(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
Just a thought... Better to not bring the car here at all than to release it at 1 crore.
The German manufacturers have always priced anything that's remotely "performance" at such a premium that it becomes unreachable to anyone except the 1%.
The beauty of the Mustang, the Camaro and the Charger is that they are middle class performance. A regular guy can actually buy those cars and enjoy tuning and driving them.
If you price them at prices equivalent to halo cars like the M3 and M4, then honestly they betray their raison d'etre.
I had been to MPL Ford service centre for 90K kms service of my Fiesta. While, the service was quick, efficient resulting in my car running like new, the news about Mustang got me excited.
I was told by a highly connected person at the service centre that Ford has already started investments in their plants in Chennai and Gujarat. Training on Mustang has already begun and technicians from Chennai plant are at Sanand for this purpose.clap:
The person also added that the New Endeavour will be launched in 2 months and it will tip the 30 Lakh mark.
I may not end up buying the Mustang, but it will be great to test-drive a muscle car on Indian roads.stupid:
As per autocars May edition, Mustang is pipped at 1Cr price point!!!! :banghead: I hope the news is mere speculation and Ford honchos bring in at competitive pricing.
Source of the image - Auto car India magazine, May 2015 edition.
Originally Posted by harishpr
(Post 3702138)
As per autocars May edition, Mustang is pipped at 1Cr price point!!!! :banghead: I hope the news is mere speculation and Ford honchos bring in at competitive pricing.
Source of the image - Auto car India magazine, May 2015 edition. |
This article effectively makes our long wait, irrelevant.
The search for an affordable roadster continues.
Unfortunately, the mustang was meeting many Indian needs
a) decent ground clearance.
b) designed and capable of being abused
c) well priced convertibles
d) well priced overall
e) cubic capacity for cheap
Alas!
at 50, or even 60, I would be first in line to book one. at 1 Cr, I and assuming many others, are out of the race.
what a shame!
Even this thread has slowed down after that nugget of information. We can only hope that Ford would realise that the marketshare would shrink by 90% or more, if they bought it in, above 60
- Nucliomaniac
Ford Mustang Pricing is out;
With the kind of pricing trend of CBU sportscars going i see it priced
3x the value of the US pricing, so that translates to;
Base V6;
US Price: INR 14.9L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 44.9L
Base Ecoboost;
US Price: 15.93L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 47.79L
Base GT V8;
US Price: INR 20.34L
Predicted Indian Price: INR 61.04L
What do you think :D
There's a smile on my face every time I see there's a new post, expecting to see the launch date or something on similar lines. I think ford should open the bookings already to see the response they get. I'm really getting the urge to book one right away :(
A search on zauba.com reveals that a Ford Mustang GT Premium Fastback has been imported into the country for R&D Purposes.

Originally Posted by SwapnilNalavade
(Post 3713802)
A search on zauba.com reveals that a Ford Mustang GT Premium Fastback has been imported into the country for R&D Purposes. Attachment 1373799 |
This Mustang GT Fastback is currently in the ARAI facility in Pune, I am told.
But, the only credible data point is the Autocar scoop on the Mustang being a Crore. :Frustrati Nothing on body types too.
And the way the foreign firms are focussed on India, and on the sub 4 Metre compact sedan, and on the sub 8 lakh SUV, I feel that the 1 Crore pricing for the Mustang may actually be a possibility.
Am slowly giving up on my deep seated desire to get the opportunity to own a reasonably priced, fun convertible or a roadster.
And no the crap A3 convertible doesn't qualify.
- Nucliomaniac
Though its going to be a CBU, 1 Crore would be too exorbitant. It might be 50-60 lakhs IMO.
Sources say that it took 2 hours to clear customs for the pony as people around poured in to get a sneak peek.
OMG guys ! We have had it, prepare your dreams to be shattered as this car is definitely going to cross a CRORE mark :Frustrati
Reason / comparison;
BMW M4 when imported the unit cost was
INR 32.03L
& when launched M4 was finally priced @
1.25 Crore (ex-showroom)
Now the
Mustang is imported at unit cost of
INR 35.75L
So that should be self explanatory what we can expect :deadhorse
Originally Posted by karan561
(Post 3718168)
BMW M4 when imported the unit cost was INR 32.03L Attachment 1376127
& when launched M4 was finally priced @ 1.25 Crore (ex-showroom)
Now the Mustang is imported at unit cost of INR 35.75L Attachment 1376122
So that should be self explanatory what we can expect |
Another member Shivjeet had a very good explanation. The Mustang has been flown in by air cargo, which probably raises the cost a fair amount. The M4 comes in by sea. So when the Mustang comes in by sea the price will be a fair amount lower. Though I expect the Mustang V8 to still just about cross the crore mark on road.
Originally Posted by akshay1234
(Post 3718182)
Another member Shivjeet had a very good explanation. The Mustang has been flown in by air cargo, which probably raises the cost a fair amount. The M4 comes in by sea. So when the Mustang comes in by sea the price will be a fair amount lower. Though I expect the Mustang V8 to still just about cross the crore mark on road. |
AFAIK FCL (20 ft. container) charges aprox 1800-2000 U$ port to port from US to India.
So if we estimate shipping costs to be almost a lakh more than the cost what is in USA then the post which i made here;
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3709545
^ makes the most sense if Ford people are in their "Senses"
:thumbs up