ki gaari, hummer jaisi, baap of suv", I mean what crap!!
"Inspired from a Tank"!! Oh my word!! For me this very video has made such an impression that I wouldn't go anywhere near it, sealed the fate for me.
Its an outcome of junk mindsets, maybe todays "corporate" vision but sadly its a poor poor attempt. Somewhere MM had to go overboard, if its wasn't the flashy front this time, its the video that takes the pie!
But there's one very good thing about the video, we now know the "target-audience" !

Last edited by AWD : 30th August 2015 at 09:39.
AWD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2015, 10:00   #480

Originally Posted by LakraChauhan View Post
Unfortunately we all want the Desi Companies to innovate, build tough, provide all bells and whistles but give it to us for free... We will set the sales chart burning for all ugly ducklings from all Manufacturers (How many good looking cars do we really have that are best sellers too - hardly any). This product has been speculated and compared with what not. IMHO everyone has the right to give opinion BUT please do not kill something that has not seen the daylight yet. Our poor mentality of promoting PHOREN and ridiculing DESI has been at its best here. Please do not get offended... What Tata and Mahindra have tried no other manufacturer has. We happily are paying 10+ lacs for Cretas and Dusters but want the Indian Brands to give equally competitive vehicles at half the price. (My First Post in 7 Yrs).
You stole my words!

Let us have a look back at the XUV thread. Before the pricing out, BHPians had already started throwing brickbats at the vehicle. Soon after the pricing was announced, people went crazy about the vehicle and a plethora of ownership reviews came out in Team-BHP.

Let the vehicle launch, let the pricing be out and then judge.

Anyways, looks are subjective and I can easily digest the TUV's looks. Yes, something is not right with the integration of the headlights and the grille. It looks like this ->

But overall the design is balanced and clean. I like boxy design and maybe that is the reason the TUV's design is palatable to me!

P.S.: People, please stop harping about the tank like design. It is just a stupid marketing gimmick. Please dont tell me you actually expected a tank's design...! Haven't we seen many stupid marketing quotes before?
raj_5004 is offline   (8) Thanks