Old 22nd November 2013, 13:04   #46

Re: Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manua

Originally Posted by A.K. View Post
Its surprising but true Gannu.

The first service of my Superb was around Rs. 10,000.
It is a 1.8 TSI Automatic.

The major cost was 4.5 litres of synthetic oil and the Fuel & oil filters.
There was no labour cost as it was free was the first 2 years.

The 4th service was completed today and it costed me Rs. 44,000.
28,000 was essential service cost.
6,000 was fuel tank cleaning & fuel injector service.
10,000 was for the broken fuel guage and the logos which were stolen.

Watching closely the bill, the cost is really exhorbitant to say the least. Isn't washing included in the paid service where you have been charged separately for the two jobs? And stuff like AC disinfection? Never heard of that before.
And they are charging Rs. 1200/- for CHECKING the brakes despite themselves doing a brake job? 1000 bucks for lubricating the doors??
Total bill-44K for a service; so after a few servicings, you could have bought a hatchback for that money

My last thought on this: boy, this is both outrageous & expensive.
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th February 2014, 11:51   #47

Re: Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manua

Just spoke to Dashmesh Auto for a Rear tail lamp cover for my skoda rapid.

He says the cover by itself is not available.
I have to buy the whole light assembly which costs 2200/-
Old 20th February 2014, 13:52   #48

Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Watching closely the bill, the cost is really exhorbitant to say the least. Isn't washing included in the paid service where you have been charged separately for the two jobs? And stuff like AC disinfection? Never heard of that before.
And they are charging Rs. 1200/- for CHECKING the brakes despite themselves doing a brake job? 1000 bucks for lubricating the doors??
Total bill-44K for a service; so after a few servicings, you could have bought a hatchback for that money

My last thought on this: boy, this is both outrageous & expensive.
Other Superb owners or D segment owners can comment, but I think A.K. has been ripped off with the labour part.

Caliper pin greasing per wheel at Rs. 250 is quite high.
Brake testing should not be charged extra
Injector cleaning - Does that take 8 hours? and Rs. 4000?
Power window glass lubrication: Rs. 1200? and 2.5 hours?
Washing: Was this included for free in the last service?

Radiator and Condenser cleaning: Did they remove everything from the front and then did the cleaning? If yes, this is fine.
Old 20th February 2014, 14:33   #49

Originally Posted by Bomi View Post
7 years to fix its weakness, which is customer service? Wow! Mr. Rao sure expects the Indian consumer to be patient.
Perhaps that is why he did not respond to my mail, when I highlighted the lack of response from his dealer and Customer Service department (My thread about JMD Skoda under Indian Car Dealerships). He will reply after 7 years !
On the contrary, I have had instantaneous response from Skoda if the MD is even copied on the message. I wish I didn't have to escalate to his email ID and things would get sorted out normally, though.

Mr. Rao has not been CEO of Skoda India for 7 years, AFAIK. My service advisor tells me that things have definitely changed in recent times - in the past they had to pay for any spare part requisition and the request would get actioned only after someone in 'Accounts' confirmed that the payment has been received. Now the dealerships receive parts on request without payment having to be made in advance - even a whole engine, apparently.

There is definitely change at SAIPL, and that change is for the better.
Old 20th February 2014, 16:18   #50

Good for you, Steeroid. I did not receive any response when I sent an escalation mail to Mr. Rao; AND the mail had not bounced back.

By the way my 7 year comment was in response to the following post:

[quote=9thsphinx;3233143]

Mr Sudhir Rao, MD, Skoda Auto India acknowledges the problems with Skoda India and devises a 7-yr plan to fix and re-brand Skoda's image and focus on premium cars, eliminate weaknesses and go for growth!
Old 20th February 2014, 16:36   #51

The dealers are useless. Skoda makes good cars, but the dealers are incompetent, as well as dishonest. That's a lethal combination.

To give you an example, I sent in my car for a regular service recently. As expected, the bill was a bomb. On looking at the bill, they had put in things like pest control etc. When I asked them, the service advisor says "Oh sir, pest control is part of regular service!"

The fact that I had to send my car back 3 times to the garage for a job not properly done is another story.

I love their cars.. the Skoda I have is tremendous value.. but them dealers are a pain in the ass.
Old 12th April 2014, 19:50   #52

I see a lot of people in the same boat as me. I have a Fabia 1.2 HTP due for its 2nd year service. I checked the service cost calculator on Skoda's site and it shows that the service should cost me 7,125. But the quotes I got from Skoda dealers in Mumbai are :

Senator Skoda : around 16,000 (he did mention a break up similar to the one below, but I do not have it in writing)
Autobahn : 25,000 (He mentioned that 10,000 was for the oil change etc and the other service components will make up to 15,000) He refused to give the quote on mail.
JMD Skoda : 17,809 (detailed quote below from their mail)

(a) Parts Issued:-

Description Amount
OIL FILTER ELEMENT WITH GASKET 499
A/C DUST AND POLLEN FILTER ELEMENT 1003
FUEL FILTER ELEMENT WITH GASKET 1487
Eng OIL CASTROL MAGNATEC PROFFESSIONAL 4500
AIR FILTER 810
CLIP 150
LUBRICANT 350
BRK CLEANER 350
WIND SHIELD WASHER 150
CONSUMABLES 450
TOTAL AMOUNT : 9749

Total Amount of Parts : 9749/-

(b) Labor Charges:-

Description Amount
PAID SERVICE 1360
VAS SCANNING 750
BRAKE CLEANING 650
COWL CLEANING 1000
SERVICE PLUS 350
WHEEL ALLIGNMENT & BALANCING 1200
RADIATOR CONDENSOR CLEANING 750
WAX POLISH 1000
A/C DISINFECTION 1000
TOTAL AMOUNT : 8060

Total Amount of Labor :/--

Total Amount of Parts 9749
Total Amount of Labor 8060
Total Charges

Total Charges :- 17809/-

I am not sure if all the services mentioned by JMD are required in a regular service. I did write to Skoda for this huge difference in the service costs. But all I get is call from one of these dealers only - who say that these costs are normal. (I had couple of other complaints too - 1 of them thankfully fixed by Senator)

I am really not sure what to do. Is there a way to escalate this? Has someone found a way around this rip-off ?

Old 13th April 2014, 01:14   #53

Originally Posted by agnimidhun View Post
I am really not sure what to do. Is there a way to escalate this? Has someone found a way around this rip-off ?
Problem is that they have added unnecessary & redundant stuff. Get the following done and your car should be good. My Vento TDi costed me 10K for third service, I believe Fabia should be any cheaper.

Below is things that needs to be done. Be smart. All workshop work on same modus operandi.

JMD Skoda :

(a) Parts Issued:-

Description Amount
OIL FILTER ELEMENT WITH GASKET : 499
A/C DUST AND POLLEN FILTER ELEMENT : 1003
FUEL FILTER ELEMENT WITH GASKET : 1487
Eng OIL CASTROL MAGNATEC PROFFESSIONAL : 2820 (1200 cc engine oil capacity is only 2.8 L, so 3 one liter can of Rs 940 should do)
AIR FILTER : 810

Total Amount of Parts : 6619/-

(b) Labor Charges:-

Description Amount
PAID SERVICE : 1360
VAS SCANNING : 750

Total Amount of Labor : 2110

Total Charges :- Rs. 8729.

That's how a smart customer works. Chuck out all the non essential. If they still say we need to do it, tell them straight that its my car and I will get done what is only required and if you want to do anything more Skoda can pay from its own pocket.

No need for any brake cleaning, even after cleaning they will be back to normal in a few kms. Not needed.

Windshield washer fluid bottle 500 ml can be purchased separately. Cost Rs 250 and lasts long.

Cowl cleaning, what will they achieve by cleaning it. Totally not required.

Wheel balancing & alignment is far cheaper outside. Get it done from a FNG.

Radiator condenser cleaning totally not required. Stupid ways of extracting more money.

Wax polish for Rs 1000, they seriously are in need of money. If at all required try 3M or better do a DIY.

AC disinfection is a joke, since they are changing dust & pollen filter no requirement of it.

I hope you get my point and get only things that are required. Unnecessarily people think Skoda are expensive to own.
el lobo 6061 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th April 2014, 13:07   #54

....(a) Parts Issued:-

Eng OIL CASTROL MAGNATEC PROFFESSIONAL 4500
WIND SHIELD WASHER 150...
How much oil is required? 3L? Even with synthetic, it should NOT cross 2000/- ideally? Could you try to check how much does the same oil cost outside?

Most use water as the washer fluid, Maruti adds a concentrate with Rs. 12/- (twelve) during the service. You should be more than happy with normal soft water filled up once in 3 months (~2L) and top up required there after. Even if you use Aquafina / Bisleri, it should NOT cost more than Rs. 50/-.

....(b) Labor Charges:-

VAS SCANNING 750
COWL CLEANING 1000
SERVICE PLUS 350...
Why do they need to charge for VAS Scanning & Service Plus on top of Paid Service charges?

....(b) Labor Charges:-

RADIATOR CONDENSOR CLEANING 750
WHEEL ALLIGNMENT & BALANCING 1200
WAX POLISH 1000
A/C DISINFECTION 1000...
Has radiator condenser cleaning mentioned in the service manual?

I think you can get rid of the other 3 items. You can get these done outside for much cheaper rates.
swiftnfurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th June 2015, 16:11   #55

Re: Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual

My Laura TSI is due for an annual service due, so visited the service cost calculator.

It is not working.

Called customer care, says it is being updated.

Me : For how long?
CC : I don't know, I few months.
Me : When will it restart?
CC : We have no updates.

I was asked to call the Area Manager, who asked me to send and email, and hopefully will get back to me with the estimate.

Will update with whatever responses I get. Skoda really tests your love for the car.
Old 18th June 2015, 20:48   #56

Re: Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual

Originally Posted by srgntpepper View Post
My Laura TSI is due for an annual service due, so visited the service cost calculator.

It is not working.
Working as of 2 minutes ago with Mumbai as input city, try it again. just entered 30k service to see if it was active , estimated cost 15,000.
Old 19th June 2015, 11:34   #57

Thanks! It is working indeed.

The Area manager contacted a dealership, who in turn called me for my email address and said they will send me a quote.

This of course defeats the purpose of verifying if the dealership is charging fairly. they took some action quickly which is a good thing i suppose.
Old 7th March 2017, 18:58   #58

Skoda Superb 1 Lakh Km Service cost - Normal or Scammed again ?

Guy's this is regarding my 2013 Skoda Superb Elegance TDI's 1 Lakh Km service cost. Since I could not find any threads with ownership service costs associated with such high mileage, I'm starting a separate thread here.

Usually my service bill ranges from 13-15,000 Rs however this time during the 1,00,000 Kms service I got charged with an exorbitantly high bill of 82,625 Rs. Worst part is they replaced many parts in my car without getting confirmation from me. Please find my bill attached below.

Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual-1.jpg

Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual-2.jpg

Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual-3.jpg

Now on their website with same mileage, the service cost is coming around only 33,400 Rs. The only part according to me that needed replacement was a broken side mirror which was charged 12,000 Rs something.

Skoda: Steps towards Transparency - Online Service Cost Calculator & Owners Manual-4.jpg

Anyways I just want to know if this is just a normal service cost associated due to the high mileage or have I just been scammed by my dealer again ?

Last edited by stanjohn123 : 7th March 2017 at 19:00.
stanjohn123 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th March 2017, 19:38   #59

Re: Skoda Superb 1 Lakh Km Service cost - Normal or Scammed again ?

HI there,
Were you not informed when you gave your car of the replacement plan of the parts like timing belts (and it's associated parts), DSG oils etc.

What works had you requested to the service adviser?

Going through the items billed, i do not see any particular loot/snake oil stuff.

By the way, changing timing belt etc & DSG oil at 1Lac KMs is not un-natural.
abhishek46 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th March 2017, 19:53   #60

Re: Skoda Superb 1 Lakh Km Service cost - Normal or Scammed again ?

I am surprised they didn't tell you upfront what service will be done and approximate estimate of the bill.

The items look normal to me. It has some items like mirror, bulb, trim, mud flap etc to indicate non consumable parts which would have contributed to the higher than usual bill.

By Skoda standards it looks like you got away cheap They should have thrown in some air conditioning part to bump up the bill into 6 figures.
androdev is online now   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com