Originally Posted by manishkapadia @RavenAvi - Are you sure that the Jazz base given on your brochure was just 5.5 lacs ex showroom at Delhi . Ours purchased in aprox 2009/2010 was more pricey. The one that does not have USB. |
Yes. The previous-generation Jazz was a slashed-price generation,
launched in August 2011.
I think the one before that was the pricey Jazz - the one which you, adimicra, selfdrive and a few others had bought. That Jazz saw a price cut of over 1.5 lakhs back in 2010, before the facelifted Jazz with revised prices was launched in August 2011.
Originally Posted by Aaron:) The thing is that the previous Jazz, after the price cut had very low (almost nil ) profit margins.
Honda had been restricting it's volumes because there was no money to be made at that price. |
Back then, Honda was actually losing money on every Jazz sold! (
LINK) The company as a whole wasn't losing much, because they were recovering their margins through the best-selling Honda City.
At it's pricing range and just for the features/practicality on offer, the Jazz made a tremendous case for itself. I envy all those who bought their Jazzes in that period - a non-paralleled VFM deal, a STEAL, I dare say!
Originally Posted by prithvibelli As a middle variant, S also holds great value feature-wise on diesel(with ABS). |
For an in-city commuter, yes. The S MT looks decent enough, with ABS for those sudden braking situations.
But I would think twice before hitting the highways with the 2015 Jazz S MT. Others might, but I certainly won't!
Originally Posted by Vigkey When the Jazz was launched and even after price correction, the price difference in variants was very less - they had 3 variants all well loaded but the higher variants getting few more features. This is not the case now. |
And this was four years ago. Even at a price difference of 50K for this period, the Jazz Base (of then) STILL makes sense at 6 lacs, ex-showroom Delhi (now).
Too bad our market was (back then) and still is, in honest terms, pretty stupid.
Originally Posted by Vigkey Did the market embrace such a car initially?? No - it was too pricey. Did the market embrace such a car after price cut?? No - it was a flop model. |
It went the Ford Fiesta way.
And yes, we are yet to see how this new 2015 Jazz will perform. It's got all the goodies from Honda + combine that with a competitive pricing + diesel option, and it
should be a great seller. BUT, it is still to be seen how the Indian market (and public) perceive the Jazz. Agreed that the market has shown signs of maturity, with the Elite i20 raking up one lakh sales in ~11 months despite premium pricing, but the real picture will be seen in the coming months in our monthly sales charts.
I hope it's a bestseller, because it's still a very practical and smart choice in the 6L-9L bracket.
But some of the decisions of the Honda management in recent times have my eyes rolling (and watering too). I am not complaining -
just like all the 2008-2009 Jazz owners who paid over 9 lacs for their cars, only to face the price cut 2 years later!
Originally Posted by Vigkey The market does not want safety - Reason why VXi and VDi are the most seen variants in Swift and Dzire. Market never wants extra safety - Reason why Asta (O) was not introduced in Elite i20. Basically we get what we demand - we demand creature comforts and useless features and we are getting the same from all manufacturers. We never demanded safety - did we. By We - it is not the BHP-ians - it is the common car buying public. |
There is a growing call for safety in recent times - as judged by the recent crash tests of cars not equipped with airbags+ABS, and companies like Toyota and Volkswagen coming forward and equipping their volume-range cars (Polo, Liva) with full safety features.
Also, safety features are supposed to become mandatory for ALL cars from 2017, right? Honda could have put a positive step forward by offering at least a driver's airbag in it's lowest 2 variants!
When the paying customer will be paying over 6 lacs OTR for the Jazz E MT, he deserves a driver's airbag at least. This way, he could have been educated about the airbags as well!
Also, arguments can be made about the customers in Tier-III cities and rural areas about how most of them dont even bother to wear their seatbelts while driving. Does that mean car manufacturers stop providing even seatbelts on their cars?!
Originally Posted by crisscross The only way to change is if the government mandates safety features. |
OFF-TOPIC:
The government is slowly but surely coming forward in this path. Crash-test venues are being constructed, and full mandatory safety features are coming by 2017. Few car companies have taken positive steps towards this - but it's sad to see Honda not being a pioneer in this regard as well. They had such a tremendous chance with this 2015 Jazz to show that they didn't disregard safety as well, but they snuffed it.
Either way, they had announced back in 2013 that they were going to take Honda "mainstream" in India. Today, 2 years later, we are seeing this changed, new, shining Honda - fully mainstream-ed!