Team-BHP - Audi Launches S4 in India @ Rs. 45.31 lakhs

-   -   Audi Launches S4 in India @ Rs. 45.31 lakhs (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/121541-audi-launches-s4-india-rs-45-31-lakhs.html)

Source : Audi launches S4 model in India - The Economic Times

NEW DELHI: German Luxury car major Audi today launched a new model, Audi S4, priced at Rs 45,31,000 onwards (ex-showroom Maharashtra).

The new model would be sold through 19 Audi dealerships across the country.

Powered by a V6 3.0 TFSI engine, the Audi S4 can touch a speed of 100 km/h in 5 seconds.

The carmaker is also looking to expand its network to 25 dealerships by the end of 2012 from its existing 19 centres.

The Audi model range in India includes Audi A4, Audi A6, and Audi A7 Sportback.
Power = 333 bhp
Torque = 44.8 kgm

This is, I believe should ring the knell for the lancer evo 10. I saw a review of the S4 on CNB a couple of weeks back, they were of the opinion that this car would sell for "well of 50 lakhs". So in that sense its pretty decently priced too, considering its a CBU.

Believe me when I tell you, I'd take the S4 over an Evo X at the same price anyday... I've owned both. S4 is a monster, 0 to 60mph, the Evo would rule, but beyond that the S4 would kill it.

I hope this makes HM-mitsu price the Evo at a realistic 25-30lac range where it belongs, but I'm sure that makes too much business sense for HM to ever be taken seriously.

Originally Posted by scuderiamania (Post 2798398)
This is, I believe should ring the knell for the lancer evo 10. I saw a review of the S4 on CNB a couple of weeks back, they were of the opinion that this car would sell for "well of 50 lakhs". So in that sense its pretty decently priced too, considering its a CBU.

+1

That was the exact first thought that came to me when I read the title of the thread! S4 looks like a great value @ 45.31L - 333 BHP? :Shockked: WOW

Looking at the pricing of the S4, I would rate the Volvo S60 T6 a better buy any given day.

@ 45.31L Ex, it'll be close to 50L OTR, the S60 with 304 HP and exactly the same torque (44+ Kgm) @ 38-39 OTR (Delhi) is a fantastic VFM.

Let alone the S60, the 3.0 TDi @ 38.xx Ex, makes more sense than the overpriced S4.

Happy Motoring !!

The S4 is here! Great news! I think it will sell pretty well too.

Would it be unfair to say that the Audi S4 is superior to the S60 T6 thanks to the quattro and 7-speed dual clutch gearbox?

The S4 with Quattro and the overall acceleration / handling potential makes it a way better bet than the Volvo which has really no say in the handling department as compared to the Germans.

The only competition for this would be the 3.0 TFSI A6 and the 3.0 TDI A4. Apart from that another current crop competitor may be the 330i Bimmer which is significantly cheaper (by at least 10-12 lacs) and is more than enough for a sporty car!

Originally Posted by elantracrdi05 (Post 2799084)
Apart from that another current crop competitor may be the 330i Bimmer which is significantly cheaper (by at least 10-12 lacs) and is more than enough for a sporty car!

330i is sporty , but not sporty enough compared to S4-which is a high performance/sport sedan sitting just below RS4.
Other Entry level high performance sedans from germans are bmw m3 and merc c63 amg (both priced 80+lakhs), which is comparable to RS4 ,not s4. Point I am trying to make is, there are no direct competitors for this car considering all parameters like capability,price,intended segment. even s60 although has a powerful engine it is not a sports sedan. Only evo can be considered its direct competitor here

I know its from a totally different segment and not worth comparing to cars worth almost twice the price. Still I wonder how a Skoda Superb 3.6L V6 TFSI 4x4 would fare against S4/330i etc. purely on the performance front?

This is the same engine in my dad's A6 3.0T quattro. It is in fact 333hp in all of its applications, but Audi is quoting ratings from 295 to 333 for various applications depending on its marketing needs, even though in all cases the engines are identical.

That said, I don't know if I am particularly interested in this car. With my dad's A6, I have found its accelerative performance almost unusable in Indian conditions and I am not particularly excited by a smaller audi that will be even faster.

My interest in sport sedans is the one that delivers the greatest thrill on a mountain road through a very highly interactive set of control interfaces. Frankly, this is not something Audis have recently excelled at.

If the 330i was available with a manual transmission, I would not consider the S4 for a minute despite its much greater engine performance.

Originally Posted by robimahanta (Post 2799327)
I know its from a totally different segment and not worth comparing to cars worth almost twice the price. Still I wonder how a Skoda Superb 3.6L V6 TFSI 4x4 would fare against S4/330i etc. purely on the performance front?

No comparison. The S4 will take circles around the superb.
In simple words, the Superb will be annihilated. The S4 has a 5 second timing to 100 compared to the superb's late 6 /early 7 second 0-100 timing.
The Audi has a LOT more power, it has more torque as well IIRC and is smaller and a tad lighter than the superb.
The superb would be a lot better off taking on some car a LOT slower.
The 330i has an early/mid 6 second 0-100 timing so its substantially quicker than the superb but still a whole second slower than the S4.
The 335i from the BMW stable is the S4 rival.

The perfect balance of power and suttle looks..a perfect sleeper car. This is a pure enthusiasts car and not for the faint hearted if you ask me. The price seems high but well worth it as the closest car in the Indian market is the C63 sedan priced at almost 80 lakhs on road. The S4 is for the ones who want the power but at the same time dont want a V8 or the attention it grabs. There is no rival to the S4 at this time in India from both its competitors as the BMW 335i and the Mercedes C350 are both missing. I am eagerly looking forward to the Bombay dealership cars arrival at the end of September.

Is this the old s4 or the new facelifted 2013 one(on the lines of the new A4)? Wonder if they are trying to clear the older s4s accumulated around the world at a cheaper rate in india!

Originally Posted by vijayvb (Post 2799990)
Is this the old s4 or the new facelifted 2013 one(on the lines of the new A4)? Wonder if they are trying to clear the older s4s accumulated around the world at a cheaper rate in india!

This is the new S4 and not the older lot being cleared out in India.

Originally Posted by scuderiamania (Post 2798398)
This is, I believe should ring the knell for the lancer evo 10.

The EVO X was DOA (dead on arrival) after the price was announced. IIRC, it costs about 65 lakh on the road in Mumbai.

Originally Posted by Torquedo (Post 2798593)
the 3.0 TDi @ 38.xx Ex, makes more sense than the overpriced S4.

So agree. In terms of long distance driving (which these cars excel at), the A4 3.0 TDI is much more practical. Fill it up with regular diesel and enjoy the long tank range. You won't ever have an opportunity to complain about power either!!

Originally Posted by elantracrdi05 (Post 2799084)
Volvo which has really no say in the handling department as compared to the Germans.

The S60 T6 actually has leech-like grip. You'll seldom get a chance to exceed the car's capability on any Indian highway, ghat or expressway.

Originally Posted by mxx (Post 2799146)
330i is sporty

The 330i is the most flawed sporty sedan I've driven. It's bottom end is too weak, the steering too heavy, the ride too stiff and the cabin too cramped for everyday use. After all, the beauty of a sports sedan is everyday practicality + fun on the weekends. The 330i fails miserably in the intended role.

Originally Posted by Harbir (Post 2799448)
My interest in sport sedans is the one that delivers the greatest thrill on a mountain road through a very highly interactive set of control interfaces. Frankly, this is not something Audis have recently excelled at.

If the 330i was available with a manual transmission, I would not consider the S4 for a minute despite its much greater engine performance.

:thumbs up:thumbs up It's not necessary that the car offering more power is always more fun to drive.