Old 22nd February 2012, 11:32   #76

Re: PICS : The 2012 Mahindra Xylo Facelift Launch

The Xylo was ugly in a familial sort of way and i was getting used to it's looks. Now all of a sudden it looks like 'Itt' from the Addams family.
Old 24th February 2012, 15:57   #77

By the way, was going through Xylo's website and what i really liked was -

Mahindra Xylo

The Xylo D4 has all the features you need in your MUV... power windows, power steering, tilt steering, rear AC vents, rear wash & wiper, body coloured bumpers, etc. all for 7.5 Lacs. A similarly equipped Invova (GX) costs a cool 3 Lacs more. Infact this variant seems to be the best choice for taxi operators as it comes with all the features but also with the less powerful but more economical m2Dicr engine.

Secondly, I loved the fact that even the base variant (E4) with the more powerful mEagle engine has ABS+EBD as an option. This costs just 7.75 Lacs & is the best option for private buyers who does not seek too many frills like DDAS, alloys, fog lamps, etc. With ABS, it costs 8.06 Lacs.
raj_5004 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 25th February 2012, 12:10   #78

Saw one today in flesh, got to admit that it looks far better then the earlier one atleast from the front. Back has not changed much, Mahindra should have done something more on the back to take away that boxy look. Front looks macho now, I think it will start doing better numbers than earlier. Mahindra seems to be on the roll, XUV doing great, Xylo should start doing better, mini xylo will create a new space on its own and if god forbid it comes with the new Xylo's front facia I feel it will do wonders to the Mahindra fortunes. I can forsee atleast double the numbers of bookings compared to the XUV. It seems a new Scopio is also on the cards, besides the Sangyong products. Way to go Mahindra, kudos to your product planning team.
Old 25th February 2012, 14:10   #79

Xylo's bug-bear was bouncy ride and they haven't done anything on that front. Mahindra should have tuned the suspension to flatten the ride but they haven't. Drive in an Innova's backseat on a bumpy road and do the same in a Xylo and you will know how flat the ride is in Innova compared to Xylo. Mahindra have struggled to do the same with Scorpio despite changing the leaf spring suspension to coil spring one at the rear and a host of suspension tuning. . It has improved quiet a bit but when it comes to ride-quality Innova is leagues ahead of the Mahindra duo . I have test driven the XUV and because of the monocoque design and a good track to wheelbase ratio it has much better road manners and relatively flatter ride . The XUV is what scorpio should have been in first place. Kudos to Mahindra for getting it right with XUV cos they had to adopt a totally different philosophy with the XUV.

Last edited by needforspeed88 : 25th February 2012 at 14:13.
Old 25th February 2012, 15:31   #80

^^^ There is little you can do with laws of physics. Tall boys always have a bouncier ride. Compare a Santro/Wagon R to a Punto/Fabia. So it similar with the Xylo & relatively shorter Innova. Scorpio with its short wheelbase & tall body was flawed by design (on account of ride quality), so there is little a suspension tuning can do. Mahindra did try its best to sort out the ride. By the way, I am among the minority who feels that low speed ride of Scorpio is better than Innova.

Infact, the epitome of ride quality in this segment is the Safari. Not even the Innova comes close. Kudos to TATA for achieving that.
Old 25th February 2012, 17:16   #81

^^^ That's exactly why i have mentioned the wheelbase-track ratio. Mahindra got the wheelbase-track ratio way off the mark and as result did not give himself enough room to correct the bouncy ride. Safari may have the better ride but Innova trounces every other vehicle including the XUV when it comes to treading the Ride and handling balance. Now according to me if anybody asked me to pick any vehicle under 15 lakhs i would choose XUV with my eyes closed but what Toyota have achieved with the Innova in-terms of ride and handling compromise/balance has to be applauded. XUV handles on par with the Innova but its ride still falls short of Innova. Safari has the best ride quality but it rolls like a boat and has spongy brakes added to that.

Last edited by needforspeed88 : 25th February 2012 at 17:17.
needforspeed88 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2012, 20:59   #82

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Superb review. Nice, crisp and detailed, complimented with some wonderful pics. A worthy follow-up to T-BHP's high standard reviews. Good job, team!
Hi ,

I have always been intrigued by Mahindra's engine names. What I understand is:

(a) The International Tractor engine that used to power the Commander , the MM 540 (I think that was the Peugoet 540 engine), in its CRDI form is now called M2CRDi. This is found in the DX Xylos, the Bolero ZLX, the Scorpio LX. (2.5L)

(b) The M-Hawk, a 2179 cc new CRDi engine that Mahindra developed with AVL of Austria, found in the Scorpio, XUV 500, now the Xylo E9.

(c) The M-Eagle .. a CRDi version of their 2.6 L CRDe engine that was found on the first Scorpio's.

Can someone please throw more light on these engines ?
Old 29th February 2012, 18:22   #83

Did anyone notice the integrated DDAS/MID in the new Xylo?
PICS : The 2012 Mahindra Xylo Facelift Launch-222.jpg  

PICS : The 2012 Mahindra Xylo Facelift Launch-111.jpg  

Old 29th February 2012, 19:27   #84

I got my E8 New Xylo Delivered today. Will create a new ownership thread shortly.

I'm just enjoying it today
Old 29th February 2012, 19:49   #85

Mods, is there a way we could get an official review of the New Xylo? Since we never have had an official review, am sure it will help a lot of people understand and compare it better with the competitors.
Old 1st March 2012, 13:16   #86

guys,
now the new xylo e9 is here with mhawk engine along with e8 meagle. now there seems to be a price difference of nearly 1.6 l between the two.
is it worth it?with respect to ENGINE ALONE? I'm not looking at other features(goodies).
could some one who has driven both the meagle in e8 and mhawk in scorpio (or new e9 in xylo) over a period of time give the exact differences of the two engines?
Old 1st March 2012, 16:53   #87

Originally Posted by srinivaspai View Post
guys,
now the new xylo e9 is here with mhawk engine along with e8 meagle. now there seems to be a price difference of nearly 1.6 l between the two.
is it worth it?with respect to ENGINE ALONE? I'm not looking at other features(goodies).
could some one who has driven both the meagle in e8 and mhawk in scorpio (or new e9 in xylo) over a period of time give the exact differences of the two engines?
The E9 is targeted at self-driving owners who want the extra power and driver comfort. The E8 gives more mileage by the way.
Old 1st March 2012, 17:58   #88

Originally Posted by SedatedDrive View Post
The E9 is targeted at self-driving owners who want the extra power and driver comfort. The E8 gives more mileage by the way.
Two points explained by you I can undersatnd .Its pretty straightforward.Ie.extra power and less milage.

But could you pleas elaborate about the driver comfort part?
It will help me in taking a decision.(I had seen new xylo meagle recently and really impressed by its looks and have taken a quote for all models.They did not allow me to start as it was in a autoexpo in my town)
is the mhawk smoother?less noiser?less vibration free?less of turbo lag?heigher top end?
is it all of above ?any other oints you may wish to add will be welcome
Old 2nd March 2012, 16:36   #89

Here's an interesting video.
It shows all the Voice commands that the car accepts.

Old 2nd March 2012, 17:10   #90

Originally Posted by srinivaspai View Post
guys,
I have driven both the mEagle & am still driving the mHawk (Scorpio).

The differentiating factor is is the smoothness and the refinement of the mHawk over the mEagle. The turbo lag is considrable less and engine noise is much lesser.

You can feel the difference in driving,
m_upreti is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com