Old 14th October 2014, 09:06   #1036

Re: 2014 Mahindra Scorpio Facelift (W105). EDIT: Now launched at Rs. 7.98 lakhs

Definitely an improvement in looks and features. I'm surprised the Scorpio comes with a feature like AFS! Though Renault duster does have features like ESP which makes is somewhat safer.
Old 14th October 2014, 09:24   #1037

One thing that my 7 year old son would really miss on the new scorpio is the Handle on in the front of the front left seat. It was very useful to hold.
Old 14th October 2014, 11:52   #1038
NFS

Originally Posted by Ksingh544 View Post

On Thursday last i was taking a 60+ degrees slope near Jammu with ease in 4th gear. In the city the Scoprio's power and grunt are such a boon.
What would the angle here?

Sharing a Video of 1100D - Marengo mHawk 4WD
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2174961
Old 14th October 2014, 12:26   #1039

S4 Interiors

Some on please post pics of S4 interiors. Unable to find this anywhere on the net. Nearest dealer is 2 hours drive from Coonoor.
Old 14th October 2014, 12:33   #1040

Originally Posted by NFS View Post
What would the angle here?

Sharing a Video of 1100D - Marengo mHawk 4WD
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2174961
Haha having already made a faux pas on this thread i will leave it to the experts to determine what angle this is and what the Scorpio is capable of.

All i can say is after 100k+ of driving across India, ive never faced a problem in the hills be it the Western Ghats, Leh, Srinagar, HP or Uttaranchal.

When in doubt slip it into 2nd and boom !
Old 14th October 2014, 13:23   #1041

Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post
Definitely an improvement in looks and features. I'm surprised the Scorpio comes with a feature like AFS! Though Renault duster does have features like ESP which makes is somewhat safer.
The Scorpio AFS is a typical Indian "jugad", instead of struggling with the motors and gears to turn the light with the steering, an angled light comes on while cornering. This is the same in the XUV5OO.

But at a price point the Scorpio is it gives a whole lot of features (and headaches) missing in even in much more expensive cars.
Old 14th October 2014, 13:24   #1042

This news should please the Scorpio fan's http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...nd-391053.aspx
Old 14th October 2014, 16:29   #1043

Re: S4 Interiors

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Some on please post pics of S4 interiors. Unable to find this anywhere on the net. Nearest dealer is 2 hours drive from Coonoor.
+ 1. Not sure why we have not come across any pics of the S4 variant in any of the online forums. Is it so Bad ?
Old 14th October 2014, 17:08   #1044

Originally Posted by Styler View Post
One thing that my 7 year old son would really miss on the new scorpio is the Handle on in the front of the front left seat. It was very useful to hold.
I guess with the new suspension and improved ride quality, you won't need that handle. In the old one, I guess you would get tossed around a lot if you didn't hold it
Old 15th October 2014, 19:15   #1045

Mods - Any information when the official review of the Scorpio Facelift 2014 will be out?
Old 15th October 2014, 19:44   #1046

Originally Posted by gearhead_mait View Post
Mods - Any information when the official review of the Scorpio Facelift 2014 will be out?
Should be out in the last week of October
Eddy is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 15th October 2014, 20:56   #1047

Originally Posted by Styler View Post
Not a safe practise if your son stands in the front passenger side holding this grab handle
Old 15th October 2014, 22:29   #1048

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Should be out in the last week of October
Can we also make sure 4WD variant of the review is included?

Really confused between 4WD S10 and XUV W8 AWD. Reviews will really help.
Old 15th October 2014, 22:49   #1049

A friend was looking for a SUV for his weekend farm-house jaunts. The new Scorpio was launched recently so we just had to take a look.

The dealership experience was a sour one. The sales-rep took almost an hour to come back with the TD car, after giving a current-Scorpio-owning family a good time with it. And then he insisted that we bring the car back in 2 minutes after going round The Bowring Club. Nevertheless, I took the car for a short spin and here are my views as a hatch / sedan owner:

Design: Mixed feelings. I like the face but it still needs some work. The side profile is uninspiring and almost exactly the same as the outgoing Scorpio. The rear is OK. I'm not a fan of the chincy tail-lights. I really like the OE alloys.

Cabin: Lots of room even for large occupants. The quality hasn't really improved in my opinion, maybe in some places? The finish is certainly better and more premium.

Driving experience: I fell in love instantly with the commanding driving position! The front seats are more like chairs. The view from the driver's seat is fantastic! Low-end torque is great. The gearbox feels better to use than the outgoing Scorpio's. The steering is nice to hold and is not too bad to use. Low speed ride seems to have improved a bit, but it's still a little bouncy and throws you around if you're not slow enough.

Overall, it's a nice car. Fairly desirable. I still feel they could have done something different with the design. The side-profile and rear still look a generation old. The new interior is a welcome change. It feels less like a jeep and more like a mature SUV, that's for sure.
suhaas307 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 17th October 2014, 09:42   #1050

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Not a safe practise if your son stands in the front passenger side holding this grab handle
Don't worry he is always safe, he sits and holds it. He too wants to get a commanding view of the road ahead

I have been driving the Scorpio for 11 yrs now and 1.5 lac kms without an incident. Touch wood.
Styler is offline   (1) Thanks