Old 5th September 2013, 21:47   #181

re: VW Polo 1.6L GT TDI coming EDIT: Now launched

Just got the news that the Polo GT TDI is just around the corner. Was about to pay booking amount for GT TSI when my SA asked me if i would be intrested in the GT TDI. He said will share further details in a few days. So have paused the booking of the GT TSI for now.
drpudhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th September 2013, 22:46   #182

I have booked GT TSI and will stick to it unless they offer DSG in GT TDI as well.
Old 5th September 2013, 22:52   #183

Was just reading up about the 1.6 tdi in autocar UK. Apparently it has two versions of this engine producing 74bhp and 89bhp if those are the tunes to which the Indian spec will arrive then it wouldn't be an attractive option. Hoping any one will prove me wrong, I'm looking forward to buying this car even if it'll cost me a bomb with bangalores taxes.
Old 5th September 2013, 22:59   #184

Originally Posted by D'Artagnan View Post
Was just reading up about the 1.6 tdi in autocar UK. Apparently it has two versions of this engine producing 74bhp and 89bhp if those are the tunes to which the Indian spec will arrive then it wouldn't be an attractive option. Hoping any one will prove me wrong, I'm looking forward to buying this car even if it'll cost me a bomb with bangalores taxes.
The SA version has 105ps and a manual tranny. Interesting thing is it comes with ESP too,hope they launch it here in the exact same specs. Even if priced on par with the GT TSI it'll be a great buy!
shashank.nk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th September 2013, 23:35   #185

Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post

The SA version has 105ps and a manual tranny. Interesting thing is it comes with ESP too,hope they launch it here in the exact same specs. Even if priced on par with the GT TSI it'll be a great buy!
That's great news 105ps is superb on a polo. Would the torque figures be above 250nm at least? Turbo charged+abs+ebd+eps+airbags hope they price it say 10k above the gt tsi.
Old 5th September 2013, 23:38   #186

That's great news 105ps is superb on a polo. Would the torque figures be above 250nm at least? Turbo charged+abs+ebd+eps+airbags hope they price it say 10k above the gt tsi.
The SA version has the same specs as the Vento diesel, i.e 105PS and 250nm of torque. We can speculate all we want on the prices and specs but it makes no sense, good thing is the launch is just round the corner if sources are to be believed
Old 5th September 2013, 23:44   #187

Originally Posted by shashank.nk View Post

The SA version has the same specs as the Vento diesel, i.e 105PS and 250nm of torque. We can speculate all we want on the prices and specs but it makes no sense, good thing is the launch is just round the corner if sources are to be believed
I know, guessing the price is purely speculative but it gives me a small amount of pleasure and of course fills me up with hope too. Sources are staking a lot on their claims, they will come true

What does SA mean?
Old 5th September 2013, 23:50   #188

I know, guessing the price is purely speculative but it gives me a small amount of pleasure and of course fills me up with hope too. Sources are staking a lot on their claims, they will come true

What does SA mean?
My bad! SA=South Africa.

here's the link to what i've been mentioning, with specs everything
http://www.vw.co.za/en/models/polo/p...d_options.html
shashank.nk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 00:35   #189

If the polo is priced well punto90 is going to have a tough competition, anyway with the coming of the i20 people have started spending on costly hatches! There is no diesel hatch after the Getz crdi with a 3 digit power rating within 10lakhs. This would be exciting!
Old 6th September 2013, 12:38   #190

Good that you hoepd. Because it has come true. Max difference is 4-5K. Source is good.
Old 6th September 2013, 13:17   #191

Originally Posted by radek View Post
Good that you hoepd. Because it has come true. Max difference is 4-5K. Source is good.
Thanks for the info radek. This is great news. Better get in line for the booking.

For once god has answered my prayers
Old 6th September 2013, 20:33   #192

Got news from a reliable source:
1.GT TDI hitting Hyderabad in a weeks time
2.Not much information on pricing but on road will be Rs.9.xx lacs. Just for comparison, GT TSI is 9.78 lacs in Hyderabad

I am being offered a GT TDI by a reliable source. Since both will be hoot to drive and will have limited production, should I cancel TSI and get the TDI ? I am so confused
Old 6th September 2013, 22:43   #193

Originally Posted by sahilkhurana View Post
Got news from a reliable source:
1.GT TDI hitting Hyderabad in a weeks time
2.Not much information on pricing but on road will be Rs.9.xx lacs. Just for comparison, GT TSI is 9.78 lacs in Hyderabad

I am being offered a GT TDI by a reliable source. Since both will be hoot to drive and will have limited production, should I cancel TSI and get the TDI ? I am so confused
If you want that gem of an auto box the tsi is yours

Else

With the prices of fuel going up diesel would be your best bet
Old 6th September 2013, 22:58   #194

I am also inclined towards DSG. But my source has assured me that he can get me GT TDI as early as next week which tilts things in TDI's favor.
Old 6th September 2013, 23:18   #195

Originally Posted by sahilkhurana View Post
Since both will be hoot to drive and will have limited production, should I cancel TSI and get the TDI ? I am so confused
Vento and Polo are within 30 kgs (approx) of each other.

How different is it going to be do drive ??

Unless it comes with a handling package or something like that?